Author:
Category:

Ravi Shankar - All about the musician

The story of Ravi Shankar. Full biography of the musician

Ravi Shankar: full biography of the musician

Ravi Shankar is an Indian musician and composer best known worldwide for popularizing the classical Indian instrument, the sitar. Shankar was fond of music since childhood, and, having matured, he began touring as part of his brother's dance troupe. Leaving his position as director of All-India Radio, he embarked on a tour of his homeland and the United States. During this period, he managed to work with many famous musicians, including George Harrison and Philip Glass. He even collaborated with The Beatles, popularizing his favorite Sitar to a greater extent. Recipient of three of India's highest honors, Shankar passed away in California in December 2012 at the age of 92.

Childhood

Ravi Shankar was born into a Bengali family on April 7, 1920. His father, Shyam Shankar Chowdhury, went to London to build a brilliant career as a lawyer, leaving the service of a local barrister under the British. Shankar was raised by his mother, the boy did not see his father until the age of eight.

In 1930, the young man moved to Paris to become part of a local musical troupe, and then joined the troupe of his brother, Uday Shankar. He was already touring at the age of 10, but even as a child, Shankar gave a hundred, maybe even a thousand unforgettable performances as a dancer!

Ravi Shankar
Ravi Shankar

Ravi Shankar was introduced to the sitar much later, at the age of 18. The basis of this acquaintance was a concert in Calcutta, where the guy heard the play of Amiya Kanti Bhattacharya on this classical instrument. Touched to the core by the performance, Shankar decided that from now on he would devote himself to learning to play the sitar. So, the sitar entered his life and stayed with him until his last breath.

Early career and connection with "Air (AIR)"

Having learned the mastery of the sitar under the guidance of his guru, Ustad Inayat Khan, Shankar went to Mumbai, where he got a job with the Indian Folk Theater Association. There he composed musical accompaniment for ballets. Then, in 1946, the young man became director of the radio station in New Delhi, All-India Radio (AIR). He held the position for a short time, until 1956. During his radio tenure, Shankar composed works for orchestra that mixed the sounds of the sitar and other classical Indian instruments with Western ones. At the same time, he became close to the American violinist Yehudi Menuhin. Both musicians began to compose and successfully perform the impressive fruits of their joint work.

Discography

Ravi Shankar has released a long list of albums. The following are just a few of his bestsellers:

  • Three Ragas. Released in 1956, his first work. Later, in 2000, the album was re-released digitally by Angel Records.
  • Tana Mana. This album was an experimental work by Pandit, who mixed the sound of traditional instruments with electronic music of the 80s.
  • Goodbye, my friend. When Shankar heard about the death of Satyajit Ray, he spontaneously composed this album. The work was subsequently recorded and released by HMV.
  • The Sounds of India. Originally released in 1968 as an LP album, 'The Sounds of India' was re-released in CD format in 1989.

With George Harrison

Ravi Shankar and George Harrison
Ravi Shankar and George Harrison

In June 1966, George Harrison, a member of the famous Beatles group, met Ravi Shankar in London. Harrison befriended Shankar and began taking sitar lessons from him. Their rallying immediately brought Shankar and Indian music unprecedented popularity in the West. The sounds of the sitar in the sound of The Beatles gave impetus to a new genre of music known as ragga rock. Later, Harrison became the producer of Ravi Shankar, who perceived him as the Godfather of world music. Twenty-three years older than Harrison, Shankar described their relationship as that of a father and son, with the younger being the father.

Concert for Bangladesh

George Harrison
George Harrison

In 1971, Bangladesh became the hotbed of armed conflict between Indian, Muslim and Pakistani forces. Along with this, the country was flooded. Seeing the famine and hardship faced by the country's civilians, Shankar and Harrison organized a concert for Bangladesh. It took place at Madison Square Garden on August 1st. It was attended by such famous performers as Bob Dylan and Eric Clapton. Proceeds from the show, considered the first major charity concert, went to UNICEF to help Bangladeshi refugees. In addition, recordings made during the concert won the 1973 Grammy Award for Album of the Year.

