Author:

Category:

Peter Gabriel - All about the musician: biography of the genius...

About a talented musician...

All about Peter Gabriel: the story of the legendary '80s musician

Peter Gabriel is one of the founding members of the prog-rock band Genesis, a British singer and songwriter. He had many hits, many of which I'm sure you've heard. Among them are "Games Without Frontiers," "Sledgehammer" and "In Your Eyes.

Cover photo of Peter Gabriel - So
Cover photo of Peter Gabriel - So

British musician Peter Gabriel founded the prog-rock band Genesis in the 1960s. After leaving the band in 1975 he achieved great success as a solo artist. His album "So." 1986 featured such hits as "Sledgehammer," "Big Time" and "In Your Eyes." Gabriel later released "Us" (1992) and "Up" (2002). He is also one of the founders of the WOMAD Foundation and the Real World Records label.

The beginning of the story...

Peter Gabriel was born on February 13, 1950, in Woking, England, and grew up on a farm in Coxhill near Chobham. His father Ralph was an electrical engineer and an avid inventor. Mother Edith passed on her love of music to her son. At an early age he attended a regular school, but from 1963 he began attending a boarding school at Charterhouse in Godalming.

At Charterhouse, Gabriel discovered a real attraction to music, and eventually formed the band Garden Wall with keyboardist Tony Banks, guitarist Anthony Phillips and bassist Mike Rutherford. In 1967, on the producer's advice, they changed the name of their prog-rock ensemble to Genesis.

Genesis Group

Genesis Group. 70-е. Peter Gabriel on the left, Phil Collins on his right
Genesis Group. 70-е. Peter Gabriel on the left, Phil Collins on his right

With Gabriel serving as the band's frontman, Genesis released their first single, "The Silent Sun," in 1968, and their debut album, From Genesis to Revelation, the following year. Although the record failed to draw an audience, the band's follow-up, Trespass, fared better, and by the release of "Nursery Cryme" in 1971 Genesis began to gain popularity among listeners: they even reached the top 40 albums of the UK chart. It was also the first album with a new drummer, future hitmaker Phil Collins.

The next Genesis album "Foxtrot" of 1972 rose higher, taking the 12th place, and "Selling England by the Pound" (1973) became even cooler, reaching the 3rd place in England, and the success in the USA was also impressive. However, by this moment the band was better known not only for their studio recordings, but also for their live performances where Gabriel intrigued the audience with costumes and props.

Genesis continued to develop professionally over the next few years, but at the same time tensions began to arise in the band, in part because Gabriel began working with director William Friedkin and the band remained in the background.

Peter Gabriel
Peter Gabriel

Peter later told Rolling Stone in an interview, "Nobody from Genesis at the time was involved with any projects outside the band (except me). And so the guys were jealous of what I was doing. I was the frontman, and automatically everybody recognized me as the only creative person in the band, which of course was not true. And that's really unfair."

Peter Gabriel's last album with Genesis was 1974's The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. And after touring in support of the album, Gabriel left the band. Phil Collins took over as Genesis' frontman after his departure, and the band began a new round of success. In 2010, Gabriel and other Genesis members were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Solo career

Peter Gabriel
Peter Gabriel

Gabriel's talents led him to a solo career. In 1977 he released his first eponymous album, Peter Gabriel, which included the single "Solsbury Hill. The album reached the top ten in the UK and the top 40 albums in the United States. Wasting no time, Peter Gabriel released his second eponymous record the following year. But it was with his third album of the same name, released in 1980, that real luck arrived: the album ended up on the music charts. The song "Games Without Frontiers" entered the Top 5 in Britain and the Top 40 in the USA. It also included the track "Biko" about the murdered black rights activist Steve Biko. Gabriel would later write on his website that the song was very important to him.

"I hadn't written overtly political songs before, so I was constantly tormented by doubts about whether it would be accepted."

While the musician was exploring his political consciousness, he was also interested in other forms of creative expression and helped found the World of Music Arts and Dance (WOMAD) festival. The first international arts festival, WOMAD, was organized in 1982, and has been a success ever since: to date, 170 festivals have been held in more than 30 countries.

