Author:

Category:

Nightflight To Venus (1978) - Boney M. (Boney M.) - All about "Night Flight to Venus"

The album did not leave the top charts in the United Kingdom for a record 455 days! In total, the number of sales in this country exceeded 2,000,000 copies...

The history of the album "Nightflight To Venus" by Boney M.

Nightflight To Venus is the third album by Boney M., recorded and produced by Frank Farian. It was this record that became the most successful for the disco project: and now we are talking not only about stunning sales around the world, but also about a creative breakthrough ... And yes: this album gave the world timeless singles such as "Rasputin" and "Rivers of Babylon" !

What's more, it won critical acclaim and was hailed as a model record for the Eurodisco era of the 70s! As of July 2018, over two million copies have been sold in the UK alone! Let's dive into the history of its creation ...

The idea and recording of the album "Night Flight to Venus"

Album cover of "Nightflight to Venus" (1078) by Boney M.
Cover of the album "Nightflight to Venus" (1078) by Boney M. - "Nightflight to Venus"

On the threshold of a new decade, the band releases "Rivers Of Babylon", a chic hit that becomes a big breakthrough for the band! The track was in the lead in England, second only to "Mull of Kintyre" by McCartney! This success was the reason for the creation of a full-length album ...

Before including certain tracks in "Nightflight To Venus", the group's producer - Frank Farian - gave them a kind of "test drive": he played demos with new recordings in major discos in Germany. Despite the fact that the team consisted of four members, only two performed the vocal parts for the new album: Liz Mitchell and Marcia Barratt. It is curious, but on one of the tracks we can hear Frank Farian himself (yes, we are talking about that very robo-voice now!)

Soon the album itself was released, which instantly became the most commercially successful recording of Boney M. in their entire existence ...

Songs from the album "Nightflight To Venus"

"Nightflight To Venus"

"Rasputin"

Painter Man

"He Was a Steppenwolf"

"King of the Road"

Rivers of Babylon

"Voodoonight"

"Brown Girl in the Ring"

"Never Change Lovers in the Middle of the Night"

Heart of Gold

Only four original songs were released on the album. Most of the disc consists of tracks processed by Farian or covers of famous hits ... It is not surprising that a year after the release, the producer had big troubles ... In particular, because of the copyright of “Brown Girl in the Ring”. This marked the beginning of a long and unpleasant process, which to this day has not ended ...

In addition, especially sensitive listeners noticed that the lead single “Nightflight to Venus” was too reminiscent of the 1973 track “Dance with the devil” in its arrangement ... However, such a similarity, fortunately for Farian, did not cause litigation.

PR campaign "Nightflight To Venus" in the USSR

In the winter of the same 1978, the world-famous disco band visited the Soviet Union! As part of their shows, Boney M. performed works from the new album. Everything except the song about Rasputin... This composition was banned due to its undesirable ideological overtones. However, the most curious thing was that while having dinner at the restaurant of the Rossiya Hotel, Boney M. could enjoy their own work performed by the local ensemble ... Needless to say, the participants of Boney M. were simply shocked?

Boney M. captivated the audience with its brightness and incendiary sound!
Boney M. captivated the audience with its brightness and incendiary sound!

A little later, namely in 1980, Melodiya released a cult album. True... the song about Rasputin and the popular single "Rivers of Babylon" were ignored by the Soviet label...

Structure

It's no secret that Boney M. was conceived by Farian as a promising project aimed at commercial success. Actually, the producer always selected the artists "according to his own plan" ... But within the framework of this album, the group really managed to reveal their creative potential! And today this record is called the brightest phenomenon of the eurodisco era that originated in the 70s ...

The disc "Night Flight to Venus" is full of various and unique shades, from religion and folklore to the history of our state... So, for example, the song "Rasputin" is addressed to an influential historical figure in Russia at the beginning of the 20th century! “Brown Girl in the Ring” evokes the warm rhythms of the Caribbean Sea… The phenomenon of the album is that the first two tracks seem to be woven into a single whole… Thus, an interesting holistic mix with a duration of about 13 minutes is obtained!

Properly used elements of rock, dynamic drums, rhythms of electronic music... All this abundance of musical shades delights music lovers to this day! The attention of critics was especially attracted by the composition "Rasputin". It was she who displaced the work of Boney M. beyond the pop music of the 70s! A unique harmony of sounds and folklore, an electronic balalaika, an appropriate percussion section... All this is complemented by a strong story that tells about the royal couple and the controversial person of Rasputin.

The fate of the album...

As mentioned above, the disc and the singles accompanying its release elevated the Boney M. team to the Olympus of glory! The album did not leave the top charts in the United Kingdom for a record 455 days! In general, the number of sales in this country exceeded 2,000,000 copies ... According to Frank Farian, only the single "Rivers Of Babylon" was sold with a total circulation of over 20,000,000 copies! In New Zealand, this song remained the most successful hit for 30 years! The album itself went platinum in many countries around the world, including Canada and Germany.

9kFollowers

1 COMMENT

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

Related Articles

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

"She left early, but she left a bright mark" - the story of Yanka Diagileva

A bright representative of the national underground - the story of Yanka Diagileva Yanka Diagileva went down in history as a bright representative of the Siberian underground, a woman who during her short career...

Автор:

Категория:

Nightflight To Venus (1978) – Boney M. (Бони М.) – Всё о «Ночном полёте на Венеру»

Альбом не покидал топ-чарты Соединённого Королевства рекордные 455 дней! В целом, количество продаж в этой стране превысило 2 000 000 копий...

История альбома «Nightflight To Venus» группы Boney M.

