Author:

Category:

The song that captured Tiktok and Instagram – "Life During Wartime" by Talking Heads

What is the secret of success? How did an old 70s track suddenly become a hit? And what is the history of its origin? First things first...

The story of one song: "Life During Wartime" by Talking Heads - facts, meaning, popularity

Life During Wartime - trending hit in 1979 groups Talking heads. Did the members of the team think that they would release a bestseller that would be a success after more than 40 years? Most likely not ... Nevertheless, that's exactly what happened: the composition found a second life in 2021 thanks to… social networks like Tik-Tok and Instagram! Video from a live performance in which the frontman David Byrne performs the track, delighting the audience with rather original dance movements, gaining hundreds of thousands of views, while amateur videos of users to this melody - tens of thousands ... What is the secret of success? How old 70s track suddenly became a hit? And what is the history of its origin? First things first…

History of creation: background and background

Talking Heads
Talking Heads

Punk music goes against the mainstream in many ways...While Sex Pistols vengefully sang about the destruction of the government in Anarchy in the UK, Life During Wartime groups Talking heads has the same feelings, but only in a different tone. Here David Byrne sings from a rebel point of view: a bit paranoid, he can't give up the comforts people lose by engaging in guerrilla warfare (not the least of which is the music...)

The song is surprisingly insightful in its theme of technology leading to a society that is heavily information driven. David Byrne drew inspiration from a book he had read about computer crimes, which included a curious story about a guy who forged deposit receipts with his bank account number and forced "backers" to inadvertently deposit money into his account. Another story was about a man who used a touch-tone phone to break into a computer network. General Electric and steal consumables...

Talking Heads
Talking Heads

Since the "big boys" own this technology but cannot control it, Byrne saw a bleak future... In his interview with the magazine NME he told:

“There will be chronic shortages of food and gas, and people will live in shacks. Paradoxically, they will be surrounded by computers the size of wristwatches! Calculators will be cheap... Connecting a computer to the central bank will be as easy as buying groceries for a week. I think we will be saved by amazing technological development! However, everything else will fall apart. Government surveillance becomes inevitable because a dilemma arises when you increase your storage capacity. It is intended for your convenience, but as more information gets into the file, it will inevitably be misused…”

Popularity in social networks

David Byrne
David Byrne

In summer 2021 the song has found a second life! She began to enjoy great popularity in social networks such as Tik-Tok and Instagram. In particular, it was not so much the track that became popular, but the video, a moment from the concert film "Stop Making Sense"! We can see how David Byrne performed by Life During Wartime, and at the same time demonstrates unusual dance moves... This little fragment really hypnotizes, forcing you to watch the scene to the end (and it becomes very disappointing when the video cuts off abruptly at the most interesting). It's no wonder that this piece got so many views and likes on social media...

David Byrne, footage from the Talking Heads live performance
David Byrne, footage from the Talking Heads live performance

Some users also try to replicate the dance moves Byrne!

Film "Stop Making Sense" or "Second Life"

Stop Making Sense movie poster
Stop Making Sense movie poster

And of course, it would not be superfluous to mention the film itself! "Stop Making Sense" - concert film 1984 of the year with a live performance by Talking Heads! Directed by Jonathan Demme. Filming took place four nights in a row at Hollywood's Pantages Theater in December. 1983 years: in those days the band was actively touring in support of their new album Speaking in Tongues. Remarkable, but "Stop Making Sense" is the first film to use digital audio technology! And yes, the budget $1.2 million was collected heads on one's own…

Most critics agree that this is the best live rock movie ever!

David Byrne
David Byrne

The tape also shows us Byrne in his famous gray suit, which was inspired by Japanese culture (and in particular the theater kabuki).

