Author:
Category:

Paul McCartney – Beautiful Night 1997-2020

Paul McCartney released the Beautiful Night EP as part of the reissue of his acclaimed 1997 album Flaming Pie.

Paul McCartney - Beautiful Night (Beautiful Night) - 2020

Paul McCartney released the Beautiful Night EP on July 17, 2020 as part of the reissue of his acclaimed 1997 album Flaming Pie. Released on July 31, Burning Pie marks the thirteenth installment in Paul's Grammy-winning archive collection.

The EP recreates the original "Beautiful Night" maxi single from 1997, with a remastered "Flaming Pie" single, "Beautiful Night", a demo of the 1995 song, an alternate recording of "Run Through" and "Oobu Joobu Part 5" - a mix of "Beautiful Night" themed talk night", alternate mixes and recordings of Paul and Ringo Starr talking about the song.

The newly updated music video for "Beautiful Night", filmed in 1997, is also out today.

Paul McCartney – Beautiful Night song history 

Beautiful Night – Paul Mccartney
Beautiful Night – Paul Mccartney

Beautiful Night marks one of the first collaborations between Paul and Ringo Starr since the Beatles. Speaking about his memories of that time, Paul said:

“I've been telling Ringo for years that it would be great to do something because we've never done so much together outside of The Beatles. One night, Jeff Lynn suggested, "Why don't you invite Ringo over?" and I said "OK!" It just happened.

I had this song 'Beautiful Night' that I wrote a few years ago. I've always liked it, but I felt like I didn't have the right version of it. So I pulled that song out when Ringo came over and immediately it was like old times."

Originally released on May 5, 1997, Flaming Pie ended a four-year hiatus between McCartney studio albums. Recorded in large part after Paul's involvement in the creation and production of the Beatles Anthology series, Flaming Pie was shaped and inspired by this experience. Paul remarked at the time that The Beatles Anthology was reminiscent of The Beatles' standards and the standards they had achieved with songs. In a way, it was a refresher course that laid the groundwork for this album.

First video clip of the song

Created by Paul, Jeff Lynne and George Martin and featuring a supporting cast of family and friends including Ringo Starr, Steve Miller, Linda McCartney and son James, "Flaming Pie" is equal parts a masterclass in songwriting and a steady burst of joyful spontaneity. With highlights ranging from inspirational and inspiring opener "The Song We Sang" to the raucous title track (named after a quote from an early John Lennon interview about the origin of the Beatles' name: "It came in a vision - a man appeared on a flaming pie and told them, "From this day on, you're the Beatles with an A.") to the wistful "Calico Skies", featuring the singles "Young Boy", "The World Tonight" and "Beautiful Night", "Flaming Pie" would represent another pinnacle in Paul's solo catalog: released to rave reviews, Paul's became the most commercially successful release of the 90s, reaching the highest chart positions since the 80s and being certified gold in the US, UK, Japan and other countries.

From the memories of musicians ...

From the liner notes album:

The work on the Anthology prompted Paul to invite him and Ringo to renew their collaboration, which had not been for ten years. "Beautiful Night" was already a decade old, and the New York-made recording was on a shelf, unused since 1986. With Paul at the piano and Ringo on drums (he played an exact replica of his own kit, by the way, which Paul had bought based on Ringo's after the True Love session), the song came together comfortably. Wanting to play some guitar, Paul also introduced a new element to his compositions, uptempo finale Finally, the recording was enhanced by an orchestral arrangement dubbed by George Martin and overdubbed at Abbey Road on Valentine's Day 1997.

Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr
Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr

“I dug up this old song when Ringo came, changed a few lyrics and it was very similar to the old days, I realized that we hadn’t done in so long, but it was very convenient. And it was still there.

Paul McCartney, in Club Sandwich No. 82, Summer 1997:

I wrote "Beautiful Night" quite a few years ago and I've always loved it, and people who heard an early recording I made in New York with some of the Billy Joel players said they liked it too. But I always felt like we didn't quite "make it" - you know? We had a good evening and had a great time, but I just didn't feel like it was the one. Also, I was still changing a few texts. So instead I did it with Ringo - I told him for years that we should work together. He's great.

Two great geniuses...
Two great geniuses...

I was at the piano and Ringo was at the drums. It was so comfortable and pleasant to work with him again. Jeff Lynne and I produced. Ringo was very happy with it, and at the end we noted a fast beat that wasn't on the original recording.

ringo starr dzheff linn pol makkartni i dzhordzh harrison 1995
Ringo Starr, Jeff Lynn, Paul McCartney and George Harrison, 1995.

