Author:
Category:

Lemmy Kilmister: biography of a rock musician

“...I have never met such rock and roll geniuses before! Fuck Elvis and Keith Richards! Lemmy is the real king of rock and roll! He is a true legend...

The Complete Story of Motörhead Leader Lemmy Kilmister...

Lemmy Kilmister, better known simply as Lemmy, is a British rock musician and the legend of the heavy metal band Motörhead. He has gained worldwide success due to his character, appearance, easily recognizable image, as well as rough, husky vocals! He was once billed as "one of the most recognizable voices in rock"! And his unique manner of performance ... She charmed more than one generation of listeners! Lemmy managed to develop his own style of bass playing, using a Rickenbacker bass, which allowed him to create a "depressed, distorted rhythmic rumble" ...

Kilmister continued to make music until his death... Prostate cancer was diagnosed just a few days before the tragedy... For many years, the heavy metal star was famous for his hard, rebellious lifestyle: according to one of the legends, one day a doctor told Lemmy that his " the blood is so tainted that an ordinary person would die after a transfusion…”

Early years

Lemmy Kilmister
Lemmy Kilmister

As Lemmy himself said, in his school years he listened to the Beatles records, which, in fact, inspired him to become a musician!

Before becoming a heavy metal legend, Kilmister had worked with several rock bands, and was also a roadie for Jimi Hendrix and The Nice! He was a member of the band Hawkwind, and it is his vocals that sound on the hit "Silver Machine"! After being fired, Lemmy continued his ascent ... So, in the mid-70s, the world learned about Motörhead, whose main works were the hit single "Ace of Spades" and the album No Sleep 'til Hammersmith - a live record that became the leader of the top charts ...

Ian Fraser Kilmister was born in 1945 in Stoke-on-Trent. Parents divorced, and little Lemmy grew up with his mother and grandmother. When he was 10 years old, his mother married George L. Willis: so, Lemmy had a half-brother and sister, the children of Willis, whom Kilmister terribly did not like ... By the way: he got his nickname "Lemmy" (lend me) for that, as his school friends claimed, he constantly borrowed money from them to play slot machines ...

Eddie Clarke, Phil Taylor and Lemmy Kilmister
Eddie Clarke, Phil Taylor and Lemmy Kilmister

Already at school, Lemmy began to have a passion for music ... In many ways - because of the girls who adored those who could play the guitar ... His mother had a guitar that he carried with him to school: Lemmy did not know how to play it, however there really was no end to the girls! Subsequently, he mastered the six-string instrument, admiring the work of the Beatles (in particular, the album Please Please Me) ... In his interviews, Lemmy repeatedly called The Rolling Stones "girls", while the Beatles, in his opinion, were "mechanism" ... He especially admired the character and worldview of John Lennon.

First steps towards fame and success with Motörhead!

motorhead
motorhead

For many, there was only one person who personified heavy metal: the unforgettable Motörhead bassist and screamer Lemmy! Before that, however, Lemmy had worked with a couple of other bands… With the British Invasion in the early 60s, the young Kilmister became interested in music, playing in such long forgotten blues rock bands as the Rainmakers, Rockin' Vickers and Opal Butterfly. After the legendary American guitarist served as the guitar roadie for Jimi Hendrix himself on an early UK tour, Kilmister joined the rock band Hawkwind in 1971, where he played bass and occasionally sang (Kilmister's most famous track is the hit "Silver machine"). But in early 1975, Kilmister had to leave the band after he was arrested at the Canadian border for possession of illegal substances ...

Luckily, Lemmy wasn't the kind of person who got used to being downhearted. He immediately set about forming his next band, which was much louder, heavier and more aggressive than his previous bands... Called Motörhead (British slang for speed freak), the band went through several members before settling on a classic trio: Lemmy on bass / vocals, Phil Taylor on drums and Eddie Clarke on guitar.