Interesting Facts

Talking Heads
Talking Heads
  • In texts Life During Wartime two New York clubs are mentioned where they used to play Talking Heads: CBGB and The Mudd Club. CBGB was where the band played their first gigs in 1975 supporting the Ramones.
  • The track was based on a bass riff, invented by Tina Weymouth during an "unproductive day in New Orleans".
  • Phrase "life during the war" does not appear in the lyrics themselves.
  • It was the lead single from the group's third album. Fear Of Music. Like their previous album More Songs About Buildings And Food, it was produced Brian Eno, who was an iconic figure in the experimental music scene. The album was recorded in an attic in New York where the bassist lived Tina Weymouth and drummer Chris Franz
  • About the album title: David Byrne came across a book called "Music and the Brain", which discussed some people's phobia of music. The book explains that music upsets some people so much that they have to be sent to the countryside where they can't hear it. Byrne thought the contradiction between the intention of the music and that reaction was interesting...
  • At first, when the album was first released, David Byrne was the only band member credited on this track, causing a long-standing rift within the band over copyright.
10kFollowers

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Related Articles

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

Автор:

Категория:

Песня, захватившая Тик-Ток и Инстаграм – «Life During Wartime» группы Talking Heads

В чём секрет успеха? Как старый трек 70-х внезапно стал хитом? И какова история его происхождения? Обо всём по порядку...

История одной песни: «Life During Wartime» группы Talking Heads – факты, смысл, популярность

«Life During Wartime» — популярный хит 1979 года группы Talking Heads. Думали ли участники коллектива, что выпустят бестселлер, который будет пользоваться успехом спустя более чем 40 лет? Скорее всего нет… Тем не менее, именно так и вышло: композиция обрела вторую жизнь в 2021 году благодаря… социальным сетям, таким как Тик-Ток и Инстаграм! Видео с живого выступления, на котором фронтмен Дэвид Бирн исполняет трек, восхищая публику довольно самобытными танцевальными движениями, набирает сотни тысяч просмотров, в то время как любительские ролики пользователей под эту мелодию — десятки тысяч… В чём секрет успеха? Как старый трек 70-х внезапно стал хитом? И какова история его происхождения? Обо всём по порядку…

История создания: фон и предпосылки

Группа Talking Heads
Группа Talking Heads

Панк-музыка во многом идёт вразрез с общепринятым течением жизни… В то время как Sex Pistols мстительно пели об уничтожении правительства в «Anarchy in the UK», «Life During Wartime» группы Talking Heads имеет те же чувства, но только в другом тоне. Здесь Дэвид Бирн поёт с точки зрения повстанца: немного параноик, он не может отказаться от тех удобств, которые люди теряют, вступая в партизанскую войну (не последней из которых является музыка…)

Песня удивительно проницательна в своей теме технологий, ведущих к обществу, в котором широко используется информация. Дэвид Бирн черпал вдохновение из прочитанной им книги о компьютерных преступлениях, в которую входил любопытный рассказ о парне: он подделывал квитанции о депозите с номером своего банковского счёта и заставлял «покровителей» непреднамеренно положить деньги на его счёт. Другая история была о человеке, который использовал телефон с тональным набором, чтобы проникнуть в компьютерную сеть General Electric и украсть расходные материалы…

Группа Talking Heads
Группа Talking Heads

Поскольку «большие мальчики» владеют этой технологией, но не могут ею управлять, Бирн видел мрачное будущее… В своём интервью журналу NME он рассказывал:

«Будет хроническая нехватка продовольствия и газа, и люди будут жить в лачугах. Парадоксально, но они будут окружены компьютерами размером с наручные часы! Калькуляторы будут дешёвыми… Подключить компьютер к центральному банку будет так же легко, как и купить продукты на неделю. Я думаю, мы будем спасены удивительным технологическим развитием! Однако всё остальное будет рассыпаться. Государственное наблюдение становится неизбежным, потому что возникает дилемма, когда у вас увеличивается объём хранилища информации. Она предназначена для вашего удобства, но по мере того, как в файл попадает больше информации, она неизбежно будет использована не по назначению…»

Популярность в соцсетях

Дэвид Бирн
Дэвид Бирн

Летом 2021 года песня обрела вторую жизнь! Она начала пользоваться большой популярностью в социальных сетях, таких как Тик-Ток и Инстаграм. В частности — популярен стал не столько трек, сколько видео, момент из концертного фильма «Stop Making Sense»! Мы можем видеть, как Дэвид Бирн исполняет «Life During Wartime», а вместе с этим демонстрирует и необычные танцевальные движения… Этот маленький фрагмент действительно гипнотизирует, заставляя досмотреть сцену до конца (и становится очень обидно, когда ролик резко обрывается на самом интересном). Неудивительно, что этот фрагмент набрал столько просмотров и лайков в соцсетях…

Дэвид Бирн, кадр с живого выступления Talking Heads
Дэвид Бирн, кадр с живого выступления Talking Heads

Некоторые пользователи также пытаются повторить танцевальные движения Бирна!

