Author:
Category:

"Are you sure" - why Michael Jackson is recognized as the King of Pop

Today in our article we will try to understand the phenomenon of Michael Jackson: what role talent plays in his success and how the singer got the nickname "King of Pop", as well as how fair this title of musician in relation to other stars.

Michael Jackson's Fame: Marketing or True Talent?

In today's world, where trends change one after another almost every day and the Internet is flooded with a huge amount of content, it is very difficult to understand what media personalities are famous for. Certainly, there is a lot to be said for outrage, innovation, and quality marketing, but is there any room in all of this for talent?

Such a question can be asked of many artists. Today we are going to look at what main The components of Michael Jackson's popularity and whether he is rightly called the "King of Pop.

Grand Tours

Michael Jackson on the Bad World Tour
Michael Jackson on the Bad World Tour

The fame, albeit small, came to the singer during his participation in the band The Jackson 5In which he participated with his brothers. After leaving the band, Jackson recorded the album "bad", published in 1985.

Bad World Tour 

After recording the record "Bad" in the mid-80s, Michael went to his first world tour in support of the album. It lasted about 16 months; the musician visited 15 countries, and his concerts were attended by more than 4 million humanincluding Princess Diana and Prince Charles. In total, at Wembley Stadium in London, the artist gave 7 concertsThe number of concerts in one venue went down in history as the largest number of concerts ever held.

Dangerous World Tour

In 1992, there was a second the singer's solo tour. It was in support of his new album "Dangerous."which came out the year before.

The world tour took place in two stages: the first started in Munich and ended in Tokyo, and the second started in Bangkok and ended in Mexico City. The most spectacular performance of the tour is rightly considered to be the concert in BucharestThe show was broadcast in 61 countries and was later bought out by HBO. This performance was televised in 61 countries, and the tape was later bought out by HBO for 20 million dollars.

HIStory World Tour

"HIStory World Tour has become. last the singer's big tour. The musician visited 35 countries during the year, managed to perform in Moscow в 1996. Before the start of the tour, the singer gave a free concert in Brunei's largest city on the occasion of the sultan's birthday.

The promo for the tour was really stunning: it was made for the ten meter statue "pop king." At the moment it is in Austria. The total number of such statues was twoThey were set up in each city where concerts were held.

He knew how to "sell" his name

Michael Jackson
Michael Jackson

There are many versions of how Michael got his nickname. According to one of them, "the king of pop, rock and soul" was named by a famous American actress Elizabeth TaylorThe musician's popularity came during the heyday of the Hollywood film industry. And indeed, the musician in his work resorted to mixing of musical styles; this is vividly reflected in his 6th studio album.

But the secret of Jackson's popularity lies not only in good music. The musician, who also happens to be choreographer; He invented and staged most of his moves himself. The famous "moonwalk" was also staged by him personally.

Michael Jackson on the Bad World Tour
Michael Jackson on the Bad World Tour

The singer's self-expression took place not only in dancing and music, but also in at clips. As the music video industry began to evolve, Michael, unlike the early video releases, made a whole art out of them. With the emergence of music videos such as "Billy Jean," "Thriller," and "Bad," not only audio became important to the music business, but also video content. The singer's series of talent-driven videos was the beginning of the song's music video being a mini-story, told in a colorful and interesting way.

Another important factor in Michael Jackson's fame was that he actually cut through the way to black performers on the big screens. Previously, the fashion channel MTV did not accept him in rotation because of its politics. The appearance of the artist on the developing and gaining popularity channel broken rule about performing only white artists on television. In addition, with the help of the singer happened transition from radio to television broadcasting.

Michael on stage on the Dangerous World Tour
Michael on stage on the Dangerous World Tour

Epatage Michael only fueled the public. Bright outfits, grandiose shows, eccentric antics of the singer aroused great interest in his person, and the tabloids, full of headlines and rumors about the musician, simply elevated him to the most peak of musical Olympus.

Only he could drive the audience crazy by standing on the spot

Every concert on the Dangerous World Tour began with the singer taking the stage and, for 10 minutes still stood in front of a crowd of thousands. The admirers, sobbing, came to ecstasy only of the kind pop king - that's how much they loved him.

This proves that for many people Michael Jackson was not only a talented singer, but practically by Godwho was beautiful both in his skillful movements on stage and in the clips, and statically.

Or is it overrated after all...

Michael in the era of the Bad album
Michael in the era of the Bad album

But Not all Michael is considered to be the true "King of Pop. Some argue that he invented his famous nickname myself, and there were no other versions of the appearance of such a Jackson title. Criticized and stealth The singer was a very popular singer; while stars on par with him walk freely without hiding their faces, Michael tried to get away from the intrusive paparazzi in every way he could. Here it is important to make a remark: not every public person can withstand such an influx of reporters and journalists while in a public place, so it is quite a controversial point.