While the band's look was classic heavy metal (long unwashed hair, denim, leather, etc.), their energetic music was more in keeping with the fleeting sounds of punk rock. The trio's self-titled debut was released in 1977, and featured such classic releases as "Overkill", "Bomber", "Ace of Spades" and the album "No Sleep 'til Hammersmith". So, over the next few years, Motörhead became one of the most famous and influential metal bands in the world!

While Motörhead's commercial success has seen many peaks and troughs since their "golden era" of the late 70's and early 80's and many members come and go (with Lemmy the only constant figure), their fan base has remained intact... The listeners were especially impressed by Lemmy's throaty vocals, which were really unique for the rock of those years...

By the way: it was actively copied in the heyday of punk rock. As a result, Motörhead became idols for punk listeners as well. As Kilmister himself said, he always felt much more similar to punks than to metalheads ...

Personal life…

Lemmy Kilmister
Lemmy Kilmister

There were many, many women in Kilmister's life ... If you believe his words, then no less than a thousand! However, serious relationships - long and responsible - he did not work out with anyone. At the age of 17, he began dating Kathy, who gave birth to his son Sean, who was sent up for adoption ... The musician spoke about this in the movie "Lemmy", adding that "he did not have the courage to tell him who his father was ... "

Lemmy Kilmister, his son Paul
Lemmy Kilmister, his son Paul

Later, Lemmy had an affair with a certain Tracy, who bore him a son, Paul. Growing up, Paul followed in his father's footsteps and became a guitarist, sometimes joining Lemmy on stage.

No one will be surprised by the fact that Lemmy led a truly rebellious, rock and roll lifestyle! According to rumors, since the age of 30 he has discovered a new tradition for himself: every day to drink a bottle of Jack Daniel's! True, in 2013 he had to give up this drink ... Also, Lemmy was known for an addiction that did not subside for many, many years ... Kilmister became addicted to illegal drugs in the era of Hawkwind. Because of them, he was fired from the group ...

“Why is this so important to me? It keeps me awake when I need to be awake! For example - during a 9-hour journey in the back seat of a sweaty truck, after which I have to go on stage and be fresh, bright ... "

https://youtu.be/jc5rAoR1xRs

Nirvana drummer Dave Grohl, who worked with Lemmy, recalled:

“...I have never met such rock and roll geniuses before! Fuck Elvis and Keith Richards! Lemmy is the real king of rock and roll! He is a true legend...

Lemmy Kilmister
Lemmy Kilmister

As the new century dawned, Lemmy began to experience health problems... Over the years, he reduced his drinking and other habits, he developed diabetes and hypertension... In the twilight years of his life, Lemmy often used a cane... In late 2015, a few days after his 70th anniversary, Lemmy is gone... The great musician died due to prostate cancer, which he was diagnosed with just two days before his birthday... Was his death a shock to fans? Yes and no. Yes - of course it was a big, very big blow ... But was it really unpredictable? It is unlikely ... After all, health problems haunted Kilmister for many years. Lemmy himself always said:

"Death is inevitable, isn't it? You start to understand this when you turn 50... But I'm not afraid of it. Are we able to change something? So why whine then? You need to continue to live for your pleasure and do what you love ... "

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:
Категория:

Лемми Килмистер: биография рок-музыканта

«...ранее я не встречал настолько рок-н-ролльных гениев! К чёрту Элвиса и Кита Ричардса! Лемми — вот настоящий король рок-н-ролла! Он настоящая легенда...»

