Author:
Category:

Eric Clapton and JJ Cale - Cocaine (1976): the story of a song banned in the USSR

The song "Cocaine" is known to every music lover of the 70s and 80s. Why was the song named that way, why was it banned in the USSR and what is its true meaning? About this - in our article.

Why did Clapton stop playing "Cocaine" at concerts?

Composition Jay Jay Kayla "Cocaine" came out in 1976, but became popular only after the cover version of Eric Clapton. According to AllMusic, "Cocaine" is Clapton's "timeless hit", one might say, the best his job. Eric played a huge role in the recording of the cover Glyn Jones, British record producer, sound engineer and musician.

History of creation

Jay Jay wrote the song "Cocaine" in 1976, in the future it will be included in the album Troubadour.

"Cocaine" cover by JJ Cale
"Cocaine" cover by JJ Cale

Cale originally saw "Cocaine" as jazz a composition that is somewhat reminiscent of the nature of the performance Mose Allison. But Audie Ashworth, director and colleague of Cale, convinced him to change the song:

“I like it, but try recording the song again. Add more rock and roll".

In 1970s Cale's work has become more popular: the song "After Midnight" became a well-known composition. started tourduring which Cale met Clapton. Eric came to him concert, and after meeting the musicians went to studio Clapton where he performed Kayla your version Cocaine. It was she who later recorded for discs, sounded on the radio and at the artist's performances.

JJ Cale
JJ Cale

Cover version Clapton was included in his album "Slow hand"released in the late 1970s. As singles the song came out later – in the 1980s. It was not the only one JJ Cale's composition with which Eric performed: he performed more "After Midnight" and "Travelin' Light". Cale owes a lot to Eric Clapton, because people learned about his songs and work after several Eric covers of his songs.

Eric Clapton today
Eric Clapton today

Not only Clapton performed "Cocaine". In the future, it will be included in the repertoire of such groups as "Nazareth" (the albums "The Fool Circle" and "It's Naz" will include this song in their composition) and Sweet. IN the USSR the composition "Cocaine" is remembered as the version of the Scottish group "Nazareth". An interesting situation arose: Clapton's version was popular with English speaking listeners, the cover of "Nazareth" - Sovietand the original was the least popular. This may have been due to the fact that JJ Cale's version was more jazz, and the rock and roll version suits her best.

Samo title the song "Cocaine" in the USSR was already perceived as propaganda. There have been many claims that the song supports and encourages use narcotic funds, although it was worth just looking at the text and everything became clear: “Cocaine” is, on the contrary, a song that drugs are evil.

In the end the song banned, all her records in the country were confiscated. It only cost a man turn on "Cocaine", as he immediately arose Problems. The members of the Nazareth group themselves were perceived as terrible drug addictswho want to lead Soviet citizens astray and "plant" for drugs. And people didn't even think about the fact that "Nazareth" are not authors this song, they're just performed her cover.

Nazareth in the 90s
Nazareth in the 90s

Meaning and message

Most people of that time took the song too literally. Cale said that the composition is by no means "does not protect cocaine". The author is just observed behind the people who dealt with him, and so the lyrics of the song were born. Jay Jay was upsetthat listeners didn't try to find the truth in lines, but only expressed their discontent existence widespread drug addiction problems, although it has always been:

“We have always had a problem with drugs!”

Eric Clapton So accepted Keil's text:

“After listening to “Cocaine” for the first time, a person might think that this is a song encourages drug use. But if you look closely, you will understand that it is anti-drug".

Eric also argues that the song about the drug can't please someone - people will rather distressed this. So the lyrics were ambiguous: only a careful analysis of the words will help to see that the song condemns drugs rather than encouraging their use. He called the song "pretty smart anticocaine".

In the future, Clapton had many problems with the performance of this song: her ambiguity forced him to exclude "Cocaine" from the concert repertoire. A few years of song it is forbidden was heard on it speeches. Clapton understood why it should not be included in the program: he himself knows about narcotic dependencies firsthand, so does not want to mislead listeners. but later Eric began to perform it at concerts: listeners have already understood the true meaning songs, as Clapton himself has said it a thousand times. Moreover, he used the epithet "filthy" in relation to "cocaine", so that there were definitely no problems.

