Date:

Author:
Category:

Are You Experienced (1967) - The Jimi Hendrix Experience - All About the Album ...

About the Legendary and Greatest ...

History of the album "Are You Experienced" (1967) by the Jimi Hendrix Experience band

Are You Experienced (1967) is the first album by The Jimi Hendrix Experience. "Are You Experienced" represents the musical debut of the Anglo-American band The Jimi Hendrix Experience, released in May 1967 by UK-based Track Records and in August of the same year in the United States by Reprise Records. It is a bright and effective debut in the development of rock. Thanks to this event, Jimi Hendrix became a new world-class idol. Guitarist magazine awarded the album the leadership in its version of "the most influential in all of music history".

Vinyl record cover of The Jimi Hendrix Experience
Vinyl record cover of The Jimi Hendrix Experience

TV channel VH1 placed him at the 5th position among the best of all time - according to the 2001 version. "Rolling Stone" - at #15 among the top 500 in all of music history. "Creem" - at #6 among the top ten metal albums of the 1960s. "New Musical Express" put it at 29th position. Not so long ago, in 2005, the album was included in the list of national records of the Library of Congress.

The Rise of Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix, Noel Redding, Mitch Mitchell 1967.
Jimi Hendrix, Noel Redding, Mitch Mitchell 1967.

In reality, Hendrix had a long and difficult road to success. His family was poor, and he grew up a neglected child, closed and extremely sensitive. As a teenager, he received his first acoustic guitar as a gift and began actively trying to play, watching others do it; he listened to music avidly, absorbing the recommendations of those who were more experienced.

At 17, his father handed him an electric guitar. As recalled by his comrades of the time who shared his musical passions, Hendrix learnt incredible acrobatic twists, including playing with his teeth and blindly when the instrument is behind his back, from his friend Raleigh Snipes, who played in the Seattle band "The Sharps". Jimmy immediately adopted Chuck Berry's inimitable manner of walking in stagger, but his idol was Elvis Presley, who came to Seattle in 1957. Hendrix was very partial to blues tunes: he avidly devoured the music of Muddy Waters and B.B. King on his father's records.

Vibrant, musical, inimitable
Vibrant, musical, inimitable

By the time he was 19, Jimmy was having some difficulties with the police: he had been spotted more than once in stolen cars - twice he was arrested for it. He had to choose between a two-year prison sentence or the army. Jimmy chose the second, and ended up in the 101st Airborne Division of the States, which was stationed in Kentucky. This was clearly not an army man: standing on watch, he fell asleep, sleeves later executed orders, often drew attention to himself, shot very mediocre. A year later, his command petitioned for his recall, and Hendricks was only too pleased.

And then began the difficult road to musical Olympus. Hendrix travelled a lot in different states, travelling across America from north to south and from west to east. He was a member of The Isley Brothers, performed with Little Richard. It was the latter who taught Hendrix to wear shouting, provocative clothes, and by analogy with him Jimmy let go of his moustache. Already in 1966, the musician confessed:

"It makes me want to do to the guitar what Little Richard does to his own voice."

A serious intention. Hendrix could already do the famous guitar tricks, playing in various poses. During the performances he played the solo with enthusiasm and virtuosity, which attracted the attention of the fans: they were fascinated by Hendrix, not by the main idol. This was the reason for his dismissal and departure from Little Richard. Jimmy played with several other musicians, made recordings of other bands as a guest performer. The moment came and he formed a band called "Jimmy James and The Blue Flames" - the guys played a lot of gigs in New York clubs.

In the winter of 1966, at one of these performances, Jimmy met Linda Keith, who knew the Rolling Stones guitarist Keith Richards. She drew the attention of the Rolling Stones' manager Andrew Oldham and producer Seymour Stein to the aspiring musician, but they were clearly not keen on his compositions. Linda put him in touch with Chas Chandler, and that proved to be very helpful. Chandler was finishing his career as a bassist with the then famous The Animals and was hoping to be the manager and producer of someone new. And both of them had their moment in the spotlight.

