Author:

Category:

Why these legendary artists turned down the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

It would seem - this is the highest degree of reward, the evaluation of your work as an artist! But no. The "chosen" musicians don't think so.

Why they didn't get inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: Top 5 great musicians who gave up the dream of millions of artists

For rock stars There is nothing more important than getting into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. But not for everyone. For example, the rock idols we are going to talk about today see this honor as "a creative dead end, a mockery and even an insult to their art"!

Since its inauguration in 1986, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has experienced many fantastic moments, right up to the reunion of some of the greatest bands in history! But it has had its share of dramas and even high-profile scandals. It would seem - this is the highest degree of reward, of appreciation for your work as an artist! But no. "The Chosen Ones." musicians don't think so. And if the charming Dolly Parton With a slight hint of rejection, the ferocious punk rockers Sex Pistols did not spare an entire tirade in which they expressed the depth of their dissatisfaction through "special eloquence.

John Deacon

John Deacon
John Deacon

Deacon declined induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, not as a solo artist, but as part of the Queen. And I don't think he ever regretted it. When he left the lineup in 1997, not wanting to perform with "a kind of Queen without Freddie Mercury," he took hermitage and avoided public appearances at all costs. And even such a great reward did not make John change his mind.

The only people present at the ceremony were Roger Taylor and Brian May. That evening they told reporters that they rarely talked to Deacon because he "refused all forms of interaction, except for financial matters.

John Deacon and Freddie Mercury
John Deacon and Freddie Mercury

The "perpetrator of the scandal" himself has not even commented on the situation online (for example), and it seems that John was honestly don't care on all of this. He has repeatedly stated that Without Freddy. Queen can not exist, and actively criticized his ex-colleagues who tried to resuscitate the project with other vocalists.

Ozzy Osbourne

Ozzy Osbourne
Ozzy Osbourne

"Prince of Darkness" also initially refused to attend the induction ceremony. Black Sabbath into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. He later changed his mind, though. Before that happened, however, Osborne made a loud public statement. He also sent an eloquent letter about his dislike for the institution. In short, Ozzy wrote:

"Save the ink. Forget about us!"

Why did the ceremony cause Ozzie to rage? There were several reasons for that. First of all - the lack of fans at this event. And secondly, Ozzy called Black Sabbath "a people's group."who "has never been a media darling. In his opinion, the whole story reeked of hypocrisy... In the end, Ozzy realized that he couldn't speak for the whole band, so he came to the ceremony, but only for his comrades.

Sex Pistols

Funny photo of the Sex Pistols
Funny photo of the Sex Pistols bands

Disclaimer Sex Pistols from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame was the most scandalous and at the same time Comical of history. The group faxed a letter to the institution, which co-founder Jan Wenner happily recited to the cheering and laughing crowd. Some foul language was omitted, but on the whole, the heartbreaking tirade was much enjoyed by the audience and served as one of the entertainment events that evening. It was hardly the result the punk rockers had hoped for.

In a nutshell, the group stated that inclusion in the Hall of Fame symbolizes end of the road for the artist. The musicians also called the ceremony "a spot of childish surprise" and flatly refused to be "committee monkeys.

Dolly Parton

Dolly Parton
Dolly Parton

Unlike the others Dolly Parton She did the more humane thing: she released a statement saying that she considers herself unworthy to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The singer explained such a strange decision by the fact that she does not consider her music to be rock and roll, so she is not going to claim the award.

For its part, the organization has stated that it considers Parton pioneer in the music industry, and that the awards are not just for rock 'n' rollers: over the years, the ceremony has indeed been attended by many country singersfrom Johnny Cash and Brenda Leigh to Hank Williams. Dolly later took it back, but now the Hall of Fame is in no hurry to give the award.

Axl Rose

Axl Rose
Axl Rose

And our list is completed by the scandalous Axl Rosewho, in his usual manner, declined the much coveted honor of induction into the Hall of Fame.

In a sharp letter, the singer Criticized ceremony. He stated that he had no intention of participating "in all this," that he did not understand "who gives a mysterious committee the right to decide who is cool enough to be put on a pedestal," and that forbids anyone to accept the award on his behalf. Izzy Stradlin and Slash were present, and Rose was replaced at the microphone by Miles Kennedy. Did Axl regret his stiff refusal? Not at all!

10kFollowers

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Related Articles

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

Автор:
Категория:

Почему эти легендарные артисты отказались от Зала славы рок-н-ролла

Казалось бы – это высшая степень награды, оценки твоего труда как артиста! Но нет. «Избранные» музыканты так не считают.

Почему они не вступили в Зал славы рок-н-ролла: Топ-5 великих музыкантов, которые отказались от мечты миллионов артистов

Для рок-звезды нет ничего важнее, чем попасть в Зал славы рок-н-ролла. Но не для каждой. К примеру рок-кумиры, о которых сегодня пойдёт речь, расценивают эту честь как «творческий тупик, насмешку и даже оскорбление их искусства»!

