Author:

Category:

Judas Priest: Little-Known and Crazy Stories About a '70s Heavy Metal Band

And while they've never been the wildest band in their genre, their careers remember some outrageous and even insane incidents...

What you might not know about your idols: we recall the little-known and rather curious facts about Judas Priest

Judas Priest, perhaps the most important band in heavy metal history (after their peers Black Sabbath, of course)! In the end 70swhen Sabbath and other bands brawled and complained about being called heavy metal bands, Judas Priest embraced the term and urged other bands to be proud to be part of a musical subculture shunned by the mainstream… Yes, these guys introduced the world to the world's first great multi-octave metal vocalist Rob Halford, which instantly inspired everyone, from Bruce Dickinson of Iron Maiden to David Draiman of Disturbed! And although they have never been the wildest group in their genre, their career remembers some outrageous and even insane incidents ... We will actually remember them today!

Rob Halford once fired a real machine gun on stage

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

Judas Priest's first commercial breakthrough was their album British Steel 1980 of the year that included hits "Breaking The Law", "Living After Midnight" and "Metal Gods".

But few people know that during the tour for British Steel, the vocalist Rob Halford pulled a real machine gun filled with blank cartridges onto the stage, and during the performance "Genocide" fired at the crowd with it! The fans went berserk, and in the end, the firemen put a stop to this wild incident…

“Some people looked confused! I could swear they thought, “God, this isn’t a machine gun… Is it plastic? No, it's real! What's the matter?" I pointed the machine gun right at them and started shooting! No one knew what was going on beforehand, so this look from the crowd was a combination of pure horror and “Oh my God, this is so cool!” — later recalled vocalist Judas Priest.

"First aid"

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

It's not a topic they like to talk about these days, but Judas Priest partyed hard throughout the decade 80s! And because Halford he didn't attract female fans, he entertained himself in other ways... Sometimes he wielded fire extinguishers in hotels, but this is only the most innocuous of his list of crazy entertainment - as well as the entertainment of the group as a whole.

The group's wildest drug experience came during a trip to the island. Ibiza in Spain to write to Ibiza Sound Studios… According to Halford, at that time bassist Ian Hill destroyed about 20 rented cars! But even this is not scary ... The most chaotic incident occurred when the guitarist Kenneth Downing was hit by a taxi, after which another guitarist of the group - Glenn Tipton - tried to give first aid to a friend ...

“It was terrible,” says Halford. “Glenn was under something because he dipped his hands into boiling water, trying to clean the wounds ... As a result, he burned his hands, and Kenneth was wrapped in a thousand bandages, as he looked like an Egyptian mummy. He couldn't walk for a week...

Litigation

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

In December 1985 years, two young men from Nevada - Raymond Belknap, 18, and James Vance, 20 - spent six hours drinking, enjoying illegal substances and listening to the album 1978 Priest Stained Class. When they finished, they made a pact: the guys agreed to commit suicide together... Each took a gun and went to the local playground, put the weapon under his chin and pulled the trigger... Belknap died instantly. As for Vance, somehow the bullet bounced off his skull and flew out without killing him. The guy became disabled and died three years later ... Before his death, he and his parents sued Judas Priest and CBS Records, demanding compensation for moral and physical damage in the amount of 6.2 million dollars! They insisted that the band had hidden the back messages in their cover version. Spooky Tooth "Better By You, Better Than Me", and that it was these messages that forced Raymond and James to commit suicide!

Family lawsuit James Vance, was taken to court in July 1990 of the year. Knowing well that lyrics are protected by the First Amendment, the prosecution argued that backmasking is not a "speech" or "expression" and is therefore not protected by the Constitution. According to them, the responsibility for the death of the guys is Judas Priest and CBS Records. The entire group was subpoenaed and the prosecution repeatedly played the song back and forth to reveal subliminal messages.

"The irony was that these two boys loved Judas Priest," Halford remarked. "For the first two days, we said, 'Oh, we know what it's about...' It's about cashing in quickly on such a tragedy!"

Rob Halford
Rob Halford

After a protracted trial that used expert testimony from audio analysts and subliminal message specialists, the judge decided the evidence was inconclusive and dismissed the case.

Halford enters rehab

Rob Halford
Rob Halford

Even before the traumatic incident in Nevada and the lengthy lawsuit Halford suffered from his severe addictions… Partly he was disappointed that the world of heavy metal had not yet accepted the love of men for each other, and he had to remain “locked up” from society…

“There were nights when I used so much that I literally thought I was on the verge of…,” he once said.

But one day the moment came when Halford realized that he had reached the bottom ... He had a stormy relationship with a guy, filled with alcohol and not only ... As a rule, their evenings did not end with just a dream: they ended with real fisticuffs. In the midst of a particularly violent skirmish Halford ran out of the house and hailed a taxi to drive away. When he got into the car, his boyfriend went outside and approached the car with a gun in his hand. He told Rob that he loved him...

“A few moments later, he put a gun to his head and pulled the trigger…,” Halford said.

