Author:
Category:

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

He had his own style and enough talent, he was a great musician and an iconic man about whom no one could say anything bad. He died tragically, but heroically...

Remembering Randy California, one of the most legendary guitarists of the last century

Randy California - one of the legendary guitarists and the greatest hero fathers history. He was brilliant and versatile in his sound, but his fame was elusive despite his strong friendship with some of rock's heavyweights. Today, most listeners remember him from the song Tauruswhich Led Zeppelin allegedly turned into a "Stairway to Heaven.". But his career and life were much more vibrant, creatively diverse and interesting - they were not limited to one composition.

It's wonderful, but sad The story of Randy California, guitarist extraordinaire, who won the heart Jimi HendrixHe replaced Ritchie Blackmore in his time in Deep Purple and died without letting his son drown...

Bohemian childhood and meeting Hendrix

Randy California
Randy California

Randy was born on February 20, 1951 in Californiaand his childhood can rightly be called BohemianThe boy's uncle owned Ash Grove, one of the city's most prestigious music clubs! The boy grew up surrounded by musicians, and it's not surprising that at some point he wanted to be one himself. When he picked up the guitar, his teachers were blues legend Sleepy John Estes and Clarence White. He even had his own band with his stepfather Edom Cassidy! But the most iconic figure in Randy's biography was Jimi HendrixThe 15-year-old had already met in New York.

Randy ran into Hendrix in a music store in Manhattan: with the courage of a 15-year-old, he approached him and asked if he could show him some moves. Hendrix handed the kid a guitar, and Randy played something good enough - so good that Jimi invited him to play with him that night! By the way: it was Hendrix who gave the future guitarist his name (California), as there was another Randy in his band, whom the virtuoso in turn nicknamed "Texas. California became part of the "musical gang," but because of his tender age to go with the boys to England couldn't (although there was such an offer from Hendrix).

Birth Spirit and Success

Randy California and the Spirit Group
Randy California and the Spirit Group

In the fall of 1966, the California family returned to Los Angeles. Just one year later, the formation of the Spirits Rebellious, subsequently renamed simply Spirit. It included Jay Ferguson, Mark Ends, and John Locke. The guys quickly got a contract with Lou Adler, one of the key figures in the rock world of the 1960s and 1970s. In 1968 they released their dazzling debut - it was a psychedelic work, but with a hint of jazz and intricate string arrangements. In his younger years, California shined on his Danelectro! His style was aggressive, but also elegant... By the way: on the same album was released the already mentioned Taurus.

The record reached the top 40, which was a clear signal to the band: it's time to record a second album! В "The Family That Plays Together Randy demonstrated his talent as an author by writing "I Got a Line on You" - one of the strongest songs of both the Spirit and the late '60s in general.

Another great moment on the album is the closing track "Aren't You Glad"in which California, perhaps, performed the most brilliant solo on the record. It's not hard to guess what Hendrix saw in this child genius...

The work turned out to be a great success, and soon the band was touring the country. Spirit also performed with Led Zeppelin, and their influence on British legends is hard to deny. After seeing California play the thermo-vox, a young Jimmy Page also included this instrument in his list of favorites.

Growing up creatively and having an experience with Deep Purple

Randy California
Randy California

The band's third album was released in 1969 and was the least successful. Although there were some noteworthy moments as well - for example "Dark Eyed Woman with one of the best solos of California's career.

However, at the end of that year, the single "1984"which showed how much California had matured as a composer and guitarist.

The opening record of the '70s "Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus" showcased some of the band's best songs, such as "Mr. Skin." or "When I Touch You". Alas, the album that was supposed to make them famous didn't get half the recognition it deserved.