Jimi Hendrix Experience performed at the House of Culture in Helsinki. Seen here before or after the concert, 1967. Photo: Marjut Valakivi
Jimi Hendrix Experience performed at the House of Culture in Helsinki. Seen here before or after the concert, 1967. Photo: Marjut Valakivi

The Jimi Hendrix Experience and first recordings

Chandler called Hendrix to Britain, signed a contract with him, and then began producing and promoting his band. It consisted of guitarist Noel Redding (bass parts) and drummer Mitch Mitchell, both British. The producer introduced his new mentee into the circle of English rock stars - Pete Townsend of The Who, Eric Clapton of Cream. Clapton's band allowed Hendrix to join them for a jam session, and the friendship between Clapton and Hendrix grew strong enough to last until Jimi's death.

Chandler signed Hendrix's band to the newly formed Track Records label, barely founded by The Who's managers Keith Lambert and Chris Stamp.

Album "Are You Experienced" (1967)

The newcomers released three singles one after another under Chandler's direction, and all of them ended up in the British Top 10. Although the first one - "Hey Joe/Stone Free" - had to be released at Polydor Records (end of 1966), as Track Records had not started its activities officially yet. The following singles were released there - "Purple Haze/51st Anniversary" - as the initial release of the new label, the 40-piece had a specific white label - and "The Wind Cries Mary/Highway Chile" (May 1967).

At the same time the other tracks included in the launch album were recorded. As is the British custom, the songs released as singles were not included in the album, which is why it was released in the May version without them. The album recently made headlines across Europe, reaching number two on the UK charts, and would have had every chance to lead if the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band hadn't been released at the same time, which would have stayed at number one for a long time.

Are You Experienced - The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Track Records/Polydor Records/Reprise Records, 1967)
Are You Experienced - The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Track Records/Polydor Records/Reprise Records, 1967)

Different editions and versions...

On the European continent, the album was released by three different recording studios. The first was Track Records, which designed a distinctive cover with a photo of Bruce Fleming. Another variation was the independent label Barclay Records in France, with a completely different cover featuring a photo of Hendrix on TV against a psychedelic graphic backdrop. The authors of the project also put a question mark in the album title.

Album cover of Are You Experienced -The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Barclay Records, 1967)
Album cover of Are You Experienced -The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Barclay Records, 1967)

Finally, the third variation was the Polydor Records version - in German, Italian and Spanish parts of the European continent, with the original British cover. An important nuance - Jimi Hendrix's name was circled in yellow-green letters, in Italy in red, in Spain in yellow. It was a mono mix.

There are also interesting details when publishing on different continents. In South Africa, for example, Polydor removed the photo images from the cover so as not to provoke the public with the image of a Negro. It was probably the only chance to publish the album there. A plain red envelope with letters on the back. In Japan and on the Australian continent, Polydor released the album with a Track Records cover.

Success, achievements, fame and concerts

When the album was played in European countries and England, Hendrix and his team found themselves as regular idols of many famous TV programmes. Fans such as Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck, Brian Jones of the Rolling Stones and the entire team of The Beatles and The Who were always present during their performances. Hendrix's band began travelling extensively throughout the UK and then the European continent. The peak of Hendrix's career was the performance on 31 March 1967, when in the finale he triggered a short circuit and ceremonially burned his guitar in public. And then, important in the promotion of the tour were materials in which the administration of one hall demanded not to repeat anything like that, otherwise threatening to refuse to hold the concert. Chandler's position was unchanged: he said there would be no compromise.

The final concert before the trip to America, in the summer of 1967, opened with the Beatles' song "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" from the recently released album of the same name. Among the celebrity guests in the audience at the time were McCartney and Harrison, who expressed complete delight at the reading of the song. Although Hendrix's band was well known in Europe, the same could not be said for the States. There, the initial single went unnoticed, and there was no hurry to repeat the experience. McCartney helped by recommending to the organisers that Hendrix be invited to the Monterey Pop Festival in the summer of 1967. This helped to bring the performer and charismatic showman to the thousands of festival-goers and to capture the attention of journalists working during the event. Among other things, the festival was filmed, and then D.A. Pennebaker made a documentary that was shown in American cinemas in 1969. And Hendrix's concert, where he burned his guitar, became a legend.

Vinyl record cover
Vinyl record cover

After the festival there were a few more good shows in the west of America, and then Reprise Records wanted to release Are You Experienced in the States and Canada.

