Author:

Category:

Junkyard Storytellaz - All about the musical group ...

“Repeatedly observed people who chase us around the cities! That is, our shows really bring them pleasure... It's great inspiration! Although sometimes we hear from drunk balabols that with our "non-Russian songs" we will never gather large halls ... "

About Junkyard Storytellaz: St. Petersburg soul with punk rock energy!

Junkyard Storytellaz is a soul and punk rock band from St. Petersburg! The unique sound of these guys can be compared, perhaps, if Iggy Pop and Kurt Cobain suddenly decided to sing with the musicians of Nat King Cole! The members of Junkyard Storytellaz themselves call their music “garage soul”:

“We are expressionists! Accordingly, our music sounds crazy, avant-garde, but, nevertheless, very harmonious ... ”- comments the group's keyboardist, Sam Morgunov (aka Semyon).

Junkyard Storytellaz
Junkyard Storytellaz

The biography of the band remembers long studio work, long tours, and even composing blues in police stations! Let's find out more about all of this...

History of Junkyard Storytellaz

The Junkyard Storytellaz group was founded in St. Petersburg. It was in the bars of this bohemian city that the guys gained their first fame ... Their expressive performance and eccentric live performances could not go unnoticed. The creativity of Junkyard Storytellaz harmoniously combines two seemingly incompatible genres such as soul and psychedelic rock... All this turns into a strong and insurmountable wall of sound on the guys' live shows, bringing the audience to a boiling point... It is this phenomenon that allowed Junkyard Storytellaz to come out beyond the small bar scene to large venues in two capitals of Russia at once!

Junkyard Storytellaz
Junkyard Storytellaz

The driving nature of Junkyard Storytellaz could not but attract the attention of more famous colleagues on the stage! So, the rock band Electric Six invited the novice band to perform at their opening act ... We can say that even then it could be considered a victory! After all, this is how the history of many, and now legendary musicians and bands began ...

Composition

The Junkyard Storytellaz group consists of five people: Semyon Morgunov (keyboardist), Nikolai Ordanovsky (saxophonist), Grigory Zalezhnev (frontman), Mikhail Zakharov (drummer) and Daniil Nepevny (bassist).

“The group was formed quite by accident. We were all invited to perform at a random jam, and as a result, this project was born. Most of the songs were invented by us spontaneously - we literally grabbed everything on the fly! - said Grigory Zalezhnev in one of his interviews.

Grigory Zalezhnev
Grigory Zalezhnev

By the way, Grigory Zalezhnev is known to many from the show "Voice", in which he took part. His signature, moderately hoarse tenor delighted the jury and the audience ...

As you can see, there is no guitarist in the band. Yes this is true. Together, Semyon Morgunov and Nikolai Ordanovsky replaced the guitar sound... Instead, the guys skillfully weave motifs of electronic piano and enchanting saxophone solos into the band's musical canvas...

First album and first success...

The release of the group's first full-length album titled "Golden Guillotine" (2018) finally shaped the musical style of Junkyard Storytellaz. The sound took on brighter, bolder brass tones… Large-scale shows soon followed: a big concert at the Opera Concert Club with a huge orchestra and backing vocalists, a concert with A2, participation in a dozen festivals, including Original Party, Custom & Tuning Show, Stereoleto… And all this is just the beginning of a dizzying success!

However, according to the frontman of Junkyard Storytellaz - Grigory Zalezhnev - it is too early to talk about the future fate of the group:

“What awaits us next is hard to say. The success of a group always depends on two factors: the share of luck and a direct hit in the heart of the listener ... "

“... Everyone around them only says that“ the artist must be hungry. But I didn't notice any degradation after the Junkyard Storytellaz project became a success. Moreover, I did not notice this with any of my favorite musicians, whether it be Muddy Waters or The Rolling Stones ... However, if we talk about the decay of talent, there are hundreds of examples: the same The Gories, or Nick Drake who has fallen nowhere ... Personally we want to spend more time on music than on basic needs…”

“... We don't know where we will be in a couple of years... Maybe it will be South America, or maybe our project will not exist at all... At the moment, our priority is to continue writing music and collecting halls in Russia. I will not dissemble: like any artist, in five years I would really like to find myself well-fed, well-dressed ... I would like to ride a Jaguar of the 90s in some crowded hall of the capital ... And so that we all, in full force, rise to the stage…”

About the album "Golden Guillotine"

Golden Guillotine is the band's first studio album, released in 2018. The release includes old tracks from the live EP "The Dog", as well as several new songs.

It is worth noting that with this release, the old works of the group have acquired a completely new sound! By the time the "Golden Guillotine" was released, the guys managed, as they say, to "play together". And the original rhythm and blues / rock and roll sound has turned into something completely different ...

