Author:
Category:

New Order: the story of a band that sought to avoid comparisons with Joy Division

Today in our article is the story of the band New Order, which was able to form its own style and became one of the greatest bands of our time.

All about the band New Order: the history of creation, the search for their style

It often happens that when a group of musicians is just starting to form, they clear some things up. One of the slippery topics in a band happens to be care one of the participants; this also raises the question of further group activities.

Some bands then look for a replacement for the departed member, while others announce the dissolution of the band. This is the turning point at which the history of a rock band begins new orderwhich appeared after the decay Joy Division.

Joy Division: more than just a group of musicians

Joy Division Group
Joy Division Group

Joy Division was born in 1976, when two of its future members, Peter Hook and Bernard Sumner, attended a concert of the legendary Sex Pistols. Later they were joined by drummer Stephen Morris and vocalist Ian Curtis, whose fate is associated with Start the formation of the band New Order.

A band that stepped away from punk and created its own unique Lazy and melancholy style, had decided long before the breakup that if one of them left, the collective ceases to exist or, if the others wanted to continue, would be called by a different name. This treaty was. destined take effect.

Ian Curtis, lead singer of Joy Division
Ian Curtis, lead singer of Joy Division

Frontman Curtis Throughout his career he struggled with his own problems: asthma, which prevented him from performing on stage, then problems with his wife and depression. Shortly before the band's first American tour in 1980, fans and band members were shocked by the news of Ian's suicide - his ex-wife Deborah found him hanging in the kitchen of her apartment. After the vocalist's death was released last Joy Division album titled Closer.

This is where the history of the band begins new order. By longstanding agreement of the members, the band was no longer performing under the name Joy DIvision, and was in search of new names for their project. The name for the band was suggested by their manager Rob Gratton: he found a combination of the words New Order in one of the newspaper articles The Guardian.

new order
new order

A keyboardist appeared in the band Gillian GilbertAll the band members were tried for the role of the vocalist. In the end the vocalist was Sumnerand Gillian replaced him on the guitar.

Finding your own unique sound

New Order in the Early Years
New Order in the Early Years

In the early '80s, the band was in search of his style. Since the tragedy affected most of the New Order members, the musicians out of habit started the start of the new band with the same grim and melodic songs by adding to them synthesizer. The only positive thing about the release of their debut album movement was the appearance of the mixing console in the arsenal of musicians. Thanks to it they could record their own records.

New Order Band. 80-е
New Order Band. 80-е

After a trip to New York, the group discovered an interest in post-disco, freestyle and electrowhich influenced their singles "Everything's Gone Green" and "Temptation.

The band's second album, released in 1983, is absolutely different from the work of Joy Division. This is where New Order drew on the mixing of early techno and its guitar sounds. The real gem of the album is the song "Blue Monday."which became the best independent single of all time in Great Britain.

New Order. 80-е

From 1985 to 1987, the group became increasingly oriented toward dance musicI was a member of the band, mixing the guitar style with the electronic style. This is clearly seen on the album Low-Life. In 1987 New Order released their most important compilation SubstanceThe songs on which were recorded were still developed in conjunction with Curtis.

New Order at this time
New Order at this time

After their Technique and Republic albums, the band fell apartand it was not until 1998 that they were revived. Three years later there was a release Get Readywhich moved away from the electronic style and contained more guitars.

From the early 2000s to the present, the band's style unchangedNew Order is currently working with a new lineup and releasing fresh hits on Internet sites.

The band's best records

New Order's updated lineup
New Order's updated lineup

The group has never given up on experimentswhich can be seen in their entire discography. Consider their Best albums and tracks.

Power, Corruption & Lies

Second New Order studio album, which contains many electronic songs that are feature the band. The record was widely acclaimed and hailed as one of the greatest albums of the 1980s. Critics praised the band for departure from the Joy Division sound and still accept it as quality music in the style of post-punk and synth-pop.