«Nightflight To Venus» («Ночной полёт на Венеру») — третья пластинка коллектива Boney M., записанная и спродюсированная Фрэнком Фарианом. Именно эта запись стала для диско-проекта наиболее успешной: и речь сейчас не только об ошеломительных продажах во всём мире, но и о творческом прорыве… И да: данный альбом подарил миру неустаревающие синглы, такие как «Rasputin» и «Rivers of Babylon»!

Более того: он завоевал признание критиков и был назван образцовой записью эпохи евродиско 70-х! По состоянию на июль 2018 года только на территории Соединённого Королевства было продано более двух миллионов его экземпляров! Окунёмся в историю его создания…

Идея и запись альбома «Ночной полёт на Венеру»

Обложка альбома «Nightflight to Venus» (1078) группы Boney M.
Обложка альбома «Nightflight to Venus» (1078) группы Boney M. – «Ночной полёт на Венеру»

На пороге нового десятилетия коллектив выпускает «Rivers Of Babylon», – шикарный хит, который становится для команды большим прорывом! Трек лидировал в Англии, уступив лишь «Mull of Kintyre» Маккартни! Этот успех стал поводом для создания полноформатного альбома…

Прежде чем включить те или иные треки в «Nightflight To Venus», продюсер группы — Фрэнк Фариан — устраивал им своеобразный «тест-драйв»: он проигрывал демки с новыми записями на крупных дискотеках Германии. Несмотря на то, что коллектив состоял из четверых участников, вокальные партии для нового альбома исполнили только двое: Лиз Митчелл и Марсия Баррэтт. Любопытно, но на одном из треков мы можем слышать самого Фрэнка Фариана (да-да, речь сейчас о том самом робо-голосе!)

Вскоре вышел сам альбом, который мгновенно стал наиболее коммерчески успешной записью Boney M. за всё их существование…

Песни с альбома «Nightflight To Venus»

«Nightflight To Venus»

«Rasputin»

«Painter Man»

«He Was a Steppenwolf»

«King of the Road»

«Rivers of Babylon»

«Voodoonight»

«Brown Girl in the Ring»

«Never Change Lovers in the Middle of the Night»

«Heart of Gold»

В рамках альбома вышло лишь четыре оригинальных песни. Большая часть пластинки состоит из обработанных Фарианом треков или каверов известных хитов… Неудивительно, что уже через год после выпуска у продюсера возникли крупные неприятности… В частности — из-за копирайта «Brown Girl in the Ring». Это положило начало долгому и малоприятному процессу, который по сей день не закончился…

Помимо этого, особенно чуткие слушатели обратили внимание на то, что заглавный сингл «Nightflight to Venus» слишком напоминает своей аранжировкой трек «Dance with the devil» 1973 года… Однако подобное сходство, к счастью для Фариана, не вызвало судебных разбирательств.

Пиар-кампания «Nightflight To Venus» в СССР

Зимой всё того же 1978 года известный на весь мир диско-бэнд посетил Советский Союз! В рамках своих шоу Boney M. исполнили произведения с нового альбома. Все, кроме песни про Распутина… Данная композиция оказалась под запретом ввиду её нежелательного идеологического подтекста. Однако самое любопытное заключалось в том, что ужиная в ресторане гостиницы «Россия» Boney M. смогли насладиться своим же произведением в исполнении местного ансамбля… Стоит ли говорить, что участники Бони М. оказались просто в шоке?

Boney M покорили публику своей яркостью и зажигательным звучанием!
Boney M покорили публику своей яркостью и зажигательным звучанием!

Чуть позже, а именно в 1980 году, «Мелодия» издала культовый альбом. Правда… песня про Распутина и популярный сингл «Rivers of Babylon» были проигнорированы советским лейблом…

Структура

Не секрет, что Boney M. задумывались Фарианом как перспективный проект, нацеленный на коммерческий успех. Собственно, продюсер всегда подбирал артистов «под свой замысел»… Но в рамках этого альбома группе действительно удалось раскрыть свой творческий потенциал! И сегодня данную пластинку называют ярчайшим феноменом зародившейся в 70-х эпохи eurodisco…

Пластинка «Ночной полёт на Венеру» полна самых разных и уникальных оттенков, от религии и фольклора до истории нашего государства… Так, например, песня «Rasputin» адресована влиятельному историческому персонажу России начала XX века! «Brown Girl in the Ring» навевает тёплые ритмы Карибского моря… Феномен альбома заключается в том, что первые два трека словно сплетены в единое целое… Таким образом получается интересный целостный микс длительностью около 13 минут!

Грамотно использованные элементы рока, динамичные ударные, ритмы электронной музыки… Всё это изобилие музыкальных оттенков восхищает меломанов и по сей день! Внимание критиков особенно привлекла композиция «Rasputin». Именно она и вытеснила творчество Boney M. за пределы попсы 70-х! Уникальная гармония звуков и фольклора, электронная балалайка, уместная ударная секция… Дополняет всё это сильная история, повествующая о царской чете и противоречивой персоне Распутина.

Дальнейшая судьба альбома…

Как уже было упомянуто выше, пластинка и сопровождающие её выход синглы вознесли коллектив Boney M. на Олимп славы! Альбом не покидал топ-чарты Соединённого Королевства рекордные 455 дней! В целом, количество продаж в этой стране превысило 2 000 000 копий… Если верить Фрэнку Фариану, то только сингл «Rivers Of Babylon» был продан общим тиражом свыше 20 000 000 копий! В Новой Зеландии эта песня оставалась самым успешным хитом на протяжении 30 лет! Сам альбом стал платиновым во многих странах мира, включая Канаду и Германию.

9kFollowers

1 КОММЕНТАРИЙ

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Похожие статьи

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...