Date:

Author:
Category:

How a cover song from the Pet Shop Boys is linked to the USSR and became an anthem for football fans

Let's find out how the Pet Shop Boys wrote one of their most famous hits "Go West", why it won a Grammy and what the USSR anthem and the Village People have to do with it.

"Pet Shop Boys" - "Go West" (1993) - song history, video shoot in Russia, awards, football fans' anthem

Single "Go West." groups "Pet Shop Boys" was released in 1993 and went straight to the top of the charts. The dance rhythm and colourful music video appealed to music lovers. Some music lovers noticed the similarity with the USSR anthemand those in the know immediately realised that the hit was an interpretation of a late 70's disco band composition. "Village People.". However, the Pet Shop Boys greatly improved the song, after which it was sung not only at British concerts, but also in sports stadiums.

The Village People
The Village People

The story of the original version

American group "Village People." is renowned for her simple, easy catchy tunes and extraordinary stage costumes: images of a cowboy, policeman, marine, Indian, labourer and biker. The founder of the musical group Jacques MoraliIn setting up the group, he planned to communicate the basics of culture in a humorous way LGBT communities. Despite the obvious custom imageThe group was popular among almost all categories of the population: people were proud of the spread of the American valuesand LGBT people have praised them for their work. determinationwhich they themselves lacked to speak frankly about their peculiarities.

Single "Go West." was released in 1979. The title of the song uses famous phrase of a 19th century American publisher John B. L. Saul: "Go West, young man" as an appeal set out in search of a better life. Expression also attributed to a journalist and politician, a presidential candidate in 1872. Horace Greeleyin his speeches supporting the idea westernisation and published farewells word of mouth "New York Tribune.

In spite of historical The song was perceived by the audience as an ode dedicated to the LGBT communities. At the same time. creators songs (producers Jacques Morali и Henri Beloloas well as American singer and actor Victor Willis) claimed that their desire was beat in the text, the famous slogan of the 19th century, encouraging the people of America master western territories.

One of the Pet Shop Boys' professional photos
One of the Pet Shop Boys' professional photos

The Pet Shop Boys version

Thanks to the members of the duo. "Pet Shop Boys" Neil Tennant и To Chris Lowe the song had second life and ended up getting world fame. The musicians first performed it in one of the nightclubs of Manchester at a charity concert in aid of HIV-positive to patients where they were invited to fulfilments popular songs of yesteryear. Originally for speeches they chose a song from the band's repertoire "The Beatles"but then, after much hesitation, they decided on "Go West.". Neil Tennant later said that at the time. song he thought it was just awful.

Release were planning on signing up holiday of the Nativity of Christ, there was a special reason for this: starting from the 1985 the popular duo's songs have made it to the ten of the UK chart, and in 1992. the band didn't have suitable a hit. Although the musicians hurried with the recording of the single, it eventually had to be released for a while postpone. But the one that came out in the autumn 1993 it's become much more more successfulthan original version. The original lyrics of the song have been changed hue: slightly modified text, added one coupletand as a result, the song took on a new meaning.

Trek has been taken as a narrative of the collapse Soviet Union. However, listening to the song, Hungarian the fans are going wild frightened: they've decided that "Go. West." - appeal to invade Russians to Eastern Europe. Despite this, song became popular and favourite not only in the West but also in Russia. The listeners were afflicteddistinguishing the motifs in the single's melody. hymn USSR. Even myself Chris Lowewhen I heard it, I was surprised by the resemblance to the beginning their songs. I'd like to point out that at that time, everything globally really wanted to look parallels with the new Russia.

Cover art for the Pet Shop Boys' single "Go West."
Cover art for the Pet Shop Boys' single "Go West."

Clip shoot

In 1993, in the Moscow by a British film director by Howard Greenhalgh has been withdrawn video clip to this song. The footage was recorded in three locations of the capital: on Red squares, у of the Space Museum and on Yuri Gagarin Square. The clip shows footage of a dystopian dystopian of the communist world. On the screen, we see the symbol of America first "Statue of Liberty"and then the entire sky is coloured red colour, and identical men wearing red. caps and holding flags formation marchers to the West. Soloists "Pet Shop Boys" is also in the clip, they're wearing overalls yellow and blue, with yellow and blue on their heads. helmets.

