Author:

Category:

Do you remember the Slade hit, which was beloved only in our country?

"We originally planned to include this song on 'Rogues Gallery' because it was based on events that happened shortly before the album was released: we came to L.A. at the time, 'Run Runaway' was being promoted! But something ended up going wrong, and the song waited a few years to come out..."

"Ooh La La in L.A." Why one of the most beloved Slade songs in Russia has not gained recognition abroad

"Ooh La La in L.A." - knows this hilarious song every domestic listener! And almost every other one of her loves. But here's the interesting thing: this track only became popular in the territory of our states! In the United States, which is the subject of the text, he even did not enter in the top 100! As, however, in Germany, where it was released as a single. Such a phenomenon to this day seems to the participants Slade strange, if not mystical at all...

This Autobiographical song, but as such - the meaning of it No. Just a fun track about British rockers "partying In the City of Angels in America! But why did he become so popular in Russia, and yet not succeed anywhere else?

A song about the fun days of rock stars

Slade's greatest hits!
Slade's greatest hits!

The fact that this is not at all shallowBut very much so. fun trackI can tell by the sound! It's catchy and rhythmic, and the soul is begging to sing! So, involuntarily, you start to sing along "U-la-la in L.A." during the chorus... The song came out in 1987 The third single from the album "You Boyz Make Big Noize", but it was born two years earlier, back in the days of "Rogues Gallery.".

Slade
Slade

Before releasing their 12th studio album, British rockers Slade coolly had fun in America! And it was this "kutzh" that inspired the vocalist Noddy Holder and bassist Jim Lee to write driving and ironic lyrics, and as a result imprinted himself in the lyrics that millions know and love today!

"It was an uncharacteristic, yet autobiographical song for us. Here we talk about our trip to L.A.: one verse talks about Don Powell, whom we made fun of the whole way, and another mentions Sunset Marquee, the place where various popular bands stayed. There's also a reference to Barney's Beanery - we used to hang out there for hours and play pool!" - Dave Hill says.

Slade Guitarist continues:

"We originally planned to include this song on 'Rogues Gallery' because it was based on events that happened shortly before the album was released: we came to L.A. at the time, 'Run Runaway' was being promoted! But something ended up going wrong, and the song waited a few years to come out..."

In addition to the events mentioned above, "Ooh La La in L.A." has a line about Don Powellwhose middle name is George. In those years, the tabloids were full of headlines about Slade's drummer spinning whirlwind romance with the daughter of Bob Dylan (whose real last name is known, Zimmerman).

"Again George is on his knees crawling,
It burns with Miss Zimmerman..."

Graduation and Disillusionment

Slade
Slade

"Slade originally did not big bets on a mock track about his adventures in Los Angelesand therefore released "Ooh La La in L.A." only third single from the album. The song was not successful at all, not hitting the charts in Germany or, in fact, in America. For this reason music video They didn't release it, though they planned to at first. Here's what the band members said about it:

"We were planning to shoot a music video for 'Ooh La La in L.A.' a music video in the places we were having fun and singing about! But the producers turned us down-it was all about money, as always, and the low numbers didn't bode well... Our song didn't even make the charts!"

An ode to the glorious days in Los Angeles was latestwhich Slade recorded with RCA: the contract was soon terminated, for the success of the single (or rather its absence) didn't suit anyone.

The love of the Russian public

Slade
Slade

The only thing is. pleased at the same time surprised Slade, that's the love of domestic listeners! In our country, "Ooh La La in L.A." quickly became hit! You can often come across similar comments from Russian music lovers:

"It brings a tear to my eye! All my youth is connected to this song! I used to listen to it with my friends - fond memories. Now it's just them and "Ooh La La in L.A." Left..."

Or here. yet:

"I'm 70 and I can't enjoy it at all - what a song, what a vocal! Great!"

Against the backdrop of such domestic popularity Dave Hill once said, not without surprise:

"We were always amazed how 'Ooh La La in L.A.' failed miserably in the U.S. and Germany, yet it caught on in Russia-how was it loved in this huge country, while abroad it passed without a trace?"

Slade
Slade

Some people think that few people in Russia understoodThat's what this humorous song is about. That's why they loved it! And maybe it's all about driving soundThe song has become something close and inspiring to a Russian person... One way or another, the song has become A timeless chant! And, most likely, will continue to rumble on speakers for generations to come!

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Изначально мы планировали включить эту песню в «Rogues Gallery», так как она была основана на событиях, произошедших незадолго до выхода альбома: мы тогда приехали в Лос-Анджелес, «Run Runaway» раскручивали! Но в итоге что-то пошло не так, и песня несколько лет ждала своего часа...»

