Author:
Category:

How the fate of the former members of the Beatles turned out - and it's not about the world-famous ex-Beatles

We tell you about the little-known members of the Beatles, whose lives after the group have developed with varying degrees of success...

What happened to the former Beatles and why they never became part of the British Invasion

When we talk about The Beatleswe're talking about the Great Liverpool Four in John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr. And those who are not thoroughly familiar with the work of this cult band, as they say, would never even think that once, at the very beginning of their journey, this was a band. of five people!

And no, it's not about the manager. Brian Epstein or producer Djordje Martinesometimes called "the unofficial members of The Beatles. We're talking about real musicians whose lives after the band have developed with varying degrees of success...

Stuart Sutcliffe

Stuart Sutcliffe
Stuart Sutcliffe

Today Paul McCartney is known not only as a songwriter, but also as a bassist "The Beatles. But there were times when that role was occupied by Stuart Sutcliffe. His fateful encounter with Lennon in art college led him to join the band that would become legendary in the future! In some ways his name became immortal because of this, but Stu's life turned out to be too short

To the bone, Sutcliffe was artistbut Paul and John convinced him to pick up the bass guitar. Small gigs started, and the crowd quickly fell in love with the guy! A lot of it was because of his bright style: James Dean-style sunglasses and tight pants were his trademark. So before the Beatles foursome attracted attention not only with their music, but also with their sloppy haircut style, Stuart Sutcliffe proved that appearance is for sale. Rumor has it that the audience shouted his name more and louder than the names of other musicians. This, as well as Stu's warm friendship with John, caused some tension in his relationship with Paul.

Stuart Sutcliffe
Stuart Sutcliffe

Speaking of Stu's musical abilities, George Harrison once spouted off:

"Well, he wasn't a very good musician. In fact, he wasn't a musician at all until we talked him into buying a bass guitar. He picked something up and practiced a little... His playing sounded weird, but at the time it didn't matter because he looked so cool!"

George Harrison, Stuart Sutcliffe, and John Lennon
George Harrison, Stuart Sutcliffe, and John Lennon

Stewart left the band on his own - he was not very interested in music, and he planned to concentrate entirely on visual art. His plans were to go to Germany with his beloved, to whom he had become engaged shortly before his death. He could have become an artist, or returned to music, or at least built a family... But he was gone too soon: Sutcliffe died of a brain hemorrhage at the age of 21 years old. Stu's sister blamed Lennon for it, allegedly there was a fight between them shortly before Sutcliffe was fired from the band. It's hard to say anything...

Sgt. Pepper 's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Beatles album)
Cover of "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" (Stu left, third from top)

The Beatles have not forgotten of their comrade even in the wave of Beatlemania: they included Stu's image on the cover of the iconic album "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.

Pete Best

Pete Best
Pete Best

Another former member that only devoted fans of The Beatles, who have studied the band's biography up and down, know about. Pete Best. He was a drummer until he took over that role. Ringo. By the way: before that I had a chance to play with the Beatles Tommy Moore: He was talented, but there is not much to tell about this period, for this tandem was short-lived. Moore literally ran away from the Beatles because of LennonSo let's get back to Pete, who drove him crazy with his eccentricity.

In fact, Pete was not a brilliant drummer, and in the Beatles he was just the fifth member, not an important link. His abilities were... mediocreand his interactions with the rest of the guys were pretty cool (if only John was more or less so). I didn't like him. George Martinand in the end Epstein fired him. To this day there are legends and hypotheses surrounding this dismissal: according to Best himself, he himself still does not know why he was fired. Was it because of his poor play, or his refusal of his trademark haircut? And some even say that it was because Pete was handsome - allegedly McCartney didn't want to rivalry. It is also known that the gap between Best and the other guys was growing, and he hardly ever showed up for rehearsals. Ringo became a great salvation for the band, though at first his skills did not impress many people either.

The Beatles with Pete Best
The Beatles with Pete Best

At first, fans refused to accept Ringo, shouting from the audience: "Give us back Pete! We don't want Ringo!". From McCartney's memoirs:

"The girls really had a crush on Pete, for he was a handsome guy. They literally hounded him after the concerts, and so his dismissal cost us our nerves..."

Pete Best
Pete Best

After The Beatles, Best tried to become a musician, but nothing came of it. He worked in a bakery, then in the civil service... It was only at a mature age that Pete formed The Pete Best Band and started touring.

And in 1995, "manna from heaven" fell on his nearly gray-haired head - The Beatles released a retrospective "Anthology."where Best played drums on a number of tracks. This entitled him to a share of the royalties, which are estimated to be between $1.3 million and $5.2 million.

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:
Категория:

Как сложилась судьба бывших участников «Битлз» – и речь не про всемирно известных экс-битлов

Рассказываем о мало кому известных участниках «Битлз», чья жизнь после группы сложилась с разной степенью успеха...

Что случилось с бывшими участниками «Битлз», и почему они так и не стали частью Британского вторжения

Когда мы говорим о «Битлз», мы говорим о Великой ливерпульской четвёрке в лице Джона Леннона, Пола Маккартни, Джорджа Харрисона и Ринго Старра. И тем, кто не знаком с творчеством этого культового коллектива основательно, что говорится, никогда даже в голову не придёт, что когда-то, в самом начале своего пути, это была группа из пяти человек!