Video initially caused a lot of disputes in the West, it was seen as a dubious implication in the form of an offer to go and "party" at the San Franciscoa city that was considered capital LGBT communities in the United States. Soloists refuted this point of view, claiming that their commercials. no adverts "a city where anything is possible," they just wanted to show the world story about the collapse of the old idealswhich symbolised the grey Soviet Union. monumentsand the emergence of new ones in the form of a colourful. Statues of Liberty.

Football supporters' anthem

В global of the football championship, a version of "Go West" was first played on the French stadium, in the semi-finals. Cup of Cupswhen we met English. "Arsenal." and French "Paris Saint-Germain.". The song was well received by the footballers. fansand soon the stadiums will literally. explode shouting to the tune "Go West." Since then, the melody has often been played on sports grounds around the world. The hospitable hosts of the Mundial, which took place in South Korea и Japan in 2002, performed it for the arriving guests. The song was gaining popularityand four years later at the world championships in Germany. "Go West." was played after every match played. At the World Cup 2018 Swedish fans actively performed hit on Russian stadiums. Thus, the cover became hymn football fans. And although the musicians themselves have never not reckoned as football fans, they were experiencing a real. pride from having their song played in huge stadiums all over the world.

 

Awards

Work "Pet Shop Boys" has been universally recognition and has been honoured with several honours: at the annual music festival "East Award." в 1994-м the year she won an award in the category "Best British Video Clip."and at the 37th award ceremony. "Grammys."held in Los Angeles in March 1995. "Go West" was among the nominees in the category. "Best Short Music Video".

LEAVE ANSWER

Please enter your comment!
please enter your name here

5 + 5 =

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...

'Pretty Woman With A Secret': Debbie Harry's 'Blondie' Secrets She Long Hid From Fans

Debbie Harry: facts about her personal life and career Debbie Harry is unfortunately a rarity: a surviving 78-year-old punk scene icon whose career developed during the era of...

Top Russian Hits of 2023 and the Most Popular Songs according to FUZZ MUSIC Magazine

Russian hits 2023: songs, artists, clips The year 2023 was a special year for the Russian charts: some artists disappeared from view - most of them...

Yuri Antonov - The Hardest Idol: Antics and Scandals That Made Producers Walk Away From the Master

Yuri Antonov: character, scandals, antics Recently, producer Sergey Lavrov said that Yuri Antonov is the most difficult, capricious and wayward maestro of the domestic variety, with whom he...

"Men Who Sing": Patrick Swayze, Bradley Cooper - Actors Who Have Performed Loud Hits

Actors who have performed hits: names, clips, facts Many actors are very bright and versatile personalities! They make us laugh to tears or tremble to goosebumps, but besides...

Ekaterina Batrakova: "A good half of academic musicians listen to good rock"

Ekaterina Batrakova - interview: about career and plans for the future The correspondent of Fuzz Music talked to the rock singer Katya Batrakova, whose songs have repeatedly hit the...

Brigitte Bardot: Four Marriages, Lonely Old Age - And Not a Drop of Regret

Brigitte Bardot: personal life, relationships and husbands In her youth, Brigitte Bardot was one of the most beautiful women in France - as, in fact, and the world cinema in...

What Lolita Milyavskaya is grateful to Pugacheva for

Lolita Milyavskaya and Alla Pugacheva: friendship, relationship, photos To call Lolita and Alla Borisovna girlfriends - somehow the language does not turn. Let the relationship between them always and...

How Boris Galkin Became an "Enemy" for his Daughter

Boris Galkin: personal life, wives, children, daughter For many years everyone was sure that Boris Galkin is the birth father of Vladislav, who in the early 2000s became famous as...

Boris Galkin: Jumped with Parachute, Raised an Idol, Became a Father at 70 - The Fate of "Lieutenant Tarasov"

Boris Galkin: biography, career, films He played the most sincere, kind and brave military heroes, because of what he became the embodiment of true nobility in the eyes of the audience. In general,...
Recommended

What's SHAMAN's Little Brother, or the PR stunt that worked: The Neverlove Story

Neverlove band: history, vocalist Yaroslav Stepanov, tracks and clips Perhaps you have already seen a video on YouTube (and by the way, it is far from one), which...

Deep Purple: The Band That Trials Accompanied

Grim little-known facts about Deep Purple Deep Purple is one of the most legendary, yet darkest bands in the history of classic rock. Even their...

