Author:
Category:

Kate Bush's Top 9 Hits That Are Worthy of the "Masterpiece" Title

A prolific composer and songwriter, Busch made a name for herself soon after the release of her debut LP, which performed well on the charts and gave the world the hit "Wuthering Heights"! But that wasn't the end of her musical exploits, it was just the beginning...

Kate Bush's Best Songs by Fuzz Music Magazine

A self-taught pianist, Kate Bush She ignited her passion for music at an early age: according to the recollections of those close to her, 11-year-old Katie (real name Catherine) could sit at her instrument for seven hours a day! Alas, she did not have the proper equipment, so when she decided to record and distribute her demos, the sound quality left a lot to be desired... And who knows how her career would have turned out if not for David Gilmour from Pink Floyd: it was he who mentored and inspired the ambitious teenage girl, instilled confidence in her, and helped her record material that sounded really good.

A prolific composer and songwriter, Bush made a name for herself shortly after the release of her debut LP, which performed well on the charts and presented the world with hit "Wuthering Heights"! But her musical exploits did not end there: a succession of successful singles and experiments with the synthesizer began, as a result of which the "ambitious self-taught" became a favorite of millions! Today she is a British legend whose repertoire is more than rich. But if you're only familiar with Bush through a few songs, our selection - a great opportunity to fix this.

"Running Up That Hill."

Kate Bush
Kate Bush

Loaded with emotion and passion that few artists are able to put together, let alone record on tape, "Running Up That Hill." is still considered one of the greatest pop songs of all time.

The performer herself said the following about this masterpiece:

"What I was trying to say was that it's not really possible for a man and a woman to understand each other. And if we could really switch roles, if we could be in each other's shoes for a while, I think we would be very surprised! I think it would lead to more understanding..."

"Wuthering Heights"

Kate Bush...
Kate Bush

Largely inspired by the The film adaptation of Wuthering Heightsrather than an Emily Bronte novel, this composition became Bush's most recognizable hit. You could say. "Wuthering Heights" launched the career of a gifted teenager who wrote it in the green suburbs of South London:

"It was a full moon, the curtains were open, and it happened pretty easily..."

It was this track that won Katie the award for being the the first womanwhich topped the British charts with the song, written and performed by herself. A truly iconic moment in a legendarily brilliant musical career...

"Babooshka."

One of the UK's most successful hits, and overall a pretty bombastic rock song that's hard to get out of your head. "Babooshka." tells the story of a woman who decides to "test her husband. Our heroine sends her husband love notes, presumably from someone younger.

Alas, the experiment leads to unpleasant consequenceswhen the heroine disguises herself for a personal meeting, and her worst fears come true: her husband is attracted to the fake, not the real her...

"The Man With the Child in His Eyes

This is the song that can dispel your doubts about the poetic talent of our heroine. It is worth emphasizing that "The Man With the Child in His Eyes was written by Bush at the age of 13! The text details a theory about men that the young singer personally developed from her own observations:

"All men are just little boys inside, and how wonderful it is that they manage to keep that magic..."

The recording at London's AIR Studios did not take place until 3 years laterand according to the performer's own recollections, she was struck by the greatness of the orchestra that played with her. The keys and violins - the abundance of sounds merged together and a true gem was born.

"This Woman's Work"

Kate Bush
Kate Bush

This song was originally written specifically for the romantic comedy "She's Having a Baby" (1988)The song was not released as a single until a year later. Alas, "This Woman's Work" managed to reach only number 25 in the British chart, despite the fact that to this day it is considered to be one of the most powerful and beautiful compositions in the singer's arsenal! By the way, director John Hughes masterfully used this lyric during the dramatic climax of the film, when the main character finds out that the life of his wife and their future child are in danger.

"This Woman's Work" can be described as a symphony of strong emotions and intense thoughts. Kate's vocals are as good as ever!

"Cloudbusting."

"Wrestling with the Clouds." - a prime example of how Kate is able to transform into the figurative consciousness of her protagonist and take us, the listeners, along with her.