As he continued to develop, Gabriel tried his hand at a new role as a soundtrack composer. He composed music for the 1985 drama Birdystarring Matthew Modine.

Big Time

Peter Gabriel
Peter Gabriel

With his fifth studio album "So" (1986), Gabriel surpassed himself: reaching No. 1 in the UK charts and No. 2 in the US charts. His energetic and catchy single "Sledgehammer" became the #1 song in his repertoire and the rhythmic "Big Time" reached #2 in the UK charts.

Gabriel also demonstrated a giftedness by creating slower, dramatic songs such as "Don't Give Up" and "In Your Eyes." The composition "In Your Eyes," incidentally, became iconic after playing the soundtrack to Cameron Crowe's famous 1989 teen film, Say Anything.

Gabriel did not stop his social activities and around the same time participated in two tours in support of Amnesty International. His compositional work on soundtracks also flourished, and he did win his first Grammy in 1990 for his work on Martin Scorsese's The Last Temptation of Christ.

Gabriel returned to the rock music scene with the 1992 album "Us," which featured such popular songs as "Steam" (No. 2) and "Digging in the Dirt" (No. 1), both of which brought Gabriel a Grammy win with his original music videos.

Almost a decade after "Us" Gabriel released the album "Up" (2002), which could not repeat the success of his previous work. Nevertheless, the songs "Signal to Noise" and "The Barry Williams Show" received positive reviews from critics.

Gabriel continued to work on a couple of thematic albums: first he released "Scratch My Back" (2010), gathering the music of many artists for listeners - it was a collective work. Many of these artists decided to write cover versions of the composer's classic works, thus paying homage to him. The resulting album "And I Scratch Yours» (2013).

Of course, Peter Gabriel was pleased! The following year he was honored even more, as he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a solo artist. In the summer of 2016, he went on a joint tour with Sting, and it went great!

Personal life

Gabriel is married to Meab Flynn. The couple has two sons, Isaac and Luke. Gabriel also has two daughters, Anna and Melanie, from his first marriage to Jill Moore.

10kFollowers

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Related Articles

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Geezer Butler: surprising facts about the "unholy" Black Sabbath bassist

What You Didn't Know About Geezer Butler - Top Surprising Facts About the Black Sabbath Legend Geezer Butler is a Black Sabbath legend and the most "unholy"...

The Worst Hard Rock Albums by Fuzz Music Magazine

Why These Are The Worst Albums In Hard Rock History Commercialism isn't so bad, but only if it's "tasteful" and "in moderation. It's...

"The maestro of progressive metal" - meet John Petrucci

A little history of John Petrucci, one of the best guitarists of our time Progressive rock was a product of psychedelic rock. It was more of an instrumental and compositional approach to...

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

Remembering Randy California, one of the legendary guitarists of the last century Randy California is one of the most legendary guitarists and the greatest father-heroes in history. He was brilliant and...

Rory Gallagher and his wonderful acoustic style

Remembering one of the greatest guitarists Rory Gallagher Rory Gallagher passed away in 1995, and the world literally gasped and was sadly horrified: he was truly...

Автор:

Категория:

Питер Габриэль (Peter Gabriel) – Всё о музыканте: биография гения…

О талантливом музыканте...

Всё о Питере Габриэле: история легендарного музыканта 80-х

Питер Габриэль – один из основателей прог-рок-группы Genesis, британский певец и автор песен. У него было множество хитов, многие из которых, я уверен, вы слышали. Среди них «Games Without Frontiers» («Игры без границ»), «Sledgehammer» («Кувалда») и «In Your Eyes» («В твоих глазах»).

Фото с обложки Peter Gabriel ‎– So
Фото с обложки Peter Gabriel ‎– So

Британский музыкант Питер Габриэль основал прог-рок-группу Genesis в 1960-х годах. После ухода из группы в 1975 году он добился огромного успеха в качестве сольного исполнителя. В его альбоме «So» 1986 года были представлены такие хиты, как «Sledgehammer», «Big Time» и «In Your Eyes». Позднее Габриэль выпустил «Us» (1992) и «Up» (2002). Он также является одним из основателей фонда «WOMAD Foundation» и лейбла «Real World Records».

