Author:
Category:

Bob Marley - "I Shot the Sheriff" (1976) - All about the song

About the most iconic song in the world of reggae "I Shot the Sheriff" and, not the most common in the world of rock...

Song History: Bob Marley - "I Shot the Sheriff" (1976)

First, a few facts about the iconic song:

  • This song tells the story of a man who is being chased by the Sheriff. He shoots the Sheriff, but for some reason, he is also accused of killing the Deputy Sheriff. Marley confirmed that some parts of the song are true, but did not say which ones.
  • It was the last single released by Marley with Peter Tosh and Bunny Wyler, who went on to go solo.
  • Eric Clapton recorded a cover in 1974 (there was no Bob Marley version at the time). His version was a US #1 hit, the only #1 charting song of his career. Clapton's recording gave Marley a big boost as rock audiences now focused on Bob's work.
Bob Marley decides not to kill the "sprout"...
Bob Marley decides not to kill the "sprout"...
  • In a 2001 documentary "The Life of Bob Marley" Esther Anderson, who was Marley's girlfriend, claims she helped write the song, and that it's actually about birth control.
  • Sheriff's name in the song is John Brown. In 1963, Bob Dylan wrote a song called "John Brown". It's about a boy who goes to war and comes back badly wounded.
  • Bruce Springsteen used the name "John Brown" as the judge's name in his 1981 song "Johnny 99".
Bob Marley
Bob Marley

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XiYUYcpsT4

So what is the song about?

In a 1975 interview, Bob Marley spoke a little about the meaning of "I Shot The Sheriff".

"I Shot The Sheriff" is like I shot the Sheriff," said Bob Marley. “In fact, this is not the Sheriff, these are elements of evil. The elements of this song are people judging you and you can't take it anymore and you explode, you just explode."

According to the book Wailing Blues - "The Story of Wailers" by Bob Marley, the musician seemed to enjoy the air of mystery surrounding the song. The book describes when Marley first met Eric Clapton. Author John Masuri reports that Marley did not give Clapton a straight answer about the meaning of the song, telling him that some of the lyrics were true, but he refuses to divulge which ones.

Eric Clapton
Eric Clapton - "I Shot The Sheriff"

Whatever his original intentions, Marley and The Wailers' song about killing the Sheriff in self-defense and falsely accusing him of killing his deputy became an anthem against injustice. It was an absolute hit that drew attention to many problems. Ultimately, Bob got his way, which led to more transparency in the judiciary and in medicine. While Marley and other music journalists have stated that the song's meaning is metaphorical, recent revelations indicate that the song may be personal.

According to Esther Anderson, Marley's former girlfriend who was involved in making the documentary in 2011 Bob Marley: Making a Legendlyrics grew out of controversy over the use of «birth control». In a review article on the film by J. J. Colagrande in the magazine "Miami New Times" reported that Marley believed that the use of birth control was a sin, and "a doctor who prescribed pills to kill a child became a sheriff."

The article emphasizes that the passage is a song of particular significance: "Sheriff John Brown always hated me / What I don't know for / Every time I plant a seed / He said kill it before it grows."

Bob Marley
Bob Marley (Bob Marley)

People have often interpreted the meaning of "plant a seed" as a reference to marijuana, so this new revelation gives listeners an interesting alternative. Instead of the much-loved line where the cop tells Marley to kill his seed pots, perhaps the song is about Marley's anger at the doctor who killed the children.

Having told the world all this, the texts often have a deeper meaning. When a musician writes down the words for his music, the meaning can appear on several planes at once, which the creator does not even suspect. Sometimes lyrics have little of their original intent and turn into something meaningful to many people over the years.

Without personal confirmation from Bob Marley, we cannot blindly believe in only one version. But it was interesting to hear Esther Anderson's version of how "I Shot The Sheriff" could be about something completely different, deeper than we even suspected.
Without personal confirmation from Bob Marley, we cannot blindly believe in only one version. But it was interesting to hear Esther Anderson's version of how "I Shot The Sheriff" could be about something completely different, deeper than we even suspected.

