Author:
Category:

The story of Paco de Lucia, an innovator in the flamenco genre

“I never lost my roots in my music! Otherwise, I would have lost myself... I tried to hold on to the tradition with one hand, and dug into it stubbornly with the other. I tried to find something new that I can bring to flamenco...”

Full biography of Paco de Lucia - from early years to overwhelming success

Paco de Lucia was a Spanish guitar virtuoso, composer and producer. Leading proponent of the new flamenco style, de Lucia was one of the first to divide into classical and jazz. Today he is called "a titanic figure in the world of flamenco guitar" and "one of the greatest guitarists in history". Paco widely famous for his unusual style - he often combined picado and rasguado with more sensitive playing and was known for adding abstract chords and scales to his jazz-influenced compositions… He played a key role not only in the development of traditional flamenco, but in the development of a new fusion of flamenco and Latin jazz!

Early years

Paco de Lucia...
Paco de Lucia...

Paco de Lucia was born in Algeciras, a small town in the province Cadiz in the very south Spain, and was originally raised as a world-class musician. He trained with his father, who was a musician, and his brother from the age of five. Having mastered the art of playing the flamenco guitar to his 11th anniversary, Paco confidently debuted on local radio in 1958 year. A year later, he received a special award at the festival Concurso Internacional Flamenco de Jerez de la Frontera, and soon he was dubbed a child prodigy! Thereafter de Lucia was invited to join a flamenco troupe led by a dancer Jose Greco. At that time, the guy was only 16 years old.

Paco remained with the group for three years, after which there was a turning point in musical development de Lucia... It happened during a tour with Greco on North America: that's where Paco met Sabikasa, the first world tour flamenco guitarist, from whom the guy was instructed to follow his own style of playing ... Although he remained attached to traditional flamenco on his first two solo albums (La Fabulosa Guitarra de Paco de Lucia 1967 and Fantasia Flamenca 1969) and recorded ten albums accompanied by a flamenco vocalist de la Isla, since de Lucia continued to look for his individual approach ...

Career

Paco de Lucia
Paco de Lucia

Role of the guitar flamenco greatly expanded in the world of music thanks to the game Paco de Lucia… son of a flamenco guitarist Antonio Sanchez and brother Ramona de Algeciras and flamenco singer Pepe de Lucia, Paco expanded the traditional flamenco genre to include deeply personal melodic utterances and contemporary instruments. His collaborations included ten albums with a flamenco vocalist Camaron de la Isla, with pianist Chikom Corea and with guitarists John McLaughlin, Larry Coryell and Al Di Meola! His recordings, including his brothers Ramon and Pepe, have become masterpieces! Here are just a few of them: La Fabulosa Guitarra de Paco de Lucia, Fantasia Flamenca, Fuente y Caudal, Almoraima and Zyryab

Nevertheless, de Lucia never abandoned traditional flamenco. His album 1980 of the year, Interpreta a Manuel de Falla, pays homage to the classical composer and flamenco enthusiast, and his album 1987 of the year Siroco marked Paco's return to pure flamenco.

“I never lost my roots in my music! Otherwise, I would have lost myself... I tried to hold on to the tradition with one hand, and dug into it stubbornly with the other. I tried to find something new that I can bring to flamenco…” Paco said during an interview in the late 90s.

Paco de Lucia
Paco de Lucia

The music scene around the world began to change at the beginning 1970's, and in Spain everything has changed too: especially in the flamenco scene.

Meeting with Camaron de la Isla and solo success

Camaron de la Isla
Camaron de la Isla

Meeting Paco de Lucia and a young flamenco singer named Camaron de la Isla happened in the billiard room in Madrid, and apparently she was destined to change the face of flamenco forever... Their partnership was to be a milestone in the history of flamenco, because they changed the rules of the art, and they set about searching for trends that were supposed to turn the flamenco scene on its head : for ten years they dominated the festival chain and they released a series of recordings revealing the strange but magical musical chemistry that existed between them… Their albums paved the way for a revolutionary new style of flamenco that, for the first time in history, captured the attention of the younger generation.

Camaron de la Isla and Paco de Lucia album
Camaron de la Isla and Paco de Lucia album

Paco de Lucia changed the rules, and became the first guitarist to be mentioned on an album cover (before that, it was not considered important to include the guitarist's name on the records they played). Paco is listed on each disc of the deceased Camarona with words "Con la colaboración especial de Paco de Lucia".

Although Paco de Lucia quickly becoming the most phenomenal flamenco accompanist, he devoted what little free time he had to his solo career, and this led him to great heights! His record Fuente y Caudal brought him unexpected success, and a rumba called Entre dos aguas spawned an anthem that has become one of the classic guitar pieces of all time ... After all, Paco and Camaron parted ... It was inevitable. But the guitarist's musical direction changed dramatically: jazz began to influence his style, and he soon found himself playing alongside some of the great jazz figures of the era, including John McLaughlin, Larry Coryell and Chick Corea. During this period, Paco recorded albums Siroco and Ziryab, and Lucia - a tribute to his dead mother ... It was in this entry that Paco included a master rondena dedicated to the memory of his late friend Camarona.