Ace of Base: The Fate of the Happy Nation Performers

Members of Ace of Base today: photos and facts In 1992, the debut album of the band Ace of Base was released. The single of the same name from it was instantly...

"Did One Song Split the Beatles?" - A Fresh Look at the Affairs of Yesteryear

The song "Cold Turkey" and the breakup of The Beatles The Beatles are a band that definitely needs no introduction. Being one of the most colourful and influential pioneers of...

The band "Jeopardy" has a healing effect

How the band "Bardak" heals the public The band "Bardak", playing real rock with pronounced hard rock and blues tones, continues to gain momentum. The album "Russkiy...

A turning point within Pink Floyd that turned into success and the subsequent split of the band

The moment when Pink Floyd had a split in Pink Floyd Pink Floyd is one of the most original and unique bands of classic rock. The work of this band is difficult to characterise: it is...

"A shy rebel and a drummer who could bang balls": the Rolling Stones' life before fame - part two

Life of The Rolling Stones before fame: Ronnie Wood, Charlie Watts, Keith Richards - part two In today's article, we continue to cover the lives of the members of the iconic band....

"Gas sector" - continuators or brazen plagiarisers

We're talking about the Gas Sector... oh, no, about "Gas Sector". Our article is devoted to the history of Moscow musicians. They were young, ambitious and loved punk rock. They have their own songs...

"Drunkenness, road accidents and frostbite": The fate of the "Gaza Strip" participants

We tell you what happened to the members of Sektor Gaza "Sektor Gaza" is a band that went down in the history of Russian rock. Its songs, full of sarcasm, irony and provocation,...

Автор:
Категория:

Как кавер-версия от «Pet Shop Boys» связана с СССР и стала гимном футбольным болельщикам

Разбираемся, как «Pet Shop Boys» написали один из самых известных хитов «Go West», за что он получил «Грэмми» и при чём тут гимн СССР и коллектив «Village People».

«Pet Shop Boys» – «Go West» (1993) – история песни, съёмки клипа в России, награды, гимн футбольных фанатов

Сингл «Go West» группы «Pet Shop Boys» вышел в 1993 году и сразу взлетел на вершины чартов. Танцевальный ритм и яркий клип пришёлся по душе любителям музыки. Некоторые меломаны заметили сходство с гимном СССР, а знающие люди сразу поняли, что хит является интерпретацией композиции конца 70-х диско-группы «Village People». Однако «Pet Shop Boys» значительно усовершенствовали песню, после чего её запели не только на концертах британцев, но и на спортивных стадионах.

Группа «Village People»
Группа «Village People»

История оригинальной версии

Американская группа «Village People» прославилась своими простыми, легко запоминающимися мелодиями и неординарными сценическими костюмами: образами ковбоя, полицейского, морского пехотинца, индейца, рабочего и байкера. Основатель музыкального коллектива Жак Морали, создавая группу, планировал в шутливой форме донести до слушателей основы культуры ЛГБТ-сообществ. Несмотря на явно нестандартный образ, коллектив пользовался популярностью практически у всех категорий населения: люди гордились распространением американских ценностей, пропагандируемых их творчеством, а представители ЛГБТ-сообществ восхваляли их за решительность, которой им самим не хватало для того, чтобы откровенно заговорить о своих особенностях.

Сингл «Go West» был выпущен в 1979 году. В названии песни использована знаменитая фраза американского издателя XIX века Джона Б. Л. Соула: «Иди на Запад, молодой человек» как призыв отправиться на поиски лучшей жизни. Высказывание также приписывают журналисту и политику, кандидату в президенты в 1872 года Хорасу Грили, в своих выступлениях поддерживающего идею освоения Запада и опубликовавшего напутственные слова в газете «New York Tribune».

Несмотря на историческую подоплёку, песня была воспринята аудиторией как ода, посвящённая ЛГБТ-сообществам. В тоже время создатели песни (продюсеры Жак Морали и Анри Белоло, а также американский певец и актёр Виктор Уиллис) утверждали, что их желанием было обыграть в тексте знаменитый лозунг XIX века, побуждающий жителей Америки осваивать западные территории.