Полная история лидера Motörhead, Лемми Килмистера…

Лемми Килмистер, более известный как просто Лемми, — британский рок-музыкант, легенда хэви-метал-группы Motörhead. Он снискал мировой успех благодаря своему характеру, внешности, легко узнаваемому имиджу, а также грубому хриплому вокалу! Когда-то он был объявлен «одним из самых узнаваемых голосов в роке»! А его уникальная манера исполнения… Она очаровала не одно поколение слушателей! Лемми удалось выработать собственный стиль игры на басу, с использованием баса Rickenbacker, что позволяло создавать «подавленный, искажённый ритмический грохот»…

Килмистер продолжал заниматься музыкой до самой своей смерти… Рак простаты был диагностирован буквально за несколько дней до трагедии… Долгие годы звезда тяжёлого хэви-металла славилась своим тяжёлым, бунтарским образом жизни: если верить одной из легенд, то однажды врач сказал Лемми, что его «кровь настолько испорчена, что обычный человек умер бы после её переливания…»

Ранние годы

Лемми Килмистер
Лемми Килмистер

Как рассказывал сам Лемми, в школьные годы он заслушивался пластинками Beatles, которые, собственно, и вдохновили его стать музыкантом!

Прежде чем стать легендой хэви-металла, Килмистер успел поработать с несколькими рок-группами, а также — был роуди Джими Хендрикса и The Nice! Он был участником группы Hawkwind, и именно его вокал звучит в хите «Silver Machine»! После увольнения Лемми продолжил своё восхождение… Так, в середине 70-х свет узнал о Motörhead, главными работами которых стал хит-сингл «Ace of Spades» и альбом No Sleep ’til Hammersmith — живая запись, ставшая лидером топ-чартов…

Иэн Фрейзер Килмистер появился на свет в 1945 году, в Сток-он-Трент. Родители развелись, и маленький Лемми рос с матерью и бабушкой. Когда ему исполнилось 10 лет, его мать вышла замуж за Джорджа Л. Уиллиса: так, у Лемми появились сводные брат и сестра, — дети Уиллиса, которых Килмистер жутко не любил… К слову: своё прозвище «Лемми» (одолжите мне) получил за то, что, как утверждали его школьные друзья, он постоянно занимал у них деньги, чтобы играть в игровые автоматы…

Эдди Кларк, Фил Тейлор и Лемми Килмистер
Эдди Кларк, Фил Тейлор и Лемми Килмистер

Уже в школе Лемми начал испытывать страсть к музыке… Во многом — из-за девочек, которые обожали тех, кто умеет играть на гитаре… У его матери была гитара, которую он носил с собой в школу: играть на ней Лемми не умел, однако от девчонок отбоя действительно не было! Впоследствии он освоил шестиструнный инструмент, восхищаясь творчеством Битлов (в частности — альбомом Please Please Me)… В своих интервью Лемми неоднократно называл The Rolling Stones «девочками», в то время как Битлз по его мнению являлись «механизмом»… Особенно он восхищался характером и мировоззрением Джона Леннона.

Первые шаги навстречу славе и успех с Motörhead!

motörhead
motörhead

Для многих хэви-метал олицетворял лишь один человек — незабываемый басист и крикун Motörhead Лемми! Однако до этого Лемми довелось поработать с парой других бэндов… С британским вторжением в начале 60-х молодой Килмистер заинтересовался музыкой, играя в таких давно забытых блюзовых рок-группах, как Rainmakers, Rockin ‘Vickers и Opal Butterfly. После того, как легендарный американский гитарист выступил в качестве гитарного роуди самого Джими Хендрикса в раннем британском туре, Килмистер присоединился к рок-группе Hawkwind в 1971 году, где он играл на бас-гитаре и иногда пел (самым известным треком Килмистера является хит «Silver Machine»). Но в начале 1975 года Килмистеру пришлось покинуть коллектив после того, как его арестовали на канадской границе за хранение запрещённых веществ…

К счастью, Лемми был не из тех людей, которые привыкли унывать. Он немедленно приступил к формированию своей следующей группы, которая стала намного более громкой, тяжёлой и агрессивной, чем его предыдущие группы… Названная Motörhead (британский сленг для фанатика скорости), группа сменила нескольких участников, прежде чем остановилась на классическом трио: Лемми на басу / вокале, Фил Тейлор на барабанах и Эдди Кларк на гитаре.

