Author:

Category:

How Joe Walsh influenced the distinctive sound of Led Zeppelin

"In fact, this Les Paul was the foundation of their powerful sound! When I offered this guitar to Jimmy, he said: "Oh, no, no, I can't!" But I told him, "Look: just try it. I'm sure it will solve your problem." And he was delighted. He paid a token amount for it, less than what I bought it for.

A Real Friend Who Wouldn't Leave a Trouble - Why Led Zeppelin Fans Are Grateful to Joe Walsh

Led Zeppelin - the legendary British rock band that turned the history of music upside down with their distinctive sound! The band's songs have become classics: Zeppelin made colossal influence on many of their followers, and millions of listeners around the world have long put them on their list of personal favorites! And as we've already stressed - distinctive sound played a very important role in this. Each member of the band became an icon of his craft - for example, John Bonham is recognized as the most legendary drummer in history, while Jimmy Page is referred to as nothing less than the greatest guitarist of them all.

But few people know that Page owes his signature sound to one man. Joe Walsh. This American musician is well known to music lovers for his participation in Eagles and the wild antics of his youth! But as it turned out, Walsh was not only a badass rocker, but also a great friend, ready to help in the most difficult moment.

Typical Rocker Problems - Jimmy Page in Search of Proper Equipment

Jimmy Page
Jimmy Page

What is the most trivial and common the problem of the rock musician? Of course, there are many of these, but we believe that it is a search for the proper equipment. Alas, until you have the right sound, you won't have any big hits. And it was this obstacle on his way to the world rock arena that he faced. Jimmy Page. Undoubtedly: Led Zeppelin remain one of the loudest and most aggressive rock bands of their era! And their eponymous debut propelled them to fame with such challenging tracks as "Good Times Bad Times" and "Communication Breakdown". But despite their success, Page was dissatisfied: He wanted to sound even stronger and louder, as loud as possible! In particular, he wanted his guitar to sound deeper and richer...

To solve this problem, Page turned to amplifiers VOX.

"I used to call these amps 'Super Beatles'! As far as I knew, the Beatles had them because they couldn't hear their own instruments because of the screaming of the crowd! For that reason, they needed more powerful amplifiers, and the VOX did the job properly."

The Beatles at Shea Stadium in 1965.
The Beatles at Shea Stadium

However, after appreciating the Super Beatles' amps, Page discovered that it would be a good idea to upgrade his main instrument as well. guitar. Back in the days of The Yardbirds and on the first Zeppelin record, Jimmy played the Fender TelecasterBut when the band began to dilute their creativity with more assertive, aggressive motifs, the guitarist realized: the Fender Telecaster was no longer suitable for this new sound. And when the integrity of the instrument was damaged (in particular - the wires were damaged), there was no doubt about the need to look for a new "unit. Paige needed an electric guitar more than ever, and he got it from a rather unexpected man. Joe Walsh!

Joe Walsh throws a lifeline, or rather, a guitar

Joe Walsh
Joe Walsh

Jimmy was lucky enough to meet Walsh before Zeppelin - in the second half of the '60s, Joe was opening for The Yardbirds. And for some reason Jimmy remembered Walsh in his hour of need:

"We met with Jimmy, and he was upset. He told me, 'My Fender Telecaster fit the style of The Yardbirds well, but it doesn't work at all within Zeppelin...'" And that's when I knew right away what he was after! My fingers literally snapped above my temple! In those years, there were practically no Les Pauls in England yet! These guitars had not yet become wildly popular, and they were quite easy to find. And they didn't cost very much either...".

And in this, Walsh was right: Gibson Les Paul were not yet popular in Europe. That changed when guitarists like Keith Richards and Eric Clapton took the instrument into their hands and made it legendary! And as it turned out - Walsh just had two of his most popular Gibson Les Paul models sitting idle.

In the more aggressive tion of this instrument Paige found what he had been looking for so long! He immediately started using Les Paul as his favorite guitar. And the album "Led Zeppelin II" The first of the two Gibson models is a brilliant demonstration of this powerful find... all thanks to Walsh, who kept one Gibson for himself and gave the other to Paige.