Some online users feel that the so-called innovation Jackson in the music video industry is also not due to his talent, but to successful time getting into that milieu. Sometimes the public is inclined to believe that Michael would not have been so popular had it not been for the banal Luck.

Michael Jackson
Michael Jackson

Undoubtedly, there are many different opinions about Is it fair to call Michael Jackson "the king of pop. But to deny him altogether colossal contribution to the art of music is not worth it either. What do you think: Is Michael really "king of pop"?

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...

The strongest albums in Russian rock in the 90s according to Fuzz Music magazine - Top 6

Top 6 Coolest Russian Rock Albums of the 90s by Fuzz Music In the 1990s, music was on the cusp of an era. Important political events in the history of...

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...
Related Articles

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Автор:
Категория:

«А точно ли» – почему Майкл Джексон признан королём поп-музыки

Сегодня в нашей статье попытаемся разобраться с феноменом Майкла Джексона: какую роль в его успехе играет талант и как певец получил прозвище «король поп-музыки»., а также насколько справедливо это звание музыканта по отношению к другим звездам.

Известность Майкла Джексона: грамотный маркетинг или истинный талант?

В современном мире, где тренды сменяются друг за другом практически каждый день и Интернет наводнён огромным количеством контента, весьма трудно понять, за чем стоит известность медийных личностей. Безусловно, многое решают эпатаж, новаторство и качественный маркетинг, но есть ли во всем этом место таланту?

Такой вопрос можно поставить в отношении многих артистов. Сегодня мы рассмотрим, каковы главные составляющие популярности Майкла Джексона и справедливо ли его называют «королем поп-музыки».

Грандиозные туры

Майкл Джексон во время тура Bad World Tour
Майкл Джексон во время тура Bad World Tour

Известность, хоть и небольшая, пришла к певцу еще во времена его участия в группе The Jackson 5, в котором он участвовал вместе со своими братьями. После ухода из коллектива, Джексон записал альбом «Bad», вышедший в 1985 году.

Bad World Tour 

После записи пластинки «Bad» в середине 80-х Майкл отправился в свой первый мировой тур в поддержку альбома. Он продолжался около 16 месяцев; музыкант посетил 15 стран, а зрителями его концертов стали более 4 миллионов человек, включая Принцессу Диану и Принца Чарльза. Всего на стадионе Уэмбли в Лондоне артист дал 7 концертов, что вошло в историю как самое большое количество концертов на одной площадке.

Dangerous World Tour

В 1992 году проходил второй сольный тур певца. Он проходил в поддержку его нового альбома «Dangerous», который вышел годом ранее.

Мировой тур проходил в два этапа: первый начинался в Мюнхене и заканчивался в Токио, а второй стартовал в Бангкоке и завершился в Мехико. Самым эффектным выступлением тура по праву считается концерт в Бухаресте, на который пришло около 90 тысяч человек. Это выступление транслировался в 61 стране по телевидению, а позже запись была выкуплена HBO за 20 миллионов долларов.

HIStory World Tour

«HIStory World Tour» стал последним большим туром певца. Музыкант посетил 35 стран за год, успел выступить в Москве в 1996. Перед началом тура певец дал бесплатный концерт в крупнейшем городе Брунея по случаю дня рождения султана.

Промо-акция для тура была действительно ошеломляющей: для нее была изготовлена десятиметровая статуя «поп-короля». В данный момент она находится в Австрии. Всего таких статуй был две; они устанавливались в каждом городе, в котором проходили концерты.

Он знал, как «продавать» своё имя

Michael Jackson
Michael Jackson

Существует множество версий того, как Майкл получил свое прозвище. По одной из них, «королем поп-музыки, рока и соула» его назвала известная американская актриса Элизабет Тейлор, популярность которой пришлась на время расцвета голливудского кинематографа. И действительно, музыкант в своем творчестве прибегал к смешению музыкальных стилей; это ярко отражается в его 6 студийном альбоме.

Но секрет популярности Джексона кроется не только в хорошей музыке. Музыкант, по совместительству хореограф; большинство своих движений он придумывал и ставил сам. Знаменитая «лунная походка» также была поставлена им лично.

Майкл Джексон во время тура Bad World Tour
Майкл Джексон во время тура Bad World Tour

Самовыражение певца происходило не только в танцах и музыке, но и в клипах. Когда клип-индустрия стала развиваться, Майкл, в отличие от выпускающихся ранне видео, сделал из них целое искусство. С появлением клипов, таких как «Billy Jean», «Thriller», «Bad», для музыкального бизнеса стал важен не только аудио-, но и видео-контент. Серия талантливо поставленных видеоклипов певца стала началом того, чтобы клип на песню был мини-историей, рассказанной красочно и интересно.

