Author:
Category:

You might not know, but these hits belong to Quincy Jones.

Today we decided to recall the most outstanding melodies of the unique Quincy Jones!

Top Quincy Jones Songs According to Fuzz Music Magazine

This man's name is behind so many top-notch hits! Composer, arranger, music producer and trumpeter, and laureate 27 awards "Grammy" - Quincy Jones became a legend of his time! "All I did," he replied when asked to name the greatest musical innovation of his storied career. born in 1933 year, Jones began as a jazz trumpeter. From Count Basie To Duke Ellington and Ray Charles - he saw the rock and roll kitchen from the inside, as it really was ... Stroke in 1974 almost ended his life, but he quickly came to his senses and provoked a triumphant ascent michael jackson, which culminated in "Thriller.". His vision forever changed the soundscape of the eighties and beyond. Today we decided to recall the most outstanding melodies of the unique Quincy Jones.

"Joy Joy Joy" (Little Richard)

Long Tall Sally (1956) Little Richard (Little Richard)
Little Richard

“Working with Little Richard in New York was a real pleasure! Although he was still very religious, I noticed that he never lost his passion for rock and roll!” Jones said of the 1962 album The King of the Gospel Singers.

While many African American musicians were transitioning from soul to more variety hits, Richard went in the opposite direction - a move that was confusing to fans, and made worse by the fact that gospel records weren't always that good... The salvation came in the form of Jones. He helped the musician wake up and show all his inner passion in tracks such as "(There Will Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)" and "Joy Joy Joy"!

"It's My Party" (Lesley Gore)

Leslie Gore
Leslie Gore

Darling Leslie Gore was a typical suburban teenager before her demo recording fell into the hands of Jones. At that time he was doing A&R and producing for Mercury Records, where he was hired as the first black vice president of a major New York record label. He mainly worked with jazz singers such as Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington and Nina Simone. However, in Leslie he saw future

"She had a soft, distinctive voice and she sang in tune, which many grown-up rock 'n' rollers couldn't do, so I signed her..."

The first fruit of this creative union, cheerful hit "It's My Party", turned Horus into a star for one night!

"You Don't Own Me" (Leslie Gore)

Leslie Gore
Leslie Gore

Another famous song by Leslie Gore was "You Don't Own Me" 1964 of the year. Its authors John Medora and David White, played their creation Leslie after the concert, and she fell in love with this composition ...

“I fell madly in love with this song and asked them to come to New York and play it to Quincy. I knew that he would love her as much as I did…”

And Leslie was right. However, it is wonderful Jones hearing hits, as well as his rapidly growing ability to turn his jazz and musical theories into irresistible pop musicplayed an important role in the emergence "You Don't Own Me".

"Angel" (Aretha Franklin)

Aretha Franklin
Aretha Franklin

"I really enjoyed working with Quincy Jones - it was great," Aretha Franklin said in 1973, shortly after the release of the Jones-produced album Hey Now Hey (The Other Side of the Sky).

This disc, and in particular song "Angel", shows us how, six years before becoming a mentor michael jackson, Jones honed his talent for directing cult artists to self-realization! Although not as bold as her earlier work for Atlantic Records, Franklin's 19th studio album explored a variety of moods and textures:

“I wanted to do things the way I personally feel about them, and I was hoping that the public would understand that a little more… The album was quite successful, but people seem to prefer us as artists to just do funky stuff or blues melodies. But I wanted to try something new, to experiment with material that I really liked myself!”

"Beat It" (Michael Jackson)

Quincy Jones and Michael Jackson
Quincy Jones and Michael Jackson

Album "Thriller" - it's epic. And, accordingly, its creation was difficult

“When we finished Beat It, we had three studios full! In one we had Eddie Van Halen, in another we had Michael singing, and in the third we mixed it all. We worked five days and five nights without sleep. And at some point, the speakers overloaded and caught fire! ”, Jones recalled.

"Thriller" became Jackson's greatest work and cultural phenomenon. Everything Jones and Jackson had learned about production, arranging, composition, audience tastes, and the music business throughout their careers came into focus: genres mixed, barriers were overcome, and Jackson was reborn as the King of Pop. With the help of Jones and his longtime songwriting partner Rod Temperton, Jackson cracked Pop DNA, resulting in a record that still and probably always will sound fresh and amazing!