"In fact, this Les Paul was the foundation of their powerful sound! When I offered this guitar to Jimmy, he said: "Oh, no, no, I can't!" But I told him, "Look: just try it. I'm sure it will solve your problem." And he was delighted. He paid a token amount for it, less than what I bought it for.

Lastly

Joe Walsh
Joe Walsh

But Walsh didn't stop there. save the guitarists! Like Paige, the leader The Who went to Walsh in search of sound advice for his new recordings. As you know. Townsend played the Gibson SG during live performances. Walsh, however, gave Pete Gretsch 1957 year. This gift was the sonic jewel of the album "Who's Next". So - we can never be grateful enough to Joe Walsh for what a good comrade and counselor he turned out to be to his fellow workers.

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

Как Джо Уолш повлиял на характерное звучание Led Zeppelin

«По сути, этот Les Paul стал фундаментом их мощного звучания! Когда я предложил эту гитару Джимми, он сказал: «О, нет, нет, я не могу!» Но я сказал ему: «Послушай: просто попробуй. Уверен, это решит твою проблему». И он остался в восторге. Он заплатил за неё какую-то символичную сумму, меньше той, за которую я её покупал».

Настоящий друг, который не оставит в беде – Почему поклонники Led Zeppelin благодарны Джо Уолшу

Led Zeppelin – легендарная британская рок-группа, которая перевернула историю музыки своим характерным звучанием! Песни этого коллектива стали классикой: Zeppelin оказали колоссальное влияние на многих своих последователей, а миллионы слушателей по всему миру давно занесли их в список личных фаворитов! И как мы уже подчеркнули – характерное звучание сыграло в этом очень важную роль. Каждый участник бэнда стал иконой своего ремесла – к примеру Джона Бонэма признают легендарнейшим барабанщиком за всю историю, в то время как Джимми Пейджа именуют не иначе, как величайшим гитаристом.

Но мало кто знает, что своим фирменным звучанием Пейдж обязан одному человеку – Джо Уолшу. Этот американский музыкант хорошо известен меломанам по своему участию в Eagles и диким выходкам в молодости! Но как выяснилось – Уолш был не только отвязным рокером, но и прекрасным другом, готовым прийти на помощь в самую трудную минуту.

Типичные проблемы рокера – Джимми Пейдж в поисках должного оборудования

Джимми Пейдж
Джимми Пейдж

Какая самая банальная и распространённая проблема рок-музыканта? Конечно, таких много, но мы считаем, что это поиск должного оборудования. Увы, пока у тебя не будет нужного звучания – не будет и громких хитов. И именно с этой преградой на пути к мировой рок-арене столкнулся Джимми Пейдж. Несомненно: Led Zeppelin остаются одной из самых громких и агрессивных рок-групп своей эпохи! А одноимённый дебют вознёс их к славе с такими сложными треками, как «Good Times Bad Times» и «Communication Breakdown». Но несмотря на успех, Пейдж был недоволен: он хотел звучать ещё сильнее и громче, настолько, насколько это возможно! В частности, он хотел, чтобы его гитара издавала более глубокие и насыщенные звуки…

Чтобы решить эту проблему, Пейдж обратился к усилителям VOX.

«Я называл эти усилители «Super Beatles»! Насколько я знал, они были у «Битлз», потому что те не могли слышать собственные инструменты из-за криков толпы! По этой причине им нужны были более мощные усилители, и VOX должным образом справлялись со своей задачей».

The Beatles на Shea Stadium в 1965.
The Beatles на Shea Stadium

Однако оценив усилители «Super Beatles» по достоинству, Пейдж обнаружил, что было бы неплохо обновить и свой главный инструмент – гитару. Ещё во времена The Yardbirds и на первой пластинке Zeppelin Джимми играл на Fender Telecaster, но когда группа начала разбавлять своё творчество более напористыми, агрессивными мотивами, гитарист понял: Fender Telecaster уже не годится для этого нового звука. А когда была повреждена целостность инструмента (в частности – пострадали провода), сомнений в необходимости поисков нового «агрегата» не осталось. Пейдж как никогда нуждался в электрогитаре, и он получил её от довольно неожиданного человека – Джо Уолша!

