Author:
Category:

How Black Coffee "crossed the threshold" and became an all-union heavy metal star

After "Cross the Threshold" the band released more than one album, and in general experienced a lot of events (both creative and personal). However, the public never heard anything like "Vladimirskaya Rus'" again...

"Cross the Threshold": the story of a legendary album that gave us "Vladimirskaya Rus"

Group "Black Coffee won the love of the general public, and even today it is a pleasure to listen to her old recordings. One of these is the truly powerful ballad "Vladimirskaya Rus.": a gorgeous thing to listen to in the same breath... But no less noteworthy is the albumon which this composition was released: it is about "Cross the Threshold 1987 year. It is generally accepted that this is first heavy LP in Soviet Union! When Black Coffee released this record, they instantly became the pioneers of heavy metal for the general public in our country.

The album was a colossal success, with almost 1.5 million copies (and it's official)! The work has a distinctive heavy sound, a soul-penetrating performance Dmitry Varshavskywith virtuoso melodies and deep lyrics. "Vladimirskaya Rus" is the gem of this LP, but to be fair - there are no bad songs here: each one is beautiful and strong in its own way.

background

Dmitry Varshavsky as a young man
Dmitry Varshavsky as a young man

As always, let's begin our story with a backstory. "Black Coffee - The songs of this band sound unrealistically cool even today, and after all, many famous hits were released decades ago! The history of the band started at the end of the '70s: it was when he was still a student Dmitry Varshavsky composes the song "Country" to the lines of Andrei Voznesensky. It is believed that with this, the guy started the clock that started counting down the long years of the band's existence...

Before writing down "Step over the threshold."The last point is especially important for the future history of the band, as well as for the record under discussion. The last point is especially important in the future history of both the group and the discussed record: it is considered that the "gang" of - Dmitry Varshavsky, Igor Kupriyanov, Sergey Chernyakov, Sergey Kudishin - are the golden classics of Black Coffee. Maybe that's why "Cross the Threshold" came out to glory, what they say? Powerful sure recordOn which each composition is a masterpiece.

Insane success and mighty ballad number two

"Black Coffee
"Black Coffee

We don't know if the musicians themselves were anticipating that astronomical success "Cross the Threshold or not, the album really resonated! The first official heavy metal record in the USSR by a Russian band - needless to say, what a stir was there? To be fair - many music lovers did not have high hopes for this record, assuming that the work of the Moscow band would not please with anything new and surprising. But such people withAnd they were wrong. - And it's probably one of those rare times when you realize you've been wrong, uplifting!

The album hit Soviet shelves in 1987, and very soon it sold over 1.3 million copies! Listeners were truly proud of The band said, "Look, we've got some heavy metal guys, and what a bunch of them! After all, they can do something like that when they want to!

As we stressed above, on "Cross the Threshold" there are no bad songs. But there is one that is especially gorgeous-a stunning ballad "Vladimirskaya Rus." (or as dubbed by her fan "Wooden Churches of Russia" by the first lines), which you can listen to very often and every time with great pleasure.

"Come and ask a lot of questions.
There's heart and veins in these log cabins..."

Varshavsky wrote mighty music to the verses of the then unknown, but as we can judge, definitely talented poet Alexandra Shaganova. Shaganov's genius would later be appreciated, and he would write lyrics for Lyube. But that's another story.

Alexander Shaganov
Alexander Shaganov

Returning to the song, we want to note the simplicity and at the same time unobtrusive elegance music video. The composition itself is very relevant among music lovers today, and many artists (including the modern generation) are especially proud of perform covers to this legendary work. Here is a prime example:

To say that "Vladimirskaya Rus'" came out of every iron, definitely it is forbiddenHeavy music and such deep lyrics are, after all, a style of Not for everyone. Nevertheless, the song became a great classic of its time and genre.

In conclusion.

"Black Coffee
"Black Coffee

After "Cross the Threshold," the band released another more than one albumThe public has experienced many events in general (both creative and personal). However, nothing like "Vladimirskaya Rus" the public more and didn't hear. So it's a very special song for both Black Coffee and Russian rock in general.

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Как «Чёрный Кофе» «переступили порог» и стали всесоюзными звёздами хеви-метала

После «Переступи порог» группа выпустила ещё не один альбом, да и в целом пережила много событий (как творческого, так и личного характера). Однако ничего подобного «Владимирской Руси» публика больше и не услышала...