The composition was inspired by the famous psychologist and philosopher Wilhelm Reich, and his tumultuous relationship with his son Peter. It is written from the point of view of Peter's and is dedicated to the games he and his father shared during his upbringing on the family farm.

"Hounds of Love."

Kate Bush and jay z are inducted into the list of Hall of Fame nominees
Kate Bush 

A very powerful and somber track in which the singer swallows frightenedly and roars dramatically as rumbling drums and harmonic layers unfold around her like fog... This is the song Of love and fear in front of such a bright feeling.

"It's about someone who is scared and looking for a way to escape - to escape from love. The main character is afraid of love and relationships. It uses the image of love as something that comes to get you, and you have to run away from it or you won't survive. My voice and the whole production are aimed at expressing this horror..."

"Breathing."

Shrill piano balladwhich was the final diamond of the "Never for Ever" album.

This beautiful work perfectly reflects the cheerful beauty of Kate's creativity, lightness and simultaneous passion. We recommend listening to it, of course, if you are not yet familiar with the track (although even if you are, you can re-listen to "Breathing". gladly).

"The Sensual World

Inspired by the novel "Ulysses." of the writer James Joyce and the heroine Molly Bloom particularly "The Sensual World," a great track that will surely make you want to continue to get to know Bush's work!

As some critics have described this composition: "one of the finest explorations of the sensual and the sublime.

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Автор:
Категория:

Топ-9 хитов Кейт Буш, которые достойны звания «шедевров»

Плодовитый композитор и автор песен, Буш громко заявила о себе уже вскоре после выпуска дебютной пластинки, которая показала прекрасные результаты в чартах и преподнесла миру хит «Wuthering Heights»! Но на этом её музыкальные подвиги не закончились, а только начались...

Лучшие песни Кейт Буш по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Пианистка-самоучка, Кейт Буш загорелась страстью к музыке в раннем детстве: по воспоминаниям близких, 11-летняя Кэти (настоящее имя Кэтрин) могла просидеть за инструментом все 7 часов в день! Увы, но у неё не было должного оборудования, а потому когда она решила записать и разослать свои демо, качество звука оставляло желать лучшего… И неизвестно, как сложилась бы её карьера, если бы не Дэвид Гилмор из Pink Floyd: именно он стал наставником и идейным вдохновителем амбициозной девчонки-подростка, вселил в неё уверенность и помог записать материал, который звучал действительно качественно.

Плодовитый композитор и автор песен, Буш громко заявила о себе уже вскоре после выпуска дебютной пластинки, которая показала прекрасные результаты в чартах и преподнесла миру хит «Wuthering Heights»! Но на этом её музыкальные подвиги не закончились: началась череда успешных синглов и экспериментов с синтезатором, в результате чего «амбициозная самоучка» стала любимицей миллионов! Сегодня она британская легенда, чей репертуар более чем богат. Но если вы знакомы с Буш лишь по нескольким песням, наша подборка – прекрасная возможность это исправить.

«Running Up That Hill»

Кейт Буш
Кейт Буш

Заряженная эмоциями и страстью, которые лишь немногие артисты способны собрать воедино, не говоря уже о том, чтобы записать на плёнку, «Running Up That Hill» по-прежнему считается одной из величайших поп-песен всех времён.

Сама исполнительница сказала об этом шедевре следующее:

«Я пыталась сказать, что на самом деле мужчина и женщина не могут понять друг друга. И если бы мы действительно могли поменяться ролями, если бы мы могли какое-то время оказаться на месте друг друга, я думаю, мы были бы очень удивлены! Я думаю, что это привело бы к большему пониманию…»

«Wuthering Heights»

Кейт Буш...
Кейт Буш

В значительной степени вдохновлённая экранизацией «Грозового перевала», а не романом Эмили Бронте, данная композиция стала самым узнаваемым хитом Буш. Можно сказать – «Wuthering Heights» положила начало карьере одарённого подростка, который написал её в зелёном пригороде Южного Лондона:

«Было полнолуние, занавески были открыты, и это произошло довольно легко…»

Именно этот трек принёс Кэти награду за то, что она стала первой женщиной, которая возглавила британские чарты с песней, написанной и исполненной ею самой. Поистине знаковый момент в легендарно блестящей музыкальной карьере…

«Babooshka»

Один из наиболее успешных в Великобритании хитов, и в целом довольно напыщенная рок-песня, которую сложно выкинуть из головы – «Babooshka» повествует о том, как женщина решает «испытать своего мужа». Наша героиня посылает супругу любовные записки предположительно от кого-то моложе.