В то время как внешний вид группы был классическим хэви-металлом (длинные немытые волосы, джинсовая ткань, кожа и т. д.), их энергичная музыка больше соответствовала мимолётным звукам панк-рока. В 1977 году был выпущен одноимённый дебют трио, и с такими классическими релизами, как «Overkill», «Bomber», «Ace of Spades», а также альбом «No Sleep ’til Hammersmith». Так, в течение следующих нескольких лет, Motörhead стала одной из самых известных и влиятельных металлических групп в мире!

Хотя коммерческий успех Motörhead достиг многих пиков, как и падений с их «золотой эры» конца 70-х и начала 80-х, а также прихода и ухода многих участников (при этом Лемми был единственной постоянной фигурой), их фанатская база оставалась нетронутой… Особенно слушателей впечатлил горловой вокал Лемми, который действительно был уникальным для рока тех лет…

К слову: его активно копировали в эпоху расцвета панк-рока. В результате Motörhead стали кумирами и для панк-слушателей. Как рассказывал сам Килмистер, он всегда ощущал гораздо большую схожесть с панками, нежели с металлистами…

Личная жизнь…

Лемми Килмистер
Лемми Килмистер

В жизни Килмистера было много, очень много женщин… Если верить его словам, то никак не меньше тысячи! Однако серьёзных отношений, — долгих и ответственных, — у него так ни с кем и не сложилось. В возрасте 17-ти лет он начал встречаться с девушкой Кэти, которая родила ему сына Шона, который был отправлен на усыновление… Музыкант рассказал об этом в фильме «Лемми», добавив, что «у него не хватило духу сказать ему, кто его отец…»

Лемми Килмистер, его сын Пол
Лемми Килмистер, его сын Пол

Позже у Лемми был роман с некой Трейси, которая родила ему сына Пола. Повзрослев Пол пошёл по стопам отца и стал гитаристом: иногда он присоединялся к Лемми на сцене.

Не для кого не станет открытием тот факт, что Лемми вёл по-настоящему бунтарский, рок-н-ролльный образ жизни! Если верить слухам, то с 30-ти лет он открыл для себя новую традицию: каждый день выпивать бутылку Jack Daniel’s! Правда, в 2013 году ему пришлось отказаться от этого напитка… Также, Лемми был известен зависимостью, которая не утихала долгие-долгие годы… К запрещённым препаратам Килмистер пристрастился в эпоху Hawkwind. Из-за них же его уволили из группы…

«Почему для меня это так важно? Это позволяет мне не уснуть тогда, когда мне нужно бодрствовать! Например — во время 9-часового путешествия на заднем сиденье вспотевшего грузовика, после которого мне предстоит выйти на сцену и быть свежим, ярким…»

https://youtu.be/jc5rAoR1xRs

Барабанщик Nirvana Дэйв Грол, который работал с Лемми, вспоминал:

«…ранее я не встречал настолько рок-н-ролльных гениев! К чёрту Элвиса и Кита Ричардса! Лемми — вот настоящий король рок-н-ролла! Он настоящая легенда…»

Лемми Килмистер
Лемми Килмистер

С наступлением нового столетия у Лемми начались проблемы со здоровьем… С годами он сократил употребление спиртного и прочих привычек, у него развились диабет и гипертония… На закате своих лет Лемми часто использовал трость… В конце 2015 года, спустя несколько дней после своего 70-го юбилея, Лемми не стало… Великий музыкант скончался из-за рака простаты, который ему диагностировали всего за два дня до дня рождения… Стала ли его смерть шоком для поклонников? И да, и нет. Да — разумеется это стало большим, очень большим ударом… Но было ли на самом деле непредсказуемо? Вряд ли… Ведь проблемы со здоровьем преследовали Килмистера на протяжении долгих лет. Сам Лемми всегда говорил:

«Смерть неизбежна, разве нет? Ты начинаешь понимать это, когда тебе исполняется 50… Но я не боюсь этого. Разве мы в силах что-то изменить? Так зачем тогда ныть? Нужно продолжать жить в своё удовольствие и заниматься тем, что вы любите…»

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...