«Переступи порог»: история одного легендарного альбома, подарившего нам «Владимирскую Русь»

Группа «Чёрный Кофе» завоевала любовь широкой публики, и даже сегодня очень приятно послушать её старые записи. Одной из таковых является поистине могучая баллада «Владимирская Русь»: шикарная вещь, которую слушаешь на одном дыхании… Но не менее примечателен и сам альбом, на котором вышла данная композиция: речь о «Переступи порог» 1987 года. Принято считать, что это – первый тяжёлый LP в Советском Союзе! Когда «Чёрный Кофе» выпустили эту пластинку, они в миг стали первооткрывателями хеви-метала для широкой публики нашей страны.

Альбом имел колоссальный успех – без малого 1,5 миллиона копий (и это официально)! Работа отличается характерным тяжёлым звуком, проникающим в самую душу исполнением Дмитрия Варшавского, виртуозными мелодиями и глубокими текстами. «Владимирская Русь» стала жемчужиной этого LP, но справедливости ради – плохих песен здесь нет: каждая прекрасна и сильна по-своему.

Предыстория

Дмитрий Варшавский в молодости
Дмитрий Варшавский в молодости

Как всегда – начнём нашу повесть с предыстории. «Чёрный Кофе» – песни этой группы звучат нереально круто и сегодня, а ведь многие известные хиты были выпущены десятки лет назад! История коллектива началась на закате 70-х: именно тогда ещё студент Дмитрий Варшавский сочиняет песню «Страна» на строки Андрея Вознесенского. Принято считать, что вместе с этим парень запустил часы, которые начали отсчитывать долгие годы существования группы…

Прежде чем записать «Переступи порог», группа успела исколесить СССР с концертами, попасть в так называемый «чёрный список», поработать в Марийской филармонии и сменить состав. Последний пункт особенно важен в будущей истории как коллектива, так и обсуждаемой пластинки: принято считать, что «банда» из – Дмитрий Варшавский, Игорь Куприянов, Сергей Черняков, Сергей Кудишин – золотая классика «Чёрный Кофе». Может поэтому «Переступи порог» вышел на славу, что говорится? Мощная уверенная пластинка, на которой каждая композиция – шедевр.

Безумный успех и могучая баллада под номером два

«Чёрный Кофе»
«Чёрный Кофе»

Не знаем, предвкушали ли сами музыканты тот астрономический успех «Переступи порог» или нет, но альбом действительно произвёл огромный резонанс! Первая официальная хеви-метал пластинка в СССР от отечественной группы – стоит ли говорить, какой стоял ажиотаж? Справедливости ради – многие меломаны не возлагали на данную запись больших надежд, предполагая, что ничем новым и удивительным работа московской группы не порадует. Но такие люди сильно ошибались – и это наверное один из тех редких случаев, когда осознание того, что ты заблуждался, окрыляет!

Альбом появился на советских прилавках в 1987 году, и очень скоро разлетелся тиражом более 1,3 миллиона копий! Слушатели искренне гордились группой, мол – вот, и у нас есть хеви-металлисты, да ещё какие! Ведь могут сделать нечто подобное, когда захотят!

Как мы уже подчеркнули выше, на «Переступи порог» нет плохих песен. Но есть одна, которая особенно роскошна – потрясающая баллада «Владимирская Русь» (или как окрестили её фаната «Деревянные церкви Руси» по первым строчкам), слушать которую можно очень часто и каждый раз с большим удовольствием.

«Подойди и о многом спроси
В этих срубах есть сердце и вены…»

Варшавский написал могучую музыку на стихи тогда ещё совсем неизвестного, но как можем судить – определённо талантливого поэта Александра Шаганова. Впоследствии гений Шаганова будет оценен по достоинству, и он будет писать тексты для «Любэ». Но это уже другая история.

Александр Шаганов
Александр Шаганов

Возвращаясь к песне, хочется отметить простоту и вместе с тем ненавязчивое изящество музыкального видео. Сама композиция очень актуальна среди меломанов и в наши дни, а многие артисты (включая современное поколение) с особой гордостью исполняют каверы на это легендарное произведение. Вот яркий пример:

Сказать, что «Владимирская Русь» доносилась из каждого утюга, определённо нельзя: всё-таки тяжёлая музыка и столь глубокая лирика – стиль не для всех. Тем не менее песня стала великой классикой своего времени и жанра.

В завершение

«Чёрный Кофе»
«Чёрный Кофе»

После «Переступи порог» группа выпустила ещё не один альбом, да и в целом пережила много событий (как творческого, так и личного характера). Однако ничего подобного «Владимирской Руси» публика больше и не услышала. Так что это очень особенная песня как для «Чёрного Кофе», так и для русского рока в целом.

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...
Похожие статьи

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...