Author:

Category:

"Not Just the Beatles and the Rolling Stones" - Seven iconic '60s bands that had a major influence on rock

Let's remember the interesting bands that left their profound mark on the world history of rock - and culture, of course!

They had a tremendous influence on rock music, even though they were neither the Beatles nor the Rollers

When we talk about Rock bands of the '60swho had a tremendous influence on many of their contemporaries and followers, as well as on culture in particular, we involuntarily recall The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Undoubtedly, they are the true monsters of their era, the brightest representatives of the British Invasion and, by the way, worthy competitors. But the era of the '60s was centered not only around them.

Since neither the Beatles nor the Rollers need any introduction (their influence and contributions undeniableand there is no point in telling about it), we decided to remember other - no less interesting bands that have left their profound mark on the world history of rock - and culture, of course!

The Who

The Who
The Who

The Who is one of the most influential groups 60s and 70sand in history in general. The group presented the world with true geniuses of their craft - just one Keith Moon what is it worth?! He was critically acclaimed as an innovator who managed to take the drums to a new level and give them a much greater importance in the sound of the band!

The Who has more than a dozen premium tracksBut at one time these rockers were famous for their wild escapades, even on stage! Mastery John Entwistle in the realm of "wrecking guitars" probably deserves its own article. Some of the brightest, rumbling (in every sense of the word) and most significant representatives of their era, who are still adored by millions of listeners today!

The Byrds

The Byrds (band)
The Byrds

The Byrds refined folk-rock and made country mainstreamand for that they couldn't help but make our list! They were the most popular and influential band of their time! The line-up changed many times and, in fact, the only permanent member was the frontman Roger McGuinn. Nevertheless, the public adored the band and its hits.

This group is multi-faceted not only in terms of composition, but also in terms of sound. The Byrds started their way with folk-rock, then went deeper into space-rock and psychedelic style, and towards the end of the 60s they even got to country-rock (Sweetheart of the Rodeo is the bright embodiment of that period). Their contribution simply cannot go unnoticed...

Creedence Clearwater Revival

Creedence Clearwater Revival
Creedence Clearwater Revival

It was when, in 1967, American rockers took their name Creedence Clearwater Revival (the band had previously performed under different names), they created an image of "ordinary guys from the good old American South" that was instantly beloved by the audience of those years! The CCR lyrics were succinct and accessible, but also contained social and political unrest, which added weight to the band.

Creedence Clearwater Revival was a colossal success: all of the studio records became hits on both sides of the Atlantic, and 14 singles were in the top 20 of the Billboard Hot 100! The total worldwide circulation of the band has long ago passed the mark of 120 million and, as we know, CCR records continue to be willingly bought up to this day.

Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd
Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd brought madness and the lion's share of art to rock. Each of their tours was accompanied not only by a full house, but also by incredibly high theatricality, and the album covers represent a true work of art.

In many ways, the band's style was shaped by the influence of founder Syd BarrettThe band, one of the pioneers of the psychedelic trend in rock music. In the iconic "The Wall." his enigmatic, bordering on insane personality was reflected.

Jefferson Airplane

Jefferson Airplane 1960s
Jefferson Airplane

One of the most iconic bands of the '60s, the epitome of the era hippie. Jefferson Airplane The first time they were in the hands of the people, they were not long in existence, and only blossomed with the advent of the Grace Slickwhich brought with it two timeless hits to this day - "Somebody to Love" and "White Rabbit". But these songs are not the only ones highly appreciated by listeners, especially the admirers of the work of these pioneers of psychedelic rock.

In the '60s it was one of the most sought-after and highest-paid rock bands on Earth. The band had a great influence on their contemporaries, and also made history with their performances at the three landmark festivals of that time were Monterey (1967), Woodstock (1969), and Altamont (1969).

The Yardbirds

Rock Legends: The Yardbirds
Rock Legends: The Yardbirds

The Yardbirds became an iconic band of the '60s for a number of reasons: the blues-rock fusion, the three inimitable guitarists (Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page), some worthy hits... And, of course, the fact that it was one of the first with a new guitar sound: fuzz!

