Author:
Category:

How Famous Rock Stars Got their Nicknames: Part One

Unlocking the mystery of rock stars' legendary nicknames...

The most interesting nicknames of famous rock stars and their history: Part 1...

Have you ever wondered how your favorite rock musicians got their nicknames? The rock and roll genre is incredibly fascinating, with a rich history spanning decades... And that history has included many rock legends with unusual nicknames! Bruce Springsteen, for example, is called "The Boss" and Black Sabbath legend Ozzy Osbourne is called "The Prince of Darkness"! But why? Because obviously it doesn't come from the names... Today we're here to find out! So: below you'll find the most famous rock stars and the stories of their surprising and sometimes quite strange nicknames... Let's begin!

Bruce Springsteen: "The Boss"

Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen
Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen

Bruce Springsteen, whose career spans more than five decades, is an American singer and songwriter who has continued to conquer the music world since his debut. His famous album Born in the USA received critical acclaim, and millions of people around the world bought it when it was first released. This defined Springsteen's fame trajectory in the 1980s and made him perhaps one of the most recognizable rock stars to this day! Early in his career, Springsteen was nicknamed "The Boss," and it successfully stuck with him. The most interesting thing is that the musician himself does not like this nickname. But... so many fans started calling him "The Boss" that he just couldn't help it, so he put up with it...

According to an outlandish fan theory, Springsteen got his nickname because of his dexterous skills in Monopoly, which usually made him the boss of the game... He supposedly often played Monopoly with other band members, and was usually the leader of the game... Another popular theory is that Springsteen got his nickname because of his authoritative position in the music industry: From day one, he supposedly decided for himself that he would build his career based on his own rules, ideas and dreams. The real story, however, is far from that interesting... You could say it's quite ordinary: Springsteen got his nickname because of his position as leader of the E Street Band. After the concerts it was he who was in charge of dividing the income, the payments and the members' shares... In turn, many people began to call him "The Boss", and the nickname caught on.

David Howell Evans (Edge): "Fringe

David Howell Evans
David Howell Evans

Many people know the famous rock band U2, as they have persevered to worldwide success over the years, releasing over 13 studio albums! David Howell Evans, better known simply as Edge, is U2's lead guitarist who is well known and respected for his unique guitar skills. Evans has been a member of the band since its inception, and has gained quite a few fans. And since his long name was heard quite often, fans immediately decided that a nickname would be easier...

So the nickname "Fringe" was born, though its true origin still remains controversial... According to some fans, the nickname arose because of the musician's harsh and aloof character, while others believe that Evans got it because of his sharp facial features. There are many theories, but one of the most common is that Evans got his nickname from his bandmate Bono: Bono allegedly dubbed Evans "Fringe" because of his sharp personality and ability to look at events from the outside without getting involved...

Saul Hudson: "Slash."

Watch the trailer of Slash, Alice Cooper and others at rock camp
Watch the trailer of Slash, Alice Cooper and others at rock camp

Many rock guitarists are forever remembered for their undeniable talent, and Sol Hudson is certainly one of them. The Guns N' Roses guitarist has been on lists of the best lead guitarists throughout his career... Yet to many he is not known as Hudson, but as "Slash"... But why?

According to an interview Hudson himself gave, the loud nickname was given to him by his best friend's father, Seymour Cassel, a famous actor. During the interview Hudson was asked why Cassel decided to call him "Slash", to which he replied that he himself never knew why, until years later he asked Cassel about it directly... As it turned out, Hudson got his nickname because he was incredibly energetic: he was always moving and hurrying somewhere... Besides, Hudson almost never stopped to focus on a particular event: instead he kept moving and swimming in the flow of events...

Ozzy Osbourne: "Prince of Darkness"

Ozzy Osbourne
Ozzy Osbourne

There is perhaps no other rock star who personifies his nickname as vividly as Ozzy Osbourne. Osbourne rose to fame in the 1970s as the lead vocalist of the famous heavy metal band Black Sabbath. After several incredibly successful years in his career, he was forced to leave the band because of problems with alcohol. He later embarked on a successful solo career, which may have earned him even more fans than before. Osborne had several nicknames, but the most popular one is "The Prince of Darkness." And Osborne constantly justified his nickname by giving the world what it wanted to see...

