Author:

Category:

"In Focus": how the clips of the cult pop group "ABBA" were created

In the 1970s, few other artists could match ABBA in releasing music videos (or "promotional videos," as they were then known). These entertaining and, judging by the number of views on YouTube, quite successful mini-movies give us a reason to look at the history of ABBA in a new way ...

How ABBA videos were created: history and interesting facts

Formed early 1970s, over time Swedish ABBA pop quartet became truly cult ... The group is considered one of the greatest in history: "ABBA" never stopped topping the charts from 1974 to 1983, given that the team broke up in 1982... It was ABBA that brought their homeland the first victory at Eurovision, performing a delightful anthem in 1974 "Waterloo." (which is still popular to this day!) The worldwide circulation of the group is estimated at staggering 150 million copies! No wonder the band is the 3rd best selling singles performer in the UK... The quartet's rich repertoire includes dozens of excellent songs, many of which have become big hits! But… what about music videos? Don't they deserve special attention?

Why ABBA made so many videos

ABBA Group
ABBA Group

In the 1970s few other artists could compare with ABBA for the release of music videos (or "promo clips"as they were then called). These are fascinating and, judging by the number of views on YouTube, rather successful mini-movies give us a reason to look at the history of ABBA in a new way ...

When the music lovers entered into the 21st century, there were quite a few pop music fans who never encountered the fact that the current single of the artist was not accompanied by a music video ... And what can we talk about if TV channels such as MTVhave been around for so long! However ... at the peak of fame ABBA, in the 1970s years, very few artists filmed "promo clips". Yes, it may seem strange (especially today), but it is true. Initially, the fashion for clips came aboutt The Beatles and The Rolling Stones, and later picked up ABBA, David Bowie, Queen and others... But let's not digress from the topic. So why "ABBA" filmed so many clips?

For four Swedes, video clips have been an integral part of their career since their international breakthrough! Beginning with "Waterloo.", they made promo clips for almost every single they released, as well as some tracks that were never singles! What is the reason? This was partly because the group wanted to travel as little as possible - the members ABBA it was easier to do just a few big tours. They just discovered at some point that television was the best and most effective way for them to reach their audience...

Focus Master Lasse Hallström

Lasse Hallström
Lasse Hallström

The person whom ABBA chosen to help create the promo clips, there was a young director named Lasse Hallström. His first clips "Waterloo" and "Ring Ring" were filmed in 1974 year. Both of them were quite simple and contained direct performances of two songs.

But a year later, Hallstrom received an order to create clips for four songs from ABBA's third album of the same name ... In these mini-movies - "Mamma Mia", "SOS", "Bang-A-Boomerang" and "I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do" Hallström was a bit more ambitious, introducing the visual elements that defined the style ABBA.

For example, he found that the four members of a band could easily be regrouped into different combinations of pairs, to a poignant effect...

"Charm in simplicity"

ABBA Group. Photo: Benny Anderson
ABBA Group. Photo: Benny Anderson

When clips from the third album ABBA played an important role in the success of the group in Australia, there was no point in looking back: from now on, commercials will become an important marketing tool for the Swedish pop quartet ... However, this did not mean that they were popular, they were filmed with any generous budget. Sometimes it took a strictly limited amount of time to shoot: sometimes two videos were shot in one day, which seems simply incredible! Fortunately, Lasse Hallström, who has been filming clips for television under similar conditions since the 1960s, knew how to overcome these obstacles: each time he managed to create something simple, but eye-catching for viewers ... For example, in the video "The Day Before You Came" was shown beautiful Stockholm Ersta Bridge

And the video for the song "Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)" was filmed in a studio in Stockholm. Simple, concise, but it turned out really attractive - it is curious to watch the idols recording another timeless hit ...

Favorite and most unfortunate work ...

ABBA
ABBA

Today the only clip ABBA, which Hallström really dissatisfied, Fernando 1976 years, which scored, by the way, more than 100 million views on YouTube!

“They are sitting by the fire and playing the guitar, and behind them is some kind of “starry sky,” the director noted. "It's too arbitrary..."

However, more alive "Money, Money, Money", released later that year, stands out as Hallström's favorite in his work with ABBA!

“It totally matched the lyrics and the music!” he mused. “I have always enjoyed editing my work in a way that matches the music, to emphasize the rhythm and message of the music, to provide musical support, not just to tell a story…”

Subtle visualization

ABBA
ABBA

As an aspiring filmmaker and storyteller, Lasse Hallström I have often found that the best approach is to give ABBA songs a visual base that closely matches their meaning and sound. For example, where there was a dance beat (in songs such as "Dancing Queen" and "Voulez-Vous"), the group filmed in a disco setting. When the lyrical theme was loneliness and grief (as in "The Winner Takes It All" and "When All Is Said and Done"), Agnetha and Frida played the role of single women ...