The American version has many significant adjustments. There are no "Red House", "Can You See Me" and "Remember". But three songs that were released as singles in Europe, but were unknown to Americans, are included. These include: "Hey Joe," "Purple Haze" and "The Wind Cries Mary." Hendrix approved the sequence of songs, but "Red House" was removed against his wishes. The argument was that in the States and Latin America blues was not very popular. The cover was changed too - to a more colourful psychedelic design. In the centre was placed a photo of the whole team, taken with a fish-eye lens by pioneering photographer Carl Ferris. Released in the summer of 1967 in stereo and mono versions, the album quickly broke into the charts and stayed there for a year, until the release of the new album.

Russian-Armenian rock conquers hearts: MANAPART release new album "Red"

The band MANAPART presented a new album "Red". Why is it worth listening to? Rock is an amazing thing! It can be "glamourous", southern, symphonic.... And even Russian-Armenian! And if...

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

About the album "Valleys of Neptune" by the legendary Jimi Hendrix

"Valleys of Neptune" - idea, history, tracks, significance "Valleys of Neptune" is a collection of tracks by Jimi Hendrix. It saw the light of day in the spring of 2010 and introduced the public to 12 previously...

The story of Jimi Hendrix's album recorded for the BBC

History of the album "BBC Sessions": idea, tracks, meaning "BBC Sessions" is an album by Jimi Hendrix, recorded with his band the Jimi Hendrix Experience. It was released in the summer of 1998...

The story of the Jimi Hendrix compilation that was to be the follow-up to the legendary Electric Ladyland

About the iconic guitar virtuoso's "People, Hell and Angels": conception, idea, tracks, influence Jimi Hendrix's album "People, Hell and Angels" was released in 2013. It includes...

The 40 minutes that shaped rock 'n' roll: talking about the Jimi Plays Monterey album

The story of the seminal album "Jimi Plays Monterey" that keeps critics busy to this day "Jimi Plays Monterey" is Jimi Hendrix's posthumous live album and film,...

About Jimi Hendrix's album "Loose Ends" with the enigmatic Alex Trevor on the cover

About Jimi Hendrix's posthumous album "Loose Ends": track list, facts, meaning and significance "Unfinished Business" - this is the name given to the posthumous collection of tracks by the legendary guitar virtuoso....

How David Gilmour encouraged Hendrix to perform at the Isle of Wight Festival in 1970

How David Gilmour became Jimi Hendrix's sound engineer for one iconic show Jimi Hendrix is a legendary guitar virtuoso, singer and composer. He is often referred to as the "God of Play," a...

The hour Ches Chandler 'discovered' Jimi Hendrix - how the legendary guitarist's star rose in history

"Chas Chandler's 'Butterfly Effect': how The Animals bassist discovered Jimi Hendrix Fascinated by the work of an idol - do fans often wonder how his star rose? From what,...

'American-style psychedelia': US military conducts electric guitar masterclass

"Strings of Colour" is a new project from the US military "America's First Corps Band" is the name of an American musical group made up of US military personnel. At the end of February,...

What genre of music did you listen to in the 60s? Hits of 1966

The best singles of 1966 - Music Chronicle In the '60s, the world of music expanded dramatically. New genres emerged and now the music lovers of the world had plenty to choose from: jazz, rhythm and blues,...
Recommended

Russian-Armenian rock conquers hearts: MANAPART release new album "Red"

The band MANAPART presented a new album "Red". Why is it worth listening to? Rock is an amazing thing! It can be "glamourous", southern, symphonic.... And even Russian-Armenian! And if...

Best Song From The Rolling Stones' Worst Album

The Rolling Stones - "She's a Rainbow": all about the song, story and meaning, recording This song isn't quite like what you expect to hear....

The Rolling Stones return with Hackney Diamonds - First Album in 7 years

The Rolling Stones' Hackney Diamonds album: review, tracks, facts Despite their cult status, this band hasn't been heard from in a while - well, if...

Who she is - Jimi Hendrix's mysterious "cunning lady".

Jimi Hendrix - Foxy Lady: meaning and history of the song, muse Jimi Hendrix didn't like to write songs - or rather lyrics to them: according to him, "usually...