Many theories have to do with the fact that Osborne got this nickname because of his dark image... Others believe that his alleged involvement in Satanic cults was the basis for such a frightening pseudonym... However, Osborne himself spoke about how he got this name, and the truth is as far from theories as possible... The musician stated that his nickname originated after the release of the song "Black Sabbath": Allegedly his performance led to his bandmates jokingly calling him "Prince of Darkness." The joke eventually became reality, as so many people still continue to call him that creepy yet majestic nickname...

Jim Morrison: The Lizard King

Jim Morrison
Jim Morrison

In the history of rock, perhaps no other frontman has been as influential as Jim Morrison. He was the lead singer of the popular band The Doors, but he was often called unstable, controversial and unpredictable... Nevertheless, his wild personality and unique vocals have forever settled in the hearts of millions of fans around the world... Today he is called the "King of the Lizards", but why?

According to one theory, Morrison called himself the "King of Lizards" because he firmly believed that he could communicate with these amazing creatures... He also often claimed that he could control lizards with his mind! But all of these fantastic stories can be explained by substance abuse... The truth is, in fact, very simple - he called himself one in one of his poems! And this nickname became very popular...

Eric Clapton: "Slow Hand"

Eric Clapton
Eric Clapton

Interestingly enough, Eric Clapton is the only rock star who has been in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame three times! He achieved it once as a solo performer and twice as a member of Cream and The Yardbirds. With his undeniable guitar skills, Clapton is often called one of the most influential guitarists the world has probably ever seen... So many aspiring artists hope to achieve the same level of success. Throughout his musical career, Clapton has had many nicknames, such as "God" and "The Greatest," but only one - "The Slowest Hand" - has caught on. There are several theories as to how this British rocker got his nickname...

The nickname arose because Clapton would slowly and methodically replace a guitar string on stage - in front of the audience - if it broke during a performance. Observing this, the British audience gave Clapton what is known in British slang as a "slow clap," which is known as a "slow hand. Later in his interview Clapton said that this theory was indeed true!

Elvis Presley: "The King of Cats.

Elvis Presley
Elvis Presley

Elvis Presley's musical contributions to the rock and roll genre are invaluable... Although he was idolized by fans around the world, Presley caused much controversy during his lifetime. However, even though many considered his music overtly sexual or inappropriate, he still steadily became better known and more popular... And the musician's influence continued to grow even after his death. Throughout his life, rock legend Presley had many famous nicknames. For example, a lot of people called him the "king of rock and roll"! But did you know that in China Presley was dubbed the "King of Cats"?

According to some reports, Presley was nicknamed "The King of Cats" because of his smooth dance moves on stage... But the theory that seems most plausible is that Presley got his Chinese nickname because of his popular album The Hillbilly Cat! The Chinese allegedly decided to combine the musician's Western alias with the name of the record!

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:
Категория:

Как известные рок-звёзды получили свои прозвища: часть первая

Раскрываем тайну легендарных прозвищ звёзд рока...

Самые интересные прозвища известных рок-звёзд и их история: часть 1…

Вы никогда не задумывались, как ваши любимые рок-музыканты получили свои прозвища? Жанр рок-н-ролла невероятно увлекателен, с богатой историей, охватывающей десятилетия… И в эту историю вошло множество рок-легенд с необычными прозвищами! Так, например, Брюса Спрингстина называют «Босс», а легенду Black Sabbath Оззи Осборна — «Князь тьмы»! Но почему? Ведь очевидно, что это идёт не от имён… Сегодня мы здесь, чтобы выяснить это! Итак: ниже вашему вниманию представлены самые известные звёзды рока и истории их удивительных, а порой — довольно-таки странных прозвищ… Начнём!