И нет, речь не о менеджере Брайане Эпстайне или продюсере Джордже Мартине, которых иногда называют «неофициальными участниками The Beatles». Речь о реальных музыкантах, чья жизнь после группы сложилась с разной степенью успеха…

Стюарт Сатклифф

Стюарт Сатклифф
Стюарт Сатклифф

Сегодня Пола Маккартни знают не только как автора песен, но и как басиста «Битлз». Но были времена, когда эту роль занимал Стюарт Сатклифф. Его судьбоносное знакомство с Ленноном в колледже искусств привело его в состав коллектива, который в будущем станет легендарным! В какой-то степени его имя стало бессмертным благодаря этому, однако жизнь Стю оказалась слишком короткой

До мозга костей Сатклифф был художником, но Пол и Джон убедили его взять в руки бас-гитару. Начались небольшие концерты, и публика быстро полюбила этого парня! Во многом – из-за его яркого стиля: солнцезащитные очки в стиле Джеймса Дина и узкие брюки были его фирменной изюминкой. Так что до того, как четвёрка «Битлз» привлекла внимание не только своей музыкой, но и своим стилем с небрежной стрижкой, Стюарт Сатклифф доказал, что внешность продаётся. Поговаривают, что публика выкрикивала его имя больше и громче, чем имена других музыкантов. Это, как и тёплая дружба Стю с Джоном, вызывало некую напряжённость в его отношениях с Полом.

Стюарт Сатклифф
Стюарт Сатклифф

Говоря о музыкальных способностях Стю, Джордж Харрисон однажды проронил:

«Ну, он был не очень хорошим музыкантом. На самом деле, он вообще не был музыкантом, пока мы не уговорили его купить бас-гитару. Он кое-что подобрал и немного попрактиковался… Его игра звучала странно, но на то время это не имело значения, потому что он выглядел так круто!»

Джордж Харрисон, Стюарт Сатклифф и Джон Леннон
Джордж Харрисон, Стюарт Сатклифф и Джон Леннон

Стюарт ушёл из группы сам – музыка была ему не очень интересна, и он планировал полностью сосредоточиться на изобразительном искусстве. В его планах было уехать в Германию вместе со своей возлюбленной, с которой он обручился незадолго до смерти. Он мог бы стать художником, или вернуться к музыке, или как минимум построить семью… Но его не стало слишком рано: Сатклифф скончался от кровоизлияния в мозг в возрасте 21 год. Сестра Стю винила в этом Леннона, якобы между ними произошла драка незадолго до увольнения Сатклиффа из группы. Тут сложно что-либо сказать…

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (альбом Битлз)
Обложка «Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band» (Стю слева, третий сверху)

«Битлз» не забывали своего товарища даже на волне битломании: они включили изображение Стю в обложку культового альбома «Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band».

Пит Бест

Пит Бест
Пит Бест

Ещё один бывший участник, о котором знают только преданные поклонники The Beatles, изучившие биографию группы вдоль и поперек – Пит Бест. Он был барабанщиком до того, пока на эту роль не пришёл Ринго. К слову: до него с битлами успел поиграть Томми Мур: он был талантлив, но рассказывать об этом периоде особо нечего, ибо этот тандем оказался недолгим. Мур буквально сбежал от «Битлз» из-за Леннона, который доводил его своим эксцентричным нравом… Так что вернёмся к Питу.

По сути, Пит не был гениальным барабанщиком, да и в «Битлз» он играл роль просто пятого участника, а не важного звена. Его способности были заурядны, а его общение с остальными парнями – весьма прохладным (если только с Джоном дела обстояли более-менее). Он не понравился Джорджу Мартину, и в итоге Эпстайн уволил его. Вокруг этого увольнения по сей день складывают легенды и гипотезы: по словам самого Беста, он сам до сих пор не знает, за что его уволили. Была ли причиной его слабая игра, или отказ от фирменной стрижки? А некоторые и вовсе говорят, что так произошло из-за того, что Пит был красавчиком – якобы Маккартни не хотел соперничества. Также известно, что пропасть между Бестом и другими парнями нарастала, и он практически не появлялся на репетициях. Ринго стал большим спасение для группы, хотя поначалу его навыки тоже мало кого впечатляли.

The Beatles с Питом Бестом
The Beatles с Питом Бестом

Поначалу поклонники отказывались принимать Ринго, выкрикивая из зала: «Верните нам Пита! Нам не нужен Ринго!». Из воспоминаний Маккартни:

«Девушки действительно были влюблены в Пита, ибо он был красивым парнем. Они буквально преследовали его после концертов, а потому его увольнение стоило нам нервов…»

Пит Бест
Пит Бест

После The Beatles Бест предпринимал попытки стать музыкантом, но ничего из этого не выходило. Он работал на хлебозаводе, потом на государственной службе… Лишь в зрелом возрасте Пит сформировал The Pete Best Band и начал гастролировать.

А в 1995 году на его почти седую голову обрушилась «манна небесная» – The Beatles выпустили ретроспективу «Anthology», где Бест играл на барабанах в ряде треков. Это дало ему право на долю гонорара, которая, по оценкам, составляет от 1,3 до 5,2 миллиона долларов.

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...