Author:
Category:

Quincy Jones is the most successful music producer of the 20th century.

The whole world knows about Quincy Jones. He has worked with renowned artists such as Michael Jackson, Frank Sinatra, Aretha Franklin and Celine Dion. We understand how the musician achieved success and with which performers he collaborated.

The Success Story of Quincy Jones - Produced by Frank Sinatra, Michael Jackson, Celine Dion and Aretha Franklin

Quincy Jones - musical Producer, musician and song's author. At an early age his friend Ray Charles persuaded the boy to music. He played in various bands during 1950s, in the mid-1960s began composing music for cinema and television and eventually released more 50 soundtracks. Jones has worked with such famous musicians as Michael Jackson, Frank Sinatra, Aretha Franklin and Celine Dion. He is the most Grammy-nominated artist in history with 79 nominations and 27 wins.

Way to success

Celebrity Producer Quincy Jones born March 14 1933 in Chicago, Illinois. His mother worked at bank and suffered schizophreniaand the father was carpenter, and in the past - professional baseball player. Jones studied music with a songwriter and producer Robert Blackwell. The career of a multifaceted jazz and pop figure began with the game on the pipe and creation arrangements for the band leader Lionel Hampton. He then served as music director for the vocalist's overseas tour. Dizzy Gillespie, worked for a record label "Barclay Records" in Paris and led the popular blues opera big band Harold Arlen "Free and Easy" (1959).

Quincy Jones and Michael Jackson
Quincy Jones and Michael Jackson

Back from Paris to New York Jones composed and created arrangements for a jazz pianist Count Basie, performers Dean Washington and singers Sarah Vojanwhile holding a leadership position in "Mercury Records" and producing their own albumsincreasingly focused on pop music. Jones produced the album Aretha Franklin 1973 "Hey Now Hey". In the mid-1960s, he began composing music for films and television gear, ended up writing over 50 scores and emerged as a pioneering African-American musician on the Hollywood scene.
In 1975, Jones founded the label Qwest Productionsfor which he produced incredibly successful albums Frank Sinatra and other major pop artists. In 1978 he produced the soundtrack for the musical adaptation The Wizard of Oz ("Wizard of Oz") "The Wiz" ("The Wizard") starring Michael Jackson and Diana Ross.

Michael Jackson and his chimpanzee Bubble
Michael Jackson and his chimpanzee Bubble

Working on a film "The Wiz", Michael Jackson was looking for a new producer for the release solo album. Jones at first advisedto whom you can turn, but in the end yourself took for the project. Plate Off the Wall, released in 1979, was sold out more 20 million copies and recommended Jones is a master of his craft. In 1982, Jones worked on the Michael Jackson album "Thriller." - was sold 110 million copies. This work is considered the most sold plate in the world. Cooperation musicians did not end there - Jones also worked on the record "bad". Quincy spoke of Jackson:

“Learning that Michael diedI'm speechless. He was so young, he could create so much more! At the moment, the music that we released with this person sounds around the world, and it can indeed be called success. Michael was amazing artist, and his contribution to the world of music is invaluable. Part of my soul left this world with him."

Frank Sinatra won the Best Supporting Actor Oscar for From Here to Eternity in 1953.
Frank Sinatra won the Best Supporting Actor Oscar for From Here to Eternity in 1953.

Jones produced the 1985 film "The Color Purple" director Steven Spielberg with Whoopi GoldbergOprah Winfrey and Danny Glover starring and also a television series "The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air"in which he starred Will Smith. He also published magazines Vibe and "SPIN", and in 1990 he founded Quincy Jones Entertainment.

Personal life

Jones was married thrice. His first marriage was to Jeri Caldwell lasted from 1957 to 1966, they had one daughter named Jolie. Jones was then married to Olle Andersson, with whom the marriage lasted seven years, they have a son Quincy and daughter Martina. Last marriage Jones was in a relationship with an actress Peggy Lipton. The couple was married from 1974 to 1990they have two daughters, Rashida and Kidada.

Charity

In 1985. Jones connected all my connections with major American recording artists to record the famous anthem "We Are the World" for the purpose of financial assistance to those in need Africa. Work in the interests of society covered all of its career, including the fund Quincy Jones Listen Up Foundationwho built over a hundred houses in South Africa in 2001. Target charitable organization introduce young people from countries in need with technology, education, culture and music, as well as to establish intercultural exchange.

Producer Quincy Jones at a photo shoot
Producer Quincy Jones at a photo shoot

Quincy Jones now

In an interview with a men's magazine G.Q.published at the beginning of 2018, Jones confessed that he was happy is watching behind the work of such contemporary artists as Bruno Mars, Drake and Kendrick Lamar. He caused even more attention to his person after another interviewpublished in "Vulture" around the same time that he claimed to be a musical icon Michael Jackson "many songs plagiarized". In September 2018 Netflix released a documentary about the producer called Quincy. The film was directed by his daughter, an actress Rashida Jones.

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Автор:

Категория:

Куинси Джонс – самый успешный музыкальный продюсер XX века

Про Куинси Джонса знает весь мир. Он работал с такими известными артистами, как Майкл Джексон, Фрэнк Синатра, Арета Франклин и Селин Дион. Разбираемся, как музыкант добился успеха и с какими исполнителями он сотрудничал.

История успеха Куинси Джонса (Quincy Jones) – продюсера Фрэнка Синатры, Майкла Джексона, Селин Дион и Ареты Франклин

Куинси Джонс – музыкальный продюсер, музыкант и автор песен. В раннем возрасте его друг Рэй Чарльз убедил мальчика заниматься музыкой. Он играл в различных коллективах в течение 1950-х, в середине 1960-х начал сочинять музыку для кино и телевидения и в конечном итоге выпустил более 50 саундтреков. Джонс работал с такими известными музыкантами, как Майкл Джексон, Фрэнк Синатра, Арета Франклин и Селин Дион. Является самым номинированным на премию «Грэмми» артистом в истории с 79 номинациями и 27 победами.

