Author:
Category:

Ocean Eyes - Billie Eilish (2016) - All about the song

Someone saw in the song "a dreamy love letter to a lover with the eyes of the ocean...", youthful daydreaming with a share of childish maturity...

The story of Billie Eilish's "Ocean Eyes"…

"Ocean Eyes" is a famous hit by American singer Billy Eilish, which was released in the fall of 2015. The composition is entirely the work of the singer's older brother, Finneas O'Connell. Curiously, the track was originally written not for Eilish, but for O'Connell's band The Slightlys. But Finneas later passed on his creation to his sister, commenting:

“I realized that it was in her performance that this song sounds divine ...”

And as time shows, the guy did not lose! Overall, "Ocean Eyes" received positive reviews from both critics and the public. Once in the top 60 of several countries of the world, the composition about "ocean eyes" became platinum! Let's delve into the history of creating a charming hit ...

Background, idea...

As mentioned above, "Ocean Eyes" was written, mixed and produced entirely by the singer's brother, Finneas O'Connell. At first, the guy wrote this for his own group The Slightlys, but in the process of working he realized: no one will perform this song better than his sister Billy ... Circumstances were such that during the same period her dance teacher from the Revolution Dance Center, Fred Diaz, gave them task to write a song for choreography. So - Finneas did not have to think long about the further fate of the track ...

When Billie Eilish gave an interview after the release of Ocean Eyes, she said:

“Finneas came home and… showed me this song! He said that he wrote it for his band, but I'm sure that with my vocals it will sound much cooler ... Then we sang it together for the first time, - Finneas played the guitar. I instantly fell in love with this song! She stuck in my head…”

Billie Eilish (frame from the video "Ocean Eyes")
Billie Eilish (frame from the video "Ocean Eyes")

Finneas himself, who later became the producer of his sister, shared his feelings from his own creation as follows:

“Writing this song was as easy as ever… This is one of those rare cases when all the puzzles came together in one moment! Both the music and the text - everything was born so quickly! And it resulted in a very harmonious work in my opinion ... "

“Ocean Eyes” by Billie Eilish

Release and success!

On November 18, 2015, Billie Eilish and her brother uploaded the track to the online platform SoundCloud. And this was the beginning of the story of their stunning collaboration... The composition about "ocean eyes" instantly became viral! Subsequently, when Eilish turned her attention to a musical career and signed with Darkroom and Interscope Records, the track was re-released as part of her debut EP "Don't Smile at Me".

If we talk about the success of the track, then "Ocean Eyes" entered a number of world top charts and ... even reached the 11th line of the prestigious Bubbling Under Hot 100! A new round of fame came to the composition in the fall of 2018, with the release of the debut studio album of the singer called “When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?” Soon after the release, the song started on the Billboard Hot 100 from position 84 ... At the same time, Eilish herself set a new record among female musicians for the number of hit tracks simultaneously in the US hot hundred ...

O'Connell's composition would later be certified platinum by both the RIAA and the BPI! As for the United Kingdom, in its territory the song almost entered the top 70, being on the 72nd line ... Oddly enough, the single in ... Australia was expecting the greatest success! The song not only reached the 58th line of the national chart, but also became certified four times!

Critical reception...

Billie Eilish
Billie Eilish

Much to the surprise of Eilish herself, the fruit of her collaboration with her brother was warmly received by critics! "Ocean Eyes" has been described as an R&B-influenced "ballad" with pop influences... Critics were particularly delighted by the unique percussion, deep bass and Eilish's harmonious, slightly scattered vocals... One of the critics commented on the song:

“These leisurely, minimalist beats combined with luscious synths are reminiscent of sea waves on a dreary gray day…”

Someone saw in the song “a dreamy love letter to a lover with the eyes of the ocean…”, youthful daydreaming with a share of childish maturity… One way or another, “Ocean Eyes” attracted the attention of a wide audience to the person starting his career Billy Eilish!

Music video

The accompanying music video was directed by Megan Thompson in the spring of 2016. As such, there is no plot! We can see how Billy Eilish, surrounded by a stream of lilac smoke, sings into the camera ... It turned out very gently and extraordinary, which also appealed to critics ...

A little later, in November of the same 2016, a second one was published on YouTube, this time a dance video for "Ocean Eyes". Quite restrained, but at the same time, such emotional choreography found support among music critics ...

The further fate of the song...

Subsequently, "Ocean Eyes" has become an integral attribute of all live performances of Billie Eilish! The song was performed live by the singer during her tour of North America, at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, at the Glastonbury and Pukkelpop festivals in 2019, as well as during the When We All Fall Asleep Tour…

Alicia Keys later recorded her cover of "Ocean Eyes". By the way: critics described the girl's version as "a characteristically soulful turn with a piano arrangement ..."

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

R.E.M. debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list Despite the fact that the way to fame R.E.M. started in the prime of...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

Автор:
Категория:

Ocean Eyes – Billie Eilish (2016) – Всё о песне

Кто-то увидел в песне «мечтательное любовное письмо возлюбленному с глазами океана...», юношескую мечтательность с долей недетской зрелости...