Low-Life

This record shows growth post-punk musicians to dance-rock. Despite the increasing emergence of electronic elements in the music, New Order managed to maintain a rock sound. Critics celebrate this album in the same way iconicas in the previous one.

Substance 1987

Substance 1987 - compilation album, which gathers all the singles bands. Critics reacted enthusiastically to the record, acclaiming it as the most popular New Order album. This album is on the list of "The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time Rolling Stone magazine.

Blue Monday

A song by the band New Order, released on cassette variations of their second studio album. This composition is fusion synth-pop and dance-alternative, inspired by musicians of the turn of the 70s and 80s. BBC Radio recognized the track as important link between '70s disco music and '80s dance house.

The Perfect Kiss

Released in 1985, the song has a completely different subject lyrics. The following themes appear in the text love and of deathHowever, the meaning of the song is currently unclear to the author as well. On this track appeared a lot of effectswhich were complicated The band was able to reproduce the sound of a frog squawking or the faint bleating of a sheep at the end of the recording. Soon the hardware malfunctions were sorted out and the band began to perform the song on stage.

True Faith

One of New Order's most popular songs, which was co-written by the band with By Stephen Hague. The single was released on the 1987 album Substance. As is the case with all the band's songs of the late 1980s, the words of the title do not occur in the lyrics of the song. This composition was created with the help of big of choice electronic equipment.

How Sergey Zakharov's career after prison: the complicated story of the famous baritone of the USSR

The Life of the Pop Singer Sergey Zakharov Estrada appeared in the 1960s as a unique style of Soviet song. Compared to modern Russian pop music, it...

"Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain": the last song sung by the King Presley

All about the song "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain": when and by whom it was performed, history and covers Losing an idol is always a very traumatic event, but how...

Lemmy Kilmister and his best movie roles

All about Lemmy Kilmister: band success, movie roles, biopic about the legend Rock stars who have made music their life and made huge contributions to the genre have shown...
Related Articles

The famous hit of the band "Zero," the clip to which everyone has seen

History of the song "I'm Coming, Smoking" by the band "Zero": interesting facts, clip "Song about unrequited love for the Motherland" is an album with unconditional hits, which is among the iconic...

She gave us a childhood: we remember the legendary Yelena Kamburova

Everything about Elena Kamburova: childhood, development of creativity, fame Not every viewer can appreciate the artist's soulful contribution to creativity, but there are people who understand...

Cool covers of Russian rock hits and one beautiful parody - Top 6

"Stellar" covers of famous Russian rock songs Covers are now living a "new life" in the music business. Some covers become so famous that they outshine the original compositions. So.

Where are the Zemlyane, a band whose hits were sung by the entire USSR?

All about the band "Zemlyane": history, creative work, hits The bands that started their history in the times of the Soviet Union have a rich history. Now you can find not so...

British rockers adored in the USSR

Top British Rockers Adored in the USSR Despite all the bans and difficulties caused by "getting" records with this kind of music, in the Soviet Union foreign rock and roll simply...

Автор:
Категория:

New Order: история группы, которая стремилась избежать сравнения с Joy Division

Сегодня в нашей статье история группы New Order, которая смогла сформировать собственный стиль и стала одной из величайших групп современности.

Все о группе New Order: история создания, поиск своего стиля

Часто случается так, что когда группа музыкантов только начинает формироваться, они проясняют некоторые моменты. Одной из скользких тем в группе бывает уход одного из участников; тогда же встает вопрос о дальнейшей деятельности группы.

Некоторые коллективы в таком случае ищут замену ушедшему участнику, другие объявляют о роспуске группы. С такого переломного момента начинается история рок-группы New Order, которая появилась после распада Joy Division.

Joy Division: больше, чем просто группа музыкантов

Группа Joy Division
Группа Joy Division

Joy Division родилась в 1976 году, когда два ее будущих участника, – Питер Хук и Бернард Самнер, – побывали на концерте легендарных Sex Pistols. Позже к ним подключились барабанщик Стивен Моррис и вокалист Иэн Кертис, с судьбой которого связано начало становления группы New Order.

