Author:

Category:

Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula) - All about the singer and musician

It is impossible to deny the fact that to a large extent the girl's music education influenced her creativity... Because of this, she herself often calls herself "a strange child in rhythm and blues"...

One of the most promising contemporary musicians according to the BBC - who is she, Laura Mvula?

Laura Mvula is a famous British singer and songwriter. Popularity came to the girl in 2012, with the release of the singles "She" and "Like the Morning Dew". The tracks attracted the attention of not only music publications, but also the general public! Soon Mvula hit the Next Big Sound chart, after which she became a nominee for the BRIT Awards in the Critics' Choice category!

Laura Mvula
Laura Mvula

According to the BBC, Laura Mvula is one of the most promising contemporary musicians! We invite you to get to know this interesting special a little closer ...

Brief biography of the singer: Childhood, early career ...

Laura Mvula was born on April 23, 1987 in Birmingham, England. The childhood of the future star took place in a suburb called Selly Park. The girl's father was Jamaican and her mother was English. In addition to Laura, younger brothers and sisters were brought up in the family. Since childhood, Laura has loved the R&B girl group Eternal! As a teenager, she attended the Swanshurst School for Girls.

In 2005, Laura discovered the big stage for the first time! She performed with the hip-hop group Black Voices, founded by her aunt!

In 2008, Laura formed her own band called Judyshouse. The team performed in the genres of jazz, neo-soul. The vocals and the authorship of the songs lay entirely on Laura ... Later, the girl managed to try herself as the director of the choir.

Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula)
Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula)

Having successfully graduated from the Birmingham Conservatory at City University (specialty - composition), the girl got a job at Birmingham High School as a teacher. In the same period, she begins to write songs on her work laptop ...

After sending out several demos to influencers in the music industry, Laura gets a response from Steve Brown! The artist shared her tracks with his manager, and ... soon Kwame Amankwa Kwaten offered Laura cooperation!

Soon the girl signed a contract with RCA Records. Laura's first performance in front of a really huge audience took place on September 16, 2012 at the iTunes festival, where she opened the Rebecca Ferguson concert! Mvula later says:

“I had terrible stage fright…”

In October 2012, Laura's debut single "She" was released. In the course of long and hard work at Electric Lady Studios (under the direction of Tom Elmhurst), a four-track mini-album of the same name is released.

In March 2013, Laura released her full-length debut album Sing to the Moon, which reached number nine in the UK! The disc was preceded by the single "Green Garden", which, later, became the hallmark of the singer ...

The beginning of success...

Laura Mvula
Laura Mvula

After a successful debut, Laura signs a contract with Sony RCA. Shortly thereafter, an extended version of the single "She" was released. Curiously, but found the recognition of the general public, the composition is the first ever written by Laura from beginning to end ...

Soon, not only leading radio stations, but also major music publications started talking about the girl. Thus, a journalist from The Guardian described her music as "jazz gospeldeliya", adding that "the singer opened a whole new genre ..."

In December 2012, Laura was nominated for the 2013 BRIT Awards for Critics' Choice! Just a few days later, the singer was included in the BBC's Sound of 2013 list. According to the voting results, she took the fourth position among the rest of the participants ...

In February 2013, Laura's first solo performance took place! It happened live on BBC One, on the Graham Norton show! The beloved “Green Garden” has sounded on the air…

Once in an interview, Mvula said:

“My music is inspired by the work of such brilliant women as Nina Simone, Jill Scott, Erika Badu and Lauryn Hill…”

As for the album Sing to the Moon, the record entered the top 100 in seven countries around the world! In October 2013, the singer received several prestigious MOBO Awards: in the category "Best Female Performance" and "Best R&B or Soul Artist"!

Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula)
Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula)

In the spring of the following year, Laura decided to re-record an orchestral version of her debut album. This time with the participation of The Metropole Orkest, under the direction of arranger and composer Jules Buckley. The album was released in the summer of 2014. In support of the album, Laura and The Metropole Orkest performed at the Albert Hall!

New records and new successes!

In January 2016, with the participation of composer Nile Rodgers, Laura released the single "Overcome". Soon the album The Dreaming Room itself will be released. To promote it, Laura performed the title track from the release on several popular TV shows, including The Graham Norton Show!

In March 2016, the singer gave a live concert at the Jazz Festival. Soon the second single from the album called "Phenomenal Woman" was released. In the same period, Laura releases the song "Show Me Love" ...

