Author:

Category:

Noddy Holder - "Thoughts Out Loud": about youth, meeting Freddie Mercury, and the famous hat with mirrors

"It seemed like a bad thing to a lot of people, but it worked. We just made people laugh! Our outfits had nothing to do with our personal tastes. If you can make people smile, then you're halfway there!"

What Noddy Holder thinks about: interesting statements, thoughts and memories, facts

Noddy Holder is one of those musicians who needs no introduction. In the distant '60s, together with the band Slade it made a real fashion revolution: the members of the rock band shocked the public with their extravagant appearance with plaid pants, high heels, chic top hats and giant ties! It was the Slade who were the originators of the glam rock movement and became, as a result, its leaders (at least one of them). But the world was shocked not only by the bold image of the British rockers - their instantly recognizable sound could not leave anyone indifferent. Even domestic music lovers.

"In the heyday of Slade, I was just a teenager! Many years have passed, and I still listen to their songs in the car with great pleasure. Slade is forever. It's my youth. This music literally flows in my veins..." - Internet users write, and there are thousands of such comments!

Slade's greatest hits!
Slade

At the head of Slade's distinctive sound was phenomenal voicewhose trademark hoarseness is easily recognized by every third domestic listener. And that voice belonged to Noddy Holder. Today's article can be characterized as "thoughts out loud".

"Wasted Youth."

Slade
Slade

Gered Mankowitz - British photographer, one of the best of his craft. He was incredibly popular in the '60s and '70s, and worked with the leading stars of that era, mostly musicians. Having seen his exhibition these days, he's in his eighth decade. Noddy Holder couldn't help but indulge in memories. These pictures reminded him of the glam-rock era, which in many ways was revolutionary.

"It was strange to see myself like that on the wall, 40 years later. It reminded me of my wasted youth: we traveled the world, and most of that time passed in a blur. But even though I can't relate that young man to who I am now, I'm still proud of who I was!"

According to Holder, the glam rock movement was undervalued In due course:

"What really struck me, looking at it all, was that the glam rock era was largely ignored. It was a bright and frivolous time, but it was actually a very important time in terms of art and culture. It was revolutionary. We, Slade and Mark Bolan, really led the whole fashion and style aesthetic of glam rock. It was a very deliberate policy: we decided to dress so outrageously on Top of the Pops that we would be the talk of the next day. And it worked!"

Noddy Holder
Noddy Holder and Dave Hill

However, Noddy emphasizes that nothing has not gone away.

"I was happy to see how many young people were at the show. They probably don't even realize how much influence glam still has today. Look at Lady Gaga? Her inspiration is obvious!"

"The Baby Boomer Generation."

Noddy Holder
Noddy Holder

Holder was born in 1946 and was part of the so-called the baby boomer generation. The term is associated with the post-World War II surge in fertility.

"I had a happy childhood, and we were a typical - and very friendly - working family. My mother was very loving and saw the good in everyone. I was severely asthmatic until I was five, and she was very protective of me. She couldn't have any more children after me, so when I was seven, she took in a few more boys. I didn't mind. Living in a terraced house, with three families sharing a toilet in the backyard, I got used to interacting with a lot of children."

However, the terrible events World War II has not gone unnoticed by Noddy's father:

"It was an important and at the same time terrifying event for my father. He never talked about World War II unless he'd had a few drinks. He served with Montgomery's Desert Rats, and many of his buddies never returned, which left him with a burning hatred of the Germans. I only realized the strength of his sense of rejection of that people when I dated a German girl. She came to us when I was still living with my parents, and my father practically ignored her..."

Nevertheless, Noddy's father was "the carefree guy." (as the musician himself puts it): he worked as a window washer, and everyone in Walsall knew him.

"Sometimes he was repaid with goods. So, one day he came home with a big sack of meat! It drove my mother crazy. But they loved each other very much. Dad tried not to get sentimental and emotional, but sometimes he would sing "You Made Me Love You" and other songs like that to Mom. And that meant a lot more than words..."

First guitar

Noddy Holder with his first guitar
Noddy Holder with his first guitar

My first guitar Noddy got it when he was 12 - it was a gift from his parents for Christmas.

"It wasn't even electric, but I really wanted it. Every time I passed a flea market, I was fascinated - with my eyes and mouth wide open - to look at this guitar! It cost three pounds, and that was a lot of money for me...".

