Author:
Category:

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

The success of the album was so great that pop king Michael Jackson even had to move in the charts with his "Thriller"!

R.E.M.'s debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list

Despite the fact that the road to glory R.E.M. began in the heyday of the 1980s, the band did not present their debut album until 1983 year. However, this slight delay was even for the best. With 3 years of experience under their belt and a unique style already formed, the guys managed to make something unusual, charming and original. They abandoned the common clichés and "trends" of the time in favor of an independent sound. And they didn't fail!

Their unusual sound has won warm praise from critics and recognition from an army of millions of listeners. The record "Murmur." literally "purred" the charts and ingrained behind R.E.M. an instantly identifiable enigmatic sound with tinkling guitars and the lead singer's somber lyrics... By the way: the album's success was so great that the pop king To Michael Jackson. even had to move up in the charts with his "Thriller"! But first things first.

Background: how R.E.M. got together and the idea of recording "Murmur" came about

R.E.M. Band.
R.E.M. Band.

To begin with a little backstory. R.E.M. formed in 1980, when the soloist Michael Stipe and guitarist Peter BuckThe two college students discovered that they shared the same tastes. Soon their "gang" was joined by the bassist Mike Mills and drummer Bill Berrywho had been playing together since high school. The first thing they recorded was a single "Radio Free Europe. There was practically no success, and the first circulation was sold out in only 1000 copies. But... gradually the track won the hearts of music lovers, and eventually became a recognizable calling card of the young band.

On the wave of success, albeit small, the band began to make a name for themselves. RCA Records wanted to sign them, but the guys opted for an independent label IRSwhich led first to the release of the "Chronic Town" EP and then to the full-length debut album titled "Murmur.".

The recording process and the struggle for R.E.M.'s own views.

R.E.M. Band.
R.E.M. Band.

The success of "Murmur" is due only to themselves, because if the musicians had gone along with the producer Stephen HagueHague had a high status, and, in general, had a good understanding of what the modern public needed. But here is his approach. "chasing trends"The focus on technical perfection drove R.E.M. away: they didn't want any drum machines or clichés like roaring solos. Hague's emphasis on technical perfection repulsed R.E.M.: they didn't want any drum machines or clichés like roaring solos... They had their own vision of their first record, and they were determined to fight for it.

Michael Stipe as a young man
Michael Stipe as a young man

Fortunately for us, the record company allowed the band to record the album under the guidance of the man they already knew Mitch Easter.who, although not as high profile as Hague, sailed with the boys on the same creative wavelength. Thus, Easter as well as Don Dixon were present at the birth of one of the most important records of the 80s...

List of tracks from the R.E.M. album "Murmur"

R.E.M. Band.
R.E.M. Band.

The album includes 12 tracks. The opener was the young R.E.M., already well known to fans. "Radio Free Europewhich this time achieved more attention and popularity. It was after "Radio Free Europe" was released as a single from the debut that the band was invited to a TV show - it was their first TV experience. A curious fact: all the songs, with the exception of the closing "West of the Fields."The last track was written by the members of R.E.M. As for the last one, it was written by a certain Neil Bogan, a good friend of Michael Stipe's. And now, enjoy listening to it!

"Radio Free Europe

"Pilgrimage."

"Laughing."

"Talk About The Passion."

"Moral Kiosk

"Perfect Circle."

"Catapult."

"Sitting Still."

"9 - 9"

"Shaking Through."

"We Walk."

"West of the Fields."

Despite the rejection of fashionable "sounds of the day", R.E.M. saturated their debut record with a special magic, with its distinctive charm. It was something new, not clichéd, but at the same time not beyond the limits of traditional rock music experiments. No wonder the album intrigued the general public so quickly!

The success that eclipsed Michael Jackson's "Thriller

R.E.M.'s "Murmur" album cover.
R.E.M.'s "Murmur" album cover.

"Murmur" has attracted the lively attention of critics, who tirelessly lauded group for their dedication, commitment to their own views, uniqueness and innovation. The first sales exceeded 200,000 copieswhich sounds very impressive for a debut! Although the head of IRS expected more... But he could not complain, because the debut of R.E.M. even moved the "Thriller" by Michael Jackson in the charts!

Subsequently, many top publications included this work in their lists legendary albumsand many musicians referred to "Murmur" as one of the records that greatly influenced them. Interesting fact: on the back of the original cover there is a picture of scaffoldingThe Murmur, originally part of the Georgia Railroad's line to downtown Athens. After "Murmur" became a hit, and later a classic, this trestle, despite its unpresentable condition, became tourist attraction.