Partly video clips ABBA - it is also something like a sightseeing tour of Sweden, especially its capital, Stockholm! Some of the buildings in which filming took place (these include a club from "Dancing Queen" and studio from "Gimma!") no longer exists. In the clips of the group, many picturesque places in the open air are also presented ... Vivid examples are the island of Djurgården and the Orsta bridges in "Bang-A-Boomerang" and "The Day Before You Come?". In the clip "Head Over Heels" we can see several scenes from the very center of Stockholm…

Go down to the western coast of Sweden, to the city of Marstrand, and you will find yourself in the location "The Winner Takes It All"!

History of recent clips...

ABBA Band. 80-е
ABBA Band. 80-е

Lasse Hallström was a regular video director ABBA before the beginning 1982 of the year. During this time, he also made a 1977 feature film about the group. When he made his first music video for ABBA, his very first film release was just around the corner, and by the time he and the band parted ways, he was firmly established as one of the most successful directors in Sweden! IN 1985 the premiere of his film took place "My Dog Life", and the international success of this picture led to a prolific career for Lasse in Hollywood.

The last two clips ABBA, "The Day Before You Came" and "Under Attack", were created by the team represented by Kjell Sundvall and Kjell Andersson, both of whom also had successful careers as filmmakers in Sweden.

These last works were released in 1982, when videos became an important marketing tool in the entire music business, and even ABBA was spending a little more money on their mini-movies (although filming for both videos was still time-limited...)

10kFollowers

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Related Articles

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Geezer Butler: surprising facts about the "unholy" Black Sabbath bassist

What You Didn't Know About Geezer Butler - Top Surprising Facts About the Black Sabbath Legend Geezer Butler is a Black Sabbath legend and the most "unholy"...

The Worst Hard Rock Albums by Fuzz Music Magazine

Why These Are The Worst Albums In Hard Rock History Commercialism isn't so bad, but only if it's "tasteful" and "in moderation. It's...

"The maestro of progressive metal" - meet John Petrucci

A little history of John Petrucci, one of the best guitarists of our time Progressive rock was a product of psychedelic rock. It was more of an instrumental and compositional approach to...

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

Remembering Randy California, one of the legendary guitarists of the last century Randy California is one of the most legendary guitarists and the greatest father-heroes in history. He was brilliant and...

Rory Gallagher and his wonderful acoustic style

Remembering one of the greatest guitarists Rory Gallagher Rory Gallagher passed away in 1995, and the world literally gasped and was sadly horrified: he was truly...

Автор:

Категория:

«В фокусе»: как создавались клипы культовой поп-группы «АББА»

В 1970-е мало кто из других артистов мог сравниться с ABBA по выпуску музыкальных видео (или «промоклипов», как их тогда называли). Эти увлекательные и, судя по количеству просмотров на YouTube, довольно успешные мини-фильмы дают нам повод взглянуть на историю ABBA по-новому...

Как создавались клипы ABBA: история и интересные факты

Сформированный в начале 1970-х, со временем шведский поп-квартет ABBA стал поистине культовым… Группа считается одной из величайших за всю историю: «АББА» не переставали возглавлять чарты с 1974-го по 1983 год, учитывая, что распался коллектив в 1982-ом… Именно ABBA принесла своей родине первую победу на «Евровидении», исполнив в 1974 году восхитительный гимн «Waterloo» (который всё так же пользуется популярностью по сей день!) Мировой тираж группы оценивается в ошеломляющие 150 млн копий! Неудивительно, что коллектив занимает 3-е место среди самых продаваемых исполнителей синглов на территории Великобритании… Богатый репертуар квартета насчитывает десятки превосходных песен, многие из которых стали громкими хитами! Но… как насчёт музыкальных клипов? Разве они не заслуживают отдельного внимания?

Почему ABBA снимали так много клипов

Группа ABBA
Группа ABBA

В 1970-е мало кто из других артистов мог сравниться с ABBA по выпуску музыкальных видео (или «промоклипов», как их тогда называли). Эти увлекательные и, судя по количеству просмотров на YouTube, довольно успешные мини-фильмы дают нам повод взглянуть на историю ABBA по-новому…

Когда меломаны вступили в 21-й век, было немало поклонников поп-музыки, которые никогда не сталкивались с тем, что текущий сингл артиста не сопровождался музыкальным клипом… Да и о чём может идти речь, если телеканалы, такие как MTV, существуют так давно! Однако… на пике славы ABBA, в 1970-е годы, очень немногие артисты снимали «промоклипы». Да, это может показаться странным (особенно сегодня), но это действительно так. Изначально мода на клипы пришла от The Beatles и The Rolling Stones, а позже её подхватили ABBA, Дэвид Боуи, Queen и другие… Но не будем отвлекаться от темы. Так почему «АББА» снимали так много клипов?

Для четырёх шведов видеоклипы были неотъемлемой частью их карьеры с момента своего международного прорыва! Начиная с «Waterloo», они делали промоклипы почти для каждого выпущенного сингла, а также для некоторых треков, которые никогда не были синглами! В чём заключается причина? Отчасти это делалось потому, что группа хотела как можно меньше путешествовать — участникам ABBA было проще совершить всего несколько крупных туров. Просто в какой-то момент они обнаружили, что телевидение было для них лучшим и наиболее эффективным способом добраться до своей аудитории…

«Мастер фокуса» Лассе Халльстрём

Лассе Халльстрём
Лассе Халльстрём

Человек, которого ABBA выбрали для помощи в создании промоклипов, был молодой режиссёр по имени Лассе Халльстрём. Его первые клипы «Waterloo» и «Ring Ring» были сняты в 1974 году. Оба они были довольно простыми и содержали прямое исполнение двух песен.

