Author:
Category:

Pink Floyd in Moscow (1989) - The band's first performance in Russia

A landmark event for the entire USSR.

First performance of Pink Floyd in Moscow (1989)

The first Pink Floyd concert in the USSR took place on June 3, 1989. It was a significant event not only for the world of music, but also for Soviet society as a whole. For the first time in the country, rock musicians at the peak of their careers performed.

Organization

The multi-day performances of Pink Floyd, which began on June 3rd and ended on the 8th, seemed like a real miracle. Back in 1988, when the group came to the USSR on an excursion, its members were not sure that they would ever visit the country with concerts. The situation was aggravated by the exchange rate of the ruble, because of which the musicians would have to perform practically for free.

However, Gosconcert and Barrucci Leisure Enterprises Limited teamed up to organize a series of concerts in Moscow, and it caused such a huge stir that they even filmed an advertisement inviting to a concert in the city - buying tickets already turned into a fight from time to time.

Pink Floyd on tour in Moscow, 1989. Roger Waters left the band 5 years ago...
Pink Floyd on tour in Moscow, 1989. Roger Waters left the band 5 years ago.

The organization of such a large-scale concert turned out to be a new task even for the Olimpiyskiy. Employees studied technical solutions at performances in other countries, and in order to ensure their implementation on the Soviet stage, they were forced to order Western equipment. Before Pink Floyd, a plane flew to Moscow with a multi-ton cargo - props and equipment for the concert.

Participants

Only three Pink Floyd musicians arrived in Moscow. Syd Barrett and Roger Waters left the band at that time, so David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright performed at the concert.

At a press conference in Moscow. June 3, 1989
At a press conference in Moscow. June 3, 1989

On June 2, 1989, they spoke at a press conference where they were asked questions about their attitude towards the USSR, the perception of rock and the organization of upcoming concerts. At the conference, the band members emphasized that the performance in Moscow for them is, first of all, a way to share creativity, and not a commercial project.

Repertoire

A Momentary Lapse Of The Reason cover
A Momentary Lapse Of The Reason cover

The group came to Moscow to present the new album "The momentary lapse of reason". It was the band's first album recorded with the new line-up, without Roger Waters, and the musicians wanted to showcase it to as wide an audience as possible.

The old hits of Pink Floyd were not forgotten either, most of which the listeners knew by heart. Songs from the legendary album "The Dark Side Of The Moon" were performed here. Those who attended the concert say that the crowd sang along so actively that at times they drowned out the most powerful musical equipment.

Response

Finding tickets for the concert almost immediately became impossible. Even the most inconvenient free space seemed to the buyer a huge success. Speculators raised the cost of overbought tickets by 10 times or more, veterans of the Afghan conflict, who were entitled to preferential purchase of tickets, sold them immediately after purchase, also significantly increasing their cost.

On the day of the first concert, a crowd of people wishing to get to it could be met already at the metro station. In the last minutes, the price of tickets increased even more and reached incredible amounts. There were not enough places in hotels - fans from all over the Union arrived in Moscow. Many initially understood that they would not get to the concert - it was enough for them to stand at the entrance to the Olimpiyskiy and, perhaps, accidentally see their favorite group.

The program made a strong impression on the listeners. It was a new level of performance: both from a vocal point of view and regarding technical solutions. Huge scenery, a light show, huge figures flying around the hall, flashes of light, heavy guitar riffs - all this was so new for the Soviet listener that many experienced a state that is called close to catharsis. It was getting harder and harder to contain the crowd. The combatants had to constantly make sure that no one got injured, but they could not completely avoid conflicts - so the crowd from the back rows still broke closer to the stage, pushing the owners of the seats bought in the front rows. Special barricades were even built to contain people, but sometimes they could not withstand the pressure of the spectators.

The enthusiasm from the performance turned out to be so strong that after the final concert in Moscow, a crowd of fans literally took the bus with the members of Pink Floyd into a cordon, and they had, against their will, to give the audience a lot of autographs.

The performance of Pink Floyd became a symbol of the changes taking place in the USSR. This event remained in the memory of the listeners not only as a bright show, but also as the beginning of the destruction of the curtain that closes the country from new cultural phenomena.

