Author:

Category:

Five legendary glam-rock bands of all time

It's great to revisit all those wild, yet positive performances - with all those heels and makeup and fancy costumes... No one is surprised by that today. But back then it resonated!

Their hard-hitting hits rumbled around the world - Here's a look back at five of the most powerful and incredibly popular glam rockers of their time

Glam Rock emerged in Great Britain at the height of the 70s. And it remained one of the dominant genres of the first half of the decade! The name speaks for itself: glam rockers were characterized by Eccentric outfits, bright makeupelevated theatricality on stage and a searing sound. Not all of them, but many of them became international stars! And then their killer hits rumbled on the radio all day long!

The public treated the flamboyant rockers in different ways: some of them admired and inspired, others were irritated... But the indifferent did not have. Even today, decades later, their contribution is very important. They influenced not only rock, but also culture and other musical genres! Who were they? We suggest you find out below. In this article we decided to remember five legendary ones glam rock bands of all time! Maybe you'll find your favorite band on our list...

T. Rex

T. Rex ("T Rex")
T. Rex ("T Rex")

Some listeners take the position that T. Rex not the most powerful glam rockers in history. In fact, the band started out as folk-rock duo of Mark Bolan and Steve Peregrin Tuck. But if you go deeper into the history, it becomes obvious: this band has a huge weight in the history of the glam-rock movement! It was T. Rex who pioneered the genre, and their sound was reflected in the work of hundreds of followers. In 1971 their album "Electric Warrior"which was instantly dubbed the groundbreaking glam-rock record! And so the story began...

The group has achieved a resounding success and literally led the followers of the glam-rock movement onto the world stage! But in 1977 it fell apart with the death of its leader Mark Bolan. Critic Ken Barnes called Bolan "the man who started it all," referring to glam rock.

Mott the Hoople

Mott the Hoople
Mott the Hoople

This British band was formed in the late 1960s. Borrowing its name from a novel by the playwright Willard Manushe musicians from Herefordshire began by playing experimental hard rock, generously saturating their compositions with notes of rhythm and blues and psychedelia. But at some point they drastically changed their vector and found themselves in the center of the gaining popularity. glam hangouts!

Much of this change was due to the success of the track "All the Young Dudes."who wrote for Mott the Hoople David Bowie. The single was later dubbed the anthem of the glam movement! Critics described the band's sound as very brash and ferocious. And it inspired many heavy metal and punk bands, including The Clash.

Roxy Music

Roxy Music
Roxy Music

Roxy Music - is one of the most interesting bands on our list. It is multifaceted in terms of genres - together with glam-rock there is new wave, progressive-rock, proto-punk, disco and a lot more! In a word - the audience was delighted extraordinary sound of the London band. And critics called Roxy Music's early work "a triumph of theatricality"! The trademark was the fusion of high fashion, romance, melancholy and future-oriented.

Basically, the work of this band was divided into two components: the Bryan Ferrywho has read art rock, and on Brian Enowho was a matriarch. glam rocker! Roxy Music has had a tremendous impact on music culture, making the band often referred to as "one of the greatest of the '70s period!"

Slade

Slade
Slade

Slade captivated the audience with their with a rumbling sound and at the same time pleasant from the melodic point of view songs. The hard-edged voice Noddy Holder with their trademark huskiness became, one might say, the voice of a generation! The British rockers quickly attracted attention due to their fanciful outfits, which some listeners are still amazed by to this day: cylinders, checkered pants, huge ties, original "gowns" (or something like that). In general, Slade made a real fashion revolution of those years.

Today this group is rightly considered to be leader glam rock movement.

Kiss

Kiss on the streets of New York, 1976. Photo: Richard Corkery
Kiss on the streets of New York, 1976. Photo: Richard Corkery

And of course Kiss! That's probably the first thing that comes to mind when thinking about glam rock. The guys in heels, with crazy makeup and a lush "explosion" on their heads quickly attracted attention! Girls were crazy about them - even some of their colleagues admired the courage of the American band! Each of their concerts was real show - theatricality was high. So was the commitment to the cause: one day the poor man Ace Frehley I almost went blind because I didn't take off my elaborate silver makeup for the night!

Without Kiss and the others on our list, it's impossible to imagine the rock scene of the 70's today! And it is even harder to imagine what would have become of the genre in the end if glam rock did not originate and did not receive such popularization! After all, its influence colossal! And it's great to revisit all those wild, yet positive performances - with all those heels, makeup, and fancy costumes... No one is surprised by that today. But back then it resonated!

Spectacular David Bowie!
Spectacular David Bowie!

And yes: David Bowie in his cosmic image Ziggy Stardust became one of those who opened doors for him.

Part 2

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

Пять легендарных глэм-рок групп за всю историю

Очень здорово пересмотреть все эти дикие, но вместе с тем позитивные выступления – со всеми этими каблуками, макияжем и причудливыми костюмами... Сегодня этим никого не удивить. Но тогда это был резонанс!

Их забористые хиты грохотали на весь мир – Вспоминаем пять самых мощных и невероятно популярных в своё время глэм-рокеров

Глэм-рок возник в Великобритании в самом расцвете 70-х. И именно он оставался одним из доминирующих жанров первой половины десятилетия! Название говорит за себя: для глэм-рокеров были характерны эксцентричные наряды, яркий макияж, повышенная театральность на сцене и забористый звук. Не все, но многие из них становились звёздами мировой величины! И тогда их убойные хиты грохотали на радио сутками напролёт!