Одно из профессиональных фото «Pet Shop Boys»
Одно из профессиональных фото «Pet Shop Boys»

Версия «Pet Shop Boys»

Благодаря участникам дуэта «Pet Shop Boys» Нилу Теннанту и Крису Лоу песня имела вторую жизнь и в итоге получила мировую известность. Впервые музыканты исполнили её в одном из ночных клубов Манчестера на благотворительном концерте в помощь ВИЧ-инфицированным больным, куда они были приглашены для исполнения популярных песен прошлых лет. Первоначально для выступления ими была выбрана песня из репертуара группы «The Beatles», но затем, после долгих сомнений, они остановили свой выбор на «Go West». Нил Теннант впоследствии говорил, что тогда песня казалась ему просто ужасной.

Релиз планировали записать к празднику Рождества Христова, на это имелась особая причина: начиная с 1985 года песни популярного дуэта ежегодно попадали в десятку британского чарта, а в 1992 году у группы не было подходящего хита. Хотя музыканты торопились с записью сингла, в конечном итоге его выход пришлось ненадолго отложить. Зато вышедший осенью 1993 года в прокат он стал гораздо успешнее, чем оригинальная версия. В первоначальный текст песни был внесён новый оттенок: немного изменен текст, добавлен один куплет, и в результате песня обрела новый смысл.

Трек был воспринят как повествование о крушении Советского Союза. Тем не менее, слушая песню, венгерские фанаты не на шутку испугались: они решили, что «Go West»призыв для вторжения русских в Восточную Европу. Несмотря на это, песня стала популярной и любимой не только на Западе, но и в России. Слушатели были поражены, различая в мелодии сингла мотивы гимна СССР. Даже сам Крис Лоу, услышав его, был удивлён схожестью с началом их песни. Хочется отметить, что в то время всему миру действительно хотелось искать параллели с новой Россией.

Обложка к синглу «Go West» «Pet Shop Boys»
Обложка к синглу «Go West» «Pet Shop Boys»

Съёмки клипа

В 1993-м году в Москве британским режиссёром Говардом Гринхолом был снят видеоролик на эту песню. Запись съёмок происходила в трёх локациях столицы: на Красной площади, у Музея космонавтики и на площади Юрия Гагарина. В клипе демонстрируются кадры мрачного антиутопического коммунистического мира. На экране мы видим, как сначала символ Америки «Statue of Liberty», а затем и всё небо окрашивается в красный цвет, а одинаковые мужчины, одетые в красные пилотки и держащие в руках флаги строем маршируют на Запад. Солисты «Pet Shop Boys» также участвует в клипе, они одеты в комбинезоны жёлтого и синего цвета, на головах – жёлто-синие каски.

Видео изначально вызвало массу споров на Западе, в нём увидели сомнительный подтекст в виде предложения поехать и «оторваться» в Сан-Франциско, городе, считавшемся столицей ЛГБТ-сообщества США. Солисты опровергали эту точку зрения, утверждая, что в их ролике нет рекламы «города, где можно всё», они лишь хотели показать миру историю о крушении старых идеалов, которые символизировали серые советские памятники, и о появление новых – в виде яркой Статуи Свободы.

Гимн футбольных болельщиков

В мировом футбольном первенстве версия «Go West» впервые прозвучала на французском стадионе, в полуфинале Кубка Кубков, когда встретились английский «Арсенал» и французский «Пари Сен-Жермен». Песня была принята на ура футбольными болельщиками, и скоро стадионы в буквальном смысле взрывались кричалками на мотив «Go West». С тех пор мелодия часто звучала на спортивных площадках мира. Гостеприимные хозяева мундиаля, проходившего в Южной Корее и Японии в 2002-м году, исполняли её для прибывших гостей. Песня набирала популярность, и уже через четыре года на мировом первенстве в Германии «Go West» исполнялась после каждого проведённого матча. На чемпионате мира по футболу 2018 года шведские болельщики активно исполняли хит на российских стадионах. Таким образом, кавер стал гимном футбольных фанатов. И хотя сами музыканты никогда не считали себя футбольными болельщиками, они испытывали настоящую гордость от того, что их песня звучит на огромных стадионах во всём мире.

 

Награды

Работа «Pet Shop Boys» получила всеобщее признание и была удостоена нескольких наград: на ежегодном музыкальном фестивале «East Award» в 1994-м году она получила награду в номинации «Лучший британский видеоклип», а на 37-й церемонии вручения премии «Грэмми», состоявшейся в Лос-Анджелесе в марте 1995 года. «Go West» был среди номинантов в категории «Лучшее короткое музыкальное видео».

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...