Major Success

Ravi Shankar
Ravi Shankar

In 1954 Ravi Shankar gave a solo concert in the Soviet Union. In 1956 he made his debut in the USA and Western Europe. In the mid-1960s, Shankar performed at the Monterey Pop Festival, further boosting his fame.

Difficult stage

George Harrison and Ravi Shankar
George Harrison and Ravi Shankar

His association with The Beatles led to accusations that he belonged to a hippie culture that promoted drug use. In fact, Shankar was very critical of drug addicts. Despite his affection for Harrison, this period proved to be quite difficult for Shankar, who was not into rock music. In the 1970s he distanced himself from hippie circles and cemented his status as a classical Indian musician, but their friendship with Harrison continued.

Political career

For his contribution to the development of Indian music, Shankar was nominated in the Rajya Sabha by the then Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi. From May 12, 1986 to May 11, 1992, he was a member of the upper house of the Indian Parliament.

Ravi Shankar
Ravi Shankar

Composition "Saare Jahan Se Accha"

The song "Saare Jahan Se Acchha" was set to the tune of Ravi Shankar. Written by Muhammad Iqbal in 1904, it was more lengthy until Shankar was asked to shorten it in 1945. Many don't know about it, including HMV, which certifies the melody as traditional in an album with patriotic songs sung by Lata Mangeshkar.

critics

Throughout his career, Shankar has been criticized by some traditionalist compatriots for not being a classical purist. But Ravi Shankar took the remarks lightly and continued his musical journey.

Awards and honorary titles

Ravi Shankar
Ravi Shankar
  • In 1962, he was awarded the "Sangeet Natak Akademi Award" by the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama of India.
  • The Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship is the highest honor bestowed by this organization. He received this award in 1975.
  • "Padma Bhushan". In 1967, Ravi Shankar was awarded India's third highest civilian award.
  • "Padma Vibhushan-Padma Vibhushan". India's second highest civilian award, was presented to him in 1981.
  • "Bharat Ratna". In 1999 Sitar maestro was awarded the country's highest civilian award.
  • Grammy Award. Ravi Shankar has won five Grammy awards in his lifetime. In 1967, his collaborative album with Yehudi Menuhin won a Grammy for Best Chamber Music Performance. In 1973, Concert for Bangladesh won the Album of the Year award. In 2002, his album Full Circle: Carnegie Hall 2000 won the "Best World Music Album" award, and in 2013 "The Living Room Sessions" again won the award in the same category.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award. He was honored with this prestigious award at the 55th Annual Grammy Awards.

Personal life

Ravi Shankar with family
Ravi Shankar with family

Ravi Shankar married Annapurna Devi in 1941. Their son Shubhendra Shankar was born the following year. In the late 1940s, Ravi Shankar had an affair with a dancer named Kamala Shastri, which proved fatal to his marriage, which eventually ended. In 1981, he ended his relationship with Kamala Shastry and began an affair with Sue Jones, a New York concert producer. This relationship also ended in 1986. He then married Sukanya Rajan. In this union, his daughter Anushka Shankar was born in 1981.

In 1992, Ravi Shankar's son Shubhendra Shankar died of pneumonia. After the death of his son, Ravi Shankar became more spiritual and gave up meat in his later years.

Death and legacy

Ravi Shankar died on December 11, 2012 in San Diego, California at the age of 92. The musician reportedly suffered from upper respiratory and heart conditions and underwent heart valve replacement surgery shortly before his death. His last performance was with his daughter at the Terrace Theater in California. The daughter, Anushka Shankar, also plays the sitar, having inherited her father's talent.