Брюс Спрингстин: «Босс»

Брюс Спрингстин (Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen)
Брюс Спрингстин (Bruce Frederick Joseph Springsteen)

Брюс Спрингстин, чья карьера насчитывает более пяти десятилетий, — американский певец и автор песен, который продолжает покорять музыкальный мир с момента своего дебюта. Его знаменитый альбом Born in the USA получил признание критиков, и миллионы людей по всему миру купили его, когда он только был выпущен. Это определило траекторию славы Спрингстина в 1980-х годах и сделало его, возможно, одной из самых узнаваемых рок-звёзд по сей день! В начале своей карьеры Спрингстин получил прозвище «Босс», и оно успешно закрепилось за ним. Самое интересное то, что самому музыканту не нравится этот псевдоним. Но… столько фанатов начало называть его «Босс», что он просто не смог ничего с этим поделать, и смирился…

Согласно диковинной теории фанатов, Спрингстин получил своё прозвище из-за ловких навыков в Монополии, которые обычно делали его боссом игры… Он, предположительно, часто играл в «Монополию» с другими участниками группы, и, как правило, был лидером этой игры… Другая популярная теория заключается в том, что Спрингстин получил своё прозвище из-за своего авторитетного положения в музыкальной индустрии: с первого дня он якобы решил для себя, что будет строить свою карьеру, основываясь на своих собственных правилах, идеях и мечтах. Реальная история, однако, далеко не такая интересная… Можно сказать, что она совершенно обычная: Спрингстин получил прозвище из-за своего положения лидера E Street Band. После концертов именно он отвечал за разделение доходов, выплаты и доли участников… В свою очередь, многие люди стали называть его «Босс», и это прозвище прижилось.

Дэвид Хауэлл Эванс (Эдж): «Грань»

Дэвид Хауэлл Эванс
Дэвид Хауэлл Эванс

Многие знают знаменитую рок-группу U2, так как на протяжении многих лет она упорно добивалась всемирного успеха, выпустив более 13 студийных альбомов! Дэвид Хауэлл Эванс, более известный как просто Эдж, — соло-гитарист U2, которого хорошо знают и уважают за его уникальные навыки игры на гитаре. Эванс был участником группы с момента её основания, и приобрёл немало поклонников. И поскольку его длинное имя звучало довольно часто, фанаты сразу решили, что прозвище будет проще…

Так родился псевдоним «Грань», хотя его истинное происхождение до сих пор остаётся спорным… По словам некоторых фанатов, прозвище возникло из-за резкого и отчуждённого характера музыканта, в то время как другие считают, что Эванс получил его из-за его острых черт лица. Существует множество теорий, но одна из них — наиболее распространённая: Эванс получил прозвище от своего товарища по группе Боно: Боно якобы окрестил Эванса «Грань» из-за его острого характера и способности смотреть на события со стороны, не вмешиваясь в происходящее…

Сол Хадсон: «Слэш»

Смотрите трейлер Слэша, Элиса Купера и других в рок лагере
Смотрите трейлер Слэша, Элиса Купера и других в рок лагере

Многие рок-гитаристы навсегда запомнились своим бесспорным талантом, и Сол Хадсон, несомненно, входит в их число. Гитарист Guns N’ Roses входил в списки лучших соло-гитаристов на протяжении всей своей карьеры… Однако многим он знаком не как Хадсон, а как «Слэш»… Но почему?

Согласно интервью, которое дал сам Хадсон, громкое прозвище дал ему отец его лучшего друга, Сеймур Кассел, известный актёр. Во время интервью Хадсона спросили, почему Кассел решил назвать его «Слэш», на что он ответил, что сам никогда не знал почему, до тех пор, пока годы спустя он не спросил Кассела об этом напрямую… Как оказалось, своё прозвище Хадсон получил потому что был невероятно энергичным: он всегда двигался и куда-то спешил… Кроме того, Хадсон почти никогда не останавливался, чтобы сосредоточиться на конкретном событии: вместо этого он продолжал двигаться и плыть по течению событий…

Оззи Осборн: «Князь тьмы»

Оззи Осборн
Оззи Осборн

Пожалуй, нет другой рок-звезды, которая олицетворяла бы своё прозвище так ярко, как Оззи Осборн. Осборн прославился в 1970-х как ведущий вокалист знаменитой хэви-метал-группы Black Sabbath. После нескольких невероятно успешных лет карьеры он был вынужден покинуть группу из-за проблем с алкоголем. Позже он начал успешную сольную карьеру, которая, возможно, принесла ему даже больше поклонников, чем раньше. У Осборна было несколько прозвищ, но самое популярное из них — это «Князь тьмы». И Осборн постоянно оправдывал свой псевдоним, давая миру то, что тот желал видеть…

