Author:

Category:

Top 10 Popular Singers of the 80s

List of the most famous musicians.

The best singers of the 80s: rock and beyond!

Fans of old rock music know that the period between the 70s and 80s is probably the best time in the history of this musical genre, which represented the philosophy of several generations at once!

At the time, bands such as Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, The Rolling Stones and Guns N' Roses, as well as many other well-known bands that were not only noted during this period, were incredibly popular. As for solo artists: Prince, David Bowie, Bon Jovi, John Lennon and many more artists that we could list literally all day are definitely some of the best. As you can see, these are all MALE bands and solo artists!

However, during this period there were also very successful ladies who should not be forgotten. So, we decided to dedicate the following article to them and present you with the top 10 most iconic female rock stars of the 80s. Well, if you're ready, let's get started!

1. Tina Turner

Tina Turner
Tina Turner

For most of her career, Tina Turner has specialized in genres such as R&B, funk and soul. However, this well-known African-American singer also represented several songs of the rock genre in the 1980s. First of all, Turner released the album "Private Dancer" in 1984. He became popular and achieved praise from critics!

Songs such as "The Best" and "We Don't Need Another Hero" followed in the same decade, showing that this artist knows a lot about rock music. Another single confirming this was the fruit of a collaboration with Bryan Adams. They released the song "It's Only Love" in 1985. This hit is also considered a landmark in the world of rock and roll!

2. Annie Lennox

Annie Lennox
Annie Lennox

When you look at the outfits used by members of the duo Eurythmics, you don't think at first that they are rock artists. However, the duo of Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart is one of the most popular rock duos in the UK and around the world, and they are the owners of such hits that are considered classics in the rock music genre.

These certainly include "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)", "Here Comes the Rain Again", "Missionary Man" and "Would I Lie to You?", which appeared in the 80s. For their work and contributions to rock music, the Eurythmics were awarded the Grammy Award for "Best Rock Performance by a Duo/Group with Vocals" in 1987.

3. Ann and Nancy Wilson

Ann and Nancy Wilson
Ann and Nancy Wilson

Another duet that was very popular and formed in the Americas is Heart. It was founded by two sisters, Ann and Nancy Wilson. Despite what we describe as the most iconic rock stars of the 80s, some fans disagree. First of all, because they think that this American duo had a much more successful period in the late 70s, not in the 80s.

However, if you've listened to their songs "What About Love", "Alone" and "Never", you can easily conclude that there are a lot of rock elements here as well. In addition, these hits have taken place in the top 10 songs on many charts around the world.

4. Stevie Nicks

Stevie Nicks
Stevie Nicks

Although she rose to prominence as a member of Fleetwood Mac in the 1970s, Stevie Nicks continued her successful career as a solo rock artist. During the days of Fleetwood Mac, Nicks was recognized for her distinctive voice and lyrics, and so was later when she began her solo career. Some of her most popular songs are "Talk to Me", "Stand Back" and "Edge of Seventeen".

5. Pat Benatar

Pat Benatar
Pat Benatar

As we have already said, rock music is an integral part of the culture, and several generations listened to and grew up on it: they loved rock and lived in accordance with this musical genre. One of the greatest female stars of this music's golden era is Pat Benatar, who was also a great cultural and fashion icon. Many of her albums have been certified multi-platinum, platinum, and gold by the RIAA, and she has received four Grammy Awards for her work.

In addition to her obvious influence on rock music, in which she was extremely popular, Pat Benatar also inspired many of the artists who came later. Some of her biggest hits include "Treat Me Right", "We Belong", "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" and "Shadows of the Night".

6. Kim Gordon

Kim Gordon
Kim Gordon

One of the most recognizable pop culture icons is Kim Gordon. This successful rock artist rose to prominence in the 1980s as a member of the band Sonic Youth, which she co-founded with her then-boyfriend and later husband, Thurston Moore, in 1981. During this decade, the group released as many as 6 albums.

Speaking of alternative rock, Gordon is definitely one of the most popular and successful artists of the time along with Patti Smith. In addition, her band, which lasted until 2011, was one of those iconic rock bands that never cease to have a huge impact on the style and lifestyle of their fans. Even after the collapse...

7. Joan Jett

Joan Jett
Joan Jett

Joan Jett is certainly one of the great singers in the rock scene: she knew how to attract those fans who initially listened not to her music, but to hard rock, punk rock, mainstream rock and even heavy metal. She founded her first band on her own, the Runaways, and during this period she never ceased to attract the attention of rock fans. However, she gained more fame as a member of the Blackhearts. Hits such as "Bad Reputation", "Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)", "Dirty Deeds", "Crimson and Clover", "Light of Day" and "And Hate Myself for Loving You" were very popular in the 80s. -X.

It is also important to note that with the Blackhearts, Joan Jett was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and that their albums have been certified platinum and gold multiple times. This tells us about the influence and popularity of this artist during this period. In addition, her performances have always been full of energy, typical only for male rock bands.

8. Chrissie Hynde

Chrissie Hynde
Chrissie Hynde

Chrissie Hynde is known as the founder, lead vocalist and guitarist of The Pretenders. However, one interesting detail from her career happened long before that. Namely, having been born in Akron, Ohio, in the United States, she had a huge impact on the punk rock scene in England. How did it happen?