Ringo came here to the studio to play "Free As A Bird" and "Real Love" and brought his kit with him. Sounds great when recorded, snare, bass. He then left his set here in storage, so I called and ordered exactly the same items and set up my new set the same way. In fact, Ringo used my model of his Beautiful Night set.

Mark Lewisohn, in Club Sandwich No. 82, Summer 1997:

With Paul at the piano and Ringo on drums, the song came together comfortably. Wanting to play some guitar at the end, Paul introduced a new element to his composition, the uptempo ending, and the mic picked up some kind of distinctive advertisement for Ringo and Paul as they were about to leave the studio. The recording then remained unchanged for nine months before Paul decided to enhance it with an orchestral arrangement dubbed by George Martin and recorded at Studio One on Abbey Road on February 14, 1997.

Ringo Starr, in Club Sandwich #83, Fall 1997:

Tell me how you came to work with Paul again, this time.

He had this song that he wanted me to play. And that's what happened - I went to his studio, and we played on the track. How does is called?

'Beautiful night'!

Yes, sorry! He invited me to play "Beautiful Night" and I said "Sure". I think it's a beautiful track.

You also sing in Beautiful Night.

I sing on my return at the end, yes. He said, “You can sing it,” and I said, “Okay, thanks. What are the notes? and sang them. When we go and do his song, he answers. I mean, I can give him everything I have, but he wrote the song and he has a program for it. If I do something that changes that and he likes it, then we'll do it. But he's Mr. McCartney when we write his song. And I'm Mr. Ringo when we do mine. We're just fellow musicians.

Ringo Starr, at Club Sandwich N° 83, Fall 1997

At the end of A Beautiful Night, we can hear Ringo Starr making fun of it.

I think that everyone who makes a record has the opportunity to leave all the madness at the end. You almost always fade out, but at the end of "Beautiful Night" it was such a good takeoff that Ringo started having fun, acting like a doorman, throwing people out. I love it so much. This is very Beatley. It's a very good Beatley idea, because we did it in a group… “Beautiful Night” actually sounds a little bit “Beatley”… In fact, I swear that at the end of “Beautiful Night” you can almost hear some very John's voice Lennoni. Listen to this. Check this.

Paul McCartney, from The Beatles Monthly, #261 Jan 1998

ringo starr
Ringo Starr

Tracks of the EP "Beautiful Night":

  1. Beautiful Night (Main Album - Remastered)
  2. Beautiful Night (1995 Demo)
  3. Beautiful Night (Run Through)
  4. Oobu Joobu Part 5:
    1. And Now (Jingle)
    2. Oobu Joobu Main Theme
    3. beautiful night chat
    4. Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr Chat About 'Beautiful Night'
    5. Ringo Starr Chat
    6. Beautiful Night (Flaming Pie Mix)
    7. Beautiful Night (Original Version)
    8. goodbyes
    9. Oobu Joobu Main Theme

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

R.E.M. debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list Despite the fact that the way to fame R.E.M. started in the prime of...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

Автор:
Категория:

Paul McCartney (Пол Маккартни) – Beautiful Night (Прекрасная ночь) 1997-2020

Пол Маккартни выпустил EP Beautiful Night в рамках переиздания своего знаменитого альбома 1997 года «Flaming Pie»

Paul McCartney – Beautiful Night (Красивая ночь) – 2020

Пол Маккартни выпустил 17 июля 2020 года EP Beautiful Night в рамках переиздания своего знаменитого альбома 1997 года Flaming Pie. Фильм «Горящий пирог», релиз которого – 31 июля, отмечает тринадцатый выпуск коллекции архива Пола, удостоенной награды Грэмми.

EP воссоздает оригинальный макси-сингл «Beautiful Night» 1997 года, с ремастерированным синглом «Flaming Pie», «Beautiful Night», демонстрацией песни 1995 года, альтернативной записью «Run Through» и «Oobu Joobu Part 5» – смесь тематической беседы «Красивая ночь», альтернативные миксы и записи интервью Пола и Ринго Старра, говорящих о песне.

Недавно обновленный музыкальный клип для «Beautiful Night», снятый в 1997 году, также выходит сегодня.