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:

Категория:

Bob Marley (Боб Марли) – «I Shot the Sheriff» («Я застрелил Шерифа» – 1976) – Всё о песне

О самой культовой песне в мире регги «I Shot the Sheriff» и, не самой обычной в мире рока...

История песни: Bob Marley — «I Shot the Sheriff» (1976)

Сначала несколько фактов о культовой песне:

  • Эта песня рассказывает историю человека, которого преследует Шериф. Он застреливает Шерифа, но его, почему-то, обвиняют ещё и в убийстве помощника Шерифа. Марли подтвердил, что некоторые части песни соответствуют действительности, но не сказал какие именно.
  • Это был последний сингл, выпущенный Марли с Питером Тошем и Банни Уайлером, которые в дальнейшем начали сольную карьеру.
  • Эрик Клэптон записал кавер в 1974 году (версии Боба Марли тогда ещё не было). Его версия была хитом №1 в США, единственной песней № 1 в чартах за его карьеру. Запись Клэптона дала Марли большой импульс, так как рок-аудитория теперь сосредоточилась на творчестве Боба.
Боб Марли решает не убивать «росток»...
Боб Марли решает не убивать «росток»…
  • В документальном фильме 2001 года «Жизнь Боба Марли» Эстер Андерсон, которая была подругой Марли, утверждает, что она помогла написать песню, и что речь, на самом деле, идет о контроле над рождаемостью.
  • Имя Шерифа в песне – Джон Браун. В 1963 году Боб Дилан написал песню под названием «Джон Браун». Она о мальчике, который идет на войну и возвращается тяжело раненым.
  • Брюс Спрингстин использовал имя «Джон Браун» в качестве имени судьи в своей песне 1981 года «Джонни 99».
Боб Марли
Боб Марли

Итак, о чем же песня?

В интервью 1975 года Боб Марли немного рассказал о значении «I Shot The Sheriff».

«I Shot The Sheriff» походит на то, что я застрелил Шерифа», – сказал Боб Марли . «На самом деле это не Шериф, это элементы зла. Элементы этой песни – это люди, которые судят вас, и вы не можете больше этого терпеть, и вы взрываетесь, вы просто взрываетесь».

Согласно книге Wailing Blues – «The Story of Wailers» Боба Марли, музыкант, похоже, наслаждался атмосферой таинственности вокруг песни. В книге описывается, когда Марли впервые встретил Эрика Клэптона. Автор Джон Масури сообщает, что Марли не дал прямого ответа Клэптону о смысле песни, сказав ему, что некоторые из текстов были правдой, но он отказывается разглашать какие именно.

Eric Clapton – I shot the sheriff
Eric Clapton – «I Shot The Sheriff»

Какими бы не были его первоначальные намерения, песня Марли и The Wailers об убийстве Шерифа в самообороне и ложном обвинении в убийстве его помощника стала гимном против несправедливости. Это был абсолютный хит, который обратил внимание на многие проблемы. В конечном итоге, Боб добился своего, это привело к большей прозрачности в судебной области и в медицине. И хотя Марли и другие музыкальные журналисты заявляли, что смысл песни метафоричен, недавние откровения указывают на то, что песня может быть личной.

По словам Эстер Андерсон, бывшей подруги Марли, которая участвовала в создании документального фильма в 2011 году Боб Марли: «Создание легенды»,тексты песен выросли из разногласий по поводу использования «контроля над рождаемостью». В обзорной статье на фильм Дж. Дж. Колагранде в журнале «Майами Нью Таймс» сообщил, что Марли полагал, что использование контроля над рождаемостью было грехом, и «врач, который назначал таблетки для убийства ребенка, становился шерифом».