And the fact that The Yardbirds subsequently reincarnated in Led ZeppelinIt only adds weight to this band. We could also have mentioned Zeppelin in our list, but still their influence had already spread in the 70's.

The Doors

The Doors
The Doors

You can love or hate The DoorsBut it's impossible to deny the influence of this band. It significantly stood out against its peers with its sound and lyrics, which are full of riddles, mysticism and ambiguity...

The Doors influenced both rock and '60s culture, and frontman Jim Morrison went down in history as the most enigmatic, colorful and scandalous personality of the era.

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

«Не только Beatles и Rolling Stones» – Семёрка культовых групп 60-х, оказавших большое влияние на рок

Вспоминаем интересные группы, которые оставили свой глубокий след в мировой истории рока – и культуры, конечно же!

Они оказали колоссальное влияние на рок-музыку, несмотря на то, что не были ни «битлами», ни «роллингами»

Когда мы говорим о рок-группах 60-х, которые оказали колоссальное влияние на многих своих современников и последователей, а также на культуру в частности, мы невольно вспоминаем The Beatles и The Rolling Stones. Бесспорно – это истинные монстры своей эпохи, ярчайшие представители британского вторжения и, к слову, достойные конкуренты. Но эпоха 60-х была сосредоточена не только вокруг них.

Так как ни «битлы», ни «роллинги» не нуждаются в представлении (их влияние и вклад неоспоримы, и рассказывать об этом даже нет смысла), мы решили вспомнить другие – не менее интересные группы, которые оставили свой глубокий след в мировой истории рока – и культуры, конечно же!

The Who

The Who
The Who

The Who является одной из самых влиятельных групп 60-х и 70-х, да и вообще в истории. Коллектив представил миру настоящих гениев своего ремесла – один только Кит Мун чего стоит?! Он был оценен критиками как новатор, которому удалось вывести барабаны на новый уровень и придать им куда большее значение в звучании группы!

На счету The Who не один десяток первоклассных треков, но в своё время эти рокеры прославились и дикими выходками – причём даже на сцене! Мастерство Джона Энтвисла в сфере «крушения гитар» заслуживает, наверное, отдельной статьи. Одни из самых ярких, грохочущих (во всех смыслах слова) и значимых представителей своей эпохи, которых миллионы слушателей обожают и сегодня!

The Byrds

The Byrds (band)
The Byrds

The Byrds усовершенствовали фолк-рок и сделали кантри мейнстримом, за что не могли не попасть в наш список! Они были наиболее популярной и влиятельной группой своего времени! Состав многократно менялся и, по сути, единственным бессменным участником оставался фронтмен Роджер МакГуинн. Тем не менее публика обожала эту группу и её хиты.

Эта группа многоликая не только в плане состава, но и в плане звучания. Свой путь The Byrds начинали с фолк-рока, затем углубились в спейс-рок и психоделический стиль, а ближе к концу 60-х и вовсе добрались до кантри-рока (альбом «Sweetheart of the Rodeo» – яркое олицетворение этого периода). Их вклад просто не может оставаться незамеченным…

Creedence Clearwater Revival

Creedence Clearwater Revival
Creedence Clearwater Revival

Именно когда в 1967 году американские рокеры взяли себе название Creedence Clearwater Revival (до этого группа выступала под разными названиями), они создали образ «простых парней со старого доброго американского Юга», который мгновенно полюбился публике тех лет! Тексты песен CCR были лаконичными и доступными, но вместе с тем содержали социальные и политические волнения, что добавляло коллективу веса.

Creedence Clearwater Revival имела колоссальный успех: все студийные пластинки становились хитами по обе стороны Атлантики, а 14 синглов входили в первую двадцатку Billboard Hot 100! Общий мировой тираж группы давно перевалил за отметку 120 миллионов и, как известно, записи CCR по сей день продолжают охотно скупать.

Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd
Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd привнесли в рок безумие и львиную долю искусства. Каждое их турне сопровождалось не только аншлагом, но и невероятно высокой театральностью, а обложки альбомов представляют подлинное произведение искусства.

