Author:
Category:

Love Will Tear Us Apart (1980) - Joy Division - All about the song ...

"It's actually pretty weird because the lyrics are very dark, but I find this song very inspiring! No other Joy Division song works like this! People go crazy for this song when we play it live... But it's really quite dark and heavy..."

Story of the song "Love Will Tear Us Apart"

"Love Will Tear Us Apart" is a famous hit track by the British rock band Joy Division. It was released on the band's final single. The title translates as "Love Will Tear Us Apart," and... it has a very big and very intimate meaning for the author himself, Ian Curtis...

Surely many listeners (especially Joy Division fans) would agree that today the creativity of this band cannot be viewed otherwise than through the prism of the tragic death of its leader... And as for "Love Will Tear Us Apart", as many critics put it: "finally someone who really meant what he was singing about has been found...". But why? Why is Joy Division's work shrouded in darkness and heartbreak? Is it because the band was formed in Manchester, the former industrial center of Britain, which by the '70s had become a depressing corner of the Earth? As guitarist Bernard Sumner said in one of his interviews, "...we were always looking for something beautiful, because there was only ugliness around us... And I can't tell you exactly if I saw even one tree before I was nine..."

The idea for the song, the process of creating...

Ian Curtis
Ian Curtis

It's no secret that "Love Will Tear Us Apart" is all Ian Curtis' work... It's a pretty heavy lyric about love and heartache... Here's a little snippet of lyrics as an example:

"Mutual respect goes to hell.
As long as the desire still burns within us,
Keeping us safe for many years,
But love, love will tear us apart..."

Many listeners are sure that Curtis addressed his creation on the basis of his personal life experience... And it is true. And the musician experienced these difficult circumstances very painfully... His painful relationship with his wife, as well as his affair on the side, became the reason for his departure... But about this later. For now, let's get back to the song. Curtis' bandmates said the following about "Love Will Tear Us Apart":

Stephen Morris: "...at that time the band were having their best days! What unfortunately could not be said about Ian... He had huge problems, and they had to do with his personal life. When he showed us the song, we all thought it would be a great track! But I had no idea at the time that he had written this dark lyric about himself... I just said: "Yeah, it's a great lyric!" But now...now I'm having a hard time listening to this song, being aware of all these circumstances..."

joy division
Joy Division

Bernard Sumner: "...he got married early. He was very, very young... And then he was faced with one hell of a choice. We were sure Ian was all right in the head! But we were wrong... as it turned out, he had several images: a public one for the band and the fans, and a real one under which he was hiding his personal problems... in fact you could only learn about his personal tragedies through his songs. But we didn't listen to his lyrics... We never discussed with each other what the hell this or that lyric meant..."

Ian Curtis.
Ian Curtis.

Peter Hook: "...I only analyzed the lyrics of 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' when I had to sing it again..."

But what personal tragedy are we talking about? What was it about the iconic Joy Division leader in the latter stages of his life that so deeply affected him?

Personal tragedy...

It was the dark character that Curtis endowed on each of his creations that gave Joy Division its reputation as a hopelessly depressing band... His low, you could say almost impassive voice was in stark contrast to the stage performances, where Curtis seemed to fall into a trance... He charmed the audience with robot-like movements that were eerily similar to convulsions... And he did suffer: very, very much...

It all started in the late '70s: it was then, at a concert in Brussels, that Curtis met the Belgian journalist and music promoter Annick Honore. A passion broke out between them, which was followed by a frenzied romance! But he was tormented by shame and guilt... He had a wife (who, incidentally, he forbade any contact with other men) and a daughter. But the desire to be near Annik was much stronger...

It came to the point where Curtis demanded that Sumner make a decision on his behalf: to stay with his wife, or to let his feelings go and get back together with the Belgian... Sumner, of course, refused to make any decisions for Curtis. Annick Honoré herself, after many years, declared that despite their long romance, there was only a platonic relationship between her and Curtis... According to Peter Hook's recollections:

"...he was very ill... He was constantly blaming himself, his epileptic seizures worsened... He was dear to all of us, but at the same time - he was his own worst enemy..."

Ian Curtis....
Ian Curtis....