Simon Le Bon - Top 6 Facts About the Duran Duran Vocalist

Simon Le Bon - interesting facts about the vocalist of Duran Duran Few bands have been as influential as Duran Duran in the 1980s. The British kings of the new wave...

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...
Related Articles

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Автор:
Категория:

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Успех альбома был настолько большим, что поп-королю Майклу Джексону даже пришлось подвинуться в чартах со своим «Триллером»!

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков

Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете 80-х, свой дебютный альбом группа представила лишь в 1983 году. Однако это небольшое запоздание было даже к лучшему. С 3-летним опытом за плечами и уже сформировавшимся уникальным стилем, ребята сумели сделать нечто необычное, очаровательное и самобытное. Они отказались от распространённых клише и «трендов» того времени в пользу независимого звучания. И не прогадали!

Их необычный звук снискал тёплую похвалу критиков и признание многомиллионной армии слушателей. Пластинка «Murmur» буквально «промурчала» в чартах и укоренила за R.E.M. мгновенно определяемый загадочный звук со звенящими гитарами и мрачной лирикой солиста… К слову: успех альбома был настолько большим, что поп-королю Майклу Джексону даже пришлось подвинуться в чартах со своим «Триллером»! Но обо всём по порядку.

Предыстория: как собралась группа R.E.M. и возникла идея записи «Murmur»

Группа «R.E.M.»
Группа «R.E.M.»

Для начала немного предыстории. R.E.M. образовались в 1980 году, когда солист Майкл Стайп и гитарист Питер Бак, два студента колледжа, обнаружили, что у них общие вкусы. Вскоре их «банду» дополнили басист Майк Миллз и барабанщик Билл Берри, которые играли вместе со школы. Первым, что они записали, был сингл «Radio Free Europe». Успеха практически не было, и первый тираж разошёлся количеством всего 1000 копий. Но… постепенно трек завоёвывал сердца меломанов, и в итоге стал узнаваемой визитной карточкой молодого коллектива.

На волне пусть небольшого, но всё-таки уже успеха, группа начала делать себе имя. RCA Records желала подписать с ними контракт, но ребята сделали выбор в пользу независимого лейбла IRS, что привело сначала к выпуску EP «Chronic Town», а затем – полноценного дебютного альбома под названием «Murmur».

Процесс записи и борьба за собственные взгляды R.E.M.

Группа «R.E.M.»
Группа «R.E.M.»

Успехом «Murmur» группа обязана только себе, ибо если бы музыканты пошли на поводу у продюсера Стивена Хейга, то конечный результат был бы совершенно другим… Хейг имел высокий статус, и, в общем-то, хорошо разбирался в том, что нужно современной публике. Но вот его подход – «погоня за трендами», проще говоря – совершенно не нравился участникам, которые желали сохранить свою изюминку, самобытность. Акцент Хейга на техническом совершенстве оттолкнул R.E.M.: они не хотели ни драм-машин, ни клише по типу ревущих соло… У них был собственный взгляд на свою первую пластинку, и они были полны решимости бороться за него.

Майкл Стайп в молодости
Майкл Стайп в молодости

К нашему с вами счастью, звукозаписывающая компания позволила бэнду записать альбом под руководством уже знакомого им Митча Истера, который хоть и не имел такового высокого статуса, как Хейг, плыл с ребятами на одной творческой волне. Так, Истер, а также Дон Диксон присутствовали при рождении одной из важнейших пластинок 80-х…

Список треков с альбома R.E.M. «Murmur»

Группа «R.E.M.»
Группа «R.E.M.»

В альбом вошло 12 треков. Открывающим стал уже прекрасно знакомый поклонникам молодых R.E.M. «Radio Free Europe», который на этот раз добился большего внимания и популярности. Именно после того, как «Radio Free Europe» была выпущена синглом с дебюта, группу пригласили на телешоу – это был их первый телевизионный опыт. Любопытный факт: все песни, за исключением завершающей «West of the Fields», были написаны участниками R.E.M. Что касается последнего трека – своё перо к его написанию приложил некий Нил Боган, хороший друг Майкла Стайпа. Ну а теперь – приятного прослушивания!

«Radio Free Europe»

«Pilgrimage»

«Laughing»

«Talk About The Passion»

«Moral Kiosk»

«Perfect Circle»

«Catapult»

«Sitting Still»

«9 – 9»

«Shaking Through»

«We Walk»

«West of the Fields»

Несмотря на отказ от модных «звуков дня», R.E.M. насытили свою дебютную пластинку особой магией, самобытным очарованием. Это было что-то новенькое, не клише, но в то же время и не выходившие за рамки традиционной рок-музыки эксперименты. Неудивительно, что альбом так быстро заинтриговал широкую публику!