After this terrible incident, the vocalist Judas Priest went to a rehabilitation center. He was perfectly clean and sober. 1986 of the year.

Before leaving the group, Halford crashed his motorcycle during the show.

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

In August. 1991 the group performed at CNE Grandstand in Toronto. Their vocalist Rob Halfordgot on a motorcycle Harley Davidsonto ride out onto the stage while smoke and dry ice swirled around him... Usually a metal ladder would go up and Rob would jump under the stage. But this time, the stairs remained down... Not realizing that his bandmates were falling behind him, Halford started the motorcycle and raced towards the stairs. He understood everything, but it was too late ... He crashed into a half-raised ladder and flew out of the saddle, losing consciousness ...

"We started 'Hell Bent for Leather' but there were no vocals..." Kenneth Downing recalled. “We didn’t know where Rob was and we played the whole song without vocals, but he came and managed to play the rest of the show… After that he went to the hospital and I saw him for the last time in a long time…”

Soon after that Halford left Judas Priest. He wanted to take a break, but the rest of the band wanted to get back in the studio much sooner than their vocalist (according to Ian Hill, Halford wanted to take a break for three years!)

10kFollowers

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Related Articles

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Geezer Butler: surprising facts about the "unholy" Black Sabbath bassist

What You Didn't Know About Geezer Butler - Top Surprising Facts About the Black Sabbath Legend Geezer Butler is a Black Sabbath legend and the most "unholy"...

The Worst Hard Rock Albums by Fuzz Music Magazine

Why These Are The Worst Albums In Hard Rock History Commercialism isn't so bad, but only if it's "tasteful" and "in moderation. It's...

"The maestro of progressive metal" - meet John Petrucci

A little history of John Petrucci, one of the best guitarists of our time Progressive rock was a product of psychedelic rock. It was more of an instrumental and compositional approach to...

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

Remembering Randy California, one of the legendary guitarists of the last century Randy California is one of the most legendary guitarists and the greatest father-heroes in history. He was brilliant and...

Rory Gallagher and his wonderful acoustic style

Remembering one of the greatest guitarists Rory Gallagher Rory Gallagher passed away in 1995, and the world literally gasped and was sadly horrified: he was truly...

Автор:

Категория:

Judas Priest: малоизвестные и безумные истории о хэви-метал-группе 70-х

И хотя они никогда не были самой дикой группой в своём жанре, их карьера помнит некоторые возмутительные и даже безумные инциденты...

То, чего вы могли не знать о своих кумирах: вспоминаем малоизвестные и довольно любопытные факты о Judas Priest

Judas Priest, пожалуй, самая важная группа в истории хэви-метала (после их коллег Black Sabbath, конечно же)! В конце 70-х, когда Sabbath и другие группы скандалили и жаловались на то, что их называют хэви-метал-бэндами, Judas Priest приняли этот термин и призвали другие группы гордиться тем, что они являются частью музыкальной субкультуры, которую избегает мейнстрим… Да, эти парни представили миру первого великого многооктавного метал-вокалиста Роба Хэлфорда, который мгновенно вдохновил всех, от Брюса Дикинсона из Iron Maiden до Дэвида Дреймана из Disturbed! И хотя они никогда не были самой дикой группой в своём жанре, их карьера помнит некоторые возмутительные и даже безумные инциденты… О них, собственно, мы сегодня и вспомним!

Роб Хэлфорд однажды выстрелил на сцене из настоящего пулемёта

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

Первым коммерческим прорывом Judas Priest стал их альбом British Steel 1980 года, в который вошли хиты «Breaking The Law», «Living After Midnight» и «Metal Gods».

Но мало кто знает, что во время тура для British Steel вокалист Роб Хэлфорд вытащил на сцену настоящий пулемёт, начиненный холостыми патронами, и во время исполнения «Genocide» обстрелял им толпу!Поклонники взбесились, и в конце концов, пожарные пресекли этот дикий инцидент…

«Некоторые люди выглядели сбитыми с толку! Готов поклясться, они думали: «Господи, это не автомат… Это пластик? Нет, это реально! В чём дело?» Я направлял пулемёт прямо на них и начинал стрелять! Никто заранее не знал, что происходит, поэтому этот взгляд толпы представлял собой комбинацию чистого ужаса и «Боже мой, это так круто!» — вспоминал впоследствии вокалист Judas Priest.

«Первая помощь»

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

В наши дни это не та тема, о которой они любят говорить, но Judas Priest упорно веселились на протяжении всего десятилетия 80-х! И поскольку Хэлфорда не привлекали поклонницы, он развлекался другими способами… Иногда он орудовал огнетушителями в отелях, но это лишь самое безобидное из списка его безумных развлечений — как и развлечений группы в целом.