Curtis' illness progressed. As a result, seizures began to occur right on stage... Curtis was experiencing a severe depression. His marriage to Deborah was specifically undermined... In addition, the musician continued to have a passion for Annick Honore. He could not go on like that... And his departure was a big shock for everyone: for the relatives, for the band, for the fans... After the death of the leader, the remaining members of Joy Division continued their activity, but as New Order. From the memories of Peter Hook:

"...Ian could be aggressive, but at the same time he wasn't like that inside... He was open, he went out of his way to meet people... He always set us up for success: 'We'll get through it!' he said... And he taught Sumner and me a lot..."

Release, success...

Cover of the single "love will tear us apart"
Cover of the single "love will tear us apart"

But let's get back to the song. Despite the fact that it was presented to the public in the fall of 1979, it did not become a hit track until the following summer... And, in many ways, its success was due to a tragic event: the death of the author himself...

As the years passed, "Love Will Tear Us Apart" was included in various prestigious tops, for example in the list of "500 best songs of all time". By the way: the video was made by the band themselves...

Interesting Facts…

  • Among the bands who recorded their cover of "Love Will Tear Us Apart" are U2 and The Cure.

  • The name of the composition is inscribed on the tombstone of its author...
  • Subsequently, a computer game of the same name was dedicated to this track!
  • In addition to personal experiences, there is a theory that Curtis wrote "Love Will Tear Us Apart" as a response to the track "Love Will Keep Us Together" by The Captain & Tennille.

  • In the book Destruction by Isabella Santacroce (a famous Italian writer), the main characters listen to this song on a rainy night, standing naked at the window...
  • For Peter Hook, this song evokes positive emotions, but with a touch of grief and depression:

"It's actually pretty weird because the lyrics are very dark, but I find this song very inspiring! No other Joy Division song works like that! People go crazy for this song when we play it live... But it's really quite dark and heavy..."

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Love Will Tear Us Apart (1980) – Joy Division – Всё о песне…

«Это на самом деле довольно странно, потому что текст очень мрачный, но я нахожу эту песню очень вдохновляющей! Ни одна другая песня Joy Division не работает так! Люди сходят с ума от этой песни, когда мы играем её вживую... Но она действительно довольно мрачная и тяжёлая...»

История песни «Love Will Tear Us Apart»

«Love Will Tear Us Apart» — знаменитый хит-трек британской рок-группы Joy Division. Он вышел на финальном сингле коллектива. Название переводится как «Любовь разорвёт нас на части», и… оно имеет очень большое и очень интимное значение для самого автора, Иэна Кёртиса…

Наверняка многие слушатели (а уж тем-более фанаты Joy Division) согласятся: сегодня творчество этого бэнда невозможно рассматривать иначе, как не через призму трагической кончины его лидера… И что касается «Love Will Tear Us Apart», то как выразились многие критики: «наконец-то нашёлся тот, кто действительно имел в виду то, о чём пел…» Но почему? Почему творчество Joy Division окутано мраком и душевными терзаниями? Не потому ли, что группа образовалась в Манчестере — бывшем индустриальном центре Британии, который к 70-м годам превратился в депрессивный уголок Земли? Как сказал в одном из своих интервью гитарист команды, Бернард Самнер: «…мы всегда искали нечто прекрасное, так как вокруг нас было одно уродство… И я не могу вам с точностью сказать, видел ли я хотя бы одно дерево до девяти лет…»

Идея песни, процесс создания…

Иэн Кёртис
Иэн Кёртис

Не секрет, что «Love Will Tear Us Apart» — целиком и полностью творение Иэна Кёртиса… Это — довольно тяжёлая лирика, повествующая о любви и душевных терзаниях… Вот небольшой фрагмент текста как пример:

«Взаимоуважение катится ко всем чертям.
Пока ещё в нас горит желание,
Хранимое нами на протяжении долгих лет,
Но любовь, любовь разорвёт нас на части…»

Очень многие слушатели уверены: Кёртис адресовал своё творение, опираясь на личный жизненный опыт… И это действительно так. Причём музыкант переживал эти сложные обстоятельства очень болезненно… Его болезненные отношения с супругой, а также роман на стороне, стали причиной его ухода… Но об этом чуть позже. А пока — вернёмся к песне. Коллеги Кёртиса по группе рассказывали о «Love Will Tear Us Apart» следующее:

Стивен Моррис: «…в ту пору группа переживала лучшие свои дни! Чего, к сожалению, нельзя было сказать об Иэне… У него были огромные проблемы, и связаны они были с его личной жизнью. Когда он показал нам эту песню, мы все решили, что это будет отличный трек! Но тогда я и предположить не мог, что он написал эту мрачную лирику о себе… Я просто сказал: «Да, это отличный текст!» Но сейчас… сейчас мне с трудом удаётся послушать эту песню, будучи в курсе всех этих обстоятельств…»

joy division
Joy Division

Бернард Самнер: «…он рано женился. Он был очень, очень молодым… И тогда перед ним стоял чертовски сложный выбор. Мы были уверены, что у Иэна всё хорошо с головой! Но… мы заблуждались… Как оказалось, у него было несколько образов: публичный для группы и фанатов, и настоящий, под которым он прятал свои личные проблемы… По сути — узнать о его личных трагедиях можно было лишь по его песням. Но мы не прислушивались к его лирике… Мы никогда не обсуждали друг с другом, что чёрт возьми означает тот или иной текст…»

Иэн Кёртис...
Иэн Кёртис…

Питер Хук: «…я проанализировал текст «Love Will Tear Us Apart» лишь тогда, когда мне предстояло спеть её снова…»

Но о какой личной трагедии идёт речь? Что так сильно волновало культового лидера Joy Division на последних этапах его жизни?

Личная трагедия…

Именно мрачный характер, которым наделял каждое своё творение Кёртис, и создал Joy Division репутацию беспросветно депрессивной группы… Его низкий, можно сказать практически безучастный голос ярко контрастировал с выступлениями на сцене, на которой Кёртис будто бы погружался в транс… Он очаровывал публику роботоподобными телодвижениями, которые до жути напоминали конвульсии… И он действительно страдал: очень, очень сильно…

А началось всё в конце 70-х: именно тогда, на концерте в Брюсселе, Кёртис познакомился с бельгийской журналисткой и музыкальным промоутером Анник Оноре. Между ними вспыхнула страсть, продолжением которой стал бешеный роман! Но его мучило чувство стыда, вины… У него была жена (которой, к слову, он запрещал как-либо контактировать с другими мужчинами) и дочь. Но желание быть рядом с Анник было намного сильней…

Всё дошло до того, что Кёртис потребовал от Самнера принять от его имени решение: остаться с женой, или дать волю чувствам и сойтись с бельгийкой… Самнер, разумеется, отказался принимать какие-либо решения за Кёртиса. Сама же Анник Оноре по прошествии многих лет заявила, что несмотря на их продолжительный роман, между ней и Кёртисом были исключительно платонические отношения… По воспоминаниям Питера Хука:

«…ему было очень плохо… Он постоянно корил себя, у него обострились эпилептические припадки… Он был дорог всем нам, но в то же время — он был сам себе худшим врагом…»

Иэн Кёртис....
Иэн Кёртис….

Болезнь Кёртиса прогрессировала. В результате припадки начали происходить прямо на сцене… Кёртис переживал сильнейшую депрессию. Брак с Деборой был конкретно подорван… Помимо этого, музыкант продолжал испытывать страсть к Анник Оноре. Он не смог так… И уход его оказался большим шоком для всех: для близких, для группы, для фанатов… После смерти лидера оставшиеся участники Joy Division продолжили свою деятельность, но только уже как New Order. Из воспоминаний Питера Хука:

«…Иэн мог быть агрессивным, но в тот же момент он не был таким внутри… Он был открыт, он шёл навстречу людям… Он всегда настраивал нас на успех: «Мы прорвёмся!», говорил он… И он многому научил нас с Самнером…»

Релиз, успех…

Обложка сингла «love will tear us apart»
Обложка сингла «love will tear us apart»

Но вернёмся вновь к песне. Несмотря на то, что представлена публике она была осенью 1979 года, хит-треком стала она лишь летом следующего года… И, во многом, успех был обусловлен трагическим событием: смертью, непосредственно, автора…

По прошествии многих лет «Love Will Tear Us Apart» была включена в различные престижные топы, к примеру в список «500 лучших песен всех времён». К слову: клип был снят группой самостоятельно…

Интересные факты…

  • Среди групп, записавших свою кавер-версию «Love Will Tear Us Apart», — U2 и The Cure.