Успех, затмивший «Триллер» Майкла Джексона

Обложка альбома «Murmur» группы R.E.M.
Обложка альбома «Murmur» группы R.E.M.

«Murmur» привлекла к себе оживлённое внимание критиков, которые неустанно нахваливали группу за их самоотверженность, приверженность собственным взглядам, за уникальность и новаторство. Первые продажи превысили 200 000 копий, что звучит очень внушительно для дебюта! Хотя глава IRS и рассчитывал на большее… Но с его стороны было грех жаловаться, ведь дебют R.E.M. даже подвинул «Триллер» Майкла Джексона в чартах!

Впоследствии многие топовые издания включали эту работу в свои списки легендарнейших альбомов, а многие музыканты называли «Murmur» одной из пластинок, сильно повлиявших на них. Любопытный факт: на обратной стороне оригинальной обложки изображена эстакада, изначально являвшаяся частью линии железной дороги Джорджии, ведущей в центр Афин. После того, как «Murmur» стал хитом, а впоследствии и классикой, эта эстакада, несмотря на своё непрезентабельное состояние, стала туристической достопримечательностью.

Единственная песня, которую Брайан Джонсон из AC/DC не исполнит никогда

Почему AC/DC отказываются от исполнения «It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)» AC/DC – легендарная австралийская рок-группа, сформированная в...

«Paranoid»: культовая классика Black Sabbath, написанная за считанные минуты

Хит «Paranoid» группы Black Sabbath: история и факты Не секрет, что некоторые из самых легендарных произведений родились за считанные минуты. Вообще говорят, что краткость –...

Киркоров был «другом» Майкла Джексона: выдумки или все-таки правда

Дружба Майкла Джексона и Филиппа Киркорова Майкл Джексон - американский поп-король, внесший колоссальный вклад в историю музыки. Однако вокруг него всегда было сосредоточено множество мифов,...
Похожие статьи

«Авария, предательство и не только»: несокрушимый дух Дона Пауэлла, барабанщика Slade

Легенда Slade Дон Пауэлл и его история: факты и интервью Он разменял восьмой десяток, но по-прежнему остаётся несокрушимой легендой. Дон Пауэлл, легендарно известный барабанщик Slade,...

Топ-5 культовых рок-альбомов, запись которых обернулась кошмаром

Легендарные рок-альбомы, запись которых обернулась кошмаром На первый взгляд, быть рок-звездой кажется самой приятной работой в мире! Твоя задача состоит только в том, чтобы сочинять...

Идеальные песни, положившие начало хард-року

Треки, положившие начало хард-року – топ лучших После легендарно известного «Лета любви» рок-н-ролл всё увереннее и увереннее обрастал шипами. Казалось, «мягкая» эпоха The Beatles и...

Лучшие «живые» классические рок-альбомы по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – часть вторая

Лучшие концертные классические рок-альбомы – часть вторая Мы обожаем сотни рок-групп и исполнителей, но прежде всего бешеная слава приходит к ним благодаря безупречно спродюсированным «студийникам»....

«Это лучшее что с ним случалось»: американец исполнил смус-джазовую версию популярной песни Витаса «7-ой элемент»

Американец исполнил кавер-версию хита Витаса  «Седьмой элемент» В интернете можно найти множество каверов на известные песни, но как вам необычный подход американского музыкального блоггера Andre...

Как итальянский герцог обманул Стинга и его жену: история покупки поместья «Villa Il Palagio» и его дальнейшая судьба

История поместья Стинга: как музыкант купил шикарную виллу и открыл свою винодельню Уже ставший культовым музыкантом Стинг приобрел виллу в Тоскане в конце 1990-х годов,...

Топ-5 шикарных «поздних» релизов легенд рока

Лучшие поздние релизы рок-звёзд Не каждая рок-звезда может поддерживать огонь до скончания веков. Вполне естественно, что исполнители стареют, и вы не ожидаете, что они будут...

«Создатель джаза», или печальная история Джелли «Ролл» Мортона

Джелли Ролл Мортон и его печальная история: биография и факты Хотя Джелли Ролл Мортон – это имя, о котором, возможно, слышали немногие, музыкант был –...

Лучшие песни в исполнении Дэна Маккаферти

Дэн Маккаферти и лучшие песни в его исполнении Дэн Маккаферти – легенда шотландской рок-группы Nazareth и один из самых узнаваемых голосов классического рока. Родившийся в...