Увы, эксперимент приводит к неприятным последствиям, когда героиня маскируется для личной встречи, и её худшие опасения сбываются: её мужа привлекает фальшивая, а не настоящая она…

«The Man With the Child in His Eyes»

Это та песня, которая способна развеять ваши сомнения касаемо поэтического таланта нашей героини. Стоит подчеркнуть, что «The Man With the Child in His Eyes» была написана Буш в возрасте 13 лет! В тексте подробно изложена теория о мужчинах, которую юная певица лично разработала – отталкиваясь от собственных наблюдений:

«Внутри все мужчины просто маленькие мальчики, и как замечательно, что им удаётся сохранять это волшебство…»

Запись в лондонской AIR Studios произошла лишь 3 года спустя, и по воспоминаниям самой исполнительницы – она была поражена величием оркестра, который играл вместе с ней. Клавиши и скрипки – обилие звуков слилось воедино, и родилась подлинная жемчужина.

«This Woman’s Work»

Кейт Буш
Кейт Буш

Первоначально эта песня была написана специально для романтической комедии «У неё будет ребёнок» (1988), и только годом позже Буш выпустила её в качестве сингла. Увы, но «This Woman’s Work» сумела добраться лишь до 25 строчки британского чарта, несмотря на то, что по сей день считается одной из наиболее мощных и красивых композиций в арсенале певицы! К слову: режиссёр Джон Хьюз мастерски использовал эту лирику во время драматической кульминации фильма, когда главный герой узнаёт, что жизнь его жены и их будущего ребёнка в опасности.

«This Woman’s Work» можно описать как симфонию сильных эмоций и интенсивных мыслей. Вокал Кейт здесь как никогда на высоте!

«Cloudbusting»

«Борьба с облаками» – яркий пример того, как Кейт способна трансформироваться в фигуративное сознание своего главного героя и увлечь за собой нас, слушателей.

Композиция вдохновлена знаменитым психологом и философом Вильгельмом Райхом, и его бурными отношениями с сыном Питером. Она написана с точки зрения Питера и посвящена играм, которые он и его отец разделяли во время его воспитания на семейной ферме.

«Hounds of Love»

Кейт Буш и jay z вошли в список номинантов Зала славы
Кейт Буш 

Очень мощный и мрачный трек, в котором певица испуганно сглатывает и драматически ревёт, когда грохочущие барабаны и гармонические слои разворачиваются вокруг неё, подобно туману… Это песня о любви и страхе перед столь светлым чувством.

«Это о том, кто напуган и ищет способ сбежать – сбежать от любви. Главная героиня боится любви и отношений. Здесь используется образ любви как чего-то, что приходит, чтобы заполучить вас, и вы должны убежать от этого, иначе вы не выживете. Мой голос и вся постановка направлены на выражение этого ужаса…»

«Breathing»

Пронзительная фортепианная баллада, которая стала завершающим алмазом альбома «Never for Ever».

Это прекрасное произведение как нельзя лучше отражает жизнерадостную красоту творчества Кейт, лёгкость и одновременную страсть. Рекомендуем к прослушиванию, если, конечно же, вы ещё не знакомы с треком (хотя даже если и знакомы – переслушать «Breathing» можно с большим удовольствием).

«The Sensual World»

Вдохновлённая романом «Улисс» писателя Джеймса Джойса и героиней Молли Блум в частности, «The Sensual World» – прекрасный трек, после которого вы наверняка захотите продолжить знакомство с творчеством Буш!

Как описывали эту композицию некоторые критики: «одно из самых тонких исследований чувственного и возвышенного».

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...