Author:
Category:

Ace of Spades (1980) - Motorhead - All about the song...

About "Motorhead" and their hit "Ace of Spades", which was released as a single at the end of October 1980 before the release of the album...

History of the song "Ace of Spades"—Motorhead (1980)

Among the most popular compositions of "Motorhead" can be attributed the legendary "Ace of Spades", placed in the album with the same name of the 80th year. The band's thirty-year career that followed brought a lot of good hits to the music world, but this one is, as they say, for the ages. It is often considered the band's anthem.

And today we will turn to the history of the creation of the track.

The essence of the song and an excursion into the history of its creation

Lemmy Kilmister said that the origin of the song began with a prosaic cargo van: he was shaking in it and hitting the sides, because they were rushing at some unthinkable speed. In his biography, the musician recalled:

«I used the metaphor of gambling. Mostly from card and craps. I like slot machines more, but it's strange to write about spinning pictures and suddenly generous reels. To be honest, almost the entire composition is dedicated to poker: “I know you are definitely following me. Look and cry. Again, the hand of a dead man, ”the cards that fell to Bill Hickok at the time of his murder were meant.».

Ace of Spades logo
Ace of Spades logo

Indeed, there are many associations and allusions in the song that refer to card games. "Dead Man's Hand" - a pair of black aces with eights of the same color. According to a story passed from mouth to mouth, after receiving these cards, the well-known Wild West character Bill Hickok was shot while playing poker.

In addition, in the English-speaking culture, the ace of spades has a rather gloomy symbolism. He embodies death, and this is associated with the American military. When the Vietnam War was going on, they placed aces of spades on the bodies of dead opponents to sow panic in the enemy troops. The Bicycle firm, a giant in the production of playing cards, organized mass deliveries to the battlefield of special decks, which included only aces of spades. Something similar then happened during the Iraq war. This is a kind of "black mark of death."

Release and success

However, we are now talking about Motorhead and their hit "Ace of Spades", which was released as a single at the end of October 1980 before the release of the album. And this is despite the fact that the composition has already sounded in public before. In the early autumn of the same year, Lemmy performed it on BBC radio, and then on the BBC television channel.

The band's fans took the track with a bang, and music critics also gave out several positive reviews. On the UK Singles Chart Ace of Spades peaked at number 15.

“To be honest, we admit that "Ace of Spades" is a very high quality composition, but I'm tired of it. For more than twenty years now, when talking and thinking about our band, people have in mind exactly "Ace of Spades". You know, by making that record, we didn't become fossils. Years later we had some pretty good releases. But fans love it and it's what they want to hear, which is why we play it every time we perform in public. - not to disappoint anyone. But if it was just me, I would have finished with her a long time ago.”

According to Q magazine, this composition deserves to take the 27th position among the hundred greatest guitar songs. TV channel VH1 placed it at the 10th position in the ranking of the best hard rock songs in all of music history.

This is interesting!

  • Once upon a time, Lemmy got a tattoo on his left arm in the shape of an ace of spades.
  • The song mentions "snake's eye" (meaning a couple of units in craps), the terminology of video slots, blackjack and poker is used. With the craving of authors for gambling, this is not surprising.
  • There are some versions where the text has been reworked and lines related to the joker have been removed from it.

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:

Категория:

Ace of Spades (1980) – Motorhead – Всё о песне…

О «Motorhead» и их хите «Ace of Spades», который вышел в виде сингла на исходе октября 1980-го перед выпуском альбома...

История песни «Ace of Spades»— Motorhead (1980)

К числу наиболее популярных композиций «Motorhead» можно отнести легендарную «Ace of Spades», размещённую в альбоме с таким же названием 80-го года. Тридцатилетняя карьера группы, последовавшая за этим, принесла музыкальному миру немало хороших хитов, однако этот – что называется, на века. Его часто считают гимном группы.

И сегодня мы обратимся к истории создания трека.

