Author:
Category:

How Famous Rock Stars Got Their Nicknames: Part Two

Let's talk about the brightest names in the world of rock...

The most interesting nicknames of famous rock stars and their history: part 2…

We all have idols in the world of rock music ... And surely at least once in your life you wondered how, in fact, this or that rock star got his nickname? After all, for example, fans often call John Bonham "Bonzo", but this word has nothing to do with his name ... Moreover, the pseudonym "Monkey King" has nothing to do with the name of Ian Brown ... But today we are here, to lift the veil of secrecy! So: this is a selection of popular rock idols and their equally popular nicknames with a detailed history of their origin! Let's go!

Jerry Lee Lewis: "The Killer"

Jerry Lee Lewis
Jerry Lee Lewis

The rock 'n' roll genre is full of bright personalities... One of these is Jerry Lee Lewis, known as one of the first truly wild rock figures! Before his career was shattered by his controversial marriage to a 13-year-old cousin, Lewis was a rising star with a bright future… He later switched genres and turned to country music, where he began to find success again. But his rock albums are still a success, and many people like his energetic personality, reflected in his work.

Known as "The Killer", Lewis has had that nickname since his high school days! Some fans believe this was due to his incredibly exciting and energetic live performances, with fans saying that he "killed the show" after his set was over. Others believe that the nickname came from his stage antics, where he was known to set the piano on fire once or twice... But in truth, Lewis's nickname came from a popular slang term. Many people used the term "killer" as part of greeting each other, and after a while, Lewis's friends started calling him "murderer". This nickname stuck, and he carried it with him throughout his musical career, and many still refer to the famous musician and pianist as "the killer", and not by his name.

Ted Nugent: "Motor City"

Ted Nugent
Ted Nugent

As a renowned guitarist and impressive vocalist, Ted Nugent has definitely earned his place in rock history. He started his career with the Amboy Dukes, who quickly became favorites for their unique music and interesting instrumentals. Throughout his career, Nugent had many ups and downs, and his political views were interspersed with his musical activities ... However, despite his eternal struggle with himself, undeniable talent managed to lead Ted to success ...

Many fans assumed that the famous "Motor City" moniker was due to Nugent's extravagant style and outlandish stage charm, and they were partly right. The nickname came from his flamboyant stage personality and passion for music! In fact, the musician invented his own personality known as "Gonzo". This image represents a wild man creating passionate music...

John Entwistle: "Bull"

John Entwistle
John Entwistle

With a career spanning over 40 years, John Entwistle is a rock icon who brought joy to many hearts during his tenure with the Who… He was even voted the greatest bass player of all time in a 2011 Rolling Stone poll! Perhaps Entwistle was one of the leading forces behind the Who's success, and many fans said that after his death, the group would never be the same again ... But that's another story. It is noteworthy that during his career this legend received mainly two nicknames: “Thunder fingers” and “Bull”.

The pseudonym "Bull" especially took root ... But why? The most common theory is that Entwistle got his nickname because of his incredibly strong physique and powerful stage presence. Another more obscure theory is that the nickname originated from the musician's ability to eat, drink, and apparently outperform all of his bandmates in every way! In truth, John was referred to as "Bull" in part because of his physique, but also because of his ability to stand still throughout the performance.

John Bonham: "Bonzo"

John Bonham
John Bonham

In the history of music, not every rock legend was a vocalist or guitarist… John Bonham is known all over the world as one of the greatest drummers! It is believed that his talent has become one of the driving forces behind the success of the world famous band Led Zeppelin! As one of the most influential drummers in the history of rock, Bonham is known for his incredibly fast drumming skills, unique sound and ability to completely immerse himself in music ... During his short but successful musical career, Bonham had several nicknames: "Percy", "Led Wallet and Bonzo.

He was known as "Percy" because his voice was higher than the usual male tone... He was supposedly called "Led Wallet" because of his frugality and dislike for reckless spending. But the moniker "Bonzo" is the name most people remember him by... Many theories claim that the name came from his wild appearance and energetic stage personality. Wikipedia also says that Bonham was named after a dog from a popular British comic book...

Ian Brown: The Monkey King

Ian Brown
Ian Brown

The Eighties was a glorious decade for the alternative rock genre and many artists flourished during this time. Ian Brown was one of them: he made a huge impact with his Stone Roses! However, in the 1990s, the group broke up, despite the resounding success, and Brown began a solo career. Since then, the musician has continued to stay in the spotlight and gain new fans around the world as a solo artist…

Among the many amazing nicknames, "The Monkey King" is perhaps the most popular and underestimated ... According to legend, Brown got it because of his stupid clown actions both on and off stage. However, the truth is that this pseudonym was given to him by the rock band Dodgy! So, the comic name “King Monkey” quickly became popular, and, importantly, was well remembered by Brown himself ...