The group "Sweet" in the 80s
The group "Sweet" in the 80s

Interesting fact: although "Cocaine" became one of Eric's most popular songs, he never released it studio version. Only her recordings with speeches.

The live version of the song for the album "Just One Night" made the list Billboard Hot 100 and took 30th place. "Cocaine" was the biggest hit in New Zealand within 7 days and took 7th place in the list of the most sold items singles from the 70s. The song can also be heard in several film works, such as "Starsky & Hutch", "Bad News Bears", "Lord of War". Richard Gilliam himself, music critic and spokesperson for AllMusic, has this to say about the song:

"What appeals to JJ Cale in 'Cocaine' is that the meaning of the lines cannot be understood. immediately, you need to carefully analyze, because the words do not quite correlate with the real meaning of the song. Every person perceives it as he wants: for someone it is a condemnation of drugs, for another it is the other way around. However, people fell in love with her not so much with the meaning and message, but with the driving guitar solo... "

Eric Clapton at a recent performance
Eric Clapton at a recent performance

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Домой Жанры Рок Эрик Клэптон и Джей Джей Кейл – Кокаин (1976): история запрещённой в СССР песни

Эрик Клэптон и Джей Джей Кейл – Кокаин (1976): история запрещённой в СССР песни

0
Эрик Клэптон и Джей Джей Кейл – Кокаин (1976): история запрещённой в СССР песни
Eric Clapton и J.J. Cale

Почему Клэптон перестал играть композицию «Кокаин» на концертах

Композиция Джей Джей Кейла «Cocaine» вышла в 1976 году, но стала популярной лишь после кавер-версии Эрика Клэптона. По версии «AllMusic», «Cocaine» – «вечный хит Клэптона», можно сказать, лучшая его работа. Огромную роль в записи кавера Эрика сыграл Глин Джонс, британский музыкальный продюсер, звукорежиссёр и музыкант.

История создания

Джей Джей написал песню «Cocaine» в 1976 году, в будущем она войдёт в состав альбома «Troubadour».

Обложка песни «Кокаин» («Cocaine») Джей Джей Кейла (J.J. Cale)
Обложка песни «Кокаин» («Cocaine») Джей Джей Кейла (J.J. Cale)

Кейл изначально видел «Cocaine» как джазовую композицию, чем-то напоминающую характер исполнения Моуза Эллисона. Но Оди Эшворт, режиссёр и коллега Кейла, переубедил его видоизменить песню:

«Мне нравится, но попробуй записать композицию заново. Добавь больше рок-н-ролла».

В 1970-е творчество Кейла стало более популярным: песня «After Midnight» стала широко известной композицией. Начались гастроли, в ходе которых Кейл познакомился с Клэптоном. Эрик пришёл к нему на концерт, и после знакомства музыканты отправились в студию Клэптона, где он исполнил Кейлу свою версию «Cocaine». Именно она в дальнейшем записывалась для дисков, звучала по радио и на выступлениях артиста.

J.J. Cale
J.J. Cale

Кавер-версия Клэптона вошла в его альбом «Slowhand», выпущенный в конце 1970-х годов. В качестве сингла песня вышла позже – в 1980-е. Это была не единственная композиция Джей Джей Кейла, с которой выступал Эрик: он исполнял ещё «After Midnight» и «Travelin’ Light». Кейл во многом обязан Эрику Клэптону, ведь про его песни и творчество люди узнали после нескольких каверов Эрика на его песни.

Эрик Клэптон (Eric Clapton) в наши дни
Эрик Клэптон (Eric Clapton) в наши дни

Не только Клэптон исполнял «Cocaine». В будущем она будет входить в репертуар таких групп, как «Nazareth» (альбомы «The Fool Circle» и «It’s Naz» включат эту песню в свой состав) и «Sweet». В СССР композиция «Cocaine» запомнилась как версия шотландской группы «Nazareth». Сложилась интересная ситуация: версия Клэптона была популярной у англоязычных слушателей, кавер «Nazareth» – у советских, а оригинал был менее всего популярен. Возможно, это произошло из–за того, что версия Джей Джей Кейла была более джазовой, а рок–н–ролльная версия подходит ей лучше всего.