Camaron de la Isla and Paco de Lucia
Camaron de la Isla and Paco de Lucia

Paco is at the center of a death scandal Camaronabecause some people unfairly accused him of a terrible financial situation Camarona at the time of his death. Some of those present at the funeral even insulted Paco, believing that he was responsible for depriving the singer and his family of royalties created during their golden years. But for anyone who knew anything about their partnership, it was obvious that Paco did nothing of the sort. The main problem was that Paco de Lucia was gaining strength, while Camaron, who suffered from harmful addictions, was not one to worry about the future, and therefore died relatively penniless ...

End of story...

Paco de Lucia was one of the most formidable and influential guitarists in Spain, and although his name has become synonymous with flamenco, and especially the singer Camarona de la Isla, he became the most revered guitarist of the last century. The guitarist suffered a fatal heart attack on the beach in Mexico February 25, 2014when vacationing with his family. Paco, who lived in Mexico for several years, was taken to the nearest hospital, but the doctors could not save him ... At the time of his death, the guitarist was 66 years old. When a great master of any art dies, he is invariably declared the greatest proponent of that art. But in the case of Paco there is no doubt that he was indeed one of the most revered guitarists who graced the art of flamenco. The name of this most celebrated flamenco guitarist has now entered acoustic guitar history. The world has lost a virtuoso musician, and flamenco has lost one of its maestros: but fortunately, his legacy will remain forever.

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

R.E.M. debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list Despite the fact that the way to fame R.E.M. started in the prime of...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

Автор:
Категория:

История Пако де Лусия – новатора в жанре фламенко

«Я никогда не терял корни в своей музыке! В противном случае — я потерял бы себя... Я пытался одной рукой держаться за традицию, а другой упорно копался в ней. Я пытался найти что-то новое, что я могу привнести во фламенко...»

Полная биография Пако де Лусия – от ранних лет до ошеломляющего успеха

Пако де Лусия был испанским гитаристом-виртуозом, композитором и продюсером. Ведущий сторонник нового стиля фламенко, де Лусия был одним из первых, кто разделился на классику и джаз. Сегодня его называют «титанической фигурой в мире гитары фламенко» и «одним из величайших гитаристов в истории». Пако широко прославился своим необыкновенным стилем — он часто сочетал пикадо и расгуадо с более чувствительной игрой и был известен добавлением абстрактных аккордов и гамм в свои композиции с джазовыми влияниями… Он сыграл ключевую роль не только в развитии традиционного фламенко, но и в развитии нового слияния фламенко и латинского джаза!

Ранние годы

Пако де Лусия...
Пако де Лусия…

Пако де Лусия родился в Альхесирасе, небольшом городке в провинции Кадис на самом юге Испании, и изначально был воспитан как музыкант мирового класса. Он тренировался со своим отцом, который был музыкантом, и братом с пяти лет. Освоив искусство игры на гитаре фламенко к своему 11-летию, Пако уверенно дебютировал на местном радио в 1958 году. Год спустя он получил специальную награду на фестивале Concurso Internacional Flamenco de Jerez de la Frontera, и вскоре его окрестили вундеркиндом! После этого де Лусия был приглашён присоединиться к труппе фламенко под руководством танцора Хосе Греко. На тот момент парню было всего 16 лет.

Пако оставался в группе в течение трёх лет, после чего произошёл поворотный момент в музыкальном развитии де Лусии… Случилось это во время гастролей с Греко по Северной Америке: именно там Пако встретил Сабикаса, первого гитариста фламенко, совершившего мировое турне, от которого парень получил указание следовать своему собственному стилю игры… Хотя он оставался привязанным к традиционному фламенко на своих первых двух сольных альбомах (La Fabulosa Guitarra de Paco de Lucia 1967 и Fantasia Flamenca 1969) и записал десять альбомов в сопровождении вокалиста фламенко де ла Исла, с тех пор де Лусия продолжал искать свой индивидуальный подход…

Карьера

Пако де Лусия
Пако де Лусия

Роль гитары фламенко значительно расширилась в мире музыки благодаря игре Пако де Лусия… Сын гитариста фламенко Антонио Санчеса и брат Рамона де Альхесираса и певца фламенко Пепе де Лусия, Пако расширил традиционный жанр фламенко, включив в него глубоко личные мелодичные высказывания и современные инструменты. Его сотрудничество включало десять альбомов с вокалистом фламенко Камароном де ла Исла, с пианистом Чиком Кориа и с гитаристами Джоном Маклафлином, Ларри Корьеллом и Элом Ди Меола! Его записи, включающие его братьев Рамона и Пепе, стали шедеврами! Вот лишь некоторые из них: La Fabulosa Guitarra de Paco de Lucia, Fantasia Flamenca, Fuente y Caudal, Almoraima и Zyryab

Тем не менее, де Лусия никогда не отказывался от традиционного фламенко. Его альбом 1980 года, Interpreta a Manuel de Falla, отдаёт дань уважения классическому композитору и энтузиасту фламенко, а его альбом 1987 года Siroco ознаменовал возвращение Пако к чистому фламенко.