Джо Уолш бросает спасательный круг, вернее – гитару

Джо Уолш
Джо Уолш

С Уолшом Джимми посчастливилось познакомиться ещё до Zeppelin – во второй половине 60-х Джо выступал на разогреве у The Yardbirds. И почему-то Джимми вспомнил в трудный час именно про Уолша:

«Мы встретились с Джимми, он был расстроен. Он сказал мне: «Мой Fender Telecaster хорошо вписывался в стиль The Yardbirds, но он совершенно не работает в рамках Zeppelin…» И тогда я сразу понял, что ему нужно! У меня буквально щёлкнули пальцами над виском! В те годы в Англии ещё практически не было Les Paul! Эти гитары ещё не обрели дикую популярность, и их было довольно легко найти. Да и стоили они тогда ещё не очень дорого…»

И в этом Уолш оказался прав: Gibson Les Paul ещё не были популярны в Европе. Ситуация изменилась, когда такие гитаристы, как Кит Ричардс и Эрик Клэптон, взяли этот инструмент в свои руки и сделали его легендарным! И как оказалось – у Уолша как раз были две самые популярные модели Gibson Les Paul, которые стояли у него без дела.

В более агрессивном тоне этого инструмента Пейдж обнаружил то, что так долго искал! Он сразу же начал использовать Les Paul в качестве своей любимой гитары. А альбом «Led Zeppelin II» в ярких красках демонстрирует нам возможности этой мощной находки… И всё благодаря Уолшу, который оставил одну модель Gibson себе, а вторую отдал Пейджу.

«По сути, этот Les Paul стал фундаментом их мощного звучания! Когда я предложил эту гитару Джимми, он сказал: «О, нет, нет, я не могу!» Но я сказал ему: «Послушай: просто попробуй. Уверен, это решит твою проблему». И он остался в восторге. Он заплатил за неё какую-то символичную сумму, меньше той, за которую я её покупал».

Напоследок

Джо Уолш
Джо Уолш

Но на этом Уолш не перестал спасать гитаристов! Как и Пейдж, лидер The Who отправился к Уолшу в поисках совета по звуку для своих новых записей. Как известно – Таунсенд играл на Gibson SG во время живых выступлений. Однако Уолш подарил Питу Gretsch 1957 года. Этот подарок стал звуковым украшением альбома «Who’s Next». Так что – мы никогда не сможем быть достаточно благодарны Джо Уолшу за то, каким хорошим товарищем и советчиком он оказался для своих коллег по цеху.

9kFollowers

Очень коротко о том, как развивался джаз и блюз

Краткая история развития джаза и блюза Джаз - музыкальное направление, возникшее, как и блюз, в результате синтеза африканских и европейских культур. Корни джаза лежат в...

Что мы знаем о Бобби Фаррелле, легенде мирового диско

Бобби Фаррелл: интересные факты из жизни «народного» любимца Бобби Фаррелл был самым настоящим народным любимцем, причём практически во всём мире! Хотя почему был? Таковым он...

А вы помните группу «Комиссар» – что стало с исполнителем «Королевы снежной»

Что стало с группой «Комиссар», которая правила дискотеками 90-х – 2000-х «Комиссар» – отечественная группа, которую знает каждый. В 90-х и 2000-х песни коллектива правили...

Похожие статьи

Топ-7 шикарных кавер-альбомов в роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Семёрка достойных кавер-альбомов в роке, которые непременно стоит послушать Каверы – прекрасный способ взглянуть на любимое произведение с другой стороны! Частенько они даже превосходят оригиналы...

Шура: через что прошёл исполнитель «Холодной Луны»

Шура: как сложилась судьба исполнителя «Холодной Луны» и «Твори добро» после славы Шура ворвался на отечественную сцену в 90-х и быстро привлёк внимание к своей...

«Ироничный рок»: вспоминаем группу «НОМ»

Группа, которая заставит вас улыбнуться – вспоминаем историю «НОМ» Мы с вами привыкли к року в традиционном его понимании, а потому «выбивающиеся» из общего ансамбля...

Вспоминаем Дэвида Байрона, легенду Uriah Heep

Памяти Дэвида Байрона: от ранних лет до покорения арены хард-рока – биография легенды в удивительных фактах Шикарный вокалист, талантливый автор песен и просто харизматичная личность...

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...