Doug Clifford: "Cosmo"

Doug Clifford
Doug Clifford

Doug Clifford is best known as one of the founders of Creedence Clearwater Revival. After several years of international success, the band disbanded and Clifford decided to start a solo career, which was a resounding success! He later decided to reform the group and thus Creedence Clearwater Revisited was born. And although this project was not so successful, Clifford continued to win fans and recognition around the world ... Throughout his musical career, he was known only under one pseudonym, which is often mentioned in news articles and reports ... This, of course, is about the nickname " Cosmo!

There is some mystery to the "Cosmo" moniker, with one theory stating that it originated after Clifford released his solo album Cosmo. However, the truth sounds much more interesting ... According to numerous sources, including an interview with Clifford himself, this name was given to him by ... hippies at one of the home parties! Clifford admitted in an interview that he once lived in a dilapidated Victorian house, which no one looked after ... According to him, this allowed the residents of the house, including himself, to hold the best parties of that period! At one of these, Clifford was asked what the "C" in his middle name meant, but before he could answer, a hippie present said it meant "Cosmo." Since then, this nickname has forever stuck with the singer!

Don Felder: "Fingers"

Don Felder
Don Felder

After being fired from the Eagles in 2001, Don Felder embarked on an incredibly successful solo career. Named one of the best guitarists in rock music, he was inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum in 2016.

As is the case with many musical legends, Felder has a nickname: he is known as "Fingers"! Many fans associate this name with Felder's incredible guitar playing... Indeed! Don got his nickname from former bandmate Glenn Fry, who was reportedly very impressed with his insane playing abilities...

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:
Категория:

Как известные рок-звёзды получили свои прозвища: часть вторая

Поговорим о самых ярких именах в мире рока...

Самые интересные прозвища известных рок-звёзд и их история: часть 2…

У всех нас есть кумиры в мире рок-музыки… И наверняка хотя бы раз в жизни вы задумывались, а как, собственно, та или иная рок-звезда получила своё прозвище? Ведь, к примеру, фанаты часто называют Джона Бонэма «Бонзо», однако это слово никак не связано с его именем… Как, уж тем-более, и псевдоним «Король обезьян» никак не связан с именем Иана Брауна… Но сегодня мы здесь, чтобы приоткрыть завесу тайны! Итак: это подборка популярных рок-идолов и их не менее популярных прозвищ с развёрнутой историей их происхождения! Погнали!

Джерри Ли Льюис: «Убийца»

Джерри Ли Льюис
Джерри Ли Льюис

Жанр рок-н-ролла полон ярких личностей… Одной из таких является Джерри Ли Льюис, известный как один из первых по-настоящему диких рок-деятелей! До того, как его карьера пошатнулась из-за его неоднозначного брака с 13-летней двоюродной сестрой, Льюис был восходящей звездой с ярким будущим… Позже он сменил жанр и обратился к музыке кантри, где снова начал добиваться успеха. Но его рок-альбомы по-прежнему пользуются успехом, и многим нравится его энергичная личность, отражённая в его творчестве.

Известный как «Убийца», Льюис носил это прозвище со школьных времён! Некоторые фанаты считают, что это произошло из-за его невероятно захватывающих и энергичных живых выступлений, когда фанаты говорили, что он «убил это шоу» после того, как его сет был закончен. Другие считают, что это прозвище произошло из-за его сценических выходок, когда он, как известно, раз или два поджигал пианино… Но по правде говоря, прозвище Льюиса произошло от популярного сленгового термина. Многие люди использовали термин «убийца» как часть приветствия друг другу, и через некоторое время друзья Льюиса начали называть его «убийцей». Это прозвище прижилось, и он носил его с собой на протяжении всей своей музыкальной карьеры, и многие до сих пор называют известного музыканта и пианиста именно «убийцей», а не его именем.

Тед Ньюджент: «Моторный город»

Тед Ньюджент
Тед Ньюджент

Как известный гитарист и впечатляющий вокалист, Тед Ньюджент определённо заслужил своё место в истории рока. Он начал свою карьеру с Amboy Dukes, которые быстро стали фаворитами за их уникальную музыку и интересные инструментальные партии. На протяжении карьеры у Ньюджента было много взлётов и падений, и его политические взгляды перемежались с его музыкальной деятельностью… Однако, несмотря на его вечную борьбу с самим собой, бесспорный талант сумел привести Теда к успеху…

Многие фанаты предполагали, что знаменитое прозвище «Моторный город» произошло из-за экстравагантного стиля и диковинного сценического шарма Ньюджента, и они были частично правы. Прозвище возникло из-за его яркой сценической личности и страсти к музыке! Фактически, музыкант изобрёл свою собственную личность, известную как «Гонзо». Этот образ олицетворяет дикого человека, создающего страстную музыку…

Джон Энтвисл: «Бык»

Джон Энтвисл
Джон Энтвисл

Джон Энтвисл с музыкальной карьерой, насчитывающей более 40 лет, является рок-иконой, которая принесла радость многим сердцам во время своего пребывания в Who… Он даже был признан величайшим бас-гитаристом всех времён по результатам опроса Rolling Stone в 2011 году! Возможно, Энтвисл был одной из ведущих сил, стоящих за успехом Who, и многие фанаты заявляли, что после его смерти группа уже никогда не будет прежней… Но это — уже другая история. Примечательно то, что за свою карьеру эта легенда получила в основном два прозвища: «Громовые пальцы» и «Бык».

