Author:
Category:

"Mother's Milk," or the redeeming Red Hot Chili Peppers classic that broke new ground

The commercial breakthrough hit RHCP only after the release of their next work, Blood Sugar Sex Magik. But "Mother's Milk" still carries weight: its fusion of funk, hip-hop and hard rock clearly paved the way for the subsequent achievements of the band, which eventually gained the status of legendary...

Remember "Mother's Milk," the legendary Red Hot Chili Peppers album that might not have been

It's easy to forget that today, but in the late '80s Red Hot Chili Peppers were not as influential a funk-rock band as you and I used to think of them. What's more: their story could have been completely different, because in 1989 the band's career almost went off the rails... It was turning pointBut the young rockers managed to turn adversity into an advantage and make a giant step forward!

Today we are going to talk about "Mother's Milk."The album proved to the world, to fans and to the members of the RHCP in the first place: any tragedy can be overcomeand even more - to restore yourself and your sound with an innovative approach!

Tragedies as prerequisites

Red Hot Chili Peppers (RHCP)
Red Hot Chili Peppers (RHCP)

"Mother's Milk" became deserved breakthrough Red Hot Chili Peppers. The record demonstrated an innovative approach and truly explosive sound, skillfully realized in 13 tracks. By the way: RHCP had been drawing their funk influences for years, when they were students and worked with the king of funk George Clinton on their second studio record "Freaky Styley". But what really influenced them tremendously during the recording of "Mother's Milk" (that's how the title translates) was... tragedies.

Rather, though, there was only one serious tragedy: and that was the death of Hillel Slovakia - the guitarist, founder and creative leader of the band. He passed away after taking too many substances. He was only 26 years old. It's not hard to guess that after what happened, the RHCP members were faced with complete ignorance about their future. The departure of the drummer added its own colors Jack Irons.

Hillel Slovak
Hillel Slovak

Something had to be done immediately, or the story of the Chili Peppers would end before it had even begun. The first thing Kiedis did was to get rid of his own addictions. After that. The lineup has reformed: the band was joined by the percussionist Chad Smith and a phenomenal teenage guitarist John Frusciante.

Controversy

dzhon frushante 4
John Frusciante

The renewed lineup gave the opportunity to "climb into uncharted territory." - to experiment, to try something new... The band, like the producer Michael Bainhorn, made the most of the situation, even if there was tension between them. And it couldn't have happened without that, given the presence of the very young Frusante in the studio! From Kidis' memories:

"John and Michael were literally fighting over the sound! Bainhorn demanded a powerful, crunchy, almost metallic guitar tone from Frusante, whereas before we always had interesting acid-rock-style guitar tones, and lots of sleek, sexy, funky guitar tones. The problem was also that John was drowning out the sound of other instruments and even my vocals with his playing!"

Flie and John Frusante
Flie and John Frusante

Nevertheless, the sessions were safely completed. Despite the clash of personalities, both fans and the musicians were pleased with the end result.

A little bit about the tracks

Red Hot Chili Peppers
Red Hot Chili Peppers

By releasing "Mother's Milk, the band showed that they had regained their energy - perhaps even more unrestrained than before! With this record it also became clear that from now on RHCP cares a little bit deeper than just romantic relationships and having a good time. In a word - the record demonstrated Growing up The band, its interest in experimentation, and the skills of the new, very young guitarist John Frusante. This was the first glimpse of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' great future.

"Good Time Boys."

"High Ground"

"Subway to Venus"

"Magic Johnson."

"Nobody Weird Like Me"

"Knock Me Down"

"Taste the Pain."

"Stone Cold Bush."

«Fire»

"Pretty Little Ditty."

"Punk Rock Classic."

"Sexy Mexican Maid"

"Johnny, Kick a Hole in the Sky"

Album track list diversewhich allows everyone to find something here for themselves. Opening "Good Time Boys." proved that the band can deftly blend different genres into one rhythmic hybrid. Funky "Nobody Weird Like Me" is a return to the band's more eccentric and youthful style of their early years. There's also room for more punk songs, including "Magic Johnson."as well as covers - «Fire» or "High Ground". The latter composition serves as an interpretation of the Stevie Wonder classic that launched a team of young and grief-weary rockers into another stratosphere.

Lastly

red hot chili peppers 2022 1
Red Hot Chili Peppers (2022)

The commercial breakthrough didn't hit RHCP until after the release of their next work, "Blood Sugar Sex Magik". But "Mother's Milk" still carries weight: its fusion of funk, hip-hop, and hard rock clearly paved the way for the band's later achievements, which eventually achieved status the legendary. And the addition of Frusante and Smith proved to be the last ingredient these brilliant guys needed.

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

R.E.M. debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list Despite the fact that the way to fame R.E.M. started in the prime of...

"Hidden in the Clouds" - a look back at one of Pink Floyd's favorite Nick Mason albums

History of the album "Obscured by Clouds" by Pink Floyd: recording, facts, success and tracks This record is far from being Pink Floyd's most popular work. However, they...

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...
Related Articles

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Автор:
Категория:

«Mother’s Milk», или «спасительная» классика Red Hot Chili Peppers, которая открыла новые горизонты

Коммерческий прорыв обрушился на RHCP лишь после выхода их следующей работы, «Blood Sugar Sex Magik». Однако «Mother’s Milk» по-прежнему имеет вес: его сплав фанка, хип-хопа и хард-рока явно проложил путь для последующих достижений группы, которая в конечном итоге обрела статус легендарной...