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Автор:
Категория:

Pink Floyd в Москве (1989) – Первое выступление группы в России

Знаковое событие для всего СССР.

Первое выступление Pink Floyd в Москве (1989)

Первый концерт «Pink Floyd» в СССР состоялся 3 июня 1989-ого года. Это было знаковое событие не только для мира музыки, но и для советского общества в целом. Впервые в стране выступали рок-музыканты, находящиеся на пике своей карьеры.

Организация

Многодневные выступления «Pink Floyd», начавшиеся 3-его июня и завершившиеся 8-ого числа, казались настоящим чудом. Ещё в 1988-ом году, когда группа приезжала в СССР на экскурсию, её участники не были уверены, что когда-либо посетят страну с концертами. Усугублял ситуацию и курс рубля, из-за которого музыканты должны были бы выступать практически бесплатно.

Тем не менее, Госконцерт и Barrucci Leisure Enterprises Limited объединились, чтобы организовать серию концертов в Москве, и это вызвало такой огромный ажиотаж, что в городе даже снимали рекламу, приглашающую на концерт – покупка билетов и без того время от времени превращалась в драку.

Pink Floyd на гастролях в Москве, 1989 год. Роджер Уотерс покинул группу 5 лет назад...
Pink Floyd на гастролях в Москве, 1989 год. Роджер Уотерс покинул группу 5 лет назад.

Организация столь масштабного концерта оказалась новой задачей даже для «Олимпийского». Сотрудники изучали технические решения на выступлениях в других странах, и чтобы обеспечить их воплощение на советской сцене были вынуждены заказывать западную аппаратуру. Перед «Pink Floyd» в Москву прилетел самолёт с многотонным грузом – реквизитом и техникой для концерта.

Участники

В Москву прибыли лишь трое музыкантов «Pink Floyd». Сид Баррет и Роджер Уотерс на тот момент покинули группу, поэтому на концерте выступали Дэвид Гилмор, Ник Мейсон и Ричард Райт.

На пресс-конференции в Москве. 3 июня 1989 года
На пресс-конференции в Москве. 3 июня 1989 года

2-ого июня 1989 года они выступили на пресс-конференции, где им задавали вопросы об отношении к СССР, восприятии рока и организации грядущих концертов. На конференции участники группы подчеркнули, что выступление в Москве для них – в первую очередь, способ поделиться творчеством, а не коммерческий проект.

Репертуар

Обложка «A Momentary Lapse Of The Reason»
Обложка «A Momentary Lapse Of The Reason»

Группа приехала в Москву, чтобы презентовать новый альбом «The momentary lapse of reason». Это был первый альбом группы, записанный в новом составе, без Роджера Уотерса, и музыкантам хотелось продемонстрировать его как можно более широкой аудитории.

Не были забыты и старые хиты «Pink Floyd», большую часть из которых слушатели знали наизусть. Здесь прозвучали песни легендарного альбома ««The Dark Side Of The Moon». Посетившие концерт рассказывают: толпа подпевала так активно, что временами заглушала мощнейшую музыкальную аппаратуру.

Реакция

Найти билеты на концерт практически сразу стало невозможным. Даже самое неудобное свободное место казалось покупателю огромной удачей. Спекулянты поднимали стоимость перекупленных билетов в 10 и более раз, ветераны афганского конфликта, которые имели право на льготную покупку билетов, продавали их сразу же после приобретения, тоже значительно увеличивая их стоимость.

В день первого концерта толпу желающих попасть на него можно было встретить уже на станции метро. В последние минуты цена на билеты возрастала ещё больше и достигала невероятных сумм. Мест в гостиницах не хватало – в Москву прибыли фанаты со всего Союза. Многие изначально понимали, что не попадут на концерт – им было достаточно стоять у входа в «Олимпийский» и, возможно, случайно увидеть любимую группу.