Само название песни «Cocaine» в СССР уже было воспринято как пропаганда. Было много заявлений о том, что песня поддерживает и поощряет употребление наркотических средств, хотя стоило просто заглянуть в текст и всё становилось понятно: «Cocaine» – это, наоборот, песня о том, что наркотики – зло.

В итоге песню запретили, все её записи на территории страны изымались. Стоило человеку только включить «Cocaine», как у него сразу возникали проблемы. Сами участники группы «Nazareth» воспринимались как ужасные наркоманы, которые хотят сбить советских граждан с пути и «подсадить» на наркотики. И люди даже не задумывались о том, что «Nazareth» не являются авторами этой песни, они всего лишь исполняли её кавер.

Группа «Nazareth» в 90-е
Группа «Nazareth» в 90-е

Смысл и посыл

Большинство людей того времени восприняли песню слишком буквально. Кейл рассказывал, что композиция ни в коем случае «не защищает кокаин». Автор просто наблюдал за людьми, которые имели с ним дело, и так родился текст песни. Джей Джей был огорчён, что слушатели не пытались найти истину в строках, а только высказывали свое недовольство существованием распространённой проблемы наркотической зависимости, хотя она была всегда:

«Проблема с наркотиками у нас существовала всегда!»

Эрик Клэптон так воспринял текст Кейла:

«Прослушав «Cocaine» первый раз, человек может подумать, что это песня поощряет употребление наркотиков. Но, приглядевшись, вы поймёте, что она антинаркотическая».

Также Эрик рассуждает, что песня о наркотике не может кому-то понравиться – люди будут скорее огорчены этим. Поэтому текст песни был двусмысленным: только внимательный анализ слов поможет увидеть, что песня осуждает наркотики, а не поощряет их употребление. Сам он называл песню «довольно умной антикокаиновой».

В дальнейшем Клэптон имел много проблем с исполнением этой песни: её двусмысленность заставила его исключить «Cocaine» из концертного репертуара. Несколько лет песню нельзя было услышать на его выступлениях. Клэптон понимал, почему её не стоит включать в программу: он сам знает о наркотической зависимости не понаслышке, поэтому не хочет вводить слушателей в заблуждение. Однако позже Эрик стал исполнять её на концертах: слушатели уже поняли истинный смысл песни, так как об этом сам Клэптон говорил тысячу раз. Тем более, он использовал эпитет «грязный» по отношению к «кокаину», чтобы точно не было никаких проблем.

Группа «Sweet» в 80-е
Группа «Sweet» в 80-е

Интересный факт: хотя «Кокаин» и стал одной из самых популярных песен Эрика, он никогда не выпускал её студийную версию. В формате сингла выходили только её записи с выступлений.

Концертная версия песни для альбома «Just One Night» попала в список Billboard Hot 100 и заняла 30-е место. «Cocaine» был самым популярным хитом в Новой Зеландии в течении 7 дней и занял 7-е место в списке наиболее продаваемых синглов 70-х. Также песню можно услышать в нескольких киноработах, например «Starsky & Hutch», «Bad News Bears», «Lord of War». Сам Ричард Гиллиам, музыкальный критик и представитель «AllMusic», говорил об этой песне:

«В «Cocaine» Джей Джей Кейла привлекает то, что смысл строк нельзя понять сразу, нужно внимательно их проанализировать, ведь слова не совсем соотносятся с настоящим смыслом песни. Каждый человек воспринимает её, как хочет: для кого-то она – осуждение наркотиков, для другого – наоборот. Однако людям она полюбилась не столько смыслом и посылом, сколько драйвовым гитарным соло…»

Эрик Клэптон (Eric Clapton) на одном из недавних выступлений
Эрик Клэптон (Eric Clapton) на одном из недавних выступлений
9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

57 + = 65