  • Название композиции начертано на могильной плите её автора…
  • Впоследствии этому треку была посвящена одноимённая компьютерная игра!
  • Помимо личных переживаний, существует версия, что Кёртис написал «Love Will Tear Us Apart» как ответ на трек «Love Will Keep Us Together» группы The Captain & Tennille.

  • В книге «Разрушение» Изабеллы Сантакроче (известной итальянской писательницы) главные герои слушают эту песню дождливой ночью, стоя обнаженными у окна…
  • У Питера Хука эта песня вызывает положительные эмоции, но с оттенком горя и депрессии:

«Это на самом деле довольно странно, потому что текст очень мрачный, но я нахожу эту песню очень вдохновляющей! Ни одна другая песня Joy Division не работает так! Люди сходят с ума от этой песни, когда мы играем её вживую… Но она действительно довольно мрачная и тяжёлая…»

Единственная песня, которую Брайан Джонсон из AC/DC не исполнит никогда

Почему AC/DC отказываются от исполнения «It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)» AC/DC – легендарная австралийская рок-группа, сформированная в...

«Paranoid»: культовая классика Black Sabbath, написанная за считанные минуты

Хит «Paranoid» группы Black Sabbath: история и факты Не секрет, что некоторые из самых легендарных произведений родились за считанные минуты. Вообще говорят, что краткость –...

Киркоров был «другом» Майкла Джексона: выдумки или все-таки правда

Дружба Майкла Джексона и Филиппа Киркорова Майкл Джексон - американский поп-король, внесший колоссальный вклад в историю музыки. Однако вокруг него всегда было сосредоточено множество мифов,...
Похожие статьи

«Авария, предательство и не только»: несокрушимый дух Дона Пауэлла, барабанщика Slade

Легенда Slade Дон Пауэлл и его история: факты и интервью Он разменял восьмой десяток, но по-прежнему остаётся несокрушимой легендой. Дон Пауэлл, легендарно известный барабанщик Slade,...

Топ-5 культовых рок-альбомов, запись которых обернулась кошмаром

Легендарные рок-альбомы, запись которых обернулась кошмаром На первый взгляд, быть рок-звездой кажется самой приятной работой в мире! Твоя задача состоит только в том, чтобы сочинять...

Идеальные песни, положившие начало хард-року

Треки, положившие начало хард-року – топ лучших После легендарно известного «Лета любви» рок-н-ролл всё увереннее и увереннее обрастал шипами. Казалось, «мягкая» эпоха The Beatles и...

Лучшие «живые» классические рок-альбомы по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – часть вторая

Лучшие концертные классические рок-альбомы – часть вторая Мы обожаем сотни рок-групп и исполнителей, но прежде всего бешеная слава приходит к ним благодаря безупречно спродюсированным «студийникам»....

«Это лучшее что с ним случалось»: американец исполнил смус-джазовую версию популярной песни Витаса «7-ой элемент»

Американец исполнил кавер-версию хита Витаса  «Седьмой элемент» В интернете можно найти множество каверов на известные песни, но как вам необычный подход американского музыкального блоггера Andre...

Как итальянский герцог обманул Стинга и его жену: история покупки поместья «Villa Il Palagio» и его дальнейшая судьба

История поместья Стинга: как музыкант купил шикарную виллу и открыл свою винодельню Уже ставший культовым музыкантом Стинг приобрел виллу в Тоскане в конце 1990-х годов,...

Топ-5 шикарных «поздних» релизов легенд рока

Лучшие поздние релизы рок-звёзд Не каждая рок-звезда может поддерживать огонь до скончания веков. Вполне естественно, что исполнители стареют, и вы не ожидаете, что они будут...

«Создатель джаза», или печальная история Джелли «Ролл» Мортона

Джелли Ролл Мортон и его печальная история: биография и факты Хотя Джелли Ролл Мортон – это имя, о котором, возможно, слышали немногие, музыкант был –...

Лучшие песни в исполнении Дэна Маккаферти

Дэн Маккаферти и лучшие песни в его исполнении Дэн Маккаферти – легенда шотландской рок-группы Nazareth и один из самых узнаваемых голосов классического рока. Родившийся в...