“We can describe our music as “Garage Soul” ... As for the recording of the album, it was tough: we were reworking something all the time, coming up with new things ... In addition to everything, I got sick, which is why I attended most of the rehearsals on medication ... I remember how I constantly wanted to sleep because of this ... ”- Grigory said.

Junkyard Storytellaz
Junkyard Storytellaz

“For the recording of Golden Guillotine, I am especially grateful to Seva, our sound engineer. Apparently, he just has nerves of steel! Otherwise, he would just kill us all…”

Big tour of Russia

Shortly after the release of "Golden Guillotine", the guys made a big tour of Russia in support of the album. And this is what came out of it...

Grigory Zalezhnev:

“To our surprise, this tour went pretty smoothly. Unlike the previous one, when we went to the police… The only problem happened to us in Kazan: I lost my voice, because of which I had to urgently look for a phoniatrist. They gave me injections, poured adrenaline on the ligaments, washed them for forty minutes with some kind of solution ... And all this literally an hour before the concert! Wild Tour…”

It is worth noting that a lot of viewers come to the Junkyard Storytellaz show! People really want to enjoy the work of the St. Petersburg group, and some - several times:

“Repeatedly observed people who chase us around the cities! That is, our shows really bring them pleasure ... It's great inspiration! Although sometimes we hear from drunk balabols that with our “non-Russian songs” we will never gather large halls ... "

Grigory Zalezhnev
Grigory Zalezhnev

Well, Junkyard Storytellaz rightfully deserve such fame! Many authoritative figures in the music world note that the group has a unique context not only for the city, but for the whole country! In many ways, the success of Junkyard Storytellaz is due to the fact that they were the first to manage to combine the most colorful form of presentation with complex and rather serious content.

10kFollowers

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Related Articles

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Автор:

Категория:

Junkyard Storytellaz – Всё о музыкальной группе…

«Неоднократно наблюдал людей, которые гоняют за нами по городам! То есть — наши шоу действительно приносят им удовольствие... Это здорово вдохновляет! Хоть порой мы и слышим от пьяных балаболов, что с нашими «нерусскими песнями» нам никогда не собрать большие залы...»

О группе Junkyard Storytellaz: питерский соул с энергией панк-рока!

Junkyard Storytellaz — группа из Санкт-Петербурга, играющая в жанрах соул и панк-рок! Уникальное звучание этих ребят можно сравнить, разве что, если бы Игги Поп и Курт Кобейн вдруг решили спеть с музыкантами Нэта Кинга Коула! Сами участники Junkyard Storytellaz называют свою музыку не иначе как «гаражный соул»:

«Мы экспрессионисты! Соответственно, наша музыка звучит бешено, авангардно, но, тем не менее, очень гармонично…» — комментирует клавишник группы, Сэм Моргунов (он же Семён).

Junkyard Storytellaz
Junkyard Storytellaz

Биография бэнда помнит и долгие студийные работы, и затяжные туры, и, даже, сочинение блюза в отделениях полиции! Обо всём этом предлагаем узнать чуточку больше…

История группы Junkyard Storytellaz

Группа Junkyard Storytellaz была основана в Санкт-Петербурге. В барах именно этого богемного города ребята и снискали свою первую славу… Их экспрессивное исполнение и эксцентричные живые выступления не могли остаться незамеченными. Творчество Junkyard Storytellaz гармонично сочетает в себе, казалось бы, два таких несочетаемых жанра, как соул и психоделический рок… Всё это превращается на живых шоу ребят в крепкую и непреодолимую стену звука, доводящего зрителей до точки кипения… Именно этот феномен и позволил Junkyard Storytellaz выйти за пределы маленькой барной сцены на крупные площадки сразу двух столиц России!

Junkyard Storytellaz
Junkyard Storytellaz

Драйвовый характер Junkyard Storytellaz не мог не привлечь внимание и более прославленных коллег по сцене! Так, рок-группа Electric Six пригласила начинающий коллектив выступить у себя на разогреве… Можно сказать, уже тогда это можно было считать победой! Ведь именно так начиналась история многих, а ныне легендарных музыкантов и бэндов…

Состав

Группа Junkyard Storytellaz состоит из пяти человек: Семён Моргунов (клавишник), Николай Ордановский (саксофонист), Григорий Залежнев (фронтмен), Михаил Захаров (барабанщик) и Даниил Непевный (басист).

«Группа была сформирована совершенно случайно. Нам всем предложили выступить на случайном джеме, и в итоге родился этот проект. Большая часть песен была придумана нами спонтанно, — мы буквально схватывали всё на лету!» — рассказывал Григорий Залежнев в одном из своих интервью.