Во многом, стиль группы был сформирован под влиянием основателя Сида Барретта, одного из родоначальников психоделического направления в рок-музыке. В культовой «Стене» его загадочная, граничащая с безумием личность нашла отражение.

Jefferson Airplane

Jefferson Airplane 1960-е
Jefferson Airplane

Одна из наиболее знаковых групп 60-х, олицетворяющая эру хиппи. Jefferson Airplane просуществовали недолго, и расцвели лишь с приходом Грейс Слик, которая принесла с собой два нестареющих по сей день хита – «Somebody to Love» и «White Rabbit». Но не только эти песни высоко ценятся слушателями, особенно почитателя творчества этих пионеров психоделического рока.

В 60-х это была одна из самых востребованных и высокооплачиваемых рок-групп на Земле. Этот коллектив оказал большое влияние на своих современников, а также вошёл в истории по своим выступлениям на трёх знаковых фестивалях той поры – Монтерей (1967), Вудсток (1969) и Альтамонт (1969).

The Yardbirds

Легенды рока: The Yardbirds
Легенды рока: The Yardbirds

The Yardbirds стали знаковой группой 60-х по ряду причин: из-за сплава блюз-рока, трёх неподражаемых гитаристов в составе (Эрика Клэптона, Джеффа Бека и Джимми Пейджа), ряда достойных хитов… И, конечно же, из-за того, что она стала одной из первых с новым гитарным звучанием: фузз!

А тот факт, что впоследствии The Yardbirds перевоплотилась в Led Zeppelin, только добавляет этому коллективу веса. Мы также могли бы упомянуть Zeppelin в нашем списке, но всё-таки их влияние распространилось уже в 70-е.

The Doors

The Doors
The Doors

Вы можете любить или ненавидеть The Doors, но отрицать влияние этой группы невозможно. Она существенно выделялась на фоне коллег по цеху своим звучанием и лирикой, которая полна загадок, мистики и двусмысленности…

The Doors повлияли как на рок, так и на культуру 60-х, а фронтмен Джим Моррисон вошёл в историю как самая загадочная, яркая и скандальная личность той эпохи.

9kFollowers

Очень коротко о том, как развивался джаз и блюз

Краткая история развития джаза и блюза Джаз - музыкальное направление, возникшее, как и блюз, в результате синтеза африканских и европейских культур. Корни джаза лежат в...

Что мы знаем о Бобби Фаррелле, легенде мирового диско

Бобби Фаррелл: интересные факты из жизни «народного» любимца Бобби Фаррелл был самым настоящим народным любимцем, причём практически во всём мире! Хотя почему был? Таковым он...

А вы помните группу «Комиссар» – что стало с исполнителем «Королевы снежной»

Что стало с группой «Комиссар», которая правила дискотеками 90-х – 2000-х «Комиссар» – отечественная группа, которую знает каждый. В 90-х и 2000-х песни коллектива правили...

Похожие статьи

Топ-7 шикарных кавер-альбомов в роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Семёрка достойных кавер-альбомов в роке, которые непременно стоит послушать Каверы – прекрасный способ взглянуть на любимое произведение с другой стороны! Частенько они даже превосходят оригиналы...

Шура: через что прошёл исполнитель «Холодной Луны»

Шура: как сложилась судьба исполнителя «Холодной Луны» и «Твори добро» после славы Шура ворвался на отечественную сцену в 90-х и быстро привлёк внимание к своей...

«Ироничный рок»: вспоминаем группу «НОМ»

Группа, которая заставит вас улыбнуться – вспоминаем историю «НОМ» Мы с вами привыкли к року в традиционном его понимании, а потому «выбивающиеся» из общего ансамбля...

Вспоминаем Дэвида Байрона, легенду Uriah Heep

Памяти Дэвида Байрона: от ранних лет до покорения арены хард-рока – биография легенды в удивительных фактах Шикарный вокалист, талантливый автор песен и просто харизматичная личность...

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...