Начало истории…

Питер Габриэль родился 13 февраля 1950 года в Уокинге, Англия, и вырос на ферме в Коксхилле недалеко от Чобхэма. Его отец Ральф был инженером-электриком и заядлым изобретателем. Мать Эдит передала свою любовь к музыке сыну. В раннем возрасте он посещал обычную школу, но с 1963 году начал ходить в школу-интернат в Чартерхаусе в Годалминге.

В Чартерхаусе Габриэль обнаружил настоящую тягу к музыке, и в итоге сформировал группу «Garden Wall» с клавишником Тони Бэнксом, гитаристом Энтони Филлипсом и басистом Майком Резерфордом. В 1967 году, по совету продюсера, они сменили название своего прог-рок-ансамбля на «Genesis».

Группа Genesis

Группа Genesis. 70-е. Питер Габриэль слева, справа от него Фил Коллинз
Группа Genesis. 70-е. Питер Габриэль слева, справа от него Фил Коллинз

С Габриэлем, выступающим в качестве фронтмена группы, Genesis выпустили свой первый сингл «The Silent Sun» в 1968-м, а в следующем году – дебютный альбом  «From Genesis to Revelation». Хотя запись не привлекла публику, последующая работа группы – «Trespass» – прошла лучше, и к выходу «Nursery Cryme» в 1971 году Genesis начала завоевывать популярность среди слушателей: они даже попали в чарт 40 лучших альбомов Великобритании. Это был также первый альбом с новым барабанщиком, будущим хитмейкером Филом Коллинзом.

Следующий альбом Genesis «Foxtrot» 1972 года поднялся выше, заняв 12-е место, а «Selling England by the Pound» (1973) стал еще круче, достигнув 3-го места в Англии, причём успехи в США тоже впечатляли. Однако к этому моменту группа была более известна не только своими студийными записями, но и живыми выступлениями, на которых Габриэль интриговал публику костюмами и реквизитом.

Genesis продолжали профессионально развиваться в течение следующих нескольких лет, но в то же время в группе начала возникать напряжённость, отчасти из-за того, что Габриэль начал работать с режиссёром Уильямом Фридкиным, а группа осталась на втором плане.

Питер Габриэль
Питер Габриэль

Питер позже рассказывал в одном из интервью Rolling Stone: «Никто из Genesis в то время не был связан с какими-то проектами вне группы (кроме меня). И поэтому ребята относились с ревностью к тому, что я делал. Я был фронтменом, и автоматически все признавали меня единственным творческим человеком в группе, что, конечно же, было не так. И это действительно несправедливо».

Последним у Питера Габриэля вместе с Genesis стал альбом 1974 года «The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway» («Барашек, лежащий на Бродвее»). И после тура в поддержку альбома Габриэль покинул группу. Фил Коллинз занял пост фронтмена Genesis после его ухода, и у группы начался новый виток успеха. В 2010 году Габриэль и другие участники Genesis были введены в Зал славы рок-н-ролла.

Сольная карьера

Питер Габриэль
Питер Габриэль

Таланты Габриэля привели его к сольной карьере. В 1977 году он выпустил свой первый одноимённый альбом «Peter Gabriel», который включал сингл «Solsbury Hill». Альбом вошел в первую десятку Великобритании и в 40 лучших альбомов в США. Не теряя времени, Питер Габриэль выпустил свою вторую одноимённую пластинку на следующий год. Но именно с его третьим одноимённым альбомом, выпущенным в 1980 году, пришла настоящая удача: альбом оказался в музыкальных чартах. Песня «Games Without Frontiers» вошла в Top-5 в Британии и в Top-40 в США. Она также включала трек «Biko» об убитом активисте Стиве Бико, боровшимся за права чёрных. Габриэль позже напишет на своём сайте, что песня стала очень важной для него.

«Я раньше не писал откровенно политических песен, поэтому меня постоянно терзали сомнения, будет ли она принята».

Пока музыкант исследовал своё политическое сознание, он проявлял интерес и к другим формам творческого самовыражения и помог основать фестиваль «World of Music Arts and Dance» (WOMAD). Первый международный фестиваль искусств WOMAD был организован в 1982 году, и с тех пор успешно проходил не раз: на данный момент уже состоялось 170 фестивалей в более чем 30 странах.