Группа, отошедшая в своем творчестве от панка и создавшая свой уникальный ленивый и меланхоличный стиль, еще задолго до распада приняла решение, что при уходе одного из них коллектив перестает существовать или, если остальные захотят продолжить работу, будет называться по-другому. Этому договору было суждено вступить в силу.

Иэн Кертис, солист Joy Division
Иэн Кертис, солист Joy Division

Фронтмен Кертис на протяжении всей карьеры боролся со своими проблемами: астмой, которая мешала ему выступать на сцене, потом – проблемами с женой и депрессией. Незадолго до первого турне группы по Америке в 1980 году поклонников и участников группы потрясает новость о самоубийстве Иэна – его бывшая супруга Дебора нашла его повешенным на кухне своей квартиры. После смерти вокалиста был выпущен последний альбом Joy Division под названием Closer.

Здесь начинается история группы New Order. По давней договоренности участников, группа больше не выступала под названием Joy DIvision, и была в поиске нового имени для своего проекта. Название для коллектива предложил их менеджер Роб Грэттон: он нашел сочетание слов New Order в одной из статей газеты The Guardian.

New Order
New Order

В составе группы появилась клавишница Джиллиан Гилберт; на роль вокалиста группы пробовались все участники. В конечном итоге вокалистом стал Самнер, а на гитаре его заменила Джиллиан.

Поиски собственного уникального звучания

Группа New Order в ранние годы
Группа New Order в ранние годы

В начале 80-х группа была в стадии поиска своего стиля. Поскольку трагедия затронула большую часть участников New Order, музыканты по привычке начали старт нового коллектива с таких же мрачных и мелодичных песен, добавив в них синтезатор. Единственным положительным моментом выпуска их дебютного альбома Movement стало появление в арсенале музыкантов микшерного пульта. Благодаря ему они могли сами записывать свои пластинки.

Группа New Order. 80-е
Группа New Order. 80-е

После поездки в Нью-Йорк группа обнаружила интерес к пост-диско, фристайлу и электро, что повлияло на их синглы «Everything’s Gone Green» и «Temptation».

Вышедший в 1983 году второй альбом группы совершенно отличался от работ Joy Division. Именно здесь New Order опирались на смешение раннего техно и своих гитарных звучаний. Настоящей жемчужиной альбома является песня «Blue Monday», которая стала лучшим независимым синглом всех времен в Великобритании.

New Order. 80-е

С 1985 по 1987 год группа все более ориентировалась на танцевальную музыку, смешивала между собой гитарный стиль и электронный. Это отчетливо видно на альбоме Low-Life. В 1987 году New Order выпускают свои самый важный сборник Substance, на котором были записаны песни еще разработанные вместе с Кертисом.

New Order в настоящее время
New Order в настоящее время

После их альбомов Technique и Republic группа распалась, и их возрождение произошло только в 1998. Спустя три года был выпущен релиз Get Ready, который отошел от электронного стиля и содержал больше гитар.

С начала 2000-х по настоящее время стиль группы не изменился; в данный момент New Order работают в новом составе и выпускают свежие хиты на интернет-площадках.

Лучшие записи группы

Обновленный состав New Order
Обновленный состав New Order

Группа никогда не отказывалась от экспериментов, что видно во всей их дискографии. Рассмотрим их лучшие альбомы и треки.

Power, Corruption & Lies

Второй студийный альбом New Order, который содержит много электронных песен, являющимися особенностью группы. Запись получила широкое признание и звание одного из величайших альбомов 1980-х годов. Критики хвалили группу за отход от звучания Joy Division и до сих пор принимают его как качественную музыку в стиле пост-панка и синти-попа.

Low-Life

Эта пластинка показывает рост музыкантов из пост-панка к дэнс-року. Несмотря на все большее появление электронных элементов в музыке, New Order удалось сохранить рок-звучание. Критики отмечают этот альбом таким же культовым, как и в предыдущий.