Noddy Holder - "Thoughts Out Loud": about youth, meeting Freddie Mercury, and the famous hat with mirrors
Noddy Holder

When Holder received the gift, he was overjoyed! But there was one problem: he was completely couldn't play.

"I had absolutely no ability to play, from the word go. Luckily, my mother knew a gifted jazz guitarist named Freddy, who agreed to teach me. That's how my road to fame began!"

Noddy learned to play pretty quickly, and in his own words - in those years he was inspired by "bad guys.".

"I learned to play right when Cliff Richard became a household name. Believe it or not, back then he was the bad boy of British rock and first made his name on a TV show called Oh Boy! Every Saturday night I would run to the TV to watch my idols - Cliff, Marty Wilde, Billy Fury, Adam Faith and Joe Brown - perform their latest hits. Then I would rush to my bedroom with my collar up to mimic the new moves that were an integral part of their performances!"

"Everything else is a bonus."

Slade
Slade

To focus entirely on music, Noddy dropped out of school in 17 years. His parents did not even discourage him - they fully supported their son's hobby, despite the fact that the school teachers were indignant about it.

"My parents were very proud of my later success, but they were never impressed by my material possessions. My father always told me, 'You only need one meal a day, one pair of shoes, and a roof over your head. Everything else is a bonus." When I made enough money, I wanted to buy them a nice house in the Midlands, but they weren't willing to part with their friends."

According to Noddy, his parents could not understand his stage persona, and were stunned the reaction of the audience to Slade's performances. Unfortunately, no one lasts forever...

"Dad died in 1988, and it hit me hard. He had health problems, including severe arthritis from washing windows in all kinds of weather. Mom passed away in 2002. She came to visit us for the holidays and we found her breathless in her chair on Christmas Eve morning..."

"Back off, Freddy!"

Freddie Mercury
Freddie Mercury

Today, Holder is proud of his career! He started out as a young roadie. Robert Plante - used to drive the singer around in his father's van. As he approached rock-star status, Noddy increasingly crossed paths with now iconic musicians. And when he didn't. Bona Scotthe was offered to be the voice of AC/DC. But Holder refused:

"I've always been loyal to Slade.

There is also a very curious legend that was spawned by Holder himself. It concerns Freddie Mercury and the famous mirror cylinder Slade vocalist. It's up to everyone to believe in it or not:

"It's actually an antique coachman's hat with mirrors glued on it. I got it off a guy in Kensington Market named Freddy. He said: "One day I'm going to be a big star like you." And I said: "Fuck off, Freddy! That's how he became Freddie Mercury!"

Noddy Holder
Noddy Holder

According to Noddy, he gave away most of his crazy glam-rock era outfits to charity. However, this particular noteworthy cylinder left behind - the headdress is still in the bank vault to this day. Returning to the theme of the whimsical images of the time, Holder emphasizes:

"It seemed like a bad thing to a lot of people, but it worked. We just made people laugh! Our outfits had nothing to do with our personal tastes. If you can make people smile, then you're halfway there!"

9kFollowers

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

Related Articles

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

"She left early, but she left a bright mark" - the story of Yanka Diagileva

A bright representative of the national underground - the story of Yanka Diagileva Yanka Diagileva went down in history as a bright representative of the Siberian underground, a woman who during her short career...

Автор:

Категория:

Нодди Холдер – «Мысли вслух»: о юности, знакомстве с Фредди Меркьюри и знаменитой шляпе с зеркалами

«Многим это казалось дурным тоном, но это работало. Мы просто веселили людей! Наши наряды не имели ничего общего с нашими личными вкусами. Если вы можете заставить людей улыбаться, значит, вы уже на полпути к успеху!»

О чём думает Нодди Холдер: интересные высказывания, мысли и воспоминания, факты

Нодди Холдер относится к тем музыкантам, которые не нуждаются в представлении. В далёких 60-х вместе с группой Slade он произвёл настоящую модную революцию: участники рок-бэнда обескуражили публику своим экстравагантным внешним видом с клетчатыми штанами, высокими каблуками, шикарными цилиндрами и гигантскими галстуками! Именно «Слэйд» стояли у истоков глэм-рок движения и стали в результате его предводителями (как минимум одними из таковых). Но мир был потрясён не только смелым имиджем британских рокеров – их мгновенно узнаваемое звучание не могло оставить равнодушным никого. Даже отечественных меломанов.