Программа произвела на слушателей сильнейшее впечатление. Это был новый уровень выступлений: как с вокальной точки зрения, так и относительно технических решений. Огромные декорации, световое шоу, летающие по залу огромные фигуры, всполохи света, тяжёлые гитарные риффы – всё это было столь новым для советского слушателя, что многие испытали состояние, которое называют близким к катарсису. Сдерживать толпу было всё сложнее. Дружинникам приходилось постоянно следить за тем, чтобы никто не получил травм, но полностью избежать конфликтов не удалось – так толпа с задних рядов всё же прорвалась ближе к сцене, потеснив владельцев купленных в первых рядах мест. Для сдерживания людей даже были построены специальные баррикады, но и они иногда не выдерживали напора зрителей.

Восторг от выступления оказался столь сильным, что после завершающего концерты в Москве выступления толпа фанатов буквально взяла автобус с участниками «Pink Floyd» в оцепление, и тем пришлось, вопреки своему желанию, подарить слушателям множество автографов.

Выступление «Pink Floyd» стало символом происходящих в СССР изменений. Это событие осталось в памяти слушателей не только как яркое шоу, но и как начало разрушения занавеса, закрывающего страну от новых культурных явлений.

Кто она – женщина с обложки легендарного альбома Black Sabbath

Женщина с обложки альбома Black Sabbath – кто она: история и факты Выпуск в 1970 году дебютного альбома Black Sabbath навсегда изменил музыкальную индустрию. Этот...

Милая песня оказалась гангста-рэпом из Швеции: рассказываем про Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - популярность, песни, биография музыканта.  Что стоит за успехом мировых звезд - качественный продакшн, талант или нечто иное? Тогда как объяснить то, что...

Топ-15 величайших поп-певцов всех времён по мнению журнала «Fuzz Music»

Величайшие и лучшие поп-певцы за всю историю музыки История музыки богата и разнообразна в плане своих лиц. Она знает много громких имён, которые стояли как...
Похожие статьи

«Народник» с дредами: как парень из маленького тульского города ворвался на телевидение

Shaman – История успеха, хейт со стороны недоброжелателей, лучшие песни Путь каждой звезды экранов начинается с яркой вспышки. Герой нашей сегодняшней статьи, музыкант под псевдонимом...

Мы «испортим» ваши любимые песни: о самой известной кавер-группе

Все о группе Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine Самое прекрасное и тонкое в мире искусство - это музыка. Не каждому человеку дано...

Единственная песня, которую Брайан Джонсон из AC/DC не исполнит никогда

Почему AC/DC отказываются от исполнения «It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)» AC/DC – легендарная австралийская рок-группа, сформированная в...

«Paranoid»: культовая классика Black Sabbath, написанная за считанные минуты

Хит «Paranoid» группы Black Sabbath: история и факты Не секрет, что некоторые из самых легендарных произведений родились за считанные минуты. Вообще говорят, что краткость –...

Киркоров был «другом» Майкла Джексона: выдумки или все-таки правда

Дружба Майкла Джексона и Филиппа Киркорова Майкл Джексон - американский поп-король, внесший колоссальный вклад в историю музыки. Однако вокруг него всегда было сосредоточено множество мифов,...

«Авария, предательство и не только»: несокрушимый дух Дона Пауэлла, барабанщика Slade

Легенда Slade Дон Пауэлл и его история: факты и интервью Он разменял восьмой десяток, но по-прежнему остаётся несокрушимой легендой. Дон Пауэлл, легендарно известный барабанщик Slade,...

Топ-5 культовых рок-альбомов, запись которых обернулась кошмаром

Легендарные рок-альбомы, запись которых обернулась кошмаром На первый взгляд, быть рок-звездой кажется самой приятной работой в мире! Твоя задача состоит только в том, чтобы сочинять...

Идеальные песни, положившие начало хард-року

Треки, положившие начало хард-року – топ лучших После легендарно известного «Лета любви» рок-н-ролл всё увереннее и увереннее обрастал шипами. Казалось, «мягкая» эпоха The Beatles и...

Лучшие «живые» классические рок-альбомы по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – часть вторая

Лучшие концертные классические рок-альбомы – часть вторая Мы обожаем сотни рок-групп и исполнителей, но прежде всего бешеная слава приходит к ним благодаря безупречно спродюсированным «студийникам»....