Author:
Category:

Michael Winslow – the story of the world's most popular beatboxer

“It was a real adventure,” he said. “I feel very, very lucky! I just don't know what to think about it half the time. I am very grateful that I had such an opportunity ... "

Full biography of Michael Winslow - the legendary beatboxer and actor

You probably remember him from the movie "Police Academy"! Michael Winslow is widely known as an actor and comedian. But besides that, I also know him as the most popular beatboxer in the world! It is not for nothing that he bears the title of "Man of 10,000 Sound Effects": his ability to make realistic sounds using only his own voice is truly unique ...

Frame from the film "Police Academy" (1984)
Frame from the film "Police Academy" (1984)

As a child, he had no friends, and this marked the beginning of his dazzling talent ... What else do we not know about this amazing person? Let's take a look at his biography below...

Early years

Michael Winslow was born in Spokane, Washington to Verdi and Robert Winslow. He grew up at Fairchild Air Force Base near Spokane and later attended the Lisa Mail School of Acting, Modeling and Visualization. According to his mother, as a child, Michael loved to make various sounds with his mouth: the future artist imitated the sounds of a jet engine, animals ... In a word - Winslow did not have to be bored! Michael himself recalled:

“Growing up on the Air Force base, it was difficult for me to make friends, so I made imaginary friends for myself - mostly cats and dogs. Then I started imitating various sounds. It kept me occupied at the time... When you're in these places, there's nothing there, so you pretty much do it for yourself. You pretty much make your own friends…”

Michael Winslow at the beginning of his career and today...
Michael Winslow at the beginning of his career and today...

So, growing up at Fairchild Air Force Base was the catalyst for his impersonation skills! As Winslow himself said, while watching movies, he turned off the sound and created his own soundtracks with his voice!

https://youtu.be/8Z7Rv4cy1Ks

After graduating from high school, Michael made his first professional appearance at a Colorado State club. In college, he continued to perform in nightclubs and theaters, where his sound imitating skills earned him positive grades and enough money to leave for Hollywood ...

Career Launch

Michael Winslow...
Michael Winslow...

Michael performed with a band that he heard loved Jimi Hendrix! And he thought: “Why not portray a great guitarist?” He had a lot of props in reserve, including his mother's Afro wig... He was very nervous, but the audience was stunned by his performance of Purple Haze! The applause and applause seemed to be endless ... From that moment on, Michael knew his calling: he wanted to be an artist!

https://youtu.be/rVUw62pxDGw

Michael packed his bags and hitchhiked to Venice Beach where he was left homeless for a short time... He soon auditioned for The Gong Show hosted by the infamous Chuck Barris and won a crazy $516 prize! He was no longer homeless. Soon the doors of all comedy clubs in Los Angeles were opened for Winslow ...

Success

Michael Winslow
Michael Winslow

Toward the mid-1980s, Michael finally smiled big luck: he was noticed by director Hugh Wilson and producer Paul Maslansky! It happened in the theater on Long Beach, where he performed as an opening act for the incomparable Count Basie and his orchestra ... Needless to say, Wilson and Maslansky were shocked! They immediately wrote him into the script of the legendary film masterpiece "Police Academy"! For Winslow, it was a happy ticket to a great and bright future ...

As soon as the film was released, it became an instant success, and so did Michael! The status of a star and a cult beatboxer is firmly entrenched in him. Just take a look at his game:

He later starred in Mel Brooks' Spaceballs, a film that helped propel him into the limelight as a comedian. A man with a special talent who made generations laugh - Michael Winslow also voiced many projects, including the film "Gremlins" (some vocal effects in the voice acting of Mogwai and Gremlins)

Michael Winslow
Michael Winslow

We can hear him in the iconic Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas! Currently, Winslow can also be heard on Family Guy.

Conclusion

Mr. Michael Winslow has a truly fantastic ability! He can recreate over 10,000 sounds with just his voice... And it's really brilliant! And it doesn't matter if he recreates the madness of Jimi Hendrix on stage, or the roar of a jet plane - in any case, his talent is wonderful! And his versatility is worthy of special admiration from his generations of fans... He does a lot of soundtrack work and also performs incredible renditions of tunes like Led Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love" and Jimi Hendrix's "Purple Haze".

The most charming thing about this whole story is that Winslow continues to perform in stand-up comedies around the world. The artist also introduced his own apps for the iPhone and iPod Touch in 2010: for example, NoizeyMan, containing videos, ringtones, sound effects and mini-games created by Winslow, was named "The Noisiest App in the World"! When asked to reflect on his career, Winslow couldn't believe he'd turned a childhood habit into a full-time career, but he's grateful for the experience:

“It was a real adventure,” he said. “I feel very, very lucky! I just don't know what to think about it half the time. I am very grateful that I had this opportunity…”

"Mongol Shudan - domestic kings of anarcho-rock

Mongol Shuudan" band: history of creation, cast, best songs, interesting facts, influence Russian rock is a unique genre, which gave the domestic listener a huge collection of material, which can be the envy of...

A Real People's Idol: Joe Dassin and Russia

All about Joe Dassin: early years, hits and love for Russia Despite the fact that many artists often left Russia because they were not given...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...
Related Articles

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Автор:
Категория:

Майкл Уинслоу (Michael Winslow) – история самого популярного в мире битбоксера

«Это было настоящее приключение», — сказал он. «Я чувствую себя очень, очень удачливым! Я просто не знаю, что думать об этом в половине случаев. Я очень благодарен, что у меня появилась такая возможность...»

