Author:

Category:

Johnny, who sighed at all Soviet discos

Gradually, Gilla's popularity faded. Until the early 2000s, the singer occasionally reminded of herself, appearing on TV shows about the stars of the 70s, but there was practically no new solo material from her. Today, most listeners remember her only for the cult hit "Johnny".

Gilla "Johnny" (1978) - the history of the song by Toto Cutugno, the biography of the singer Gilla, other versions of the composition

Johnny - popular disco hit of the second half 1970's years. The author of the track is a famous Italian artist Toto Cutugno. It was performed by Gilla, an Austrian disco singer who reached the peak of her popularity after the release of the single. Subsequently, many artists recorded their cover versions of the famous "Johnny"but the original is hard to beat.

Regarding Gilles, then after this hit she made attempts to win the world charts again, but all in vain: there were several more or less hit songs, but it is thanks to "Johnny" that this performer is remembered today. By the end of the 80s, Gilla had released little and was eventually forgotten by the audience. Nowadays, the hit performer periodically visits Russia and performs at discos of the 80s, but no more. However, first things first.

Song history

Singer Gilla
Singer Gilla

Gilla (real name Gisela Wuhinger) was one of those lucky ones who were taken under their wing by a well-known German producer Frank Farian. A charming girl with a recognizable voice quickly attracted his attention and soon gained fame. It is noteworthy that Farian took up the promotion of Gilla much earlier than his more successful project. Boney M.loved by listeners all over the world. So in the similarity of sound and even in the fact that the repertoire of Gilla and Boney M. includes the same tracks, there is nothing surprising.

In fact, Gilla had several mainstream hits including "Tues"which German listeners loved so much. But in the Soviet Union, the singer was recognized for only one hit track, and this Johnny. recognizable "Oh-ee!", owned by Farian himself, got stuck in the heads of music lovers, and this exclamation-exhalation was sung in chorus in all discos in the country! During a live performance of the song, this is the most “Oooh!” imitated Bobby Farrell from Boney M., who also performed as backup dancer for Gilla.

And for the first time the song was performed not by Gilla, but by Mita Medici. Its Italian version was written Vito Pallavicini.

The hit composition was released in 1977. She successfully fit into the track list of the singer's second album, which received a sultry title. "Zieh michaus". Few people know, but the music for the hit was composed by the incredibly popular in those years Toto Cutugno!

In the lyrics of the song, the girl talks about how she admires her magnificent companion Johnny, but at the same time doubts the serious intentions of the gentleman.

Who is Gilla? Brief biography of the singer

Singer Gilla
Singer Gilla

Gisela Wuhinger was born on February 27, 1950 in the city Linz, Austria. The love of music was passed on to her from family members, each of whom mastered the skill of playing an instrument. About her first experience with the electric guitar, Gilla said the following:

“When I was a child, I got my hands on an electric guitar made by my father. I was very interested in the instrument. But my curiosity nearly led to tragedy. When I plugged the high-frequency cable from the guitar into the outlet, it lit up instantly! Fortunately, my mother ran into the room in time, threw a blanket over the guitar and threw it out the window!”

After graduating from a music school, Gilla began her career as a singer as part of the Traffic group, which would later change its name to 75 Music. So, during a performance in a cafe, the girl was noticed by a young and little-known producer at that time. Frank Farian.

Gilla
Gilla

Soon a promising career began, during which several long-playing records were released. Yes, the album "Willst du mit mir schlafen gehn?" gained success in Western Europe, while the single "Ich brenne" (aka Help! Help!") has achieved some chart success in a number of countries. Nevertheless, the second studio album could no longer boast of such a result. Despite this, Farian did not stop trying to make Gilla a superstar. Until his interest waned and he finally switched to Boney M.

Gradually popularity Gilles sleeping. Until the early 2000s, the singer occasionally reminded of herself, appearing on TV shows about the stars of the 70s, but there was practically no new solo material from her. Today, most listeners remember her only from a cult hit. Johnny.

Music lovers from Russia especially loved the singer. Sometimes Gilla pleases with performances at various discos of the 80s, such as "Legends of Retro-FM" and "Autoradio".

And here is the Russian adaptation.

Youtube user Yuri Illarionov posted an unusual version of the hit. The man played the melody on the accordion.

You can not ignore the parody "OSP-studios", in which it is not sung about Johnny, but about the first president of Russia Boris Yeltsin.

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

Джонни, о котором вздыхали на всех советских дискотеках

Постепенно популярность Гиллы угасла. До начала 2000-х певица изредка напоминала о себе, появляясь в телепередачах о звёздах 70-х, однако нового сольного материала от неё практически не было. Сегодня большая часть слушателей помнит о ней лишь по культовому хиту «Johnny».

