Author:

Category:

John Lennon, or the unbridled icon of "love and world peace

His inner demons were mad! His true desires were incomprehensible to those closest to him or to himself. But such contradictions do not spoil our impression of the iconic Beatle at all. Rather, on the contrary...

What was John Lennon really like, or the dark side of a rampant legend

John Lennon - one of the most striking and contradictory of musicians in history. He was an intellectual, a man of art in every sense of the word--drew, wrote, played. He also promoted love and world peace, but did he live up to the divine image he so actively sought to cultivate?

Lennon as a person is a very ambiguous, unrestrained and even contradictory figure. He was very different from his fellow Beatles, but it was not because of his legendary "granny glasses". His inner demons were insane! His true desires were incomprehensible either to his loved ones or to himself. But such contradictions do not spoil our impression of the iconic Beatle at all. On the contrary, they add "fire" to his persona, romanticism, and extraordinary, forcing us to resort to this genius more and more often and to immerse ourselves more and more intensely in his story...

Master Provocateur

John Lennon with Chupa Chups
John Lennon with Chupa Chups

Lennon never tried to be "better" or "right. He was confident in himself, in what he was doing - and what the Beatles as a whole were doing - for a thousand percent! John didn't try to downplay his success, on the contrary, he was happy to rant about it to journalists. And one day he even said: "The Beatles are more than Jesus.". Of course, he could have anticipated what would follow this high-profile statement, but it seems - the scandal and sensation were his motivation, not his obstacle.

John's relatives recalled how the musician purposely provoked people around him - whether it was a reporter or a fan in a bar. Lennon could easily stir up a scuffle, get into a conflict. He seemed to "feed on" all those emotions. Nevertheless - often conflicts occurred just because John had a hard time watch the language: He could say whatever was on his mind, unsparingly criticizing prominent figures and even his own band. He was also very hot-tempered, and one day - when a DJ took him and By Brian Epstein for a couple in love - Lennon jumped on the poor guy with his fists, and he literally had to be dragged away from the guy at the console!

John Lennon in his famous glasses
John Lennon in his famous glasses

According to McCartney, John was a "nice guy" in life, although "with his own cockroaches in his head. He had kind heart (according to many people close to him) and a fine intellect, and his main problem was inability to (or maybe an unwillingness to) control his feelings, his words, his emotions. John also had an incredibly ironic sense of humor, which hurt some

A man with a big heart

John Lennon with a kitten
John Lennon with a kitten

Many claim that John was a man of with a big heart! He was genuinely interested in the problems of those around him, and if he could, he willingly helped. But it seems that this did not apply to everyone. For some reason Lennon could devote a lot of his time to other people, while completely forgetting about those closest to him... So it was with his first son JulianHe had literally cut him out of his life for a while. Fortunately, as the days wore on, John realized his mistake, and began spending hours on the phone with his son, spending time with him, and sharing his deepest thoughts. Better late than never!

John Lennon and his son Julian
John Lennon and his son Julian

And here's a story from "second hand"found on a popular foreign forum:

"In 1973 I was playing in a traveling band and we had a sound engineer/rody named Jeff. Jeff was an employee of a big music store and went to a music equipment show in Chicago in that capacity. John and Yoko were there. According to Jeff, he ran into them, said hello, and John asked him, "Who are you and what do you do?" Jeff replied, "I'm nobody." John and Yoko were stunned. "Don't ever talk about yourself like that!" said Lennon. And he proceeded to gently lecture Jeff about how important we all are in this world..."

Uncertainty in love

John Lennon and Yoko Ono
John Lennon and Yoko Ono

Was Lennon able to love? Surprisingly, this question is of great concern to some foreign biographers. Some of them are inclined to believe that John needed a loyal and intelligent person beside him, ready to help and just to listen. There is an opinion that his first marriage to Cynthia fell apart precisely because John did not feel the creative flow, inspiration, soulfulness and liberation in this relationship. And that it was with Yoko he was able to be himself - he found a kindred spirit, a person who understood him half-heartedly.