Полная биография Майкла Уинслоу – легендарного битбоксера и актёра

Вы наверняка помните его по фильму «Полицейская академия»! Майкл Уинслоу широко известен как актёр и комик. Но помимо этого, его также знаю как самого популярного в мире битбоксера! Не даром он носит титул «Человек 10 000 звуковых эффектов»: его способность издавать реалистичные звуки, используя только свой собственный голос, поистине уникальна…

Кадр из фильма «Полицейская академия» (1984)
Кадр из фильма «Полицейская академия» (1984)

В детстве у него не было друзей, и это положило начало его ослепительному таланту… Чего ещё мы не знаем об этом потрясающем человеке? Предлагаем изучить его биографию ниже…

Ранние годы

Майкл Уинслоу родился в Спокане, штат Вашингтон, в семье Верди и Роберта Уинслоу. Он вырос на базе ВВС Фэйрчайлд недалеко от Спокана, а затем учился в Школе актерского мастерства, моделирования и визуализации Лизы Мэйл. По рассказам его матери, в детстве Майкл любил издавать различные звуки при помощи своего рта: будущий артист имитировал звуки реактивного двигателя, животных… Одним словом — Уинслоу не приходилось скучать! Сам Майкл вспоминал:

«Когда я рос на базе ВВС, мне было трудно заводить друзей, поэтому я заводил себе вымышленных друзей — в основном это были коты и собаки. Тогда я начал имитировать различные звуки. В тот момент это помогало мне занять себя… Когда ты в этих местах, там ничего нет, так что ты в значительной степени делаешь это для себя. Вы в значительной степени сами заводите себе друзей…»

Майкл Уинслоу в начале своей карьеры и сегодня...
Майкл Уинслоу в начале своей карьеры и сегодня…

Так, время, когда он рос на базе ВВС Фэйрчайлд, послужило катализатором для развития его таланта подражания! Как рассказывал сам Уинслоу, во время просмотра фильмов он отключал звук и создавал собственные саундтреки при помощи своего голоса!

https://youtu.be/8Z7Rv4cy1Ks

Окончив среднюю школу Майкл впервые выступил на профессиональном уровне в клубе штата Колорадо. В колледже он продолжил выступать в ночных клубах и театрах, где его навыки имитации звука принесли ему положительную оценку и достаточно денег, чтобы уехать в Голливуд…

Начало карьеры

Майкл Уинслоу...
Майкл Уинслоу…

Майкл выступал с группой, которая, как он слышал, обожала Джими Хендрикса! И он подумал: «А почему бы не изобразить великого гитариста?» В запасе у него было много реквизита, включая афро-парик матери… Он очень нервничал, но публика была ошеломлена его исполнением Purple Haze! Овации и аплодисменты были, казалось, нескончаемыми… С этого момента Майкл знал своё призвание: он хотел быть артистом!

https://youtu.be/rVUw62pxDGw

Майкл собрал чемоданы и автостопом поехал на Венис-Бич, где на короткое время остался бездомным… Вскоре он прошёл прослушивание на The Gong Show, организованное печально известным Чаком Бэррисом, и выиграл сумасшедший приз в размере 516 долларов! Больше он не был бездомным. Вскоре для Уинслоу были открыты двери всех комедийных клубов Лос-Анджелеса…

Успех

Майкл Уинслоу
Майкл Уинслоу

Ближе к середине 1980-х Майклу наконец-то улыбнулась большая удача: он был замечен режиссёром Хью Уилсоном и продюсером Полом Масланским! Произошло это в театре на Лонг-Бич, где он выступал на разогреве у несравненного Каунта Бейси и его оркестра… Излишне говорить, что Уилсон и Масланский были потрясены! Они немедленно вписали его в сценарий легендарного киношедевра «Полицейская академия»! Для Уинслоу это был счастливый билет в большое и светлое будущее…

Как только фильм вышел на экраны, он мгновенно стал успешным, и Майкл тоже! Статус звезды и культового битбоксера прочно закрепился за ним. Только взгляните на его игру:

Позже он играл в «Космических яйцах» Мела Брукса: этот фильм помог ему продвинуться в центр всеобщего внимания как комедийному актёру. Человек с особым талантом, который смешил поколения — Майкл Уинслоу также озвучивал множество проектов, включая фильм «Гремлины» (некоторые вокальные эффекты в озвучке Mogwai и Gremlins)

Майкл Уинслоу
Майкл Уинслоу

Мы можем слышать его в культовой игре «Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas»! В настоящее время Уинслоу также можно услышать в «Гриффинах».

Заключение

Мистер Майкл Уинслоу обладает поистине фантастической способностью! Он может воссоздать более 10 000 звуков при помощи только своего голоса… И это действительно гениально! И совершенно неважно, воссоздаёт ли он безумие Джими Хендрикса на сцене, или рёв реактивного самолёта, — в любом случае его талант замечателен! А его универсальность достойна отдельного восхищения от разных поколений его поклонников… Он много работает над саундтреками, а также выполняет невероятные исполнения таких мелодий, как «Whole Lotta Love» Led Zeppelin и «Purple Haze» Джими Хендрикса.

Самое очаровательное во всей этой истории то, что Уинслоу продолжает выступать в стендап-комедиях по всему миру. Артист также представил собственные приложения для iPhone и iPod Touch в 2010 году: так, NoizeyMan, содержащее видео, рингтоны, звуковые эффекты и мини-игры, созданные Уинслоу, было названо «Самым шумным приложением в мире»! Когда его попросили поразмышлять о своей карьере, Уинслоу не мог поверить, что ему удалось превратить детскую привычку в полноценную карьеру, но он благодарен за полученный опыт:

«Это было настоящее приключение», — сказал он. «Я чувствую себя очень, очень удачливым! Я просто не знаю, что думать об этом в половине случаев. Я очень благодарен, что у меня появилась такая возможность…»

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...