В статье подчеркивается, что этот отрывок представляет собой песню, имеющую особое значение: «Шериф Джон Браун всегда ненавидел меня / Для чего я не знаю / Каждый раз, когда я сажу семя / Он сказал, убей его, пока оно не вырасло».

Bob Marley
Bob Marley (Боб Марли)

Люди часто интерпретировали значение «посадить семя» как ссылку на марихуану, поэтому это новое откровение дает слушателям интересную альтернативу. Вместо полюбившегося нам смысла, где полицейский говорит Марли убить его горшки с семенами, возможно, песня рассказывает о гневе Марли к врачу, который убивал детей.

Поведав миру все это, тексты часто имеют более глубокий смысл. Когда музыкант записывает слова для своей музыки, смысл может появится сразу в нескольких плоскостях, о которых творец даже и не подозревает. Иногда тексты имеют мало от первоначального замысла и превращаются во что-то значимое для многих людей на протяжении многих лет.

Без личного подтверждения от Боба Марли мы не можем слепо верить только в одну версию. Но интересно было узнать версию Эстер Андерсон о том, как «I Shot The Sheriff» может быть совсем о другом, более глубоком, о чём мы даже и не подозревали.
Без личного подтверждения от Боба Марли мы не можем слепо верить только в одну версию. Но интересно было узнать версию Эстер Андерсон о том, как «I Shot The Sheriff» может быть совсем о другом, более глубоком, о чём мы даже и не подозревали.
9kFollowers

Джоан Осборн и её вневременная классика «One of Us»

История одной проникновенной песни – как родилась «One of Us», самый громкий хит Джоан Осборн «Один из нас» – такое название получила песня, которая прославила...

Три хита Ottawan, под которые отрывались на дискотеках

Топ лучших песен группы Ottawan, которые звучали на каждой дискотеке В начале 80-х хиты этого диско-дуэта звучали практически по всему миру! Проект Ottawan был образован...

Anna Calvi — «Tommy» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Tommy» (2022) от Anna Calvi Британская певица и автор песен Anna Calvi поделилась своим новым мини-альбомом, который получил название «Tommy» (2022). Трек-лист пластинки включает...

Похожие статьи

Florence + The Machine — «Dance Fever» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Dance Fever» (2022) от Florence + The Machine Английская музыкальная группа Florence + The Machine поделилась своим долгожданным релизом под названием «Dance Fever» (2022)....

Monophonics — «Sage Motel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Sage Motel» (2022) от Monophonics Американская группа Monophonics поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Sage Motel» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Брат против брата: История российской рок-группы Агата Кристи 

История рок-группы Агата Кристи  Эта группа уже давно известна всем ценителям российской рок-музыки. Впервые она заявила о себе ещё в восьмидесятые годы. И тогда же...

Sharon Van Etten — «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022) от Sharon Van Etten Американская певица и автор песен Sharon Van Etten поделилась со слушателями своим...

Kevin Morby — «This Is A Photograph» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «This Is A Photograph» (2022) от Kevin Morby  Американский музыкант и певец Kevin Morby поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «This...

«Belladonna»: Как британская баллада стала шлягером отечественного ВИА «Весёлые ребята»

История одной песни: Как «Belladonna» британской группы UFO перекочевала в репертуар «Весёлых ребят» «Belladonna» – такое элегантное название получила очень мощная баллада, которая, увы, так...

The Black Keys — «Dropout Boogie» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Dropout Boogie» (2022) от The Black Keys Американская рок-группа The Black Keys поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «Dropout Boogie»...

История Евгения Маргулиса: Почему именно в «Араксе» он стал профессионалом

Евгений Маргулис и три группы, которые вознесли рокера к Олимпу Евгений Маргулис известен как талантливый автор и исполнитель песен, отечественный рокер, который внёс свой весомый...

Kendrick Lamar — «Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers» (2022) от Kendrick Lamar 13 мая 2022 года американский рэпер Кендрик Ламар поделился со слушателями своим пятым по...