"Bad" (Michael Jackson)

Bad (1987)
Bad (1987)

"bad" was welcome continuation "Thriller", and therefore the expectations of the public were astronomical. Fortunately, they came true. The album shows us how Jackson goes deeper into his own psyche and draws more inspiration from his life and experience than ever before... Track of the same name is the best proof of that.

From sparkling romanticism "The Way You Make Me Feel" to a heartbreaking ballad Man in the Mirror"Bad" was also the latest collaboration between two titans who changed pop music...

"Love Is In Control" (Donna Summer)

Donna Summer...
Donna Summer

“In fact, Quincy produced this album with almost no help from me, which is not like me. But at that time I was pregnant, and his help was more than ever needed. So it's really more of his album," Summer once said of her 1982 album of the same name.

Undisputed disco queen, in the early 1980s, Donna was desperate for a musical transformation. And no one was more qualified than Jones, so he took the reins and helped the singer completely break away from the style instilled Giorgio Moroder. It wasn't the comeback she had hoped for, but the self-titled LP included some great songs, including a Grammy-nominated single "Love Is in Control (Finger on the Trigger)" and a cover with an emphasis on reggae "State of Independence". The latter also boasted the backing vocals of an all-star cast, which included Michael Jackson, Dionne Warwick, Kenny Loggins and Stevie Wonder.

When asked if she used her star power to collect this formidable choirSummer replied:

“No, Quincy did it. When Quincy calls, people stop what they're doing!"

"Strawberry Letter 23" (The Brothers Johnson)

The Brothers Johnson
The Brothers Johnson

Jones ran into brothers George and Louis Johnson quite by accident when I heard their demo. He liked it very much. And as a result, he made them the stars of his era, producing the famous Strawberry Letter 23!

Them cover version to a slow, sensual soul song Shaggy Otis 1971 seduced the public ... Subsequently, the brothers recalled:

“We didn't want to get stuck in one rhythm, but it would be easier for us to just release another album that would just be stuck in funk. This is where Quincy comes in as our producer. We were all talking about what the second album should be about, and he said that we should be aware of what is happening in music in general, where it is going ... "

"Give Me the Night" (George Benson)

Album cover of Give Me the Night (George Benson)
George Benson

Unlike Michael Jackson or the Johnson brothers, Benson was a fully formed artist before teaming up with Jones for his 1980 album "Give Me the Night". But even though he was already experienced, George still relied on Jones' impeccable studio instincts for the title track.

As a result, the disk won three grammys and went platinum, thanks in large part to the smooth, groovy song of the same name.

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...
Related Articles

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

What You Didn't Know About World Legend Mireille Mathieu - A Story Full of Surprising Episodes

The history of Mireille Mathieu in facts: from the early years to world fame One of the most legendary French singers in history, Mireille Mathieu earned her status as a legend completely...

Автор:
Категория:

Вы могли не знать, но эти хиты принадлежат Куинси Джонсу

Сегодня мы решили вспомнить наиболее выдающиеся мелодии неповторимого в своём роде Куинси Джонса!

Топ лучших композиций Куинси Джонса по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Имя этого человека стоит за множеством первоклассных хитов! Композитор, аранжировщик, музыкальный продюсер и трубач, а также лауреат 27 премий «Грэмми» – Куинси Джонс стал легендой своего времени! «Всё, что я сделал» – ответил он, когда его попросили назвать величайшее музыкальное новшество в его легендарной карьере. Родившийся в 1933 году, Джонс начинал как джазовый трубач. От Каунта Бейси до Дюка Эллингтона и Рэя Чарльза – он видел кухню рок-н-ролла изнутри, такой, какой она была на самом деле… Инсульт в 1974 году едва не оборвал его жизнь, но он быстро пришёл в себя и спровоцировал триумфальное восхождение Майкла Джексона, кульминацией которого стал «Thriller». Его видение навсегда изменило звуковой ландшафт восьмидесятых и последующих годов. Сегодня мы решили вспомнить наиболее выдающиеся мелодии неповторимого в своём роде Куинси Джонса.