She spent some time in Europe studying music. But the most iconic moment in her career was the creation of a group that included James Honeyman-Scott, Pete Farndon and Martin Chambers.

From that moment (in 1987) their popularity began to grow. However, it wasn't all that great: two members of The Pretenders died as a result of drug use (Honeyman-Scott and Farndon). However, this did not mark the end of the band's existence, as Malcolm Foster and Robbie McIntosh became new members. Some of the most popular songs are "Show Me" and "Don't Get Me Wrong".

9. Susie Sue

Susie Sue
Susie Sue

Another rock musician who has achieved success in Europe is Susie Sue. She was born in London and is considered one of the best and most influential artists of the post-punk period. Her band Siouxsie and the Banshees recorded 11 albums in their 20 years of existence (from 1976 to 1996), seven of them during the 80s!

However, although their popularity in the United States was not all that great, we can say with certainty that they were well known in the UK.

10. Patti Smith

Patti Smith
Patti Smith

Patti Smith rose to prominence as the frontman for Scandal, but she also had a fairly successful solo career. After Scandal ceased to exist as a band, Eddie Van Halen wanted her to replace David Lee Roth as the vocalist. However, she turned down the offer and decided to pursue a career as a solo artist. And here it is worth noting that the most notable hits appeared when she was part of the group. Some of the most popular are "Never Enough", "The Warrior" and "Goodbye to You".

10kFollowers

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Related Articles

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Автор:

Категория:

Топ-10 популярных певиц 80-х

Список самых известных музыкантов.

Лучшие певицы 80-х: рок и не только!

Поклонники старой рок-музыки знают, что период между 70-ми и 80-ми годами, вероятно, является лучшим временем в истории этого музыкального жанра, который представлял философию сразу нескольких поколений!

В то время такие группы, как Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath , Deep Purple, The Rolling Stones и Guns N ‘Roses, а также многие другие известные группы, которые отметились не только в этот период, были невероятно популярны. Что касается сольных исполнителей: Принс, Дэвид Боуи, Бон Джови, Джон Леннон и многие другие артисты, которых мы могли бы перечислять буквально весь день, безусловно, являются одними из лучших. Как вы можете видеть, это все МУЖСКИЕ группы и сольные артисты!

Однако, в этот период были и очень успешные дамы, о которых не следует забывать. Итак, мы решили посвятить им следующую статью и представить вам топ-10 самых знаковых женщин рок-звезд 80-х. Ну, если вы готовы, давайте начнем!

1. Тина Тернер

Тина Тернер
Тина Тернер

На протяжении большей части своей карьеры Тина Тернер специализировалась на таких жанрах, как R&B, фанк и соул. Тем не менее, эта известная афроамериканская певица представляла и несколько песен рок-жанра в 1980-х. Прежде всего, Тернер выпустила альбом «Private Dancer» в 1984 году. Он стал популярным и добился похвалы со стороны критиков!

За это же десятилетие последовали такие песни, как «The Best» и «We Don’t Need Another Hero», показывающие, что эта артистка знает толк в рок-музыке. Еще один сингл, подтверждающий это, стал плодом сотрудничества с Брайаном Адамсом. Они выпустили песню «It’s Only Love» в 1985 году. Этот хит также считается знаковым в мире рок-н-ролла!

2. Энни Леннокс

Энни Леннокс
Энни Леннокс

Когда вы смотрите на наряды, используемые участниками дуэта Eurythmics, вы сначала не думаете, что речь идет о рок-артистах. Тем не менее, дуэт Энни Леннокс и Дейва Стюарта – один из самых популярных рок-дуэтов в Великобритании и во всем мире, и они являются обладателями таких хитов, которые считаются классическими в жанре рок-музыки.

К ним, безусловно, относятся «Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)», «Here Comes the Rain Again», «Missionary Man» и «Would I Lie to You?», появившиеся в 80-х годах. За свою работу и вклад в рок-музыку Eurythmics были награждены премией Грэмми за «лучшее рок-исполнение дуэтом/группой с вокалом» в 1987 году.

3. Энн и Нэнси Уилсон

Энн и Нэнси Уилсон
Энн и Нэнси Уилсон

Еще один дуэт, который был очень популярен и сформировался в Америк, —  это Heart. Основателями его были две сестры, Энн и Нэнси Уилсон. Несмотря на то, что мы описываем как самых знаковых рок-звезд 80-х, некоторые фанаты с этим не согласны. Прежде всего, потому что они думают, что гораздо более успешный период этого американского дуэта приходится на конец 70-х, а не на 80-е.

Однако, если вы слушали их песни «What About Love», «Alone» и «Never», вы легко можете прийти к заключению, что здесь также присутствует много рок-элементов. Кроме того, эти хиты заняли место в топ-10 песен на многих чартах по всему миру.