Публика относилась к эпатажным рокерам по-разному: одних они восхищали и вдохновляли, других раздражали… Но равнодушных не было. И сегодня, по прошествии десятилетий, их вклад очень важен. Они повлияли не только на рок, но и на культуру и другие музыкальные жанры! Кто же они? Предлагаем узнать ниже. В этой статье мы решили вспомнить пять легендарных глэм-рок групп за всю историю! Быть может, в нашем списке вы встретите свой любимый коллектив…

T. Rex

T. Rex («Ти Рэкс»)
T. Rex («Ти Рэкс»)

Некоторые слушатели придерживаются позиции, что T. Rex не самые мощные глэм-рокеры в истории. Собственно, начинала группа как фолк-рок дуэт из Марка Болана и Стива Перегрина Тука. Но если углубиться в историю, становится очевидно: этот коллектив имеет огромный вес в истории глэм-рок движения! Именно T. Rex стояли у истоков этого жанра, а их звучание отразилось в творчестве сотен последователей. В 1971 году вышел их альбом «Electric Warrior», который в миг окрестили новаторской глэм-роковой пластинкой! Так началась история…

Группа добилась оглушительного успеха и буквально вела за собой последователей глэм-рок-движения на мировую арену! Но в 1977 году распалась – не стало её лидера Марка Болана. Критик Кен Барнс называл Болана «человеком, который всё это начал», имея в виду глэм-рок.

Mott the Hoople

Mott the Hoople
Mott the Hoople

Эта британская группа была образована на закате 60-х. Позаимствовав название у романа драматурга Уилларда Мануса, музыканты из Херефордшира начинали с того, что играли экспериментальный хард-рок, щедро насыщая свои композиции нотками ритм-энд-блюза и психоделии. Но в какой-то момент кардинально сменили свой вектор и оказались в центре набирающей популярность глэм-тусовки!

Во многом эти перемены были связаны с успехом трека «All the Young Dudes», который для Mott the Hoople написал Дэвид Боуи. Впоследствии сингл окрестили гимном глэм-движения! Критики охарактеризовали звучание коллектива как очень дерзкое и свирепое. И именно оно вдохновило многие хеви-метал и панк- группы, включая The Clash.

Roxy Music

Roxy Music
Roxy Music

Roxy Music – одна из интереснейших групп в нашем списке. Она многогранна в плане жанров – вместе с глэм-роком здесь уместились и новая волна, и прогрессив-рок, и протопанк, и даже диско и много чего ещё! Одним словом – публика была восхищена неординарным звучанием лондонского бэнда. А критики называли раннее творчество Roxy Music «триумфом театральности»! Фирменной фишкой было слияние высокой моды, романтики, меланхолии и устремлённости в будущее.

В основном, творчество этого бэнда делили на две составляющих: на Брайана Ферри, который почитал арт-рок, и на Брайана Ино, который был матёрым глэм-рокером! Roxy Music оказала колоссальное влияние на музыкальную культуру, из-за чего группу часто называют «одной из величайших за период 70-х!»

Slade

Slade
Slade

Slade покорили публику своим грохочущим звуком и в то же время приятными с мелодической точки зрения песнями. Забористый голос Нодди Холдера с фирменной хрипотцой стал, можно сказать, голосом поколения! Британские рокеры быстро привлекли к себе внимание и за счёт причудливых нарядов, удивляться которым некоторые слушатели не перестают по сей день: цилиндры, клетчатые штаны, огромные галстуки, оригинальные «халаты» (или что-то в этом роде). В общем – Slade произвели настоящую модную революцию тех лет.

Сегодня эта группа по праву считается лидером глэм-рок движения.

Kiss

Группа Kiss на улицах Нью-Йорка, 1976 г. Фото: Ричард Коркери
Группа Kiss на улицах Нью-Йорка, 1976 г. Фото: Ричард Коркери

Ну и конечно же Kiss! Это, наверное, первое, что приходит на ум во время размышлений о глэм-роке. Парни на каблуках, с безумным гримом и пышным «взрывом» на голове быстро привлекли к себе внимание! Девушки были от них без ума – да даже некоторые коллеги по цеху восхищались смелостью американского коллектива! Каждый их концерт был настоящим шоу – театральность была высока. Как и приверженность к делу: однажды бедняга Эйс Фрейли чуть не ослеп из-за того, что не снял сложный грим с использованием серебра на ночь!

Без Kiss и других представителей нашего списка сегодня невозможно представить рок-сцену 70-х! А ещё сложнее представить, что стало бы с жанром в конечном итоге, если бы глэм-рок не зародился и не получил такую популяризацию! Ведь его влияние колоссально! И очень здорово пересмотреть все эти дикие, но вместе с тем позитивные выступления – со всеми этими каблуками, макияжем и причудливыми костюмами… Сегодня этим никого не удивить. Но тогда это был резонанс!

Эффектный Дэвид Боуи!
Эффектный Дэвид Боуи!

И да: Дэвид Боуи в своём космическом образе Зигги Стардаста стал одним из тех, кто открыл ему двери.

Часть 2

9kFollowers

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Похожие статьи

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...