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:

Категория:

Рави Шанкар (Ravi Shankar) – Всё о музыканте

История Рави Шанкара. Полная биография музыканте

Рави Шанкар: полная биография музыканта

Рави Шанкар — индийский музыкант и композитор, наиболее известный во всём мире как популяризатор классического индийского инструмента — ситар. Шанкар с детства увлекался музыкой, и, повзрослев, стал гастролировать в составе танцевальной труппы своего брата. Оставив должность директора All-India Radio, он отправился в тур по родине и Соединенным Штатам. За этот период он успел поработать с множеством известных музыкантов, включая Джорджа Харрисона и Филипа Гласса. Он даже сотрудничал с The Beatles, в большей степени популяризируя свой любимый Sitar. Удостоенный трёх самых высоких индийских наград, Шанкар скончался в Калифорнии в декабре 2012 года, в возрасте 92 лет.

Детство

Рави Шанкар родился в бенгальской семье 7 апреля 1920-го года. Его отец — Шьям Шанкар Чоудхури, уехал в Лондон чтобы выстроить блестящую карьеру адвоката, покинув службу местного барристера при британцах. Шанкар воспитывался матерью, мальчик не видел своего отца до восьми лет.

В 1930 году юноша переехал в Париж, чтобы стать частью местной музыкальной труппы, а затем — присоединился к труппе своего брата, Удей Шанкара. Он гастролировал уже в возрасте 10 лет, но даже таким ребёнком Шанкар дал сотню, а может, даже тысячу незабываемых выступлений в качестве танцора!

Рави Шанкар
Рави Шанкар

Рави Шанкар познакомился с ситаром гораздо позже, в возрасте 18 лет. Основой этого знакомства послужил концерт в Калькутте, где парень услышал игру Амии Канти Бхаттачарьи на этом классическом инструменте. Тронутый выступлением до глубины души, Шанкар решил, что отныне посвятит себя обучению игры на ситаре. Так, ситар вошёл в его жизнь и пробыл с ним до последнего вздоха.

Ранняя карьера и связь с «Воздухом (A.I.R)»

Научившись мастерскому владению ситаром под руководством своего гуру — Устада Инаят Хана, Шанкар отправился в Мумбаи, где устроился в индийскую народную театральную ассоциацию. Там он сочинял музыкальное сопровождение для балетов. Затем в 1946 году юноша стал директором радиостанции в Нью-Дели All-India Radio (AIR). Должность он занимал недолго, до 1956 года. Во время своего пребывания на радио Шанкар сочинял для оркестра произведения, в которых смешивались звуки ситара и других классических индийских инструментов с западными. Тогда же он сблизился с американским скрипачом Иегуди Менухиным. Оба музыканта начали сочинять и успешно исполнять впечатляющие плоды совместного труда.

Дискография

Рави Шанкар выпустил длинный список альбомов. Ниже приведены лишь некоторые из его бестселлеров:

  • Three Ragas. Выпущенная в 1956 году его первая работа. Позже, в 2000 году, альбом был переиздан в цифровом формате Angel Records.
  • Tana Mana. Этот альбом стал экспериментальной работой Пандита, смешавшего звучание традиционных инструментов с электронной музыкой 80-х годов.
  • Goodbye, my friend. Когда Шанкар узнал о смерти Сатьяджита Рэя, он спонтанно сочинил этот альбом. Впоследствии работа была записана и выпущена HMV.
  • The Sounds of India. Первоначально выпущенный в 1968 году как альбом LP, ‘The Sounds of India’ был переиздан в формате CD в 1989 году.

С Джорджем Харрисоном

Рави Шанкар и Джордж Харрисон
Рави Шанкар и Джордж Харрисон

В июне 1966 года Джордж Харрисон, участник знаменитой группы Beatles, познакомился с Рави Шанкаром в Лондоне. Харрисон подружился с Шанкаром и начал брать у него уроки ситара. Их сплочение сразу же принесло Шанкару и индийской музыке небывалую популярность на Западе. Звуки ситара в звучание The Beatles дали толчок новому жанру музыки, известному как ragga rock. Позже Харрисон стал продюсером Рави Шанкара, воспринимавшего того как Крестного отца мировой музыки. На двадцать три года старше, чем Харрисон, Шанкар описывал их отношения как отношения отца и сына, где в роли отца был — младший.