Еще одним немаловажным фактором известности Майкла Джексона было то, что он фактически прорубил дорогу на большие экраны чернокожим исполнителям. Ранее модный телеканал MTV не принимал его в ротацию из-за своей политики. Появление артиста на развивающемся и набирающем популярность канале сломило правило о выступлении на телевидении только белокожих артистов. Кроме того, с помощью певца случился переход от радио к телевещанию.

Майкл на сцене во время тура Dangerous World Tour
Майкл на сцене во время тура Dangerous World Tour

Эпатаж Майкла только подогревал общественность. Яркие наряды, грандиозные шоу, эксцентричные выходки певца вызывали огромный интерес к его персоне, а таблоиды, пестрившие заголовками и слухами о музыканте, просто возводили его на самую вершину музыкального Олимпа.

Только он мог сводить публику с ума, стоя на месте

Каждый концерт тура «Dangerous World Tour» начинался с того, что певец выходил на сцену и в течение 10 минут неподвижно стоял перед многотысячной толпой. Поклонники, рыдая, приходили в экстаз только от вида поп-короля – так они любили его.

Это доказывает, что Майкл Джексон для многих людей был не только талантливым певцом, но и практически богом, который был прекрасен как в своих искусных движениях на сцене и в клипах, так и в статике.

Или всё-таки переоценен…

Майкл в эпоху альбома Bad
Майкл в эпоху альбома Bad

Но не все считают Майкла истинным «поп-королем». Некоторые утверждают, что знаменитое прозвище он выдумал себе сам, и не было никаких других версий появления такого звания Джексона. Критикуется и скрытность певца; в то время, как звезды, стоящие с ним наравне по уровню известности, свободно ходят, не скрывая лица, Майкл всячески пытался уйти от назойливых папарацци. Тут важно сделать ремарку: не каждый публичный человек выдержит такой наплыв репортеров и журналистов во время нахождения в общественном месте, поэтому это довольно спорный момент.

Некоторым пользователям сети кажется, что так называемое новаторство Джексона в клип-индустрии тоже объясняется не его талантом, а удачным временем попадания в эту среду. Иногда публика склоняется к тому, что Майкл не был бы столь популярен, если бы не банальное везение.

Майкл Джексон
Майкл Джексон

Несомненно, существует много разных мнений насчет того, справедливо ли называть Майкл Джексона «поп-королем». Но и совсем отрицать его колоссальный вклад в музыкальное искусство тоже не стоит. А как думаете вы: действительно ли Майкл – «король поп-музыки»?

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...

«Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: последняя песня, исполненная королём Пресли

Всё о песне «Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: когда и кем была исполнена, история и каверы Потеря кумиров всегда очень травматичное событие, но как...

Лемми Килмистер и его лучшие роли в кино

Всё о Лемми Килмистере: успех группы, роли в кино, байопик о легенде Рок-звёзды, сделавшие музыку своей жизнью и внёсшие огромный вклад в развитие жанра, проявляли...
Похожие статьи

Знаменитый хит группы «Ноль», клип к которому видел каждый

История песни «Иду, курю» группы «Ноль»: интересные факты, клип «Песня о безответной любви к Родине» – альбом с безусловными хитами, который входит в число знаковых...

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную...

Она подарила детство: вспоминаем легендарную Елену Камбурову

Всё о Елене Камбуровой: детство, развитие творчества, известность Не каждый зритель может по достоинству оценить душевный вклад артиста в творчество, однако есть люди, которые понимают...

Он исполнил лучшие хиты начала 2000-х – где сегодня Сергей Жуков

Всё о Сергее Жукове: ранние годы, создание группы, факты В 90-е годы в России происходят колоссальные изменения. Новый виток истории рождается и в музыке: на...

Крутые песни Цоя, которые слышали только самые преданные поклонники

Малоизвестные песни Цоя, которые могут претендовать на звание хитов «Кино» – одна из самых необычных групп в истории русского рока. С одной стороны – ею...

Крутые каверы на хиты русского рока и одна прекрасная пародия – Топ-6

«Звёздные» кавер-версии на знаменитые композиции русского рока Каверы сейчас проживают в музыкальном бизнесе «новую жизнь». Некоторые перепевки становятся настолько известными, что затмевают оригинальные композиции. Так,...

Где сегодня «Земляне» – группа, чьи хиты напевал весь СССР

Все о группе «Земляне»: история создания, творчество, хиты У групп, начавших свою историю во времена Советского Союза, история богата событиями. Сейчас можно найти не так...

Британские рокеры, которых обожали в СССР

Топ британских рокеров, которых обожали в СССР Несмотря на все запреты и трудности, вызванные «добычей» пластинок с подобной музыкой, в Советском Союзе зарубежный рок-н-ролл просто...

Gibson: история одного бренда, который чуть не утратил доверие рок-звёзд

Gibson: история создания бренда, успехи и неудачи В истории каждой знаменитой фирмы есть свои взлеты и падения. Практически невозможно найти бренд, который на протяжении всего...