What does "Helter Skelter" mean, or how the Beatles wrote their most curios hit

The Beatles - Helter Skelter: song history, meaning, notoriety The Beatles were famous for their light, melodic pop-rock compositions, and therefore, no one and...

The Story of One Classic Song: The Supremes - You Keep Me Hangin' On

All about the musical masterpiece "You Keep Me Hangin' On" by The Supremes Let's dive into the distant October 1966. An American female vocal group took the stage ...

A turning point within Pink Floyd that turned into success and the subsequent split of the band

The moment when Pink Floyd had a split in Pink Floyd Pink Floyd is one of the most original and unique bands of classic rock. The work of this band is difficult to characterise: it is...

Top 6 most beautiful songs performed by Maria Pakhomenko

The hit parade of the best Pakhomenko songs: it was difficult, but we selected the best ones Maria Pakhomenko is a legend of Soviet pop music, whose name is known and loved by millions of listeners. Her voice...

Rainbow's latest album: a masterpiece that was "heard" years later

"And that's it, that's it, we should have done it sooner": talking about the Stranger In Us All album that didn't get the attention it deserved at the time Ritchie Blackmore...

Автор:

Категория:

Are You Experienced (1967) – The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Всё об альбоме…

О Легендарном и Величайшем...

История альбома «Are You Experienced» (1967) группы Jimi Hendrix Experience

Are You Experienced (1967) – первый альбом The Jimi Hendrix Experience. «Опытен ли ты» представляет собой музыкальный дебют англо-американской группы «The Jimi Hendrix Experience», изданный в мае 1967-го британской компанией «Track Records» и в августе того же года – в США в студии «Reprise Records». Это яркий и результативный дебют в развитии рока. Благодаря этому событию, Джимми Хендрикс стал новым кумиром мирового уровня. Журнал «Guitarist» присудил альбому лидерство в своей версии «наиболее влиятельных во всей музыкальной истории».

Обложка виниловой пластинки группы The Jimi Hendrix Experience
Обложка виниловой пластинки группы The Jimi Hendrix Experience

Телевизионный канал VH1 разместил его на 5-ой позиции среди лучших во все времена – по версии 2001 года. «Rolling Stone» – на 15-ой в числе 500 лучших во всей музыкальной истории. «Creem» – на 6-ой позиции в числе десяти лучших альбомов металла 1960-х. «New Musical Express» поставил его на 29-ю позицию. Не так давно, в 2005-м, альбом внесли в перечень национальных записей библиотеки Конгресса США.

Восхождение Джими Хендрикса

Джими Хендрикс, Ноэль Реддинг, Митч Митчелл 1967
Джими Хендрикс, Ноэль Реддинг, Митч Митчелл 1967

В действительности Хендрикс непросто и долго шёл к успеху. Его семья жила бедно, он рос запущенным ребёнком, закрытым и крайне восприимчивым. В подростковом возрасте он получил в подарок первую акустическую гитару и начал активно пробовать играть, наблюдая, как это делают другие; запоем слушал музыку, впитывал рекомендации тех, кто опытнее.

В 17 отец вручил ему электрогитару. Как вспоминали тогдашние его товарищи, разделявшие музыкальные увлечения, невероятным акробатическим вывертам, в том числе игре зубами и вслепую, когда инструмент вообще за спиной, Хендрикс научился у друга Рэйли Снайпса, игравшего в сиэттловской группе «The Sharps». Джимми сразу перенял неподражаемую манеру Чака Берри ходить вразвалочку, однако его кумиром оставался Элвис Пресли, приезжавший в Сиэттл в 1957-м. Хендрикс был очень неравнодушен к блюзовым мелодиям: он жадно поглощал музыку Мадди Уотерса и Би Би Кинга на отцовских пластинках.

Яркие, музыкальные, неподражаемые
Яркие, музыкальные, неподражаемые

К 19-ти годам у Джимми были некоторые сложности с полицией: его не раз замечали в угнанных авто – дважды арестовывали за это. Нужно было выбирать: или двухлетнее тюремное заключение, или армия. Джимми выбрал второе, и оказался в 101-ой воздушно-десантной дивизии Штатов, которая была дислоцирована в штате Кентукки. Это был явно не армейский человек: стоя на вахте, он засыпал, спустя рукава исполнял приказы, часто обращал на себя внимание, стрелял очень посредственно. Спустя год командование выступило с ходатайством о его отзыве, и Хендриксу это было только на руку.