Концерт для Бангладеш

Джордж Харрисон
Джордж Харрисон

В 1971 году Бангладеш стал очагом вооружённого конфликта между индийскими, мусульманскими и пакистанскими войсками. Наряду с этим, страна была затоплена наводнениями. Увидев голод и трудности, с которыми сталкиваются гражданские лица страны, Шанкар и Харрисон организовали концерт для Бангладеш. Он состоялся в Мэдисон-Сквер-Гарден 1 августа. На нём присутствовали такие известные исполнители, как Боб Дилан и Эрик Клэптон. Доходы от шоу, которое считается первым крупным благотворительным концертом, пошли в организацию помощи ЮНИСЕФ, чтобы помочь бангладешским беженцам. Кроме того, сделанные во время концерта записи получили премию Грэмми 1973 года в категории Альбом года.

Основной Успех

Рави Шанкар
Рави Шанкар

В 1954 году Рави Шанкар дал сольный концерт в Советском Союзе. В 1956 году дебютировал в США и Западной Европе. В середине 1960-х Шанкар выступил на фестивале поп-музыки в Монтерее, что еще больше повысило его известность.

Сложный этап

Джордж Харрисон и Рави Шанкар
Джордж Харрисон и Рави Шанкар

Его связь с The Beatles привела к обвинениям в принадлежности культуре хиппи, пропагандировавших употребление наркотиков. На самом деле, Шанкар был очень критичен к наркоманам. Несмотря на его привязанность к Харрисону, этот период оказался весьма трудным для Шанкара, который не был увлечён рок-музыкой. В 1970-х он дистанцировался от кругов хиппи и закрепил за собой статус классического индийского музыканта, однако их дружба с Харрисоном продолжалась.

Политическая карьера

За вклад в развитие индийской музыки Шанкар был номинирован в Раджья Сабха тогдашним премьер-министром Индии Радживом Ганди. С 12 мая 1986 года по 11 мая 1992 года он был членом верхней палаты парламента Индии.

Рави Шанкар
Рави Шанкар

Композиция «Saare Jahan Se Accha»

Песня «Saare Jahan Se Acchha» была настроена на мелодию Рави Шанкара. Написанная Мухаммадом Икбалом в 1904 году, она была более затянутой, пока Шанкара не попросили уменьшить её в 1945 году. Многие не знают об этом, включая HMV, который аттестует мелодию как традиционную в альбоме с патриотическими песнями, спетыми Lata Mangeshkar.

Критики

На протяжении всей своей карьеры Шанкар удостаивался критики со стороны некоторых традиционалистов-соотечественников за то, что не был классическим пуристом. Но Рави Шанкар с легкостью воспринимал замечания и продолжал своё музыкальное путешествие.

Награды и почетные звания

Рави Шанкар
Рави Шанкар
  • В 1962 году он был удостоен премии «Sangeet Natak Akademi Award», предоставленной Национальной академией музыки, танца и драмы Индии.
  • «Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship» — это высшая честь, оказанная этой организацией. Он получил эту награду в 1975 году.
  • «Падма Бхушан». В 1967 году Рави Шанкар был удостоен третьей по величине гражданской награды Индии.
  • «Падма Вибхушан-Падма Вибхушан». Вторая по величине гражданская награда Индии, была вручена ему в 1981 году.
  • «Бхарат Ратна». В 1999 году Ситар маэстро был удостоен высшей гражданской награды страны.
  • «Grammy Award». Рави Шанкар выиграл пять наград Грэмми за свою жизнь. В 1967 году его совместный альбом с Иегуди Менухин выиграл Грэмми за лучшее исполнение камерной музыки. В 1973 году «Концерт для Бангладеш» получил премию «Альбом года». В 2002 году его альбом Full Circle: Carnegie Hall 2000 получил награду «Лучший мировой музыкальный альбом», а в 2013 году «The Living Room Sessions» снова получил награду в этой же категории.
  • «Lifetime Achievement Award». Был удостоен этой престижной награды на 55-й ежегодной премии «Грэмми».