John was known to have had affairs on the side, but the musician himself never took them seriously. But did he love Ono, or was he just impressed by this woman - her brilliant mind, creative vision and freedom? In fact, did John need love? Some biographers argue that Lennon had "third party"He had a tendency to be a bit of an idiosyncrasy that was familiar only to him: he would not open up completely even to his closest ones, and he was often in doubt and temptation. Whether this is true or not, you and I have now we won't know.

Lastly

Legendary musician and performer John Lennon
Legendary musician and performer John Lennon

Some biographers attribute Lennon's expressiveness to his date of birth - allegedly many "fall." Art people were scandalous and stubborn individualists (prime examples are the intolerant Roger Waters, an aggressive and unempathic rebel Johnny Ramon, or Liam Gallagherwhose wild antics literally ruined Oasis). All this certainly sounds interesting, but we don't tend to identify character traits with the position of the stars in the sky...

Whatever the number on the calendar, childhood psychological trauma, or an unrestrained lifestyle triggered by worldwide fame, Lennon remains the most compelling, mysterious, controversial, and colorful figure 20th centuries. And that's probably why, for his confidence and stubbornness, we still love him! John was always either a puddle of sadness or a wave of joy, depending on the mood of the day. But either way - he was really nice guy.that we will miss forever...

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

Джон Леннон, или необузданная икона «любви и мира во всём мире»

Его внутренние демоны были безумны! Его истинные желания – непонятны ни близким, ни ему самому. Но подобные противоречия нисколько не портят наше впечатление о культовом битле. Скорее, наоборот...

Каким на самом деле был Джон Леннон, или тёмная сторона необузданной легенды

Джон Леннон – один из самых ярких и противоречивых музыкантов в истории. Он был интеллектуалом, человеком искусства во всех смыслах слова – рисовал, писал, играл. Он также пропагандировал любовь и мир во всём мире, но вот соответствовал ли он тому божественному образу, который так активно стремился культивировать?

Леннон как личность – очень неоднозначная, необузданная и даже противоречивая фигура. Он существенно отличался от своих товарищей по «Битлз», но дело было вовсе не в его легендарно известных «бабушкиных очках». Его внутренние демоны были безумны! Его истинные желания – непонятны ни близким, ни ему самому. Но подобные противоречия нисколько не портят наше впечатление о культовом битле. Скорее, наоборот: добавляют его персоне «огня», романтизма и экстраординарности, заставляя нас всё чаще прибегать к этому гению и всё интенсивнее погружаться в его историю…

Мастер провокации

Джон Леннон с чупа чупсом
Джон Леннон с чупа чупсом

Леннон никогда не пытался быть «лучше» или «правильнее». Он был уверен в себе, в том, что он делает – и что делают «Битлз» в целом – на всю тысячу процентов! Джон не старался сгладить успех, и даже напротив – охотно разглагольствовал на эту тему с журналистами. А однажды и вовсе заявил: «Битлз более чем Иисус». Конечно, он мог предполагать, что последует за этим громким высказыванием, но кажется – скандал и сенсация были его стимулом, а не преградой.

Близкие Джона вспоминали, как музыкант специально провоцировал окружающих – будь то корреспондент или фанат в баре. Леннон запросто мог разжечь потасовку, выйти на конфликт. Кажется – он «питался» всеми этими эмоциями. Тем не менее – часто конфликты происходили лишь потому, что Джону было сложно следить за языком: он мог сказать всё, что только было у него на уме, не скупясь на резкую критику видных деятелей и даже собственной группы. Он также был очень вспыльчив, и однажды – когда диджей принял их с Брайаном Эпстайном за влюблённую парочку – Леннон кинулся на бедолагу с кулаками, и его буквально пришлось оттаскивать от парня за пультом!