Псевдоним «Бык» особенно прижился… Но почему? Наиболее распространённая теория заключается в том, что Энтвисл получил своё прозвище из-за своего невероятно сильного телосложения и мощного присутствия на сцене. Другая более неясная теория гласит, что это прозвище возникло из-за способности музыканта есть, пить и, по-видимому, превосходить всех своих товарищей по группе во всём! По правде говоря, Джона называли «Быком» отчасти из-за его телосложения, но также и из-за его способности стоять неподвижно на протяжении всего выступления.

Джон Бонэм: «Бонзо»

Джон Бонэм (John Bonham)
Джон Бонэм (John Bonham)

В истории музыки далеко не каждая легенда рока была вокалистом или гитаристом… Джон Бонэм известен во всём мире как один из величайших барабанщиков! Считается, что его талант стал одной из движущих сил успеха всемирно известной группы Led Zeppelin! Как один из самых влиятельных барабанщиков в истории рока, Бонэм известен своими невероятно быстрыми навыками игры на барабанах, уникальным звучанием и способностью полностью погрузиться в музыку… За свою короткую, но успешную музыкальную карьеру у Бонэма было несколько прозвищ: «Перси», «Led Wallet» и «Бонзо».

Он был известен как «Перси», потому что его голос был выше, чем обычный мужской тон… Предположительно, его называли «Led Wallet» из-за его бережливости и неприязни к безрассудным тратам. Но прозвище «Бонзо» — это тот псевдоним, под которым его помнят большинство людей… Многие теории утверждают, что это имя возникло из-за его дикой внешности и энергичной сценической личности. В Википедии также сказано, что Бонэма прозвали так в честь пса из популярного британского комикса…

Иан Браун: «Король обезьян»

Иан Браун
Иан Браун

Восьмидесятые были славным десятилетием для жанра альтернативного рока, и многие артисты процветали в это время. Иан Браун был одним из таких: он добился огромного влияния вместе со своей группой Stone Roses! Однако в 1990-х годах группа распалась, несмотря на оглушительный успех, и Браун начал сольную карьеру. С тех пор музыкант продолжал оставаться в центре внимания и приобретать новых поклонников по всему миру в качестве сольного артиста…

Среди множества удивительных прозвищ, «Король обезьян» — пожалуй, самое популярное и недооценённое… Если верить легенде, Браун получил его из-за своих глупых клоунских действий как на сцене, так и за её пределами. Однако правда заключается в том, что этот псевдоним ему дала рок-группа Dodgy! Так, шуточное имя «King Monkey» быстро стало популярным, и, что немаловажно, хорошо запомнилось самому Брауну…

Дуг Клиффорд: «Космо»

Дуг Клиффорд
Дуг Клиффорд

Дуг Клиффорд наиболее известен как один из основателей Creedence Clearwater Revival. После нескольких лет международного успеха группа распалась, и Клиффорд решил начать сольную карьеру, которая имела оглушительный успех! Позже он решил реформировать группу, и таким образом родилась Creedence Clearwater Revisited. И хотя этот проект не был столь успешным, Клиффорд продолжал завоёвывать поклонников и признание по всему миру… На протяжении всей своей музыкальной карьеры он был известен только под одним псевдонимом, который часто упоминается в новостных статьях и репортажах… Речь, конечно же, о прозвище «Космо»!

У прозвища «Cosmo» есть некоторая загадка, и одна теория утверждает, что оно возникло после того, как Клиффорд выпустил свой сольный альбом Cosmo. Однако правда звучит гораздо интереснее… По многочисленным данным, включая интервью самого Клиффорда, такое имя подарил ему… хиппи на одной из домашних тусовок! Клиффорд признался в интервью, что когда-то он жил в полуразрушенном викторианском доме, за которым никто не следил… По его словам, это позволило жильцам дома, в том числе ему самому, проводить лучшие вечеринки того периода! На одной из таких Клиффорда спросили, что означает «C» в его втором имени, но прежде чем он смог ответить, присутствовавший хиппи сказал, что это означает «Cosmo». С тех пор это прозвище навсегда закрепилось за певцом!

Дон Фелдер: «Пальцы»

Дон Фелдер
Дон Фелдер

После увольнения из Eagles в 2001 году Дон Фелдер начал невероятно успешную сольную карьеру. Названный одним из лучших гитаристов в рок-музыке, он был введён в Зал славы и музей музыкантов в 2016 году.

Как и в случае со многими музыкальными легендами, у Фелдера есть прозвище: он известен как «Пальцы»! Многие фанаты связывают это имя с невероятной игрой Фелдера на гитаре… И действительно! Дон получил своё прозвище от бывшего коллеги по группе Гленна Фрая, который, как сообщается, был очень впечатлён безумными способностями его игры…

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...