«Во времена расцвета Slade я был ещё подростком! Прошло много лет, а я до сих переслушиваю их песни в машине с большим удовольствием. Slade – это навсегда. Это моя молодость. Эта музыка буквально течёт в жилах…», – пишут пользователи Интернета, и таких комментариев тысячи!

Лучшие хиты Slade!
Slade

Во главе характерного звучания Slade стоял феноменальный голос, чью фирменную хрипотцу без труда узнает каждый третий отечественный слушатель. И принадлежал этот голос Нодди Холдеру. Сегодняшнюю статью можно охарактеризовать как «мысли вслух».

«Бездарно потраченная юность»

Slade
Slade

Геред Манковиц – британский фотограф, один из лучших в своём ремесле. Он был невероятно популярен в 60-е – 70-е, и работал с ведущими звёздами той эпохи, преимущественно с музыкантами. Побывав на его выставке уже в наши дни, разменявший восьмой десяток Нодди Холдер не мог не предаться воспоминаниям. Эти снимки напомнили ему эпоху глэм-рока, которая во многом была революционной.

«Было странно видеть себя вот так на стене, 40 лет спустя. Это напомнило мне мою бездарно потраченную юность: мы путешествовали по миру, и большая часть того времени прошла в тумане. Но даже если я не могу соотнести этого молодого человека с тем, кто я есть сейчас, я всё равно горжусь тем, кем я был!»

По мнению Холдера, глэм-рок движение было недооценено в своё время:

«Что меня действительно поразило, глядя на всё это, так это то, что эра глэм-рока в значительной степени игнорировалась. Это было яркое и легкомысленное время, но на самом деле оно было очень важным с точки зрения искусства и культуры. Это было революционно. Мы, Slade и Марк Болан, действительно возглавили всю эстетику моды и стиля глэм-рок. Это была очень продуманная политика: мы решили так возмутительно одеться на Top of the Pops, чтобы на следующий день о нас говорили. И это сработало!»

Нодди Холдер (Noddy Holder)
Нодди Холдер и Дейв Хилл

Однако Нодди подчёркивает: ничто не прошло бесследно.

«Мне было приятно видеть, сколько молодёжи было на выставке. Они, наверное, даже не осознают, насколько влияние глэма ощущается и сегодня. Посмотрите на Леди Гагу? Её вдохновение очевидно!»

«Поколение беби-бумеров»

Нодди Холдер
Нодди Холдер

Холдер родился в 1946 году и был частью так называемого поколения «беби-бумеров». Этот термин связан с всплеском рождаемости после Второй мировой.

«У меня было счастливое детство, и мы были типичной – и очень дружной – рабочей семьей. Мама была очень любящей и видела в каждом хорошее. Я был тяжёлым астматиком до пяти лет, и она очень меня оберегала. Она не могла больше иметь детей после меня, поэтому когда мне было семь лет, она взяла на воспитание ещё несколько мальчиков. Я не возражал. Живя в доме с террасами, с тремя семьями, делящими туалет на заднем дворе, я привык общаться с большим количеством детей».

Однако страшные события Второй мировой не прошли для отца Нодди бесследно:

«Это стало важным и одновременно страшным событием для отца. Он никогда не говорил про Вторую мировую, если только не выпил немного. Он служил с «Крысами пустыни» Монтгомери, и многие его приятели так и не вернулись, что оставило в нём жгучую ненависть к немцам. Я осознал силу его чувства отторжения к этому народу только тогда, когда встречался с немецкой девушкой. Она приехала к нам, когда я ещё жил с родителями, и отец практически игнорировал её…»

Тем не менее отец Нодди был «беспечным парнем» (как выражается сам музыкант): он работал мойщиком окон, и все в Уолсолле знали его.

«Иногда ему отплачивали товаром. Так, однажды он вернулся домой с большим мешком мяса! Это сводило маму с ума. Но они очень любили друг друга. Отец старался не проявлять сентиментальности, бурных эмоций, но иногда он пел для мамы «You Made Me Love You» и прочие песни в таком духе. И это означало гораздо больше всяких слов…»

Первая гитара

Нодди Холдер со своей первой гитарой
Нодди Холдер со своей первой гитарой

Свою первую гитару Нодди получил в 12 лет – это был подарок от родителей на Рождество.