Джон Леннон в своих знаменитых очках
Джон Леннон в своих знаменитых очках

По словам Маккартни, в жизни Джон был «славным парнем», хотя и «со своими тараканами в голове». У него было доброе сердце (по словам многих близких) и прекрасный интеллект, и его главная проблема заключалась в неумении (а может в нежелании) контролировать свои чувства, слова, эмоции. Джон также обладал невероятно ироническим чувством юмора, которое задевало некоторых

Человек с большим сердцем

Джон Леннон с котёнком
Джон Леннон с котёнком

Многие утверждают, что Джон был человеком с большим сердцем! Он искренне интересовался проблемами окружающих, и если такая возможность была – с охотой помогал. Но кажется – это относилось далеко не ко всем. Почему-то Леннон мог выделить массу своего времени на чужих ему людей, при этом совершенно забывая про самых близких… Так было с его первым сыном Джулианом, которого он на некоторое время буквально вычеркнул из своей жизни. Благо – на закате дней Джон осознал свою ошибку, и начал часами болтать с сыном по телефону, проводить с ним время и делиться глубокими мыслями. Лучше поздно, чем никогда!

Джон Леннон и его сын Джулиан
Джон Леннон и его сын Джулиан

А вот история из «вторых рук», найденная на популярном зарубежном форуме:

«В 1973 году я играл в бродячей группе, и у нас был звукооператор/роуди по имени Джефф. Джефф был сотрудником крупного музыкального магазина и в этом качестве отправился на выставку музыкального оборудования в Чикаго. Там были Джон и Йоко. По словам Джеффа, он столкнулся с ними, поздоровался, и Джон спросил его: «Кто ты и чем занимаешься?». Джефф ответил: «Я никто». Джон и Йоко были ошеломлены. «Никогда не говори так о себе!», – сказал Леннон. И он продолжил мягко читать лекцию Джеффу о том, как мы все важны в этом мире…»

Неопределённость в любви

Джон Леннон и Йоко Оно
Джон Леннон и Йоко Оно

Умел ли Леннон любить? К удивлению, этот вопрос очень волнует некоторых зарубежных биографов. Одни склоняются, что Джон нуждался в преданном и умном человеке рядом, готовым прийти на помощь и просто выслушать. Бытует мнение, что его первый брак с Синтией распался именно потому что Джон не ощущал творческого притока, вдохновения, душевности и раскрепощённости в этих отношениях. И что именно с Йоко он смог быть самим собой – он нашёл родственную душу, человека, который понимал его с полуслова.

Известно, что у Джона были романы на стороне, но сам музыкант никогда не воспринимал их всерьёз. Но вот любил ли он Оно, или просто был впечатлён этой женщиной – её блестящим умом, творческим видением и свободой? Вообще, была ли нужна Джону любовь? Некоторые биографы утверждают, что Леннон имел «третье лицо», которое было знакомо только ему одному – якобы он не открывался полностью даже перед самыми близкими, и часто был в сомнениях и соблазнах. Так ли это или нет – мы с вами теперь уже не узнаем.

Напоследок

Легендарный музыкант и исполнитель Джон Леннон
Легендарный музыкант и исполнитель Джон Леннон

Некоторые биографы объясняют экспрессивность Леннона его датой рождения – якобы многие «осенние» люди искусства были скандалистами и упрямыми индивидуалистами (яркие примеры – не терпящий ни чьих идей Роджер Уотерс, агрессивный и лишённый эмпатии бунтовщик Джонни Рамон, или Лиам Галлахер, чьи дикие выходки буквально развалили Oasis). Всё это, конечно, звучит интересно, но мы не склонны идентифицировать черты характера с положением звёзд на небе…

Как бы то ни было – число в календаре, детские психологические травмы или безудержный образ жизни, спровоцированный всемирной славой – Леннон остаётся наиболее привлекательной, загадочной, противоречивой и яркой фигурой 20 века. И наверное именно за это, за его уверенность и упрямство, мы всё ещё его любим! Джон всегда был либо лужами печали, либо волнами радости – в зависимости от настроения в конкретный день. Но так или иначе – он был действительно славным парнем, которого нам будет вечно не хватать…

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...