Author:
Category:

David Bowie's" Heroes " is one of the latest recordings by Lemmy, the Motörhead legend

“'Heroes' is a really great song, one of the best in Bowie's repertoire... And Lemmy ended up loving it. He loved our version!” recalls Phil Campbell, while Mickey Dee adds: “Lemmy was really, really proud of that cover. And not just because he's so good! During the recording of Heroes, we all had a lot of fun in the studio! There was an amazing atmosphere…”

How Lemmy Kilmister Recorded David Bowie's "Heroes"

When in September 1977 David Bowie released a track Heroes, he knew this song was a work of absolute brilliance... "Heroes" became the biggest and most adored hit of his career! This track goes way beyond opus The Starman, entering the realm of the master class in songwriting and composing… Written by Bowie, co-written with Brian Enoco-produced with Tony Visconti and recorded on Hansa Studio by the Wall, the composition tells about two hearts in love ... According to David himself, the idea of the song was born in his head when he saw Visconti hugging his beloved from the window of the studio at the Berlin Wall... Subsequently, the song will receive many awards, and will also be re-recorded by many artists, among whom was Lemmy Kilmister

Motorhead leader done Heroes one of his last entries. The band's iconic voice and bass kilmister tore the code of rules for everything he did! December 2015 the world has lost one of rock's brightest stars... And today we return to one of his last recordings when Motörhead took over "Heroes" by David Bowie!

background

Lemmy Kilmister
Lemmy Kilmister

Burslem Native, Stoke-on-Trent, Lemmy Kilmister never stopped on his way, inexorably climbing the career ladder higher and higher ... He very early became an idol for those who not only loved wild rock, but also walked on the wild side of life. On the day of his death in 2015 the rock world mourned the loss of a true legend both on and off the stage. Lemmy was able to pierce your skull with a bass line, as well as sink four bottles of whiskey in a night! But above all, as they say, he was a real master of his craft ...

Lemmy (Lemmy Kilmister)
Lemmy (Lemmy Kilmister)

In 2017, two years after his death, the remaining members Motörhead decided to pay tribute to some of their musical heroes and influencers by releasing an album of covers called under cover: the record will feature already familiar covers of songs Sex Pistols ("God Save The Queen"), Ramones ("Rockaway Beach"), Metallica ("Whiplash"), as well as a rather striking cover of the fantastic David Bowie song "Heroes"... Remarkably, the recording of this cover was one of the last things for which Lemmy come to the studio!

“'Heroes' is a really great song, one of the best in Bowie's repertoire... And Lemmy ended up loving it. He loved our version!” recalls Phil Campbell, while Mickey Dee adds: “Lemmy was really, really proud of that cover. And not just because he's so good! During the recording of Heroes, we all had a lot of fun in the studio! There was an amazing atmosphere…”

Result…

Undoubtedly, cover of "Heroes" really very good! It is an edgy and skin-tearing rendition of a theatrical track... "Heroes" puts Lemmy into his favorite pose, the pose of a swirling and sullen songsmith...

It's a classic approach, while the cover itself is the perfect occasion to remember Lemmy...

A few words about the song

David Bowie
David Bowie

And, of course, a few words about the song itself…

Undoubtedly Heroes remains one of the greatest achievements Bowie! This song tells the story of a German couple who are determined to be together - despite the political climate of the day that got in the way! And in this desperation, they meet every day under the artillery tower on the Berlin Wall ... After many years, it became known that, or rather, who actually inspired Bowie to this hit! These people turned out to be the legendary producer Tony Visconti and backing vocalist Antonia Maas: The couple kissed against the famous wall when Bowie looked out of the window Hansa Studio... In an instant, the image that appeared in my head was not easy to resist. Actually, Bowie did not do this. Fortunately!

“I am only allowed to talk about it now. I always said that the idea came from a couple in love kissing at the Berlin Wall, but I never said who these people were ... Well, they were Toni Visconti and Antonia Maas, a German girl whom he met while we were in Berlin! At that time, Tony was married, but his marriage was bursting at the seams ... "

“I actually asked his permission if I could write a song about it. It was very touching: I saw how much Tony was in love with this girl, and it was this warm relationship of theirs that became a kind of motive for the song ... "

David Bowie
David Bowie

Even though Bowie was only 30 yearswhen he released this track, Heroes raised him to his well-deserved legendary status and confirmed his divine gift, marked Motörhead and in particular kilmister

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

«Heroes» Дэвида Боуи – одна из последних записей Лемми, легенды Motörhead

««Heroes» — это очень замечательная песня, одна из лучших в репертуаре Боуи... И Лемми, в итоге, полюбил её. Он полюбил нашу версию!» — вспоминает Фил Кэмпбелл, а Микки Ди добавляет: «Лемми действительно очень гордился этим кавером. И не только потому, что он так хорош! Во время записи «Heroes» нам всем было очень весело в студии! Царила необыкновенная атмосфера...»