«Она даже не была электрической, но я очень хотел её. Каждый раз проходя мимо барахолки, я как заворожённый – с широко открытыми глазами и ртом – смотрел на эту гитару! Она стояла 3 фунта, и для меня это была запредельная сумма…»

Нодди Холдер – «Мысли вслух»: о юности, знакомстве с Фредди Меркьюри и знаменитой шляпе с зеркалами
Нодди Холдер

Получив подарок, Холдер остался безумно рад! Но была одна проблема: он совершенно не умел играть.

«Я абсолютно не умел играть, от слова совсем. К счастью, моя мать знала одарённого джазового гитариста по имени Фредди, который согласился учить меня. Так начался мой путь к славе!»

Нодди довольно быстро научился играть, и по его собственным словам – в те годы он вдохновлялся «плохими парнями».

«Я научился играть как раз тогда, когда имя Клиффа Ричарда стало нарицательным. Хотите верьте, хотите нет, но тогда он был плохим парнем британского рока и впервые сделал себе имя в телешоу под названием «Oh Boy!». Каждую субботу вечером я бегал к телевизору, чтобы посмотреть, как мои кумиры – Клифф, Марти Уайлд, Билли Фьюри, Адам Фейт и Джо Браун – исполняют свои последние хиты. Затем я мчался в свою спальню с поднятым воротником, чтобы подражать новым движениям, которые были неотъемлемой частью их выступлений!»

«Всё остальное – бонус»

Slade
Slade

Чтобы целиком и полностью сосредоточиться на музыке, Нодди бросил учёбу в 17 лет. Родители даже не отговаривали его – они полностью поддерживали увлечение сына, несмотря на то, что школьные учителя негодовали по этому поводу.

«Мои родители очень гордились моим последующим успехом, но их никогда не впечатлял мой материальный достаток. Отец всегда говорил мне: «Тебе нужен только один приём пищи в день, одна пара обуви и крыша над головой. Всё остальное – бонус». Когда я заработал достаточно денег, я хотел купить им хороший дом в Мидлендсе, но они не желали расставаться со своими друзьями».

По словам Нодди, родители не могли понять его сценический образ, и были ошеломлены реакцией публики на выступления Slade. К сожалению, никто не вечен…

«Папа умер в 1988 году, и это сильно ударило по мне. У него были проблемы со здоровьем, в том числе сильный артрит из-за того, что он мыл окна в любую погоду. Мамы не стало в 2002 году. Она приехала к нам на праздники, и мы нашли её бездыханной в кресле утром в канун Рождества…»

«Отвали, Фредди!»

Фредди Меркьюри
Фредди Меркьюри

Сегодня Холдер гордится своей карьерой! Он начинал как роуди молодого Роберта Планта – развозил вокалиста в отцовском фургоне. По мере того, как он приближался к статусу рок-звезды, Нодди всё чаще пересекался с ныне культовыми музыкантами. А когда не стало Бона Скотта, ему предложили стать голосом AC/DC. Но Холдер отказался:

«Я всегда был предан Slade».

Также существует очень любопытная легенда, которую породил сам Холдер. Она касается Фредди Меркьюри и знаменитого зеркального цилиндра вокалиста Slade. Верить в неё или нет – каждый решает сам:

«На самом деле это старинная кучерская шляпа с наклеенными зеркальцами. Я снял её с парня на Кенсингтонском рынке по имени Фредди. Он сказал: «Однажды я стану такой же большой звездой, как ты». А я сказал: «Отвали, Фредди! Так он и стал Фредди Меркьюри!»

Нодди Холдер
Нодди Холдер

По словам Нодди, большую часть своих безумных нарядов эпохи глэм-рока он отдал на благотворительность. Однако именно этот примечательный цилиндр оставил – головной убор по сей день находится в банковском хранилище. Возвращаясь к теме причудливых образов того времени, Холдер подчёркивает:

«Многим это казалось дурным тоном, но это работало. Мы просто веселили людей! Наши наряды не имели ничего общего с нашими личными вкусами. Если вы можете заставить людей улыбаться, значит, вы уже на полпути к успеху!»

9kFollowers

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Похожие статьи

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...