И потом начался непростой путь к музыкальному Олимпу. Хендрикс немало мыкался в различных Штатах, колесил по Америке от севера к югу и от запада к востоку. Входил в «The Isley Brothers», выступал с Литтл Ричардом. Именно тот научил Хендрикса носить кричащую вызывающую одежду, и по аналогии с ним Джимми отпустил усы. Уже в 1966-м музыкант признавался:

«Мне хочется вытворять с гитарой то, что делает с собственным голосом Литтл Ричард».

Серьёзное намерение. Хендрикс тогда уже мог делать знаменитые трюки с гитарой, играя в самых разных позах. Во время выступлений он упоённо и виртуозно солировал, что привлекало внимание фанатов: они зачарованно смотрели не на главного кумира, а именно на Хендрикса. Это и стало причиной его увольнения и ухода от Литтл Ричарда. Джимми играл ещё с несколькими музыкантами, проводил записи других групп в качестве приглашённого исполнителя. Настал момент – и он создал группу, назвав её «Jimmy James and The Blue Flames» – ребята активно выступали в нью-йоркских клубах.

Зимой 1966-го на одном из подобных выступлений Джимми познакомился с Линдой Кейт, знавшей гитариста «Роллингов» Кейта Ричардса. Она обратила внимание менеджера «Роллингов» Эндрю Олдхэма и продюсера Сеймура Стейна на начинающего музыканта, однако те были явно не в восторге от его композиций. Линда свела его тогда с Чесом Чэндлером, и это оказалось очень кстати. Чэндлер тогда заканчивал карьеру басиста у прославленных на то время «The Animals» и рассчитывал быть менеджером и продюсером кого-то из начинающих. И звёздный час обоих пробил.

Jimi Hendrix Experience выступал в Доме культуры в Хельсинки. Здесь видели до или после концерта, 1967. Фото: Marjut Valakivi
Jimi Hendrix Experience выступал в Доме культуры в Хельсинки. Здесь видели до или после концерта, 1967. Фото: Marjut Valakivi

The Jimi Hendrix Experience и первые записи

Чэндлер позвал Хендрикса в Британию, заключил с ним контракт, после чего стал продюсировать и продвигать его группу. В её составе были гитарист Ноэль Реддинг (басовые партии) и ударник Митч Митчелл, британцы. Продюсер ввёл нового подопечного в круг звёзд английского рока – Пита Таунсенда из «The Who», Эрика Клэптона из «Cream». Пойдя навстречу продюсеру, группа, где состоял Клэптон, позволила Хендриксу выступать вместе с ними в джем-сейшне, и потом дружба Клэптона и Хендрикса укрепилась, чтобы уже не прерваться до самого момента смерти Джими.

Чэндлер сделал подписку группы Хендрикса на вновь созданный лейбл «Track Records», едва основанный менеджерами «The Who» Китом Ламбертом и Крисом Стэмпом.

Альбом «Are You Experienced» (1967)

Новички издали друг за другом три сингла под руководством Чэндлера, и все они оказались в британском ТОП-10. Хотя первый – «Hey Joe/Stone Free» – нужно было издать в «Polydor Records» (конец 1966), так как «Track Records» тогда пока не приступила к своей деятельности официально. Последующие синглы были изданы уже там – «Purple Haze/51st Anniversary» – в качестве начального релиза нового лейбла, у сорокапятки был специфический белый лейбл – и «The Wind Cries Mary/Highway Chile» (май 1967).

Тогда же была сделана запись и прочих композиций, включённых в состав стартового альбома. Как принято у англичан, композиции, изданные синглами, в альбом не входили, вот почему он оказался издан в майской версии без них. Альбом недавно прогремел на всю Европу, заняв вторую позицию в британских списках, и были все шансы лидировать, если бы одновременно не издали «Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band» «Битлз», который обосновался на первой позиции рейтинга надолго.