«Я никогда не терял корни в своей музыке! В противном случае — я потерял бы себя… Я пытался одной рукой держаться за традицию, а другой упорно копался в ней. Я пытался найти что-то новое, что я могу привнести во фламенко…» — рассказывал Пако во время интервью в конце 90-х.

Пако де Лусия
Пако де Лусия

Музыкальная сцена во всём мире начала меняться в начале 1970-х, и в Испании тоже всё изменилось: особенно на сцене фламенко.

Встреча с Камарон де ла Исла и сольный успех

Камарон де ла Исла
Камарон де ла Исла

Встреча Пако де Лусии и молодого певца фламенко по имени Камарон де ла Исла произошла в бильярдном зале в Мадриде, и, по всей видимости, ей было суждено навсегда изменить лицо фламенко… Их партнёрство должно было стать важной вехой в истории фламенко, потому что они изменили правила искусства, и они приступили к поиску тенденций, который должен был перевернуть сцену фламенко с ног на голову: в течение десяти лет они доминировали на фестивальной цепи, и они выпустили серию записей, раскрывающих странную, но волшебную музыкальную химию, существовавшую между ними… Их альбомы проложили путь к революционному новому стилю фламенко, который впервые в истории привлёк внимание молодого поколения.

Камарон де ла Исла и Пако де Лусия, альбом
Камарон де ла Исла и Пако де Лусия, альбом

Пако де Лусия изменил правила, и стал первым гитаристом, которого упомянули на обложке альбома (до этого не считалось важным включать имя гитариста в записи, которые они играли). Пако указан на каждом диске покойного Камарона со словами «Con la colaboración especial de Paco de Lucía».

Хотя Пако де Лусия быстро становился самым феноменальным аккомпаниатором фламенко, он посвящал то немногое свободное время, которое у него было, сольной карьере, и это привело его к большим высотам! Его запись Fuente y Caudal принесла ему неожиданный успех, а румба под названием Entre dos aguas породила гимн, который стал одной из классических гитарных пьес всех времён… В конце концов, Пако и Камарон расстались… Это было неизбежно. Но музыкальное направление гитариста резко изменилось: джаз начал влиять на его стиль, и вскоре он стал играть вместе с некоторыми из великих джазовых фигур той эпохи, в том числе с Джоном Маклафлином, Ларри Корьеллом и Чиком Кориа. В этот период Пако записывает альбомы Siroco и Ziryab, а также Luzia — дань уважения его умершей матери… Именно в эту запись Пако включил мастерскую рондену, посвящённую памяти своего покойного друга Камарона.

Камарон де ла Исла и Пако де Лусия
Камарон де ла Исла и Пако де Лусия

Пако оказался в центре скандала, связанного со смертью Камарона, потому что некоторые люди несправедливо обвиняли его в ужасном финансовом положении Камарона на момент его смерти. Некоторые из присутствующих на похоронах даже оскорбляли Пако, считая, что он был ответственен за лишение певца и его семьи гонораров, созданных в их золотые годы. Но для любого, кто хоть что-то знал об их партнёрстве, было очевидно, что Пако не делал ничего подобного. Основная проблема заключалась в том, что Пако де Лусия набирал силу, в то время как Камарон, страдавший от пагубных зависимостей, был не из тех, кто беспокоился о будущем, и поэтому умер относительно без гроша в кармане…

Конец истории…

Пако де Лусия был одним из самых грозных и влиятельных гитаристов Испании, и хотя его имя стало синонимом фламенко, и особенно певца Камарона де ла Исла, он стал самым почитаемым гитаристом прошлого века. Гитарист перенёс сердечный приступ со смертельным исходом на пляже в Мексике 25 февраля 2014 года, когда отдыхал со своей семьей. Пако, который несколько лет жил в Мексике, был доставлен в ближайшую больницу, но медики не смогли спасти его… На момент смерти гитаристу было 66 лет. Когда умирает великий мастер любого искусства, его неизменно объявляют величайшим сторонником этого искусства. Но в случае с Пако нет сомнений в том, что он действительно был одним из самых почитаемых гитаристов, украсивших искусство фламенко. Имя этого самого прославленного гитариста фламенко теперь вошло в историю акустической гитары. Мир потерял виртуозного музыканта, а фламенко потеряло одного из своих маэстро: но к счастью, его наследие останется навсегда.

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...