Against the backdrop of low chart numbers, there was a big change in the lineup: Ferguson and Ends left Spirit to form Jo Jo Gunne. Randy is about to take another big hit. Hendrix's death. The musician was really crushed, but the work became a lifeline for him. A striking episode of this period was his brief participation in the deep purpleWhen he was filling in for Ritchie Blackmore. Rumor has it that the band members were absolutely delighted (and some were especially happy to see Randy, given Blackmore's uneasy personality).

A scary but heroic finale

Randy California
Randy California

In 1972, California released his first solo album, and in the middle of the decade he revived Spirit. His name is still. highly regarded his colleagues, with whom he often toured, and he continued to play the inexpensive Stratocaster (although in the twilight of his days he gave preference to the Charvel).

Throughout the '90s, he never stopped touring, except for one of those few breaks between shows. He was Hawaii, one of his favorite places, on vacation with his family, when he went swimming with his 12-year-old son Quinn. As they swam, the tide began to turn and dragged them into the ocean. California grabbed his son and pushed him as close to shore as possible, but he didn't have the strength to get out himself... He drowned on January 2, 1997.

He had his own style and enough talent, he was a great musician and an iconic man about whom no one could say anything bad. He died tragically, but heroicallysaving his own son's life. And there is no better legacy than this.

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:

Категория:

Рэнди Калифорния: герой, восхищающий стойкостью духа и великолепной игрой на гитаре

У него был свой собственный стиль и достаточно таланта, он был великим музыкантом и культовым человеком, о котором никто не мог сказать ничего плохого. Он погиб трагически, но героически...

Вспоминаем Рэнди Калифорнию, одного из легендарнейших гитаристов прошлого века

Рэнди Калифорния – один из легендарнейших гитаристов и величайших отцов-героев в истории. Он был гениален и универсален в своём звучании, однако его слава была неуловимой, несмотря на крепкую дружбу с некоторыми тяжеловесами рока. Сегодня большая часть слушателей вспоминает о нём по песне «Taurus», которую Led Zeppelin якобы превратили в «Лестницу на небеса». Но его карьера и жизнь были намного более яркими, творчески разнообразными и интересными – они не ограничивались одной композицией.

Это чудесная, но грустная история Рэнди Калифорнии, экстраординарного гитариста, который покорил сердце Джими Хендрикса, заменил в своё время Ричи Блэкмора в Deep Purple и погиб, не давая сыну утонуть…

Богемное детство и знакомство с Хендриксом

Рэнди Калифорния
Рэнди Калифорния

Рэнди родился 20 февраля 1951 года в Калифорнии, и его детство по праву можно назвать богемным: дядя мальчика владел Ash Grove – одним из престижнейших музыкальных клубов города! Парнишка рос в окружении музыкантов, и неудивительно, что в какой-то момент он сам захотел стать таким. Когда он взял в руки гитару, его учителями были легенда блюза Слипи Джон Эстес и Кларенс Уайт. У него даже была собственная группа с отчимом Эдом Кэссиди! Но наиболее культовой фигурой в биографии Рэнди стал Джими Хендрикс, с которым 15-летний подросток познакомился уже в Нью-Йорке.

Рэнди столкнулся с Хендриксом в музыкальном магазине на Манхэттене: с храбростью 15-летнего подростка он подошёл к нему и спросил, может ли он показать ему несколько приёмов. Хендрикс вручил парнишке гитару, и Рэнди воспроизвёл что-то достаточно хорошее – настолько, что Джими пригласил его сыграть с ним в тот вечер! К слову: именно Хендрикс дал будущему гитаристу имя (Калифорния), так как в его группе был ещё один Рэнди, которого виртуоз в свою очередь прозвал «Техас». Калифорния стал частью «музыкальной банды», но из-за нежного возраста отправиться с парнями в Англию не смог (хотя такое предложение от Хендрикса поступало).