Gilla «Johnny» (1978) – история песни Тото Кутуньо, биография певицы Гиллы, другие версии композиции

«Johnny» — популярный диско-хит второй половины 1970-х годов. Автором трека является известный итальянский артист Тото Кутуньо. Исполнила его Гилла — австрийская диско-певица, которая достигла пика своей популярности после выпуска сингла. Впоследствии многие артисты записывали свои кавер-версии на знаменитого «Джонни», но оригинал трудно превзойти.

Что касается Гиллы, то после этого хита она предпринимала попытки вновь завоевать мировые чарты, но всё тщетно: было несколько более-менее хитовых песен, но именно благодаря «Johnny» сегодня и помнят об этой исполнительнице. Уже концу 80-х Гилла мало что выпускала и в конце концов забылась слушателями. В наши дни исполнительница шлягера периодически навещает Россию и выступает на дискотеках 80-х, но не более. Однако обо всём по порядку.

История песни

Певица Гилла
Певица Гилла

Гилла (настоящее имя Гизела Вухингер) была одной из тех счастливчиков, которых вовремя взял под своё крыло известный немецкий продюсер Фрэнк Фариан. Очаровательная девушка с узнаваемым голосом быстро привлекла его внимание и вскоре получила известность. Примечательно то, что раскруткой Гиллы Фариан занялся гораздо раньше своего более успешного проекта «Boney M.», который полюбился слушателям всего мира. Так что в схожести звучания и даже в том, что репертуар Гиллы и «Boney M.» включает в себя одни и те же треки, нет ничего удивительного.

На самом деле, у Гиллы было несколько популярных хитов, включая «Tu es», которую так любили немецкие слушатели. Но в Советском Союзе певицу признали лишь по одному хитовому треку, и это «Johnny». Узнаваемое «Оу-е!», принадлежащее самому Фариану, застряло в головах меломанов, и этот возглас-выдох подпевали хором на всех дискотеках страны! Во время живого исполнения песни это самое «Оу-е!» имитировал Бобби Фаррелл из «Boney M.», который также выступал у Гиллы на подтанцовке.

А впервые песню исполнила не Гилла, а Мита Медичи. Её версия на итальянском языке была написана Вито Паллавичини.

Хитовая композиция увидела свет в 1977 году. Она удачно вписалась в трек-лист второго альбома певицы, который получил знойное название «Zieh mich aus». Мало кто знает, но музыку для хита сочинил невероятно популярный в те годы Тото Кутуньо!

В тексте песни девушка рассказывает о том, как она восхищена своим великолепным спутником Джонни, но в то же время сомневается в серьёзных намерениях кавалера.

Кто такая Гилла? Краткая биография певицы

Певица Гилла
Певица Гилла

Гизела Вухингер родилась 27 февраля 1950 года в городе Линц, Австрия. Любовь к музыке передалась ей от членов семьи, каждый из которых владел мастерством игры на каком-нибудь инструменте. О своём первом опыте знакомства с электрогитарой Гилла рассказывала следующее:

«Когда я была ребёнком, мне в руки попала электрогитара, сделанная отцом. Я была очень заинтересована инструментом. Но моё любопытство чуть не привело к трагедии. Когда я подключила высокочастотный кабель, идущий от гитары, к розетке, она мгновенно вспыхнула! К счастью, мама вовремя забежала в комнату, набросила на гитару одеяло и выкинула её в окно!»

Окончив музыкальное училище, свой путь певицы Гилла начала в составе группы «Traffic», которая впоследствии изменит своё название на «75 Music». Так, во время выступления в кафе девушка была замечена молодым и малоизвестным на тот момент продюсером Фрэнком Фарианом.

Гилла
Гилла

Вскоре началась многообещающая карьера, за период которой было выпущено несколько долгоиграющих пластинок. Так, альбом «Willst du mit mir schlafen gehn?» снискал успех на территории Западной Европы, в то время как сингл «Ich brenne» (он же «Help! Help!») добился определённого успеха в чартах ряда стран. Тем не менее вторая студийная пластинка уже не могла похвастаться подобным результатом. Несмотря на это, Фариан не прекращал попытки сделать Гиллу суперзвездой. До тех пор, пока его интерес не угас и он окончательно не переключился на «Boney M.».

Постепенно популярность Гиллы спала. До начала 2000-х певица изредка напоминала о себе, появляясь в телепередачах о звёздах 70-х, однако нового сольного материала от неё практически не было. Сегодня большая часть слушателей помнит о ней лишь по культовому хиту «Johnny».

Особенно сильно певицу полюбили меломаны из России. Иногда Гилла радует из выступлениями на различных дискотеках 80-х, таких как «Легенды Ретро-FM» и «Авторадио».

А вот русская адаптация.

Пользователь Youtube Юрий Илларионов выложил необычную версию хита. Мужчина исполнил мелодию на аккордеоне.

Нельзя обойти стороной и пародию «ОСП-студии», в которой поётся не про Джонни, а про первого президента России Бориса Ельцина.

9kFollowers

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Похожие статьи

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...