Продолжая развиваться, Габриэль пробовал себя в новой роли – как композитор саундтреков. Он сочинил музыку для драмы 1985 года  «Birdy»с Мэтью Модайном в главной роли.

Big Time

Питер Габриэль
Питер Габриэль

Со своим пятым студийным альбомом  «So» (1986) Габриэль превзошел самого себя: достиг № 1 в чартах Великобритании и № 2 в чартах США. Его энергичный и запоминающийся сингл «Sledgehammer» стал песней «№ 1» в его репертуаре, а ритмичная «Big Time» достигла № 2 в чартах Великобритании.

Габриэль также продемонстрировал одарённость, создав более медленные драматичные песни, такие как «Don’t Give Up» и «In Your Eyes». Композиция «In Your Eyes», кстати, стала культовой после того, как прозвучала саундтреком к знаменитому фильму для подростков Кэмерона Кроу 1989 года «Say Anything» («Скажи что-нибудь»).

Габриэль не переставал заниматься общественной деятельностью и примерно в это же время участвовал в двух турах в поддержку «Международной Амнистии». Его композиторская деятельность над саундтреками также процветала, и он-таки получил свою первую Грэмми в 1990 году за работу в фильме Мартина Скорсезе «The Last Temptation of Christ» («Последнее искушение Христа»).

Габриэль вернулся на сцену рок-музыки вместе с альбомом «Us» 1992 года, в котором были представлены такие популярные песни, как «Steam» (№ 2) и «Digging in the Dirt» (№ 1), и обе принесли Габриэлю победу на Грэмми с его оригинальными клипами.

Спустя почти десятилетие после «Us» Габриэль выпустил альбом «Up» (2002), который не смог повторить успех его предыдущей работы. Тем не менее, песни «Signal to Noise» и «The Barry Williams Show» получили положительные отзывы критиков.

Габриэль продолжал работать над парой тематических альбомов: сначала выпустил «Scratch My Back» (2010), собрав для слушателей музыку многих исполнителей – это была коллективная работа. Многие из этих артистов решили написать кавер-версии классических произведений композитора, тем самым высказав ему уважение. Получился альбом «And I Scratch Yours» (2013).

Конечно, Питеру Габриэлю было приятно! В следующем году он удостоился ещё большей чести, так как был введен в Зал Славы Рок-н-Ролла как сольный артист. Летом 2016 года он отправился в совместное турне со Стингом, и оно прошло на ура!

Личная жизнь

Габриэль женат на Меаб Флинн. У пары есть два сына, Исаак и Люк. У Габриэля также есть две дочери, Анна и Мелани, от первого брака с Джилл Мур.

10kFollowers

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Похожие статьи

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...

Гизер Батлер: удивительные факты о «нечестивом» басисте Black Sabbath

Чего вы ещё не знали о Гизере Батлере – топ удивительных фактов о легенде Black Sabbath Гизер Батлер – легенда Black Sabbath и самый «нечестивый»...

Худшие альбомы в хард-роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Почему это худшие альбомы за всю историю хард-рока Коммерция – не так уж и плохо, но только если она «со вкусом» и «в меру». Это...

«Маэстро прогрессивного метала» – знакомьтесь, Джон Петруччи

Небольшой экскурс в историю Джона Петруччи, одного из лучших гитаристов современности Прогрессивный рок был продуктом психоделического рока. Это был скорее инструментальный и композиционный подход к...

Рэнди Калифорния: герой, восхищающий стойкостью духа и великолепной игрой на гитаре

Вспоминаем Рэнди Калифорнию, одного из легендарнейших гитаристов прошлого века Рэнди Калифорния – один из легендарнейших гитаристов и величайших отцов-героев в истории. Он был гениален и...

Рори Галлахер и его чудесный акустический стиль

Вспоминаем одного из величайших гитаристов Рори Галлахера Рори Галлахера не стало в 1995 году, и мир буквально ахнул и с грустью ужаснулся: это был действительно...