История песни Paul McCartney – Beautiful Night 

Beautiful Night – Paul Mccartney
Beautiful Night – Paul Mccartney

«Красивая ночь» знаменует собой одно из первых сотрудничества между Полом и Ринго Старром после «Битлз». Говоря о своих воспоминаниях о том времени, Пол сказал:

«Я годами говорил Ринго, что было бы здорово сделать что-то, потому что мы никогда не делали так много совместной работы за пределами The Beatles. Однажды ночью Джефф Линн предложил: «Почему бы тебе не пригласить Ринго?» и я сказал: «ОК!» Просто так получилось.

У меня была эта песня ‘Beautiful Night’, которую я написал несколько лет назад. Мне всегда нравилось это, но я чувствовал, что у меня не было правильной версии этого. Так что я вытащил эту песню, когда приходил Ринго, и сразу же это было как в старые времена».

Первоначально выпущенный 5 мая 1997 года, Flaming Pie положил конец четырёхлетнему перерыву между студийными альбомами McCartney. Записываемый в значительной степени после участия Пола в создании и выпуске серии Антологии Битлз, Flaming Pie был сформирован и вдохновлен этим опытом. Пол заметил в то время, что «Антология Битлз» напомнила стандарты The Beatles и стандарты, которых они достигли с песнями. В каком-то смысле это был курс повышения квалификации, который заложил основу для этого альбома.

Первый видеоклип песни

Созданный Полом, Джеффом Линном и Джорджем Мартином и показывающий вспомогательный состав семьи и друзей, включая Ринго Старра, Стива Миллера, Линду Маккартни и сына Джеймса, «Пылающий пирог» в равной степени является мастер-классом в творчестве песен и устойчивым взрывом радостной спонтанности. С основными моментами, начиная от вдохновляющего и вдохновляющего новичка «Песня, которую мы пели», до хриплого заглавного трека (названного в честь цитаты из раннего интервью Джона Леннона о происхождении имени «Битлз»: «Оно пришло в видении – человек появился на пылающем пироге и сказал им: «С этого дня вы – Битлз с буквой А.») к задумчивому «Calico Skies», с участием синглов «Young Boy», «The World Tonight» и «Beautiful Night», «Пылающий пирог» будет представлять собой еще одну вершину в каталоге соло Пола: выпущенный для восторженных рецензий, альбом Paul’s стал самым коммерчески успешным выпуском 90-х, достигшим самых высоких позиций в чартах с 80-х и получившим золотые сертификаты в США, Великобритании, Японии и других странах.

Из воспоминаний музыкантов…

Из альбома заметки лайнера:

Работа над Антологией побудила Пола предложить ему и Ринго возобновить сотрудничество, которого не было в течение десяти лет. « Прекрасной ночи » было уже десятилетие, и запись, сделанная в Нью-Йорке, была на полке, неиспользованной с 1986 года. С Полом за пианино и Ринго на барабанах (между прочим, он играл точную копию своего собственного комплекта, которую Пол купил по образцу Ринго после сеанса « Настоящая любовь », песня сошлась с комфортом. Желая немного поиграть на гитаре, Пол также представил новый элемент своей композиции, финал uptempo. Наконец, запись была усилена оркестровой аранжировкой, озвученной Джорджем Мартином и наложенной на Abbey Road в День святого Валентина 1997 года.

Пол МакКартни и Ринго Старр
Пол МакКартни и Ринго Старр

«Я раскопал эту старую песню, когда приходил Ринго, изменил несколько текстов, и это было очень похоже на старые времена, я понял, что мы так долго не делали, но это было очень удобно. И это все еще было там.

Пол Маккартни, в Club Sandwich № 82, лето 1997:

Я написал «Прекрасную ночь» довольно много лет назад, и мне всегда нравилось это, и люди, которые слышали раннюю запись, которую я сделал в Нью-Йорке с некоторыми игроками Билли Джоэла, сказали, что им тоже нравится. Но я всегда чувствовал, что мы не совсем «справились» – понимаете? Мы хорошо провели вечер и отлично провели время, но я просто не чувствовал, что это был тот самый. Кроме того, я все еще менял несколько текстов. Так что вместо этого я сделал это с Ринго – я годами говорил ему, что нам следует вместе поработать. Он великолепен.

