Author:

Category:

The history of the famous "Kool & the Gang"

Kool & The Gang are famous all over the world. Their work did not leave anyone indifferent, because the musicians won the hearts of both jazz lovers and pop music fans. What were the features of their work, why did they never adapt to fashion trends and what was the composition of the participants? We will talk about all this in our article.

How the group "Kool & the Gang" was created - new idols of the 70s and 80s

Kool & the Gang musical group known for the infectious hits of the 1970s and 1980s. Thanks to their bulletproof funk and jazz arrangements, Kool & the Gang became the most popular R&B group of all time. Brilliant guys from New Jersey created their own team in 1964. The group exists in our time and works in such musical directions as rhythm and blues, jazz, funk, disco, soul.

Create a group

The group was founded in school years and she was called Jazziacs, In her composition Brothers Robert "Cool" (bass) and Ronald (piano) Bell, Robert "Spike" Mickens (trumpet), Dennis "DT" Thomas (saxophone), Ricky West (piano), George Brown (drums) and Charles Smith ( guitar). Virtually all of them (Smith studied elsewhere) attended Lincoln High School in Jersey City. Robert Bell gave himself nickname "Kool" (he used the name "Cool", replacing "C" with "K") to become "in" among the guys from the street gangs of his area after moving from Ohio.

Kool & The Gang on their album cover
Kool & The Gang on their album cover

'Kool & the Gang' has been through a lot changes both in composition, and in musical genres, and even in titles. They explored different styles: from jazz to pop music. Since the father of two brothers (Robert and Ronald Bell) was on good terms with many musicians and composers, for example with By Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Leon Thomas and Pharoah Sanders, it becomes clear why they strongly influenced to the musical repertoire of the new group.

Success

After several attempts to change the name (for example, "Soul Town Review", "New Dimensions") in 1968, the musicians settled on Kool & the Gang. At that time, the group composed songs in classic funkabandoning jazz. Musicians were most interested in concert activity, and not recording albums or songs, so their self-titled debut album took place only in 1969. It introduced their unique instrumental sound and violent horn arrangements, and spawned their first single Kool & the Gangcharted on the Billboard R&B chart .

In 1970, the group began to think about changing their scenic execution. Inspired them to this performance Willie Fister and Mighty Magnificents, which, according to Robert Bell, "hit us". The musicians understood: in order to conquer the audience not enough just stand on stage and sing or play. In the future, many will be amazed and delighted by their stage performances. These were real shows (someone called their performances “a 24 carat show”), which consisted of instrumental virtuosity, thoughtful and practiced choreography. group over 50 years and despite this, every year they perform all over the world.

The group released 4 albums and their stellar reputation grew with each of them, but, precisely "Wild and Peaceful" (1973), including the singles "Jungle Boogie", "Hollywood Swinging" took "Kool & the Gang" to new heights. Subsequently, these songs were included in the top ten. After that, "Kool & the Gang" was waiting for a small creative crisis. But between 1979 and 1986 they were successful again. This happened after their collaboration with the producer Eumir Deodato, a Brazilian musician, and the inclusion of the talented singer James J.T. Taylor. At this time, the group releases such hits as «Higher Plane», «Summer Madness» (from the soundtrack to the film "Rocky", won a Grammy).

The holiday, dedicated to the return of American hostages from Iran, still does not lose its popularity around the world. Singles "Get Down On It", "Take My Heart", "Let's Go Dancing" strengthened the international fame of the group. Kool & the Gang received worldwide commercial support, supported countless charitable causes, and was the only American group to participate in the 1984 Band Aid program (a famine relief project from Africa).

In 1978, the group's repertoire began to appear ballads. This was due to the addition of a clean vocalist to Kool & the Gang. Subsequently, the song "Ladies Night" appeared, which foreshadowed a change in the fate of the group. Most of the work of the 80s became "platinum".

Kool & The Gang with new line-up
Kool & The Gang with new line-up

Music features

One of the characteristic features of the musical performance of "Kool & the Gang" was sharp brass sounding, virtuosic guitar solo and powerful rhythm section. It was their dance rhythm that later influenced the emergence of the disco style. In 1977 the song "Open Sesame" was one of the soundtracks of the popular movie "Saturday Night Fever" ("Saturday Night Fever").

Kool & the Gang have always been true to their musical landmarks, they refused to constantly change their style, adapting to fashion trends. On this occasion, Ronald Bell said in 2007: “We tried ... it doesn’t work. It's a bit like a fish out of its element." Individual compositions of the group reflect religious preferences of the part of the musicians who were interested Mohammedanism.