Личная жизнь

Рави Шанкар с семьей
Рави Шанкар с семьей

Рави Шанкар женился на Аннапурне Деви в 1941 году. В следующем году родился их сын Шубхендра Шанкар. В конце 1940-х у Рави Шанкара был роман с танцовщицей по имени Камала Шастри, и это оказалось фатальным для его брака, который в итоге закончился. В 1981 году он разорвал отношения с Камалой Шастри и завел роман с Сью Джонс, концертным продюсером из Нью-Йорка. Эти отношения также закончились в 1986 году. Затем он женился на Суканье Раджане. В этом союзе у него родилась дочь Анушка Шанкар, в 1981 году.

В 1992 году сын Рави Шанкара Шубхендра Шанкар умер от пневмонии. После смерти своего сына Рави Шанкар стал более духовным и в более поздние годы отказался от мяса.

Смерть и наследие

Рави Шанкар умер 11 декабря 2012 года в Сан-Диего, штат Калифорния, в возрасте 92 лет. Музыкант, как сообщается, страдал от заболеваний верхних дыхательных путей и сердца и перенес операцию по замене сердечного клапана незадолго до смерти. Его последний спектакль был с дочерью в театре Terrace в Калифорнии. Дочь, Анушка Шанкар, также играет на ситаре, унаследовав талант отца.

9kFollowers

Джоан Осборн и её вневременная классика «One of Us»

История одной проникновенной песни – как родилась «One of Us», самый громкий хит Джоан Осборн «Один из нас» – такое название получила песня, которая прославила...

Три хита Ottawan, под которые отрывались на дискотеках

Топ лучших песен группы Ottawan, которые звучали на каждой дискотеке В начале 80-х хиты этого диско-дуэта звучали практически по всему миру! Проект Ottawan был образован...

Anna Calvi — «Tommy» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Tommy» (2022) от Anna Calvi Британская певица и автор песен Anna Calvi поделилась своим новым мини-альбомом, который получил название «Tommy» (2022). Трек-лист пластинки включает...

Похожие статьи

Florence + The Machine — «Dance Fever» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Dance Fever» (2022) от Florence + The Machine Английская музыкальная группа Florence + The Machine поделилась своим долгожданным релизом под названием «Dance Fever» (2022)....

Monophonics — «Sage Motel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Sage Motel» (2022) от Monophonics Американская группа Monophonics поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Sage Motel» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Брат против брата: История российской рок-группы Агата Кристи 

История рок-группы Агата Кристи  Эта группа уже давно известна всем ценителям российской рок-музыки. Впервые она заявила о себе ещё в восьмидесятые годы. И тогда же...

Sharon Van Etten — «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022) от Sharon Van Etten Американская певица и автор песен Sharon Van Etten поделилась со слушателями своим...

Kevin Morby — «This Is A Photograph» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «This Is A Photograph» (2022) от Kevin Morby  Американский музыкант и певец Kevin Morby поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «This...

«Belladonna»: Как британская баллада стала шлягером отечественного ВИА «Весёлые ребята»

История одной песни: Как «Belladonna» британской группы UFO перекочевала в репертуар «Весёлых ребят» «Belladonna» – такое элегантное название получила очень мощная баллада, которая, увы, так...

The Black Keys — «Dropout Boogie» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Dropout Boogie» (2022) от The Black Keys Американская рок-группа The Black Keys поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «Dropout Boogie»...

История Евгения Маргулиса: Почему именно в «Араксе» он стал профессионалом

Евгений Маргулис и три группы, которые вознесли рокера к Олимпу Евгений Маргулис известен как талантливый автор и исполнитель песен, отечественный рокер, который внёс свой весомый...

Kendrick Lamar — «Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers» (2022) от Kendrick Lamar 13 мая 2022 года американский рэпер Кендрик Ламар поделился со слушателями своим пятым по...