Путь к успеху

Знаменитый продюсер Куинси Джонс родился 14 марта 1933 года в Чикаго, штат Иллинойс. Его мать работала в банке и страдала шизофренией, а отец был плотником, а в прошлом – профессиональным бейсболистом. Джонс обучался музыке у автора песен и продюсера Роберта Блэквелла. Карьера многогранного джазового и поп-деятеля началась с игры на трубе и создания аранжировок для бэнд-лидера Лайонела Хэмптона. Затем он был музыкальным руководителем зарубежного турне вокалиста Диззи Гиллеспи, работал на лейбле звукозаписи «Barclay Records» в Париже и руководил популярным биг-бэндом блюзовой оперы Гарольда Арлена «Free and Easy» (1959).

Куинси Джонс и Майкл Джексон
Куинси Джонс и Майкл Джексон

Вернувшись из Парижа в Нью-Йорк, Джонс сочинял и создавал аранжировки для джазового пианиста Каунта Бейси, исполнительницы Дины Вашингтон и певицы Сары Воян, одновременно занимая руководящую должность в «Mercury Records» и продюсируя свои собственные альбомы, всё более и более ориентированные на поп-музыку. Джонс продюсировал альбом Ареты Франклин 1973 года «Hey Now Hey». В середине 1960-х он начал сочинять музыку для фильмов и телевизионных передач, в конечном итоге написал более 50 партитур и выступил в качестве новаторского афроамериканского музыканта на голливудской арене.
В 1975 году Джонс основал лейбл «Qwest Productions», для которого он продюсировал невероятно успешные альбомы Фрэнка Синатры и других крупных поп-исполнителей. В 1978 году он продюсировал саундтрек к музыкальной адаптации «The Wizard of Oz» («Волшебника страны Оз»), «The Wiz» («Волшебник») с Майклом Джексоном и Дайаной Росс в главных ролях.

Майкл Джексон и его шимпанзе Баббл
Майкл Джексон и его шимпанзе Баббл

Работая над фильмом «The Wiz», Майкл Джексон находился в поисках нового продюсера для выпуска сольного альбома. Джонс сначала просто посоветовал, к кому можно обратиться, но в итоге сам взялся за проект. Пластинка «Off the Wall», выпущенная в 1979 году, была распродана тиражом более 20 миллионов экземпляров и зарекомендовала Джонса мастером в своём деле. В 1982 году Джонс работал над альбомом Майкла Джексона «Thriller» – было продано 110 миллионов копий. Данная работа считается самой продаваемой пластинкой в мире. Сотрудничество музыкантов на этом не закончилось – Джонс также работал над пластинкой «Bad». Квинси говорил о Джексоне:

«Узнав, что Майкл умер, я потерял дар речи. Он был так молод, он столько ещё мог создать! На данный момент музыка, которую мы вместе с этим человеком выпустили, звучит по всему миру, и это действительно можно назвать успехом. Майкл был потрясающим артистом, и его вклад в мире музыки бесценен. Часть моей души покинула этот мир с ним».

Фрэнк Синатра получил «Оскар» как лучший актёр второго плана в фильме «Отныне и вовеки веков» 1953 года
Фрэнк Синатра получил «Оскар» как лучший актёр второго плана в фильме «Отныне и вовеки веков» 1953 года

Джонс продюсировал фильм 1985 года «The Color Purple» режиссёра Стивена Спилберга с Вупи ГолдбергОпрой Уинфри и Дэнни Гловер в главных ролях , а также телесериал «The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air», в котором снимался Уилл Смит. Он также издавал журналы «Vibe» и «SPIN», а в 1990 году он основал «Quincy Jones Entertainment».

Личная жизнь

Джонс был женат трижды. Его первый брак был с Джери Колдуэлл продолжался с 1957 по 1966 год, у них была одна дочь по имени Джоли. Затем Джонс был женат на Улле Андерссон, с которой брак продлился семь лет, у них есть сын Куинси и дочь Мартина. Последний брак Джонс заключался с актрисой Пегги Липтон. Пара была в браке с 1974 по 1990 год, у них есть две дочери, Рашида и Кидада.

Благотворительность

В 1985 году Джонс подключил все свои связи с крупными американскими исполнителями звукозаписи, чтобы записать знаменитый гимн «We Are the World» с целью материальной помощи нуждающимся из Африки. Работа в интересах общества охватила всю его карьеру, в том числе фонд «Quincy Jones Listen Up Foundation», который построил более сотни домов в Южной Африке в 2001 году. Цель благотворительной организации – познакомить молодёжь из нуждающихся стран с технологиями, образованием, культурой и музыкой, а также наладить межкультурный обмен.

Продюсер Куинси Джонс (Quincy Jones) на фотосессии
Продюсер Куинси Джонс (Quincy Jones) на фотосессии

Квинси Джонс сейчас

В интервью мужскому журналу «GQ», опубликованном в начале 2018 года, Джонс признался, что с удовольствием следит за творчеством таких современных исполнителей, как Бруно Марс, Дрейк и Кендрик Ламар. Он вызвал ещё больше внимания к своей персоне после другого интервью, опубликованного в «Vulture» примерно в то же время, в котором утверждал, что музыкальная икона Майкл Джексон «много песен сплагиатил». В сентябре 2018 года Netflix выпустил документальный фильм про продюсера под названием «Quincy». Режиссёром фильма выступила его дочь, актриса Рашида Джонс.

10kFollowers

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

Похожие статьи

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...