4. Стиви Никс

Стиви Никс
Стиви Никс

Хотя она получила известность как участник Fleetwood Mac в 1970-х годах, Стиви Никс продолжила свою успешную карьеру в качестве сольного рок-артиста. Во времена Fleetwood Mac, Никс узнавали за её отличительный голос и текст, так было и позже, когда она начала свою сольную карьеру. Одними из её самых популярных песен являются «Talk to Me», «Stand Back» и «Edge of Seventeen».

5. Пэт Бенатар

Пэт Бенатар
Пэт Бенатар

Как мы уже говорили, рок-музыка – неотъемлемая часть культуры, и несколько поколений слушали и росли на ней: они любили рок и жили в соответствии с этим музыкальным жанром. Одна из величайших женских звезд золотой эры этой музыки – Пэт Бенатар, которая также была великой иконой культуры и моды. Многие из ее альбомов были сертифицированы RIAA как мультиплатиновые, платиновые и золотые, и она четыре раза получала премию Грэмми за свою работу.

В дополнение к очевидному влиянию на рок-музыку, в который она была чрезвычайно популярна, Пэт Бенатар также вдохновила многих художников, которые появились позже. Некоторые из ее главных хитов включают «Treat Me Right», «We Belong», «Hit Me With Your Best Shot» и «Shadows of the Night».

6. Ким Гордон

Ким Гордон
Ким Гордон

Одна из самых узнаваемых икон поп-культуры – Ким Гордон . Эта успешная рок-артистка приобрела известность в 1980-х годах как член группы Sonic Youth, которую она основала вместе со своим тогдашним парнем и последующим мужем, Терстоном Муром в 1981 году. За это десятилетие группа выпустила целых 6 альбомы.

Говоря об альтернативном роке, Гордон определенно является одной из самых популярных и успешных артисток того времени вместе с Патти Смит. Кроме того, её группа, которая просуществовала до 2011 года, была одной из тех знаковых рок-групп, которые никогда не прекращают оказывать огромное влияние на стиль и образ жизни своих фанатов. Даже после распада…

7. Джоан Джетт

Джоан Джетт
Джоан Джетт

Джоан Джетт, безусловно, одна из выдающихся певиц на рок-сцене: она знала, как привлечь тех фанатов, которые изначально слушали не её музыку, а хард-рок, панк-рок, мейнстрим-рок и даже хэви-метал. Она основала свою первую группу самостоятельно – Runaways, и в течение этого периода она не переставала привлекать внимание любителей рок-музыки. Тем не менее, она приобрела большую известность как участник группы Blackhearts. Такие хиты как «Bad Reputation», «Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)», «Dirty Deeds», «Crimson and Clover», «Light of Day» и «And Hate Myself for Loving You» были очень популярны в 80-х.

Также важно отметить, что с Blackhearts Джоан Джетт была введена в Зал славы рок-н-ролла, и что их альбомы были признаны платиновыми и золотыми несколько раз. Это говорит нам о влиянии и популярности этого исполнителя в этот период. Кроме того, её выступления всегда были полны энергии, типичной только для мужских рок-групп.

8. Крисси Хайнд

Крисси Хайнд
Крисси Хайнд

Крисси Хайнд известна как основатель, ведущий вокалист и гитарист The Pretenders. Однако одна интересная деталь из её карьеры произошла задолго до этого. А именно, родившись в Акроне, штат Огайо, в Соединенных Штатах, она имела огромное влияние на панк-рок-сцену в Англии. Как это произошло?

Она провела некоторое время в Европе, изучая музыку. Но самым знаковым моментом в её карьере стало создание группы, в состав которой вошли Джеймс Ханиман-Скотт, Пит Фарндон и Мартин Чамберс.

С этого момента (в 1987 году) их популярность начала расти. Тем не менее, это было не так уж и здорово: два члена The Pretenders погибли в результате употребления наркотиков (Ханиман-Скотт и Фарндон). Однако, это не ознаменовало конец существования группы, поскольку новыми участниками стали Малкольм Фостер и Робби Макинтош. Одними из самых популярных песен являются «Show Me» и «Don’t Get Me Wrong».

9. Сьюзи Сью

Сьюзи Сью
Сьюзи Сью

Еще одна рок-музыкантка, которая добилась успеха в Европе, – это Сьюзи Сью. Она родилась в Лондоне и считается одной из лучших и самых влиятельных артисток периода пост-панка. Ее группа «Siouxsie and the Banshees» записала 11 альбомов за 20 лет своего существования (с 1976 по 1996), семь из которых – в течение 80-х!

Однако, хотя их популярность в Соединенных Штатах не была такой уж и большой, мы можем сказать с уверенностью, что они были хорошо известны в Великобритании.

10. Патти Смит

Патти Смит
Патти Смит

Патти Смит приобрела популярность как фронтмен группы Scandal, но у нее также была довольно успешная сольная карьера. После того, как Scandal прекратила свое существование как группа, Эдди Ван Хален захотел, чтобы она стала вокалисткой вместо Дэвида Ли Рота. Тем не менее, она отвергла предложение и решила продолжить карьеру в качестве сольного исполнителя. И тут стоит отметить, что самые заметные хиты появились, когда она была частью группы. Вот некоторые из самых популярных – «Never Enough», «The Warrior» и «Goodbye to You».

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...