С момента своего открытия в 1986 году Зал славы рок-н-ролла пережил много фантастических моментов – вплоть до воссоединения некоторых величайших групп за всю историю! Но нашлось здесь место драмам, и даже громким скандалам. Казалось бы – это высшая степень награды, оценки твоего труда как артиста! Но нет. «Избранные» музыканты так не считают. И если очаровательная Долли Партон обошлась лёгким намёком на отказ, то свирепые панк-рокеры Sex Pistols не поскупились на целую тираду, в которой выразили всю глубину своего недовольства посредством «особого красноречия».

Джон Дикон

Джон Дикон
Джон Дикон

Дикон отказался от вступления в Зал славы рок-н-ролла не как сольный артист, а как часть Queen. И, кажется, ни разу об этом не пожалел. Когда в 1997 году он покинул состав, не желая выступать с «подобием Queen без Фредди Меркьюри», он принял отшельнический образ жизни и всячески избегал публичных появлений. И даже такая великая награда не заставила Джона изменить своё решение.

На церемонии присутствовали лишь Роджер Тейлор и Брайан Мэй. В тот вечер они рассказали журналистам, что редко общаются с Диконом, так как он «отказался от всех форм взаимодействия, за исключением финансовых вопросов».

Джон Дикон и Фредди Меркьюри
Джон Дикон и Фредди Меркьюри

Сам «виновник скандала» даже не комментировал эту ситуацию в Интернете (к примеру), и, кажется, Джону было искренне наплевать на всё это. Он неоднократно заявлял, что без Фредди Queen не может существовать, и активно критиковал своих экс-коллег, которые пытались реанимировать проект с другими вокалистами.

Оззи Осборн

Оззи Осборн
Оззи Осборн

«Князь Тьмы» также поначалу отказался присутствовать на церемонии введения Black Sabbath в Зал славы рок-н-ролла. Хотя позже и изменил своё решение. Однако прежде чем это случилось, Осборн сделал громкое публичное заявление. А ещё отправил красноречивое письмо о своей неприязни к учреждению. Если коротко, то Оззи написал:

«Берегите чернила. Забудьте о нас!»

Почему церемония вызвала у Оззи столько ярости? На то было несколько причин. Во-первых – отсутствие поклонников на сие мероприятии. Ну а во-вторых – Оззи назвал Black Sabbath «народной группой», которая «никогда не была любимицей СМИ». По его мнению, вся эта история попахивала лицемерием… В конце концов Оззи осознал, что нельзя говорить за всю группу, и всё же прибыл на церемонию – но только ради товарищей.

Sex Pistols

Забавное фото групп Sex Pistols («Секс Пистолс»)
Забавное фото групп Sex Pistols

Отказ Sex Pistols от Зала славы рок-н-ролла оказался наиболее скандальным и вместе с тем комичным за всю историю. Группа отправила факсом письмо в учреждение, которое соучредитель Ян Веннер с радостью прочитал ликующей и смеющейся толпе. Некоторые нецензурные выражения были опущены, но в целом душераздирающая тирада очень понравилась публике и послужила одним из развлекательных мероприятий в тот вечер. Вряд ли это тот результат, на который рассчитывали панк-рокеры.

Если вкратце – группа заявила, что включение в Зала славы символизирует конец пути для артиста. Музыканты также назвали церемонию «пятном детской неожиданности» и наотрез отказались быть «обезьянками комитета».

Долли Партон

Долли Партон
Долли Партон

В отличие от остальных Долли Партон поступила более гуманно: она опубликовала заявление, в котором сказала, что считает себя недостойной попадания в Зал славы. Столь странное решение певица объяснила тем, что не считает свою музыку рок-н-роллом, поэтому не собирается претендовать на награду.

В свою очередь организация заявила, что считает Партон пионером в музыкальной индустрии, и что награды присуждаются не только рок-н-ролльщикам: на протяжении многих лет на церемонии действительно присутствовало множество кантри-исполнителей, от Джонни Кэша и Бренды Ли до Хэнка Уильямса. Позже Долли забрала свои слова назад, но теперь Зал славы не торопится с наградой.

Эксл Роуз

Эксл Роуз
Эксл Роуз

И завершает наш список скандалист Эксл Роуз, который в свойственной ему манере отказался от столь желанной многими чести, как вступить в Зал славы.

В резком письме певец раскритиковал церемонию. Он заявил, что не намерен участвовать «во всём этом», что не понимает «кто даёт таинственной комиссии право решать, кто достаточно крут, чтобы быть поставленным на пьедестал», а также что запрещает кому-либо принимать награду от его имени. На церемонии присутствовали Иззи Стрэдлин и Слэш, а во время выступления у микрофона Роуза заменили Майлзом Кеннеди. Пожалел ли Эксл о своём жёстком отказе? Нисколько!

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...