Фильм «Stop Making Sense» или «вторая жизнь»

Афиша фильма «Stop Making Sense»
Афиша фильма «Stop Making Sense»

Ну и конечно же не будет лишним упомянуть сам фильм! «Stop Making Sense» — концертный фильм 1984 года с живым выступлением Talking Heads! Режиссёром выступил Джонатан Демми. Съёмки проходили четыре вечера подряд, в Голливудском театре Pantages в декабре 1983 года: в те дни группа активно гастролировала в поддержку своего нового альбома Speaking in Tongues. Примечательно, но «Stop Making Sense» является первым фильмом, в котором были использованы цифровые аудиотехнологии! И да: бюджет в 1,2 млн долларов был собран Heads самостоятельно…

Большинство критиков сходятся во мнении, что это лучший концертный рок-фильм в истории!

Дэвид Бирн
Дэвид Бирн

Лента также показывает нам Бирна в своём знаменитом сером костюме, который был вдохновлён японской культурой (а в частности театром Кабуки).

Интересные факты

Группа Talking Heads
Группа Talking Heads
  • В текстах «Life During Wartime» упоминаются два нью-йоркских клуба, где раньше играли Talking Heads: CBGB и The Mudd Club. CBGB был местом, где группа отыграла свои первые концерты в 1975 году, разогревая Ramones.
  • В основу трека был положен басовый рифф, придуманный Тиной Уэймут во время «непродуктивного дня в Новом Орлеане».
  • Фраза «жизнь во время войны» не появляется в самих текстах песни.
  • Это был главный сингл с третьего альбома группы Fear Of Music. Как и их предыдущий альбом More Songs About Buildings And Food, он был спродюсирован Брайаном Ино, который был знаковой фигурой на экспериментальной музыкальной сцене. Альбом был записан на чердаке в Нью-Йорке, где жили басистка Тина Уэймут и барабанщик Крис Франц
  • О названии альбома: Дэвид Бирн наткнулся на книгу под названием «Музыка и мозг», в которой обсуждалась фобия некоторых людей в отношении музыки. В книге объясняется, что музыка настолько огорчает некоторых людей, что их приходится отправлять в деревню, где они её не слышат. Бирн подумал, что противоречие между замыслом музыки и этой реакцией было интересным…
  • Поначалу, когда альбом был только выпущен, Дэвид Бирн был единственным членом группы, указанным на этом треке, что вызвало в команде давнишний раскол по поводу авторских прав.
10kFollowers

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Похожие статьи

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...

Гизер Батлер: удивительные факты о «нечестивом» басисте Black Sabbath

Чего вы ещё не знали о Гизере Батлере – топ удивительных фактов о легенде Black Sabbath Гизер Батлер – легенда Black Sabbath и самый «нечестивый»...

Худшие альбомы в хард-роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Почему это худшие альбомы за всю историю хард-рока Коммерция – не так уж и плохо, но только если она «со вкусом» и «в меру». Это...

«Маэстро прогрессивного метала» – знакомьтесь, Джон Петруччи

Небольшой экскурс в историю Джона Петруччи, одного из лучших гитаристов современности Прогрессивный рок был продуктом психоделического рока. Это был скорее инструментальный и композиционный подход к...

Рэнди Калифорния: герой, восхищающий стойкостью духа и великолепной игрой на гитаре

Вспоминаем Рэнди Калифорнию, одного из легендарнейших гитаристов прошлого века Рэнди Калифорния – один из легендарнейших гитаристов и величайших отцов-героев в истории. Он был гениален и...

Рори Галлахер и его чудесный акустический стиль

Вспоминаем одного из величайших гитаристов Рори Галлахера Рори Галлахера не стало в 1995 году, и мир буквально ахнул и с грустью ужаснулся: это был действительно...