«Joy Joy Joy» (Литтл Ричард)

Длинная высокая Салли (1956) Литтл Ричард (Литтл Ричард)
Литтл Ричард

«Работать с Литтл Ричардом в Нью-Йорке было настоящим удовольствием! Хотя он всё ещё был очень религиозным, я заметил, что он никогда не терял страсти к рок-н-роллу!», – сказал Джонс о работе над альбомом «The King of the Gospel Singers» 1962 года.

В то время как многие афроамериканские музыканты переходили от соула к более эстрадным хитам, Ричард пошёл в противоположном направлении – данный шаг сбивал поклонников с толку, и усугублялся тем, что записи в стиле госпел не всегда были такими хорошими… Спасение пришло в лице Джонса. Он помог музыканту пробудиться и показать всю свою внутреннюю страсть в таких треках, как «(There Will Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)» и «Joy Joy Joy»!

«It’s My Party» (Лесли Гор)

Лесли Гор
Лесли Гор

Милая Лесли Гор была типичным подростком из пригорода до того, как её демо-запись попала в руки Джонсу. В то время он занимался A&R и продюсированием для Mercury Records, куда его наняли в качестве первого чернокожего вице-президента крупного нью-йоркского лейбла звукозаписи. В основном он работал с такими джазовыми певицами, как Сара Воан, Дина Вашингтон и Нина Симон. Однако в Лесли он видел будущее

«У неё был мягкий характерный голос, и она пела в тон, чего не могли делать многие взрослые рок-н-ролльщики, поэтому я подписал её…»

Первый плод этого творческого союза, жизнерадостный хит «It’s My Party», превратил Гор в звезду за одну ночь!

«You Don’t Own Me» (Лесли Гор)

Лесли Гор
Лесли Гор

Ещё одной известной песней Лесли Гор стала «You Don’t Own Me» 1964 года. Её авторы, Джон Медора и Дэвид Уайт, сыграли своё творение Лесли после концерта, и та влюбилась в эту композицию…

«Я безумно влюбилась в эту песню, и попросила их приехать в Нью-Йорк и сыграть её Куинси. Я знала, что он полюбит её также сильно, как и я…»

И Лесли оказалась права. Однако именно прекрасный слух Джонса на хиты, а также его быстро растущая способность превращать свои джазовые и музыкальные теории в неотразимую поп-музыку, сыграли важную роль в появлении «You Don’t Own Me».

«Angel» (Арета Франклин)

Арета Франклин (Aretha Franklin)
Арета Франклин (Aretha Franklin)

«Мне действительно понравилось работать с Куинси Джонсом – это было здорово», – сказала Арета Франклин в 1973 году, вскоре после выпуска спродюсированного Джонсом альбома «Hey Now Hey (The Other Side of the Sky)».

Эта пластинка, а в частности песня «Angel», демонстрирует нам, как за шесть лет до того, как стать наставником Майкла Джексона, Джонс оттачивал свой талант направлять культовых артистов к самореализации! Хотя он и не был таким же смелым, как её более ранняя работа для Atlantic Records, 19-й студийный альбом Франклин исследовал множество настроений и текстур:

«Я хотела делать вещи так, как я лично их чувствую, и я надеялась, что публика поймёт это немного больше… Альбом был довольно успешным, но люди, кажется, предпочитают, чтобы мы – артисты – исполняли просто фанковые вещи или блюзовые мелодии. Но я хотела попробовать что-то новое, поэкспериментировать с материалом, который очень нравился мне самой!»

«Beat It» (Майкл Джексон)

Куинси Джонс и Майкл Джексон
Куинси Джонс и Майкл Джексон

Альбом «Thriller» – это эпопея. И, соответственно, её создание было непростым

«Когда мы заканчивали «Beat It», у нас было занято три студии! В одной у нас был Эдди Ван Хален, в другой поющий Майкл, а в третьей мы всё это смешивали. Мы работали пять дней и пять ночей без сна. И в какой-то момент динамики перегрузились и загорелись!», – вспоминал Джонс.