Многие теории связаны с тем, что Осборн получил это прозвище из-за мрачного образа… Другие считают, что его предполагаемое участие в сатанинских культах стало основой для столь пугающего псевдонима… Однако Осборн сам рассказал о том, как он получил это имя, и правда настолько далека от теорий, насколько это возможно… Музыкант заявил, что его прозвище возникло после выпуска песни «Black Sabbath»: якобы его исполнение привело к тому, что его товарищи по группе в шутку назвали его «Князем тьмы». Шутка в конечном итоге стала реальностью, поскольку очень многие люди до сих пор продолжают называть его этим жутким, и в то же время величественным прозвищем…

Джим Моррисон: «Король ящеров»

Джим Моррисон (Jim Morrison)
Джим Моррисон (Jim Morrison)

В истории рока, возможно, не было другого столь влиятельного фронтмена, как Джим Моррисон. Он был солистом популярной группы The Doors, но его часто называли неустойчивым, противоречивым и непредсказуемым… Тем не менее, его дикая индивидуальность и неповторимый вокал навсегда поселились в сердцах миллионов фанатов по всему миру… Сегодня его называют «Королём ящеров», но почему?

Согласно одной из теорий, Моррисон называл себя «Королём ящеров», потому что твёрдо верил, что может общаться с этими удивительными существами… Он также часто заявлял, что может управлять ящерицами с помощью своего разума! Но все эти фантастические истории можно объяснить злоупотреблением психоактивными веществами… Истина, на самом деле, очень проста — он сам назвал себя таковым в одном из своих стихотворений! И это прозвище приобрело огромную популярность…

Эрик Клэптон: «Медленная рука»

Эрик Клэптон (Eric Clapton)
Эрик Клэптон (Eric Clapton)

Интересно, но Эрик Клэптон — единственная рок-звезда, трижды попавшая в Зал славы рок-н-ролла! Он достиг этого один раз в качестве сольного исполнителя и дважды в составе групп Cream и The Yardbirds. Обладая неоспоримыми навыками игры на гитаре, Клэптона часто называют одним из самых влиятельных гитаристов, которых мир, вероятно, когда-либо видел… Очень многие начинающие артисты надеются достичь такого же уровня успеха. За свою музыкальную карьеру у Клэптона было много прозвищ, таких как «Бог» и «Величайший», но прижилось только одно — «Медленная рука». Существует несколько теорий относительно того, как этот британский рокер получил своё прозвище…

Псевдоним возник из-за того, что Клэптон медленно и методично заменял гитарную струну на сцене — перед публикой — если она рвалась во время выступления. Наблюдая за этим, британские зрители давали Клэптону так называемый «медленный хлопок», который на британском сленге известен как «медленная рука». Позже в своём интервью Клэптон сказал, что эта теория действительно верна!

Элвис Пресли: «Король кошек»

Элвис Пресли
Элвис Пресли

Музыкальный вклад Элвиса Пресли в жанр рок-н-ролл неоценим… Хотя его боготворили фанаты по всему миру, при жизни Пресли вызвал немало споров. Однако, несмотря на то, что многие считали его музыку откровенно сексуальной или неуместной, он всё же неуклонно становился всё более известным и популярным… И влияние музыканта продолжило расти даже после его смерти. На протяжении всей своей жизни у легенды рока Пресли было много известных прозвищ. Так, очень многие называли его «королём рок-н-ролла»! Но знали ли вы, что в Китае Пресли окрестили «Королём кошек»?

По некоторым данным, Пресли прозвали «Королём кошек» из-за его плавных танцевальных движений на сцене… Но теория, которая кажется наиболее правдоподобной, гласит, что Пресли получил китайское прозвище из-за своего популярного альбома The Hillbilly Cat! Просто китайцы якобы решили объединить западный псевдоним музыканта с названием пластинки!

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...
Похожие статьи

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...