Substance 1987

Substance 1987 – альбом-компиляция, в котором собраны все синглы группы. Критики восторженно отреагировали на запись, признав его самым популярным альбомом New Order. Этот альбом входит в список «500 величайших альбомов всех времен» по версии журнала Rolling Stone.

Blue Monday

Песня группы New Order, вышедшая на кассетных вариациях их второго студийного альбома. Эта композиция – слияние синти-попа и танцевальной альтернативы, вдохновленная музыкантами рубежа 70-х и 80-х годов. BBC Radio признало этот трек важным звеном между диско-музыкой 70-х и танцевальным хаусом 80-х.

The Perfect Kiss

Вышедшая в 1985 году песня имеет совершенно отличную тематику лирики. В тексте фигурируют темы любви и смерти, однако смысл песни в настоящее время неясен и автору. На этом треке появилось много эффектов, которые было сложно воспроизвести вживую – например кваканье лягушки или слабое блеяние овцы в конце записи. Вскоре неполадки аппаратуры уладились и группа начала исполнять композицию на сцене.

True Faith

Одна из самых популярных песен New Order, которая была написана группой в соавторстве со Стивеном Хейгом. Сингл вышел на альбоме Substance 1987. Как в случае со всеми песнями группы конца 1980-х, слова из названия не встречаются в тексте песни. Эта композиция была создана с помощью большого выбора электронного оборудования.

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...

«Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: последняя песня, исполненная королём Пресли

Всё о песне «Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: когда и кем была исполнена, история и каверы Потеря кумиров всегда очень травматичное событие, но как...

Лемми Килмистер и его лучшие роли в кино

Всё о Лемми Килмистере: успех группы, роли в кино, байопик о легенде Рок-звёзды, сделавшие музыку своей жизнью и внёсшие огромный вклад в развитие жанра, проявляли...
Похожие статьи

Знаменитый хит группы «Ноль», клип к которому видел каждый

История песни «Иду, курю» группы «Ноль»: интересные факты, клип «Песня о безответной любви к Родине» – альбом с безусловными хитами, который входит в число знаковых...

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную...

Она подарила детство: вспоминаем легендарную Елену Камбурову

Всё о Елене Камбуровой: детство, развитие творчества, известность Не каждый зритель может по достоинству оценить душевный вклад артиста в творчество, однако есть люди, которые понимают...

Он исполнил лучшие хиты начала 2000-х – где сегодня Сергей Жуков

Всё о Сергее Жукове: ранние годы, создание группы, факты В 90-е годы в России происходят колоссальные изменения. Новый виток истории рождается и в музыке: на...

Крутые песни Цоя, которые слышали только самые преданные поклонники

Малоизвестные песни Цоя, которые могут претендовать на звание хитов «Кино» – одна из самых необычных групп в истории русского рока. С одной стороны – ею...

Крутые каверы на хиты русского рока и одна прекрасная пародия – Топ-6

«Звёздные» кавер-версии на знаменитые композиции русского рока Каверы сейчас проживают в музыкальном бизнесе «новую жизнь». Некоторые перепевки становятся настолько известными, что затмевают оригинальные композиции. Так,...

Где сегодня «Земляне» – группа, чьи хиты напевал весь СССР

Все о группе «Земляне»: история создания, творчество, хиты У групп, начавших свою историю во времена Советского Союза, история богата событиями. Сейчас можно найти не так...

Британские рокеры, которых обожали в СССР

Топ британских рокеров, которых обожали в СССР Несмотря на все запреты и трудности, вызванные «добычей» пластинок с подобной музыкой, в Советском Союзе зарубежный рок-н-ролл просто...

Gibson: история одного бренда, который чуть не утратил доверие рок-звёзд

Gibson: история создания бренда, успехи и неудачи В истории каждой знаменитой фирмы есть свои взлеты и падения. Практически невозможно найти бренд, который на протяжении всего...