«Thriller» стал величайшей работой Джексона и культурным феноменом. Всё, что Джонс и Джексон узнали о продюсировании, аранжировке, композиции, вкусах публики и музыкальном бизнесе на протяжении всей их карьеры, оказалось в центре внимания: жанры смешались, барьеры были преодолены, и Джексон переродился как король поп-музыки. С помощью Джонса и его давнего партнёра по написанию песен Рода Темпертона, Джексон взломал ДНК поп-музыки, в результате чего пластинка до сих пор и, вероятно, всегда будет звучать свежо и потрясающе!

«Bad» (Майкл Джексон)

Bad (1987)
Bad (1987)

«Bad» был долгожданным продолжением «Триллера», а потому ожидания публики были астрономическими. К счастью, они оправдались. Альбом показывает нам, как Джексон проникает глубже в свою собственную психику и черпает из своей жизни и опыта больше вдохновения, чем когда-либо прежде… Одноимённый трек – лучшее тому подтверждение.

От искрометного романтизма «The Way You Make Me Feel» до душераздирающей баллады «Man in the Mirror», «Bad» также стал плодом последнего сотрудничества двух титанов, изменивших поп-музыку…

«Love Is In Control» (Донна Саммер)

Донна Саммер...
Донна Саммер

«На самом деле, Куинси продюсировал этот альбом практически без моей помощи, что не похоже на меня. Но в то время я была беременна, и его помощь была как никогда кстати. Так что это действительно больше его альбом», – сказала как-то Саммер про свою одноимённую пластинку 1982 года.

Бесспорная королева диско, в начале 1980-х Донна отчаянно нуждалась в музыкальном преображении. И никто не был более квалифицирован, чем Джонс, поэтому он взял бразды правления, и помогал певице полностью оторваться от стиля, привитого Джорджо Мородером. Это было не то возвращение, на которое она надеялась, но в одноимённую пластинку вошли несколько отличных песен, в том числе номинированный на Грэмми сингл «Love Is in Control (Finger on the Trigger)» и кавер с акцентом на регги «State of Independence». Последний также мог похвастаться бэк-вокалом звёздного состава, в который входили Майкл Джексон, Дайон Уорвик, Кенни Логгинс и Стиви Уандер.

На вопрос, использовала ли она свою звёздную силу, чтобы собрать этот грозный хор, Саммер ответила:

«Нет, это сделал Куинси. Когда звонит Куинси, люди бросают свои дела!»

«Strawberry Letter 23» (The Brothers Johnson)

The Brothers Johnson
The Brothers Johnson

Джонс наткнулся на братьев Джорджа и Луиса Джонсонов совершенно случайно, когда услышал их демо. Оно ему очень понравилось. И в результате он сделал их звёздами своей эпохи, спродюсировав знаменитую «Strawberry Letter 23»!

Их кавер на медленную, чувственную соул-песню Шагги Отиса 1971 года соблазнил публику… Впоследствии братья вспоминали:

«Мы не хотели застревать в одном ритме, но для нас было бы легче просто выпустить ещё один альбом, который бы просто застрял в фанке. Вот тут-то и появляется Куинси в качестве нашего продюсера. Мы все говорили о том, о чём должен быть второй альбом, и он сказал, что мы должны быть в курсе того, что происходит в музыке в целом, куда она движется…»

«Give Me the Night» (Джордж Бенсон)

Обложка альбома Give Me the Night (Джордж Бенсон)
Джордж Бенсон

В отличие от Майкла Джексона или братьев Джонсонов, Бенсон был полностью сформированным артистом до того, как объединился с Джонсом для записи своего альбома 1980 года «Give Me the Night». Но даже несмотря на то, что он уже был опытен, в заглавном треке Джордж всё же полагался на безупречные инстинкты Джонса в студии.

В результате диск выиграл три Грэмми и стал платиновым, во многом благодаря гладкой, заводной одноимённой песне.

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...
Похожие статьи

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...

Чего вы ещё не знали о мировой легенде Мирей Матьё – рассказываем историю, полную удивительных эпизодов

История Мирей Матьё в фактах: от ранних лет до мировой славы Одна из легендарнейших французских певиц в истории, Мирей Матьё завоевала свой статус легенды полностью...

«Две личности в одном разуме»: вспоминаем Иэна Кёртиса

История Иэна Кёртиса, рано ушедшего, но такого талантливого вокалиста Joy Division К нему можно относиться по-разному, и всё же мало кто станет оспаривать тот факт,...