Но год спустя Халльстрём получил заказ на создание клипов для четырёх песен с одноимённого третьего альбома ABBA… В этих мини-фильмах — «Mamma Mia», «SOS», «Bang-A-Boomerang» и «I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do» — Халльстрём был немного более амбициозен, представив визуальные элементы, которые определили стиль ABBA.

Например, он обнаружил, что четыре участника группы могут быть легко перегруппированы в разные комбинации пар, что приводит к острому эффекту…

«Очарование в простоте»

Группа ABBA. Фото: Бенни Андерсон
Группа ABBA. Фото: Бенни Андерсон

Когда клипы с третьего альбома ABBA сыграли важную роль в достижении успеха группы в Австралии, оглядываться назад не было смысла: отныне рекламные ролики станут важным маркетинговым инструментом для шведского поп-квартета… Однако это не означало, что пользующиеся популярностью, они были сняты с каким-либо щедрым бюджетом. Порой на съёмки уходило и строго ограниченное количество времени: иногда два клипа снимались за один день, что кажется просто невероятным! К счастью, Лассе Халльстрём, который снимал клипы для телевидения в аналогичных условиях с 1960-х годов, знал, как преодолеть эти препятствия: каждый раз он умудрялся создать что-то простое, но привлекающее внимание зрителей… Например, в клипе «The Day Before You Came» был показан красивый стокгольмский Årsta Bridge

А видео к песне «Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)» было снято в студии в Стокгольме. Просто, лаконично, но получилось действительно привлекательно — любопытно наблюдать за кумирами, записывающими очередной вневременной шлягер…

Фаворит и самая неудачная работа…

ABBA
ABBA

Сегодня единственный клип ABBA, которым сам Халльстрём по-настоящему недоволен, — это «Fernando» 1976 года, набравший, к слову, более 100 млн просмотров на YouTube!

«Они сидят у костра и играют на гитаре, а позади них — какое-то «звёздное небо», — заметил режиссёр. «Это слишком условно…»

Однако более живой «Money, Money, Money», выпущенный позже в том же году, выделяется как фаворит Халльстрёма в его работе с ABBA!

«Это полностью соответствовало текстам и музыке!», — размышлял он. «Мне всегда нравилось редактировать свои работы таким образом, чтобы они соответствовали музыке, чтобы подчеркнуть ритм и идею музыки, чтобы обеспечить музыкальную поддержку, а не просто рассказать историю…»

Тонкая визуализация

ABBA
ABBA

Будучи начинающим кинорежиссёром и рассказчиком, Лассе Халльстрём часто обнаруживал, что лучший подход — это придать песням ABBA визуальную основу, которая достаточно близко соответствовала бы их смыслу и звучанию. К примеру там, где был танцевальный бит (в таких песнях, как «Dancing Queen» и «Voulez-Vous»), группа снималась в обстановке дискотеки. Когда лирической темой было одиночество и горе (как в «The Winner Takes It All» и «When All Is Said and Done»), Агнета и Фрида играли роль одиноких женщин…

Отчасти видеоклипы ABBA — это ещё и что-то вроде обзорной экскурсии по Швеции, особенно по её столице, Стокгольму! Некоторых зданий, в которых проходили съёмки (в их число входят клуб из «Dancing Queen» и студия из «Gimme!») больше не существует. В клипах группы представлено и множество живописных мест на открытом воздухе… Яркие примеры — остров Юргорден и мосты Орста в «Bang-A-Boomerang» и «The Day Before You Come?». В клипе «Head Over Heels» мы можем видеть несколько сцен из самого центра Стокгольма…

Спуститесь к западному побережью Швеции, в город Марстранд, и вы окажетесь в локации «The Winner Takes It All»!

История последних клипов…

Группа ABBA. 80-е
Группа ABBA. 80-е

Лассе Халльстрём был постоянным видеорежиссёром ABBA до начала 1982 года. За это время он также снял про группу художественный фильм 1977 года. Когда он снял свой первый клип для ABBA, его самый первый релиз в кино был не за горами, и к тому времени, когда он и группа разошлись, он прочно утвердился в качестве одного из самых успешных режиссёров в Швеции! В 1985 году состоялась премьера его фильма «Моя собачья жизнь», и международный успех этой картины привёл к плодотворной карьере Лассе в Голливуде.

Два последних клипа ABBA, «The Day Before You Came» и «Under Attack», были созданы командой в лице Хьеля Сундвалля и Хьеля Андерссона, оба из которых также построили успешную карьеру в качестве кинорежиссёров в Швеции.

Эти последние работы были выпущены в 1982 году, когда видео стали важным маркетинговым инструментом во всём музыкальном бизнесе, и даже ABBA тратила немного больше денег на свои мини-фильмы (хотя съёмки для обоих клипов всё так же были ограничены временем…)

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...