Григорий Залежнев
Григорий Залежнев

К слову, многим Григорий Залежнев известен по шоу «Голос», в котором он принимал участие. Его фирменный, в меру хриплый тенор восхитил членов жюри и зал…

Как можно заметить, в группе нет гитариста. Да, это действительно так. Вместе, Семён Моргунов и Николай Ордановский вытеснили гитарное звучание… Вместо него, ребята умело вплетают в музыкальное полотно группы мотивы электронного пиано и фееричных саксофонных соло…

Первый альбом и первый успех…

Выход первого полноформатного альбома группы под названием «Golden Guillotine» (2018) окончательно сформировал музыкальный стиль Junkyard Storytellaz. Звучание приобрело более яркие, более смелые медные духовые оттенки… Вскоре последовали крупномасштабные шоу: большой концерт в зале Opera Concert Club с огромным оркестром и бэк-вокалистками, концерт с A2, участие в десятке фестивалей, среди которых Original Party, Custom & Tuning Show, Stereoleto… И всё это — только начало головокружительного успеха!

Однако, по мнению самого фронтмена Junkyard Storytellaz — Григория Залежнева — говорить о дальнейшей судьбе группы ещё рано:

«Что нас ждёт дальше, — трудно сказать. Успех группы всегда зависит от двух факторов: доля везения и прямое попадание в сердце слушателя…»

«…Все кругом только и говорят, что «артист должен быть голодным». Но я не заметил какой-либо деградации после того, как проект Junkyard Storytellaz обрёл успех. Более того, я не замечал этого ни за одним из своих любимых музыкантов, будь то Мадди Уотерс или The Rolling Stones… Однако, если говорить о затухании таланта, — найдутся сотни примеров: те же The Gories, или скатившийся ниже некуда Ник Дрейк… Лично мы хотим больше времени отдавать музыке, чем удовлетворению базовых потребностей…»

«…Мы не знаем, где окажемся через пару лет… Может это будет Южная Америка, а может нашего проекта не будет вовсе… На данный момент у нас в приоритете продолжать писать музыку и собирать залы по России. Не буду лукавить: как и любому артисту, лет через пять мне бы очень хотелось обнаружить себя сытым, хорошо одетым… Мне бы хотелось ехать на Jaguar 90-х годов в какой-нибудь переполненный зал столицы… И чтобы мы все, полным составом, поднялись на сцену…»

Об альбоме «Golden Guillotine»

«Golden Guillotine» — первый студийный альбом группы, который увидел свет в 2018 году. Выпуск включает в себя старые треки с концертного EP «The Dog», а также несколько новых песен.

Стоит отметить, что с этим выпуском старые работы группы приобрели совершенно новое звучание! К моменту выхода «Golden Guillotine» ребята успели, что называется, «сыграться». А первоначальное ритм-н-блюзовое/рок-н-ролльное звучание превратилось в нечто совсем иное…

«Свою музыку мы можем охарактеризовать, как «Garage Soul»… Что касается записи альбома, то это было жёстко: мы всё время что-то переделывали, придумывали новые штуки… В добавок ко всему я заболел, из-за чего большую часть репетиций посещал на лекарствах… Помню, как постоянно хотелось спать из-за этого…» — рассказывал Григорий.

Junkyard Storytellaz
Junkyard Storytellaz

«За запись «Golden Guillotine» я особенно благодарен Севе — нашему звукорежиссёру. По всей видимости — у него просто железные нервы! Иначе он просто поубивал бы нас всех…»

Большой тур по России

Вскоре после выхода «Golden Guillotine» ребята устроили большое турне по России в поддержку альбома. И вот что из этого вышло…

Григорий Залежнев:

«К нашему удивлению, этот тур прошёл довольно спокойно. В отличие от предыдущего, когда мы загремели в полицию… Единственная накладка случилась с нами в Казани: я потерял голос, из-за чего пришлось экстренно искать фониатра. Мне сделали уколы, налили адреналин на связки, минут сорок промывали их каким-то раствором… И всё это буквально за час до концерта! Дикий тур…»

Стоит отметить, что на шоу Junkyard Storytellaz приходит действительно много зрителей! Люди действительно хотят насладиться творчеством питерской группы, причём некоторые — по несколько раз:

«Неоднократно наблюдал людей, которые гоняют за нами по городам! То есть — наши шоу действительно приносят им удовольствие… Это здорово вдохновляет! Хоть порой мы и слышим от пьяных балаболов, что с нашими «нерусскими песнями» нам никогда не собрать большие залы…»

Григорий Залежнев
Григорий Залежнев

Что ж, Junkyard Storytellaz по праву заслуживают подобную славу! Многие авторитетные фигуры в музыкальном мире отмечают, что у группы уникальный контекст не только города, но и всей страны! Во многом, успех Junkyard Storytellaz обусловлен тем, что они стали первыми, кому удалось совместить колоритнейшую форму подачи со сложным и довольно серьёзным содержанием.

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...