Are You Experienced – The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Track Records/Polydor Records/Reprise Records, 1967)
Are You Experienced – The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Track Records/Polydor Records/Reprise Records, 1967)

Разные издания и версии…

На европейском континенте альбом издавался тремя различными студиями звукозаписи. Это была, прежде всего, «Track Records», разработавшая самобытную обложку с фото Брюса Флеминга. Ещё одна вариация – независимый лейбл «Barclay Records» во Франции с совершенно непохожей обложкой, где помещено фото Хендрикса во время телеэфира на фоне психоделически оформленной графической декорации. Авторы проекта ещё и поставили знак вопроса в названии альбома.

Обложка альбома Are You Experienced –The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Barclay Records, 1967)
Обложка альбома Are You Experienced –The Jimi Hendrix Experience (Barclay Records, 1967)

Наконец, третьей вариацией стала версия «Polydor Records» – в германской, итальянской и испанской частях европейского континента, с оригинальной британской обложкой. Важный нюанс – имя Джимми Хендрикса было обведено жёлто-зелеными буквами, в Италии – красными, в Испании – жёлтыми. Это был мономикс.

Есть ещё интересные детали при издании на разных континентах. Так, в ЮАР «Polydor» сняла с обложки фотоизображения, чтобы не провоцировать публику изображением негра. Наверное, это был единственный шанс издать там альбом. Обычный красный конверт с буквами на обороте. В Японии и на австралийском континенте «Polydor» издала альбом с обложкой «Track Records».

Успех, достижения, слава и концерты

Когда альбом прозвучал в европейских странах и Англии, Хендрикс и его команда оказались в роли постоянных кумиров многих известных телепередач. Во время их выступлений неизменно присутствовали фанаты – Эрик Клэптон и Джефф Бек, Брайан Джонс из «Rolling Stones» и вся команда «The Beatles», «The Who». Группа Хендрикса начала активно ездить и по Великобритании, и потом – по европейскому континенту. Пиком карьеры Хендрикса оказалось выступление 31 марта 1967-го, когда в финале он спровоцировал короткое замыкание и торжественно сжёг гитару прилюдно. И потом, важное значение в продвижении турне имели материалы, в которых администрация одного зала требовала больше не повторять ничего подобного, в противном случае грозя отказом от проведения концерта. Позиция Чэндлера была неизменной: он говорил, что компромиссов не будет.

Финальный концерт перед поездкой в Америку, летом 1967-го, был открыт песней «Битлз» «Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band» из недавно изданного альбома с таким же названием. Среди звёздных гостей тогда в зале находились Маккартни и Харрисон, выразившие полный восторг прочтением песни. Хотя группа Хендрикса оказалась широко известна в Европе, этого нельзя было сказать про Штаты. Там начальный сингл прошёл незаметно, и повторять этот опыт явно не спешили. Помог Маккартни, порекомендовавший устроителям позвать Хендрикса на поп-фестиваль в Монтерее летом 1967-го. Это помогло вывести исполнителя и харизматичного шоумена на многотысячную фестивальную публику и зацепить внимание журналистов, работавших во время мероприятия. Помимо прочего, фестиваль снимали, и потом Д.А. Пеннебейкер снял документальную ленту, показанную в кинотеатрах Америки в 1969 году. А концерт Хендрикса, на котором тот сжёг гитару, стал настоящей легендой.

Обложка виниловой пластинки
Обложка виниловой пластинки

После фестиваля было ещё несколько хороших концертов на западе Америки, и затем студия «Reprise Records» захотела издать альбом «Are You Experienced» в Штатах и Канаде.

В американской версии есть множество значительных коррективов. Там нет песен «Red House», «Can You See Me» и «Remember». Зато включены три песни, изданные синглами в Европе, однако неизвестные американцам. В их числе: «Hey Joe», «Purple Haze» и «The Wind Cries Mary». Логику следования композиций утвердил Хендрикс, но «Red House» убрали вопреки его желанию. Аргументом было то, что в Штатах и Латинской Америке не особо жалуют блюз. Обложка тоже была изменена – на более яркое психоделическое оформление. В центре было размещено фото всей команды, снятое объективом «рыбий глаз» фотографом-новатором Карлом Феррисом. Изданный летом 1967-го в стерео и моно вариантах, альбом стремительно прорвался в списки и оставался в них год, до момента выхода нового альбома.

9kFollowers

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...