Два великолепных гения...
Два великолепных гения…

Я сидел за пианино, а Ринго сидел за барабанами. Было так удобно и приятно снова с ним работать. Джефф Линн и я продюсировали. Ринго был очень доволен этим, и в конце мы отметили быстрый бит, которого не было на оригинальной записи.

ringo starr dzheff linn pol makkartni i dzhordzh harrison 1995
Ринго Старр, Джефф Линн, Пол Маккартни и Джордж Харрисон, 1995.

Ринго пришел сюда, в студию, чтобы сыграть «Free As A Bird» и «Real Love», и принес с собой свой комплект. Звучит здорово, когда записывается, малый барабан, бас. Затем он оставил свой комплект здесь, на хранении, поэтому я позвонил и заказал точно такие же предметы, и точно так же настроил свой новый комплект. Фактически, Ринго использовал мою модель своего комплекта для «Прекрасной ночи».

Марк Льюисон, в Club Sandwich № 82, лето 1997:

С Полом за роялем и Ринго на барабанах, песня соединилась удобно. Желая поиграть на гитаре в конце, Пол представил новый элемент своей композиции, финал uptempo, и микрофон поймал какую-то характерную рекламу Ринго и Пола, когда они собирались покинуть студию. Затем запись оставалась неизменной в течение девяти месяцев, прежде чем Пол решил усилить ее за счет оркестровой аранжировки, озвученной Джорджем Мартином и записанной в Studio One на Abbey Road 14 февраля 1997 года.

Ринго Старр, в Club Sandwich № 83, осень 1997 г.:

Расскажи мне, как ты снова пришел работать с Полом, на этот раз.

У него была эта песня, на которой он хотел, чтобы я играл. И вот что случилось – я пошел в его студию, и мы играли на треке. Как это называется?

‘Красивая ночь’!

Да, прости! Он пригласил меня сыграть в «Beautiful Night», и я сказал «Sure». Я думаю, что это красивый трек.

Вы также поете в «Прекрасной ночи».

Я пою по возвращении в конце, да. Он сказал: «Вы можете петь это», а я сказал: «Хорошо, спасибо. Какие они записки? и пел их. Когда мы идем и делаем его песню, он отвечает. Я имею в виду, я могу дать ему все, что у меня есть, но он написал песню и у него есть программа для этого. Если я сделаю что-то, что изменит это, и ему это понравится, то мы сделаем это. Но он мистер Маккартни, когда мы пишем его песню. И я мистер Ринго, когда мы делаем мой. Мы просто приятели музыкантов.

Ринго Старр, в Club Sandwich N ° 83, осень 1997

В конце «Прекрасной ночи» мы можем услышать, как Ринго Старр высмеивает.

Я думаю, что у каждого, кто делает запись, есть такая возможность, чтобы в конце оставить все безумие. Вы почти всегда затухаете, но в конце «Прекрасной ночи» это был такой удачный взлет, что Ринго начал веселиться, вести себя как швейцар, выбрасывая людей. Я так люблю это. Это очень Битли. Это очень хорошая идея Битли, потому что мы сделали это в группе… “Красивая ночь” на самом деле звучит немного “Битли” … На самом деле, я клянусь, что в конце “Прекрасной ночи” там почти слышен какой-то очень голос Джона Леннони. Послушай это. Проверьте это.

Пол Маккартни, из ежемесячной книги The Beatles, № 261, январь 1998 г.

ringo starr
Ринго Старр

Треки EP «Beautiful Night»:

  1. Beautiful Night (Main Album – Remastered)
  2. Beautiful Night (1995 Demo)
  3. Beautiful Night (Run Through)
  4. Oobu Joobu Part 5:
    1. And Now (Jingle)
    2. Oobu Joobu Main Theme
    3. Beautiful Night Chat
    4. Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr Chat About ‘Beautiful Night’
    5. Ringo Starr Chat
    6. Beautiful Night (Flaming Pie Mix)
    7. Beautiful Night (Original Version)
    8. Goodbyes
    9. Oobu Joobu Main Theme

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...
Похожие статьи

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...

Чего вы ещё не знали о мировой легенде Мирей Матьё – рассказываем историю, полную удивительных эпизодов

История Мирей Матьё в фактах: от ранних лет до мировой славы Одна из легендарнейших французских певиц в истории, Мирей Матьё завоевала свой статус легенды полностью...

«Две личности в одном разуме»: вспоминаем Иэна Кёртиса

История Иэна Кёртиса, рано ушедшего, но такого талантливого вокалиста Joy Division К нему можно относиться по-разному, и всё же мало кто станет оспаривать тот факт,...