Nowadays

The group is still protrude around the world and delight their fans. "Kool & the Gang" has won a huge number of awards and recognition. Thanks to cult songs ("Celebration", "Cherish", "Jungle Boodie"), the musicians earned 2 awards Grammy Awards, 7 awards American Music Awards, the Music Business Association Chairman Award for Artistic Achievement, and in 2015 the band received their star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

In addition to organizing concerts, the group composes songs and writes albums. For example, the 25th studio album "Perfect Union", released in 2021 and produced by Khalis Bayan.

Kool & The Gang on CD cover
Kool & The Gang on CD cover

Their music has always sounded on cool parties, and some songs from "Kool & the Gang" have also been used in computer games. Song "Summer Madness" sounds inGrand Theft Auto: Vice City", song "Hollywood Swinging" was selected for the Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas soundtrack.

Now "Kool & The Gang" is reasonably considered one of the most popular bands in the world - the musicians skillfully combine and rhythmic primitive, which is very popular with many people, and genuine musical finds. In total, this group released 23 albums and almost 70 singles. Nowadays, Kool & The Gang continues to delight fans from all over the world with its hits and live performances.

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

История знаменитых «Kool & the Gang»

«Kool & The Gang» известны во всем мире. Их творчество не оставляло равнодушным никого, ведь музыканты покоряли сердца и любителей джаза, и поклонников поп-музыки. В чем заключались особенности их творчества, почему они никогда не подстраивались под модные тенденции и какой был состав участников? Обо всем этом расскажем в нашей статье.

Как создавалась группа «Kool & the Gang» — новые кумиры 70-х и 80-х

«Kool & the Gang» музыкальная группа, известная заразительными хитами 1970-х и 1980-х годов. Благодаря пуленепробиваемым фанковым и джазовым аранжировкам «Kool & the Gang» стала самой популярной R&B группой всех времён. Блестящие ребята из Нью-Джерси создали свой коллектив в 1964 году. Группа существует и в наше время и работает в таких музыкальных направлениях как ритм-н-блюз, джаз, фанк, диско, соул.

Создание группы

Группа была основана ещё в школьные годы и называлась она «Jazziacs», В её состав сходили: братья Роберт «Кул» (бас) и Рональд (пианино) Белл, Роберт «Спайк» Миккенс (труба), Деннис «DT» Томас (саксофон), Рики Уэст (пианино), Джордж Браун (барабан) и Чарльз Смит (гитара). Практически все они (Смит учился в другом месте) учились в средней школе Линкольна в Джерси-Сити. Роберт Белл дал себе прозвище «Kool» (он использовал имя «Cool», заменив «С» на «К»), чтобы стать «своим» среди ребят из уличных банд своего района после переезда из Огайо.

Kool & The Gang на обложке своего альбома
Kool & The Gang на обложке своего альбома

«Kool & the Gang» претерпела много изменений и в составе, и в музыкальных жанрах, и даже в названиях. Они исследовали разные стили: от джаза до поп-музыки. Так как отец двух братьев (Роберта и Рональда Белл) был в хороших взаимоотношениях со многими музыкантами и композиторами, например с Майлзом Дэвисом, Джоном Колтрейном, Леоном Томасом и Фароа Сандерс, то становится понятным, почему они сильно повлияли на музыкальный репертуар новой группы.

Успех

После нескольких попыток изменить название (например, «Soul Town Review», «New Dimensions») в 1968 году музыканты остановились на «Kool & the Gang». На тот момент группа сочиняла песни в классическом фанке, отказавшись от джаза. Музыкантов больше всего интересовала концертная деятельность, а не запись альбомов или песен, поэтому их одноименный дебютный альбом состоялся лишь в 1969 году. Он представил их уникальное инструментальное звучание и жестокие роговые аранжировки, а также породил их первый сингл «Kool & the Gang», попавший в чарт Billboard R&B .

В 1970 году группа начала задумываться над изменением своего сценического исполнения. Вдохновили их на это выступления Уилли Фистера и Mighty Magnificents, которые, по словам Роберта Белла, «поразили нас». Музыканты поняли: для того, чтобы покорять публику недостаточно просто стоять на сцене и петь или играть. В будущем многие будут поражены и восхищены их сценическими выступлениями. Это были настоящие шоу (кто-то называл их выступления — “шоу в 24 карата”), которые состояли из инструментальной виртуозности, продуманной и отработанной хореографии. Группе больше 50 лет и несмотря на это, каждый год они выступают по всему миру.

Группа выпустила 4 альбома и их звёздная репутация росла с каждым из них, но , именно «Wild and Peaceful» (1973), включающий синглы «Jungle Boogie», «Hollywood Swinging» поднял «Kool & the Gang» на новый уровень. Впоследствие эти песни входили в десятку лучших. После этого «Kool & the Gang» ждал небольшой творческий кризис. Но между 1979 и 1986 годами они снова достигли успеха. Это произошло после их сотрудничества с продюсером Эумиром Деодато, бразильским музыкантом, и включением в состав талантливого певца Джеймса «JT» Тейлора. В это время группа выпускает такие хиты как «Higher Plane», «Summer Madness» (из саундтрека к фильму «Рокки», получившего Грэмми).