Вспоминаем «Mother’s Milk» – легендарный альбом Red Hot Chili Peppers, которого могло не быть

Сегодня об этом легко забыть, но в конце 80-х Red Hot Chili Peppers не были такой влиятельной фанк-рок-группой, какой мы с вами её привыкли считать. Более того: её история могла бы быть совершенно иной, ведь в 1989 году карьера коллектива чуть не пошла под откос… Это был переломный момент, но молодым рокерам удалось превратить невзгоды в преимущество и сделать гигантский шаг вперёд!

Сегодня мы поговорим о «Mother’s Milk», альбоме, который доказал всему миру, поклонникам и самим участникам RHCP в первую очередь: любую трагедию можно преодолеть, и даже больше – восстановить себя и своё звучание с помощью новаторского подхода!

Трагедии как предпосылки

Red Hot Chili Peppers (RHCP)
Red Hot Chili Peppers (RHCP)

«Mother’s Milk» стал заслуженным прорывом Red Hot Chili Peppers. Пластинка продемонстрировала новаторский подход и поистине взрывной звук, искусно реализованный в 13 треках. К слову: своё фанковое влияние RHCP черпали годами, ещё когда были студентами и работали с королём фанка Джорджем Клинтоном над своей второй студийной записью «Freaky Styley». Но что действительно оказало на них колоссальное влияние во время записи «Материнского Молока» (так переводится название), так это… трагедии.

Хотя, скорее, серьёзная трагедия была всего одна: и это гибель Хиллела Словака – гитариста, основателя и творческого лидера группы. Он скончался, приняв слишком много веществ. Ему было всего 26 лет. Нетрудно догадаться, что после случившегося перед участниками RHCP вырисовывалось полное неведение касаемо своего будущего. Своих красок добавил и уход барабанщика Джека Айронса.

Хиллел Словак
Хиллел Словак

Срочно требовалось что-то предпринимать, иначе история «Перцев чили» могла завершиться, так и не начавшись. Первым делом, Кидис избавился от собственных пристрастий. Ну а после – состав реформировался: к группе примкнули ударник Чад Смит и феноменальный подросток-гитарист Джон Фрушанте.

Споры

dzhon frushante 4
Джон Фрушанте

Обновлённый состав давал возможность «залезть на неизведанную территорию» – поэкспериментировать, попробовать что-то новое… Группа, как и продюсер Майкл Бейнхорн, максимально использовали ситуацию, даже если между ними возникло напряжение. А без этого и не могло обойтись – учитывая присутствие совсем ещё юного Фрушанте в студии! Из воспоминаний Кидиса:

«Джон и Майкл буквально боролись за звук! Бейнхорн требовал от Фрушанте мощный, хрустящий, почти металический гитарный тон, в то время как раньше у нас всегда были интересные гитарные тембры в стиле кислотного рока, а также много изящных, сексуальных, фанковых гитарных тонов. Проблема заключалась и в том, что Джон заглушал звук других инструментов и даже моего вокала своей игрой!»

Фли и Джон Фрушанте
Фли и Джон Фрушанте

Тем не менее сессии были благополучно завершены. Несмотря на столкновение личностей, конечный итог пришёлся по вкусу как поклонникам, так и самим музыкантам.

Немного о треках

Red Hot Chili Peppers
Red Hot Chili Peppers

Выпустив «Материнское Молоко», группа показала, что вновь обрела энергию – возможно ещё более безудержную, чем ранее! Вместе с этой пластинкой также стало ясно, что отныне RHCP волнуют вопросы немного глубже, чем просто романтические отношения и хорошее времяпрепровождение. Одним словом – запись продемонстрировала взросление коллектива, его интерес к экспериментам и мастерство нового, совсем ещё юного гитариста Джона Фрушанте. Это был первый взгляд на большое будущее Red Hot Chili Peppers.

«Good Time Boys»

«Higher Ground»

«Subway to Venus»

«Magic Johnson»

«Nobody Weird Like Me»

«Knock Me Down»

«Taste the Pain»

«Stone Cold Bush»

«Fire»

«Pretty Little Ditty»

«Punk Rock Classic»

«Sexy Mexican Maid»

«Johnny, Kick a Hole in the Sky»

Трек-лист альбома разнообразен, что позволяет каждому найти здесь что-то для себя. Открывающий «Good Time Boys» доказал, что группа может ловко смешивать различные жанры в один ритмичный гибрид. Фанковая «Nobody Weird Like Me» является возвратом к более эксцентричному и юношескому стилю группы, характерному для их ранних лет. Нашлось здесь место и более панковым песням, среди которых «Magic Johnson», а также каверам – «Fire» или «Higher Ground». Последняя композиция служит интерпретацией классики Стиви Уандера, которая запустила команду молодых и утомлённых горем рокеров в другую стратосферу.

Напоследок

red hot chili peppers 2022 1
Red Hot Chili Peppers (2022)

Коммерческий прорыв обрушился на RHCP лишь после выхода их следующей работы, «Blood Sugar Sex Magik». Однако «Mother’s Milk» по-прежнему имеет вес: его сплав фанка, хип-хопа и хард-рока явно проложил путь для последующих достижений группы, которая в конечном итоге обрела статус легендарной. И присоединение Фрушанте и Смита оказалось последним ингредиентом, в котором нуждались эти гениальные ребята.

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...
Похожие статьи

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...

Чего вы ещё не знали о мировой легенде Мирей Матьё – рассказываем историю, полную удивительных эпизодов

История Мирей Матьё в фактах: от ранних лет до мировой славы Одна из легендарнейших французских певиц в истории, Мирей Матьё завоевала свой статус легенды полностью...

«Две личности в одном разуме»: вспоминаем Иэна Кёртиса

История Иэна Кёртиса, рано ушедшего, но такого талантливого вокалиста Joy Division К нему можно относиться по-разному, и всё же мало кто станет оспаривать тот факт,...