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом

«Ooh La La in L.A.» – эту заводную песню знает каждый отечественный слушатель! А почти каждый второй её любит. Но вот что интересно: популярность этот трек обрёл только на территории нашего государства! В Соединённых Штатах, о которых и идёт речь в тексте, он даже не вошёл в сотню лучших! Как, впрочем, и в Германии, где был издан синглом. Подобный феномен по сей день кажется участникам Slade странным, если вовсе не мистическим…

Это автобиографичная песня, но как такового – смысла в ней нет. Просто весёлый трек про то, как британские рокеры «кутили» в «Городе Ангелов» в Америке! Но почему же он стал так популярен именно в России, и при этом не добился успеха нигде?

Песня о весёлых буднях рок-звёзд

Лучшие хиты Slade!
Лучшие хиты Slade!

То, что это вовсе не глубокий, а очень даже весёлый трек, понятно уже по звучанию! Оно заводное и ритмичное, и душа сама просится петь! Так, невольно начинаешь подпевать «У-ла-ла ин Эл-Эй» во время припева… Песня вышла в 1987 году как третий сингл из альбома «You Boyz Make Big Noize», однако родилась она двумя годами ранее – ещё во времена «Rogues Gallery».

Slade
Slade

Прежде чем выпустить свой 12 студийный альбом, британские рокеры Slade круто повеселились в Америке! И именно этот «кутёж» вдохновил вокалиста Нодди Холдера и басиста Джима Ли на написание драйвового и ироничного текста, и в результате отпечатался в лирике, которую сегодня знают и любят миллионы!

«Для нас это была нехарактерная, и вместе с тем автобиографичная песня. Здесь мы рассказываем о своей поездке в Лос-Анджелес: в одном куплете речь идёт о Доне Пауэлле, над которым мы потешались всю дорогу, в другом упоминается Sunset Marquee – местечко, где останавливались различные популярные группы. А ещё здесь есть отсылка к Barney’s Beanery – мы там часами зависали и играли в пул!» – рассказывает Дейв Хилл.

Гитарист Slade продолжает:

«Изначально мы планировали включить эту песню в «Rogues Gallery», так как она была основана на событиях, произошедших незадолго до выхода альбома: мы тогда приехали в Лос-Анджелес, «Run Runaway» раскручивали! Но в итоге что-то пошло не так, и песня несколько лет ждала своего часа…»

Помимо упомянутых выше событий, в «Ooh La La in L.A.» есть строчка о Доне Пауэлле, чьё второе имя – Джордж. В те годы таблоиды пестрили заголовками, якобы барабанщик Slade крутил бурный роман с дочерью Боба Дилана (чья настоящая фамилия, как известно, Циммерман).

«Снова Джордж на коленях ползает,
Жжёт вместе с мисс Циммерман…»

Выпуск и разочарование

Slade
Slade

«Слэйд» изначально не делали крупных ставок на шуточный трек про свои приключения в Лос-Анджелесе, а потому выпустили «Ooh La La in L.A.» лишь третьим синглом с альбома. Песня не добилась успеха вообще, не попав в чарты ни Германии, ни, собственно, Америки. По этой причине музыкальный клип выпускать не стали, хотя поначалу планировали. Вот что сказали об этом участники группы:

«Мы планировали снять на «Ooh La La in L.A.» музыкальный клип в тех местах, где мы веселились и о которых поём! Но продюсеры отказали нам – всё, как всегда, упиралось в деньги, а низкие показатели не предвещали ничего хорошего… Наша песня даже не вошла в чарты!»

Ода упоительным денькам в Лос-Анджелесе стала последней, которую Slade записали с RCA: вскоре контракт был разорван, ибо успех сингла (а вернее его отсутствие) не устраивал никого.

Любовь российской публики

Slade
Slade

Единственное, что приятно порадовало и одновременно удивило Slade, так это любовь отечественных слушателей! В нашей стране «Ooh La La in L.A.» быстро стала хитом! Часто можно наткнуться на подобного рода комментарии российских меломанов:

«Аж слеза наворачивается! Вся молодость связана с этой песней! С друзьями слушали – тёплые воспоминания. Теперь только они да «Ooh La La in L.A.» остались…»

Или вот ещё:

«Мне 70, а я не могу насладиться никак – вот это песня, вот это вокал! Класс!»

На фоне такой отечественной популярности Дейв Хилл однажды не без удивления сказал:

«Мы всегда были поражены, как «Ooh La La in L.A.» с треском провалилась в США и Германии, но при этом прижилась в России – как её полюбили в этой огромной стране, в то время как за рубежом она прошла бесследно?!»

Slade
Slade

Некоторые считают, что в России мало кто понимал, о чём поётся в этой шуточной песне. Вот и полюбили её! А возможно всё дело в драйвовом звучании, которое для русского человека стало чем-то близким и вдохновляющим… Так или иначе – у нас песня стала вневременным шлягером! И, скорее всего, продолжит грохотать на колонках ещё не одно поколение!

9kFollowers

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Похожие статьи

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...