In the summer of the same year, Laura gives her second concert on the stage of the Glastonbury pyramid! A joint performance with Tom Odell in London soon followed.

At the end of October, Laura was invited to the BBC channel, where she performed her new single "Ready or Not" in Strictly Come Dancing.

In the winter of 2017, Laura admitted that Sony had abandoned her ... In the spring of the same year, a documentary called “Women's Hour” followed, in which the singer decided to touch on such a poignant topic as anxiety ...

In April 2018, Laura was invited to the BBC One party at the Royal Albert Hall, on the occasion of the Queen's birthday! The singer was honored to perform "I Put a Spell on You"...

musical style

Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula)
Laura Mvula (Laura Mvula)

Leading music critics rank Laura alongside Britain's new soul singers, the so-called "followers of Amy Winehouse and Adele". It is impossible to deny the fact that to a large extent the girl’s work was influenced by her compositional education ... Because of this, she herself often calls herself “a strange child in rhythm and blues.” Some critics also add that Laura's songs are closer to the style of baroque pop than retro soul...

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Related Articles

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

Автор:

Категория:

Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула) – Всё о певице и музыканте

Нельзя отрицать тот факт, что в значительной степени на творчество девушки повлияло её композиторское образование... Из-за этого сама она частенько называет себя «странноватым ребёнком в ритм-н-блюзе»...

Одна из наиболее перспективных современных музыкантов по версии «Би-би-си» – кто она, Лора Мвула?

Лора Мвула — известная британская исполнительница и автор песен. Популярность пришла к девушке в 2012 году, с выходом синглов «She» и «Like the Morning Dew». Треки привлекли внимание не только музыкальных изданий, но и широкой публики! Вскоре Мвула попала в чарт Next Big Sound, после чего — стала номинантом премии BRIT Awards в категории «Выбор критиков»!

Лора Мвула
Лора Мвула

По версии «Би-би-си», Лора Мвула входит в число наиболее перспективных современных музыкантов! Предлагаем познакомиться с этой интересной особой чуточку ближе…

Краткая биография певицы: Детство, начало карьеры…

Родилась Лора Мвула 23 апреля 1987 года в Бирмингеме, Англия. Детство будущей звезды протекало в пригороде под названием Селли-Парк. Отец девочки был ямайцем, а мать англичанкой. Помимо Лоры, в семье воспитывались младшие братья и сёстры. С детства Лора обожала R&B-гёрл-группу Eternal! В подростковом возрасте она посещала школу Swanshurst для девочек.

В 2005 году Лора впервые открыла для себя большую сцену! Она выступила с хип-хоп группой Black Voices, основанной её тётей!

В 2008 году Лора формирует собственную группу под названием Judyshouse. Коллектив выступал в жанрах джаз, нео-соул. Вокал и авторство песен целиком и полностью лежали на Лоре… Позже девушка успела попробовать себя в роли директора хора.

Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула)
Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула)

Успешно окончив Бирмингемскую консерваторию при Городском Университете (специальность — композиция), — девушка устроилась в среднюю школу Бирмингема на должность преподавателя. В этот же период она начинает писать песни на своём рабочем ноутбуке…

Разослав несколько демо-версий влиятельным персонам из музыкальной индустрии, Лора получает отклик от Стива Брауна! Артист поделился её треками со своим менеджером, и… вскоре Кваме Аманква Кватен предложил Лоре сотрудничество!

Вскоре девушка заключила контракт с RCA Records. Первое выступление Лоры перед действительно огромной аудиторией состоялось 16 сентября 2012 года на фестивале iTunes, где она открывала концерт Ребекки Фергюсон! Позже Мвула скажет:

«У меня был ужасный страх перед сценой…»

В октябре 2012 года выходит дебютный сингл Лоры под названием «She». В ходе долгой и упорной работы на Electric Lady Studios (под руководством Тома Элмхерста) в свет выходит одноимённый мини-альбом, состоящий из четырёх треков.