Самый дикий опыт группы, связанный с запрещёнными веществами, произошёл во время поездки на остров Ибица в Испании для записи в Ibiza Sound Studios… По словам Хэлфорда, в тот период басист Иэн Хилл уничтожил около 20 взятых напрокат автомобилей! Но даже не это пугает… Самый хаотичный инцидент произошёл, когда гитариста Кеннета Даунинга сбило такси, после чего другой гитарист группы — Гленн Типтон — попытался оказать товарищу первую помощь…

«Это было ужасно» — рассказывает Хэлфорд. «Гленн был под чем-то, потому что он погрузил руки в кипящую воду, пытаясь протереть раны… В итоге он обжёг руки, а Кеннет был замотан в тысячу бинтов, так как был похож на египетскую мумию. Он не мог ходить неделю…»

Судебные разбирательства

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

В декабре 1985 года два молодых человека из Невады — Раймонд Белкнап, 18 лет, и Джеймс Вэнс, 20 лет — провели шесть часов, выпивая, наслаждаясь запрещёнными веществами и слушая альбом 1978 года Priest Stained Class. Когда они закончили, они заключили договор: парни договорились вместе покончить с жизнью… Каждый взял ружьё и пошёл на местную игровую площадку, подложил оружие под подбородок и нажав на спусковой крючок… Белкнап скончался мгновенно. Что касается Вэнса, то каким-то образом пуля отскочила от его черепа и вылетела, не убив. Парень стал инвалидом и скончался через три года… Перед смертью он и его родители подали в суд на Judas Priest и CBS Records, потребовав возмещение морального и физического ущерба в размере 6,2 миллиона долларов! Они настаивали на том, что группа скрыла обратные сообщения в своей кавер-версии Spooky Tooth «Better By You, Better Than Me», и что именно эти сообщения вынудили Раймонда и Джеймса покончить с жизнью!

Иск, поданный семьёй Джеймса Вэнса, был передан в суд в июле 1990 года. Хорошо зная, что тексты песен защищены Первой поправкой, обвинение утверждало, что обратная маскировка не является «речью» или «выражением» и, следовательно, не защищена Конституцией. По их словам, ответственность за смерть парней несут Judas Priest и CBS Records. Всю группу вызвали в суд, и обвинение неоднократно воспроизводило песню вперёд и назад, чтобы выявить подсознательные сообщения.

«Ирония заключалась в том, что эти два мальчика любили Judas Priest», — заметил Хэлфорд. «В течение первых двух дней мы сказали: «О, мы знаем, о чём идёт речь…» Речь идёт о том, чтобы быстро заработать на такой трагедии!»

Роб Хэлфорд
Роб Хэлфорд

После затяжного судебного разбирательства, в котором использовались экспертные показания аудиоаналитиков и специалистов по подсознательным сообщениям, судья решил, что доказательства были неубедительными, и прекратил дело.

Хэлфорд попадает в реабилитационный центр

Роб Хэлфорд
Роб Хэлфорд

Ещё до травмирующего инцидента в Неваде и длительного судебного процесса Хэлфорд страдал от своих тяжёлых зависимостей… Отчасти он был разочарован тем, что мир хэви-метала ещё не принял любовь мужчин друг к другу, и ему приходилось оставаться «взаперти» от общества…

«Были ночи, когда я употреблял столько, что буквально думал, что нахожусь на грани…», — сказал он однажды.

Но однажды наступил момент, когда Хэлфорд осознал, что он достиг самого дна… У него были бурные отношения с парнем, наполненные алкоголем и не только… Как правило, их вечера не заканчивались просто сном: они заканчивались настоящими кулачными боями. В разгар особенно ожесточённой стычки Хэлфорд выбежал из дома и остановил такси, чтобы уехать прочь. Когда он сел в машину, его парень вышел на улицу и подошёл к машине с пистолетом в руке. Он сказал Робу, что любит его…

«Несколько мгновений спустя он приставил пистолет к голове и нажал на курок…», — сказал Хэлфорд.

После этого ужасного инцидента вокалист Judas Priest лёг в реабилитационный центр. Он был совершенно чист и трезв с 1986 года.

Прежде чем покинуть группу Хэлфорд разбил мотоцикл прямо во время шоу

Judas Priest
Judas Priest

В августе 1991 года группа выступала на CNE Grandstand в Торонто. Их вокалист, Роб Хэлфорд, сел на мотоцикл Harley Davidson, чтобы выехать на сцену, в то время как дым и сухой лёд клубились вокруг него… Обычно металлическая лестница поднималась, и Роб прыгал под сцену. Но в этот раз лестница оставалась опущенной… Не осознавая, что товарищи по группе отстают от него, Хэлфорд завёл мотоцикл и помчался к лестнице. Он всё понял, но было слишком поздно… Он врезался в полуподнятую лестницу и вылетел из седла, потеряв сознание…

«Мы начали «Hell Bent for Leather», но вокала не было…», — вспоминал Кеннет Даунинг. «Мы не знали, где Роб, и мы отыграли всю песню без вокала, но он пришёл и сумел отыграть остальную часть шоу… После этого он пошёл в больницу, и я видел его в последний раз за долгое время…»

Вскоре после этого Хэлфорд ушёл из Judas Priest. Он хотел взять перерыв, но остальная часть группы хотела вернуться в студию гораздо раньше, чем их вокалист (со слов Иэна Хилла, Хэлфорд хотел взять перерыв на три года!)

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...