Суть песни и экскурс в историю её создания

Лемми Килмистер говорил, что зарождение песни начиналось с прозаичного грузового фургона: он трясся в нём и бился о борта, потому что мчались с какой-то немыслимой скоростью. В своей биографии музыкант вспоминал:

«Я применял метафорику азартных игр. В основном, из карточных и крэпса. Мне больше нравятся автоматы с играми, но странно писать о крутящихся картинках и внезапно щедрых барабанах. Честно говоря, практически вся композиция посвящена покеру: «Знаю, ты точно следишь за мной. Смотри и рыдай. Вновь рука мертвеца», — имелись в виду карты, выпавшие Биллу Хикоку, в момент его убийства».

Логотип «Ace of Spades»
Логотип «Ace of Spades»

И правда, в песне немало ассоциаций и аллюзий, которые отсылают к карточным играм. «Рука мертвеца»  пара чёрных тузов с восьмёрками такого же цвета. Согласно передаваемой из уст в уста истории, получив эти карты, был застрелен всем известный Билл Хикок, персонаж Дикого Запада, прямо во время игры в покер.

Кроме того, в англоязычной культуре туз пик имеет довольно мрачную символику. Он воплощает смерть, и это связано с американскими военнослужащими. Когда шла война во Вьетнаме, они клали тузов пик на тела убитых противников, чтобы посеять панику в войсках неприятеля. Фирма «Bicycle», гигант в производстве игральных карт, организовывала массовые поставки на поле боя специальных колод, куда входили исключительно тузы пик. Что-то подобное потом происходило и в период иракской войны. Это своеобразная «чёрная метка смерти».

Релиз и успехи

Однако речь сейчас идет о «Motorhead» и их хите «Ace of Spades», который вышел в виде сингла на исходе октября 1980-го перед выпуском альбома. И это несмотря на то, что композиция до этого уже звучала на публике. В начале осени того же года Лемми исполнил её на радио BBC, и потом ещё на телевизионном канале BBC.

Фанаты группы восприняли трек на ура, музыкальная критика тоже выдала несколько одобрительных рецензий. В UK Singles трек «Chart Ace of Spades» дошёл до 15-й позиции.

«Если честно, мы признаём, что «Ace of Spades» очень качественная композиция, но я утомлён ею. Уже больше двадцати лет, говоря и думая о нашей группе, люди имеют в виду именно «Ace of Spades». Знаете, сделав ту запись, мы ведь не стали ископаемыми. Годы спустя у нас были некоторые неплохие релизы. Но поклонникам она нравится, и именно её стремятся услышать, вот почему мы исполняем её каждый раз, выступая на публике  чтобы никого не разочаровывать. Но если бы это касалось только меня, я бы уже давно закончил с ней».

По версии журнала «Q», эта композиция достойна занять 27-ю позицию в числе сотни величайших гитарных песен. Телеканал VH1 разместил её на 10-й позиции рейтинга лучших хард-роковых композиций всей музыкальной истории.

Это интересно!

  • Когда-то Лемми сделал себе татуировку на левой руке в форме пикового туза.
  • В песне есть упоминание «глаз змеи» (имеется в виду пара единиц в крэпсе), употребляется терминология видео-слотов, блэкджека и покера. С тягой авторов к азартным играм это неудивительно.
  • Есть некоторые варианты исполнения, где текст переработан, и из него убраны строки, касающиеся джокера.
9kFollowers

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Похожие статьи

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...

The Cure — «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022) от The Cure  Рок-группа из Англии The Cure анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Songs Of A Lost...

Топ-6 песен в исполнении невероятного Нодди Холдера

Песни, которые перенесут вас в молодость – Топ лучших вокальных моментов Нодди Холдера Нодди Холдер навсегда поселился в сердцах отечественных слушателей! Вместе с группой Slade...

Arms and Sleepers — «Former Kingdoms» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Former Kingdoms» (2022) от Arms and Sleepers Американская музыкальная группа Arms and Sleepers поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Former...

Шесть самых известных песен Олега Газманова

Лучшие песни Олега Газманова Олег Газманов - очень талантливый артист. Он и актер, и поэт, и продюсер. Из-за этого его музыку недооценивают. Но, несмотря на...