Праздник, посвящённый возвращению американских заложников из Ирана, по-прежнему не теряет своей популярности во всём мире. Синглы «Get Down On It», «Take My Heart», «Let’s Go Dancing» укрепили международную известность группы. «Kool & the Gang» получил мировую коммерческую поддержку, поддержал бесчисленное количество благотворительных проектов и стал единственной американской группой, принявшей участие в программе «Band Aid» 1984 года (проект для помощи голодающим из Африки).

В 1978 году в репертуаре группы стали появляться баллады. Это было связано с тем, что в состав «Kool & the Gang» вошёл чистый вокалист. Впоследствии появилась песня «Ladies Night», которая предвещала перемены в судьбе группы. Большинство работ 80-х стали “платиновыми”.

Kool & The Gang в новом составе
Kool & The Gang в новом составе

Особенности музыки

Одной из характерных черт музыкального исполнения «Kool & the Gang» было резкое звучание духовых, виртуозные гитарные соло и мощная ритм-секция. Именно их танцевальный ритм повлиял в дальнейшем на возникновение стиля диско. В 1977 году песня «Open Sesame» была одним из саундтреков популярного фильма «Saturday Night Fever» («Лихорадка субботнего вечера»).

«Kool & the Gang» всегда были верны своим музыкальным ориентирам, они отказывались постоянно менять стиль, подстраиваясь под модные тенденции. По этому поводу Рональд Белл говорил в 2007 году: «Мы пробовали… не работает. Это немного похоже на рыбу вне своей стихии». Отдельные композиции группы отражают религиозные предпочтения части музыкантов, которые интересовались магометанством.

Наше время

Группа до сих продолжает выступать по всему миру и радовать своих поклонников. «Kool & the Gang» завоевали огромное количество наград и признаний. Благодаря культовым песням («Celebration», «Cherish», «Jungle Boodie») музыканты заработали  2 премии «Грэмми», 7 премий «American Music Awards», премию председателя ассоциации музыкального бизнеса за художественные достижения, а в 2015 году группа получила свою звезду на Голливудской Аллее славы.

Помимо организации концертов, группа сочиняет песни и пишет альбомы. Например, 25-й студийный альбом «Perfect Union», выпущенный в 2021 году и продюсированный Халисом Баяном.

Kool & The Gang на обложке CD-диска
Kool & The Gang на обложке CD-диска

Их музыка всегда звучала на крутых вечеринках, а некоторые песни «Kool & the Gang» использовались и в компьютерных играх. Песня «Summer Madness» звучит в «Grand Theft Auto: Vice City», песня «Hollywood Swinging» была отобрана на саундтрек «Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas».

Сейчас «Kool & The Gang» обоснованно считается одной из самых популярных групп в мире — музыканты умело сочетают и ритмический примитив, который пользуется большой популярностью у многих людей, и подлинные музыкальные находки. Всего эта группа выпустила 23 альбома и почти 70 синглов. В наше время «Kool & The Gang» продолжает радовать поклонников со всего мира своими хитами и живыми выступлениями.

10kFollowers

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Похожие статьи

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...

Гизер Батлер: удивительные факты о «нечестивом» басисте Black Sabbath

Чего вы ещё не знали о Гизере Батлере – топ удивительных фактов о легенде Black Sabbath Гизер Батлер – легенда Black Sabbath и самый «нечестивый»...

Худшие альбомы в хард-роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Почему это худшие альбомы за всю историю хард-рока Коммерция – не так уж и плохо, но только если она «со вкусом» и «в меру». Это...

«Маэстро прогрессивного метала» – знакомьтесь, Джон Петруччи

Небольшой экскурс в историю Джона Петруччи, одного из лучших гитаристов современности Прогрессивный рок был продуктом психоделического рока. Это был скорее инструментальный и композиционный подход к...

Рэнди Калифорния: герой, восхищающий стойкостью духа и великолепной игрой на гитаре

Вспоминаем Рэнди Калифорнию, одного из легендарнейших гитаристов прошлого века Рэнди Калифорния – один из легендарнейших гитаристов и величайших отцов-героев в истории. Он был гениален и...

Рори Галлахер и его чудесный акустический стиль

Вспоминаем одного из величайших гитаристов Рори Галлахера Рори Галлахера не стало в 1995 году, и мир буквально ахнул и с грустью ужаснулся: это был действительно...