История песни «Ocean Eyes» Билли Айлиш…

«Ocean Eyes» — известный хит американской исполнительницы Билли Айлиш, который увидел свет осенью 2015 года. Композиция полностью является творением старшего брата певицы, Финнеаса О’Коннелла. Любопытно, но изначально трек писался не для Айлиш, а для группы О’Коннелла — The Slightlys. Но позже Финнеас передал своё творение сестре, прокомментировав:

«Я понял, что именно в её исполнении эта песня звучит божественно…»

И как показывает время, — парень не прогадал! В целом «Ocean Eyes» получила положительные отзывы как со стороны критиков, так и со стороны публики. Попав в топ-60 нескольких стран мира, композиция про «океанические глаза» стала платиновой! Углубимся в историю создания очаровательного хита…

Предпосылки, идея…

Как уже было упомянуто выше, «Ocean Eyes» написана, сведена и полностью спродюсирована братом певицы, Финнеасом О’Коннеллом. Поначалу парень писал это для собственной группы The Slightlys, однако в процессе работы понял: никто не исполнит эту песню лучше, чем его сестра Билли… Обстоятельства сложились так, что в этот же период её учитель танцев из Revolution Dance Center, Фред Диас, дал им задание написать песню для хореографии. Так что — Финнеасу не пришлось долго думать над дальнейшей судьбой трека…

Когда уже после выхода «Ocean Eyes» Билли Айлиш давала интервью, она сказала:

«Финнеас приехал домой и… показал мне эту песню! Он сказал, что писал её для своей группы, но уверен, что с моим вокалом она будет звучать намного круче… Тогда мы впервые спели её вместе, — Финнеас сыграл на гитаре. Я мгновенно влюбилась в эту песню! Она застряла у меня в голове…»

Билли Айлиш (кадр из клипа «ocean Eyes»)
Билли Айлиш (кадр из клипа «ocean Eyes»)

Сам Финнеас, который позже стал продюсером сестры, делился ощущениями от собственного творения так:

«Написать эту песню было как никогда легко… Это — один из тех редких случаев, когда все пазлы сложились в один момент! И музыка, и текст — всё родилось так быстро! И вылилось в очень гармоничное на мой взгляд произведение…»

“Ocean Eyes” by Billie Eilish

Релиз и успех!

18 ноября 2015 года Билли Айлиш вместе со своим братом загрузили трек на онлайн-платформу SoundCloud. И с этого началась история их ошеломительного сотрудничества… Композиция про «океанические глаза» мгновенно стала вирусной! Впоследствии, когда Айлиш обратила своё внимание на музыкальную карьеру и заключила контракт с Darkroom и Interscope Records, трек был переиздан в рамках дебютного EP «Don’t Smile at Me».

Если говорить об успехе трека, то «Ocean Eyes» вошёл в ряд мировых топ-чартов и… даже добрался до 11-й строчки престижного Bubbling Under Hot 100! Новый виток славы пришёл к композиции осенью 2018 года, с выходом дебютного студийника певицы под названием «When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?» Вскоре после релиза песня стартовала в Billboard Hot 100 с 84 позиции… Вместе с этим сама Айлиш установила новый рекорд среди женщин-музыкантов по численности хит-треков, одновременно находящихся в горячей сотне США…

Позже написанная О’Коннеллом композиция получит платиновую сертификацию как от RIAA, так и от BPI! Что касается Соединённого Королевства, то на его территории песня едва не вошла в топ-70, оказавшись на 72-й строчке… Как ни странно, а наибольший успех ожидал сингл в… Австралии! Песня не только достигла 58-й строчки национального чарта, но и стала четырехкратно сертифицированной!

Критический приём…

Билли Айлиш
Билли Айлиш

К большому удивлению самой Айлиш, плод их с братом сотрудничества был тепло воспринят критиками! «Ocean Eyes» была охарактеризована как «баллада», выдержанная в жанре R&B с мотивами попсы… Особенно критиков восхитили уникальная перкуссия, низкий бас и гармоничный, слегка рассеянный вокал самой Айлиш… Один из критиков прокомментировал песню так:

«Эти неторопливые, минималистичные биты в сочетании с сочными синтезаторами напоминают морские волны в унылый серый день…»

Кто-то увидел в песне «мечтательное любовное письмо возлюбленному с глазами океана…», юношескую мечтательность с долей недетской зрелости… Так или иначе, а «Ocean Eyes» привлёк внимание широкой аудитории к персоне начинающей свой творческий путь Билли Айлиш!

Музыкальный клип

Сопровождающий песню музыкальный клип был снят Меган Томпсон весной 2016 года. Как такового — сюжета нет! Мы можем видеть, как Билли Айлиш, окружённая потоком сиреневого дыма, поёт в камеру… Получилось очень нежно и неординарно, что также пришлось критикам по душе…

Чуть позже, в ноябре всё того же 2016 года, на YouTube было опубликовано второе, на этот раз — танцевальное видео на «Ocean Eyes». Довольно сдержанная, но в то же время такая эмоциональная хореография нашла поддержку среди музыкальных критиков…

Дальнейшая судьба песни…

Впоследствии «Ocean Eyes» стала неотъемлемым атрибутом всех живых выступлений Билли Айлиш! Композиция исполнялась певицей вживую во время её турне по Северной Америке, на фестивале музыки и искусств Coachella Valley, на фестивалях в Гластонбери и в Pukkelpop в (2019 год), а также во время тура When We All Fall Asleep Tour…

Позже свой кавер на «Ocean Eyes» записала певица Алиша Киз. К слову: критики охарактеризовали версию девушки как «характерно душевный поворот с фортепианной аранжировкой…»

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...