Рождение Spirit и успех

Рэнди Калифорния и группа Spirit
Рэнди Калифорния и группа Spirit

Осенью 1966 года семья Калифорнии вернулась в Лос-Анджелес. Всего через год была образована Spirits Rebellious, впоследствии переименованная в просто Spirit. В неё вошли Джей Фергюсон, Марк Эндс и Джон Локк. Ребята быстро заполучили контракт с Лу Адлером, одной из ключевых фигур в мире рока 1960-х и 1970-х годов. В 1968-м вышел ослепительный дебют – это была психоделическая работа, но с намёком на джаз и сложные струнные аранжировки. В свои юные годы Калифорния сиял на своём Danelectro! Его стиль был агрессивным, но вместе с тем элегантным… К слову: на этом же альбоме вышла уже упомянутая «Taurus».

Пластинка попала в топ-40, что стало ярким сигналом для группы: самое время записывать второй альбом! В «The Family That Plays Together» Рэнди продемонстрировал свой авторский талант, написав «I Got a Line on You» – одну из сильнейших песен как самих Spirit, так и конца 60-х в целом.

Ещё один великолепный момент на альбоме – завершающая композиция «Aren’t You Glad», в которой Калифорния, пожалуй, исполнил самое блестящее соло на пластинке. Не трудно догадаться, что такого Хендрикс увидел в этом гениальном ребёнке…

Работа обернулась большим успехом, и вскоре группа отправилась в тур по стране. Spirit также выступали с Led Zeppelin, и их влияние, оказанное на британских легенд, сложно отрицать. Увидев, как Калифорния играет на терменвоксе, молодой Джимми Пейдж тоже включил этот инструмент в список своих фаворитов.

Творческое взросление и опыт с Deep Purple

Рэнди Калифорния
Рэнди Калифорния

Третий альбом группы вышел в 1969 году и показал наименее удачный результат. Хотя были и здесь весьма примечательные моменты – к примеру «Dark Eyed Woman» с одним из лучших соло в карьере Калифорнии.

Однако в конце того же года вышел сингл «1984», который показал, как сильно повзрослел Калифорния как композитор и гитарист.

Открывшая 70-е пластинка «Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus» продемонстрировала одни из лучших песен группы, такие как «Mr. Skin» или «When I Touch You». Увы, альбом, который должен был сделать их знаменитыми, не получил и половины того признания, которого заслуживал.

На фоне низких показателей в чартах произошли большие перемены в составе: Фергюсон и Эндс покинули Spirit чтобы сформировать Jo Jo Gunne. Вскоре Рэнди ждёт ещё один большой удар – смерть Хендрикса. Музыкант действительно был раздавлен, но работа стала для него спасительным кругом. Ярким эпизодом этого периода стало его кратковременное участие в Deep Purple, когда он заменял Ричи Блэкмора. Поговаривают, что участники группы остались в полном восторге (а некоторые были особенно рады присутствию Рэнди, учитывая непростой характер Блэкмора).

Страшный, но героический финал

Рэнди Калифорния
Рэнди Калифорния

В 1972 году Калифорния выпустил свой первый сольный альбом, а в середине десятилетия оживил деятельность Spirit. Его имя по-прежнему высоко ценилось его коллегами по цеху, с которыми он часто гастролировал, а сам он продолжал играть на недорогих Stratocaster (хотя на закате дней и отдал предпочтение Charvel).

В течение 90-х он не прекращал гастролировать, за исключением одних из тех немногих перерывов между выступлениями. Он был на Гавайях, в одном из своих любимых мест, в отпуске со своей семьёй, когда пошёл плавать со своим 12-летним сыном Куинном. Пока они плыли, прилив начал меняться и утащил их в океан. Калифорния схватил сына и подтолкнул как можно ближе к берегу, но у него не хватило сил выбраться самому… Он утонул 2 января 1997 года.

У него был свой собственный стиль и достаточно таланта, он был великим музыкантом и культовым человеком, о котором никто не мог сказать ничего плохого. Он погиб трагически, но героически, спасая жизнь собственного сына. И нет лучшего наследия, чем это.

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...