Как Лемми Килмистер записал песню «Heroes» Дэвида Боуи

Когда в сентябре 1977 года Дэвид Боуи выпустил трек «Heroes», он знал, что эта песня была произведением абсолютного великолепия… «Heroes» стал самым большим и самым обожаемым публикой хитом в его карьере! Этот трек выходит далеко за рамки опуса The Starman, входя в царство мастер-класса в написании песен и сочинении музыки… Написанная Боуи в соавторстве с Брайаном Ино, спродюсированная совместно с Тони Висконти и записанная на Hansa Studio by the Wall, композиция повествует о двух влюблённых сердцах… По словам самого Дэвида, идея песни родилась у него в голове, когда он увидел из окна студии Висконти, обнимающего возлюбленную у Берлинской стены… Впоследствии песня получит множество наград, а также будет перезаписана многими исполнителями, среди которых оказался Лемми Килмистер

лидер Motörhead сделал «Heroes» одной из своих последних записей. Знаковый голос и бас группы, Килмистер рвал свод правил всем, что делал! В декабре 2015 года мир потерял одну из самых ярких звёзд рока… И сегодня мы возвращаемся к одной из его последних записей, когда Motörhead взяли на себя «Героев» Дэвида Боуи!

Предыстория

Лемми Килмистер
Лемми Килмистер

Уроженец Берслема, Сток-он-Трент, Лемми Килмистер никогда не останавливался на своём пути, неумолимо поднимаясь по карьерной лестнице всё выше и выше… Он очень рано стал кумиром для тех, кто не просто любил дикий рок, но и ходил по дикой стороне жизни. В день его смерти в 2015 году рок-мир оплакивал потерю настоящей легенды как на сцене, так и за её пределами. Лемми был способен пронзить ваш череп басовой партией, а так же потопить четыре бутылки виски за ночь! Но помимо всего прочего, как говорится, он был настоящим мастером своего дела…

Лемми (Lemmy Kilmister)
Лемми (Lemmy Kilmister)

В 2017 году, спустя два года после его смерти, оставшиеся участники Motörhead решили отдать дань уважения некоторым из своих музыкальных героев и влиятельных людей, выпустив альбом каверов под названием Under Cover: на пластинке будут представлены уже знакомые каверы на песни Sex Pistols («God Save The Queen»), Ramones («Rockaway Beach»), Metallica («Whiplash»), а также довольно поразительный кавер на фантастическую песню Дэвида Боуи «Heroes»… Примечательно, но запись этого кавера была одной из последних вещей, ради которых Лемми приходил в студию!

««Heroes» — это очень замечательная песня, одна из лучших в репертуаре Боуи… И Лемми, в итоге, полюбил её. Он полюбил нашу версию!» — вспоминает Фил Кэмпбелл, а Микки Ди добавляет: «Лемми действительно очень гордился этим кавером. И не только потому, что он так хорош! Во время записи «Heroes» нам всем было очень весело в студии! Царила необыкновенная атмосфера…»

Результат…

Безусловно, кавер на «Heroes» действительно очень хорош! Он представляет собой резкое и разрывающее кожу исполнение театрального трека… «Heroes» помещает Лемми в его любимую позу, позу закрученного и угрюмого кузнеца песен…

Это классический подход, в то время как сам кавер — идеальный повод вспомнить Лемми…

Пару слов о песне

Дэвид Боуи (David Bowie)
Дэвид Боуи (David Bowie)

Ну и, конечно же, несколько слов о самой песне…

Несомненно, «Heroes» остаётся одним из величайших достижений Боуи! В этой песне рассказывается история немецкой пары, которая решительно настроена быть вместе — несмотря на политический климат того дня, который им мешал! И в этом отчаянии они встречаются каждый день под артиллерийской башней на Берлинской стене… Спустя очень много лет, стало известно, что, а вернее — кто на самом деле вдохновил Боуи на этот хит! Этими людьми оказались легендарный продюсер Тони Висконти и бэк-вокалистка Антония Маас: пара целовалась у знаменитой стены, когда Боуи выглянул из окна Hansa Studio… В миг возникшему в голове образу было непросто сопротивляться. Собственно, Боуи и не стал этого делать. К счастью!

«Мне разрешено говорить об этом только сейчас. Я всегда говорил, что идея возникла из-за влюблённой пары, целовавшейся у Берлинской стены, но я никогда не рассказывал, кем являлись эти люди… Так вот, ими были Тони Висконти и Антония Маас, немецкая девушка, с которой он познакомился, пока мы были в Берлине! На тот момент Тони был женат, но его брак трещал по швам…»

«Я действительно спросил его разрешения, могу ли я написать об этом песню. Это было очень трогательно: я видел, как сильно Тони влюблён в эту девушку, и именно эти их тёплые отношения стали своего рода мотивом для песни…»

Дэвид Боуи
Дэвид Боуи

Несмотря на то, что Боуи было всего 30 лет, когда он выпустил этот трек, «Heroes» поднял его до заслуженного легендарного статуса и подтвердил его божественный дар, отмеченный Motörhead и в частности Килмистером

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...
Похожие статьи

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...