В марте 2013 года Лора выпускает полноценный дебютный альбом Sing to the Moon, который достигает девятой строчки британского чарта! Диску предшествовал сингл «Green Garden», который, впоследствии, стал визитной карточкой певицы…

Начало успеха…

Лора Мвула
Лора Мвула

После успешного дебюта Лора подписывает контракт с компанией Sony RCA. Вскоре после этого была выпущена расширенная версия сингла «She». Любопытно, но сыскавшая признание широкой публики, композиция является первой, из когда-либо написанных Лорой от начала и до конца…

Вскоре о девушке заговорили не только ведущие радиостанций, но и крупные музыкальные издания. Так, журналист из The Guardian охарактеризовал её музыку как «джазовую госпелделию», добавив, что «певица открыла совершенно новый жанр…»

В декабре 2012 года Лора была номинирована на премию BRIT Awards 2013 в номинации «Выбор критиков»! Спустя буквально несколько дней певица была внесена в список BBC ‘s Sound of 2013. По итогам голосования она заняла четвёртую позицию среди остальных участников…

В феврале 2013 года состоялось первое сольное выступление Лоры! Происходило это в прямом эфире BBC One, на шоу Грэма Нортона! В эфире прозвучала уже многими любимая «Green Garden»…

Как-то раз в интервью Мвула заявила:

«Моя музыка вдохновлена творчеством таких гениальных женщин, как Нина Симон, Джилл Скотт, Эрика Баду и Лорин Хилл…»

Что касается альбома Sing to the Moon, то пластинка вошла в топ-100 в семи странах мира! В октябре 2013 года певица получила несколько престижных наград MOBO Awards: в номинации «Лучшее женское исполнение» и «Лучший R&B или соул-исполнитель»!

Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула)
Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула)

Весной следующего года Лора решила перезаписать оркестровую версию своего дебютного альбома. На этот раз — при участии The Metropole Orkest, под руководством аранжировщика и композитора Жюля Бакли. Пластинка была выпущена летом 2014 года. В поддержку альбома Лора и The Metropole Orkest выступили в Альберт-холле!

Новые записи и новые успехи!

В январе 2016, при участии композитора Найла Роджерса, Лора выпускает сингл «Overcome». Вскоре выходит и сам альбом The Dreaming Room. С целью его продвижения Лора исполнила заглавный трек с выпуска на нескольких популярных телешоу, включая «Шоу Грэма Нортона»!

В марте 2016 года певица дала живой концерт на Джазовом фестивале. Вскоре свет увидел второй сингл с альбома под названием «Phenomenal Woman». В этот же период Лора выпускает композицию «Show Me Love»…

Летом этого же года Лора даёт свой второй концерт на сцене пирамиды Гластонбери! Вскоре последовало совместное выступление с Томом Оделлом в Лондоне.

Под конец октября Лора была приглашена на канал BBC, где исполнила в Strictly Come Dancing свой новый сингл «Ready or Not».

Зимой 2017 года Лора призналась, что компания Sony бросила её… Весной этого же года последовал документальный фильм под названием «Женский час», в котором певица решила затронуть такую колкую тему, как тревога…

В апреле 2018 года Лора была приглашена на вечеринку BBC One в Королевском Альберт-Холле, по случаю дня рождения королевы! Певице выпала честь исполнить «I Put a Spell on You»…

Музыкальный стиль

Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула)
Laura Mvula (Лора Мвула)

Ведущие музыкальные критики ставят Лору рядом с новыми соул-певицами Британии, так называемыми «последовательницами Эми Уайнхаус и Адель». Нельзя отрицать тот факт, что в значительной степени на творчество девушки повлияло её композиторское образование… Из-за этого сама она частенько называет себя «странноватым ребёнком в ритм-н-блюзе». Некоторые критики также добавляют, что песни Лоры более приближены к стилю барокко-поп, нежели к ретро-соулу…

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

3 + 7 =

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Похожие статьи

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...

The Cure — «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022) от The Cure  Рок-группа из Англии The Cure анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Songs Of A Lost...

Топ-6 песен в исполнении невероятного Нодди Холдера

Песни, которые перенесут вас в молодость – Топ лучших вокальных моментов Нодди Холдера Нодди Холдер навсегда поселился в сердцах отечественных слушателей! Вместе с группой Slade...

Arms and Sleepers — «Former Kingdoms» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Former Kingdoms» (2022) от Arms and Sleepers Американская музыкальная группа Arms and Sleepers поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Former...

Шесть самых известных песен Олега Газманова

Лучшие песни Олега Газманова Олег Газманов - очень талантливый артист. Он и актер, и поэт, и продюсер. Из-за этого его музыку недооценивают. Но, несмотря на...