Author:
Category:

The story of The Strokes, the fathers of indie rock who recorded the best rock album of 2020

We decided to remember the history of The Strokes in this article and talk about their most popular albums and songs!

History of The Strokes

The Strokes - popular American indie rock bandformed in 1998 in New York City. The band plays indie rock and in this genre the band is one of the most worthy. Besides indie, the Strokes play post-punk and garage rock. But still - they are loved for their indie rock.

The band's debut album, Is This It, is recognized by most critics and ordinary listeners as a key album in the history of the indie rock genre. In many ways the band and this album determined the development of the entire genre in the early noughties! Popular bands that emerged later, like The Libertines, Franz Ferdinand, The Killers and Arctic Monkeys admitted that they were inspired by the music and example of the Strokes.

So what did the band do, why are they loved by millions of fans and how did they become popular? We decided to remember the whole history of The Strokes in this article. Sit back, it will be interesting!

The formation of The Strokes

Strokes
Strokes

Julian Casablancas, the founder of the band, assembled the band mostly from the people he knew personally. So, he had been friends with the bassist Nicolae Freitur since childhood, with the guitarist Nick Valensi and the drummer Fabrizio Moretti he met at school, with Albert Hammond Jr. at the institute.

Casablancas gathered all his friends in New York and called the gang "De Niros". But then he changed the name to The Motels, and later to the familiar The Strokes. Their popularity in New York gradually grew - they played in small clubs, sometimes they were invited to more serious places. At one of their gigs they were spotted Ryan Gentles. He was shocked that no one was promoting such talent so much that he quit his job and became the band's manager because he believed they would "take a shot.

How the band became popular. The Strokes' greatest hits

The Strokes
The Strokes

The guys had recorded a few songs before they met Gentles. But he said that some of them were no good, while other songs, like "Last Nite" and "The Modern Age" and "Rhythm Song", could become hits. The guys rehearsed with more diligence, preparing materials for the record. And Gentles puzzled over how to make The Strokes' album.

At one of their regular club gigs they were spotted by Gordon Raphael, a not very big music producer who dealt with the underground rock scene in New York. He talked to the Strokes' manager and they agreed to make a demo recording at Raphael's studio.

There the guys recorded their first studio EP - "The Modern Age". It included the songs "Last Nite", "Barely Legal" and "The Modern Age". In the same year the album "Is This It" is released, which made the band super popular in the indie genre. The struggle for The Strokes among the big music labels began - everyone wanted the talented, but not yet very famous young band to be with them.

What the Strokes are doing now

After the success in 2001 the band released another album "Room On Fire". And in 2006 the third album "First Impressions Of Earth" was released. "The Strokes went on tour to support it, and even came to perform in Moscow. They gave one of their last concerts at the Gorbunov Culture Center.

Later, in 2011 another album, "Angles", was released, and two years later, "Comedown Machine".

The last album was released in 2020 - it was called "The New Abnormal" and it was quite a big success for the band. The album was nominated for a Grammy Award. At the 63rd annual awards ceremony, the band was honored with the "Best Rock Album"! So we can say that the band is doing great even now.

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...
Related Articles

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

What You Didn't Know About World Legend Mireille Mathieu - A Story Full of Surprising Episodes

The history of Mireille Mathieu in facts: from the early years to world fame One of the most legendary French singers in history, Mireille Mathieu earned her status as a legend completely...

Автор:
Категория:

История The Strokes — отцов инди-рока, записавших лучший рок-альбом 2020 года

Решили вспомнить историю группы The Strokes в этой статье и рассказать о их самых популярных альбомах и песнях!

История группы The Strokes

The Strokes — популярная американская инди-рок-группа, образованная в 1998 году в Нью-Йорке. Играет группа инди-рок и в этом жанре группа одна из достойнейших. Кроме инди, Strokes играют постпанк и гаражный рок. Но всё же — любят их за инди.

Дебютный альбом группы «Is This It» признаётся большинством критиков и простых слушателей, как ключевой альбом в истории жанра инди-рока. Во многом группа и этот альбом определили развитие всего жанра в начале нулевых годов! Популярные группы, появившиеся позже, например, The Libertines, Franz Ferdinand, The Killers и Arctic Monkeys признавали, что вдохновлялись музыкой и примером Strokes.

Так что же такого сделала группа, за что их любят миллионы фанатов и как они стали популярными? Решили вспомнить всю историю группы The Strokes в этой статье. Усаживайтесь поудобнее, будет интересно!

Образование группы The Strokes

Strokes
Strokes

Основатель группы — Джулиан Касабланкас собирал коллектив по большей части из тех, кого знал лично. Так, с басистом — Николаем Фрайтуром он дружил ещё с детства, с гитаристом Ником Валенси и барабанщиком Фабрицио Моретти познакомились в школе, с Альбертом Хэммондом Младшим — в институте.

Касабланкас собрал всех друзей в Нью-Йорке и нарёк получившуюся банду «De Niros». Правда потом он сменил название на «The Motels», а позже на уже привычное «The Strokes». Их популярность в Нью-Йорке постепенно росла — они выступали в небольших клубах, иногда их приглашали в заведения посерьёзнее. На одном из концертов их заметил Райан Джентлз. Его шокировало, что таких талантов никто не продвигает настолько, что он бросил свою работу и стал менеджером группы, потому что верил, что они «выстрелят».

Как группа стала популярной. Лучшие хиты Strokes

Группа Strokes
Группа Strokes

Ребята записали несколько песен до того, как познакомиться с Джентелзом. Но он сказал, что часть из них никуда не годится, в то время, как остальные песни, например, «Last Nite» и «The Modern Age», «Rhythm Song» — могут стать хитами. Ребята репетировали с большей усердностью, готовили материалы к записи. И Джентлз ломал голову над тем, как сделать альбом The Strokes.

На одном из очередных выступлений в клубе их заметил Гордон Рафаэль — не очень крупный музыкальный продюсер, занимавшийся андеграундной рок-сценой в Нью-Йорке. Он пообщался с менеджером Strokes и они договорились на демо-запись на студии Рафаэля.

Там ребята записали свой первый студийный EP — «The Modern Age». На него попали песни «Last Nite», «Barely Legal» и «The Modern Age». В том же году выходит альбом «Is This It» из-за которого группа стала сверхпопулярной в инди-жанре. Началась настоящая борьба за The Strokes среди крупных музыкальных лейблов — все хотели, чтобы талантливая, но пока не очень известная молодая группа была у них.

Чем участники Strokes занимаются сейчас

После успеха в 2001 году группа выпустила ещё один альбом «Room On Fire». А в 2006 году выходит третий альбом «First Impressions Of Earth». «The Strokes» совершают тур в его поддержку и даже приезжают выступать в Москву. Они дали один из последних концертов в ДК Горбунова.

Позже, в 2011 вышел ещё альбом — «Angles», спустя два года — «Comedown Machine».

Последний альбом вышел в 2020 году — он назывался «The New Abnormal» и это был довольно большой успех для группы. Альбом номинировался на премию «Грэмми». На 63-й ежегодной церемонии вручения наград группа была удостоилась награды «Лучший рок-альбом»! Так что можно сказать, что дела у группы идут отлично даже сейчас.

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...
Похожие статьи

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...