Author:

Category:

The story of Ray Slingard, the performer of the cult duo 2 Unlimited

Ray Slayngard is undoubtedly a colorful character in the music and dance scene of the 90's!

Ray Slayngard's full biography from 2 Unlimited

Ray Slayngard - a Dutch rap singer who rose to fame as a member of the cult eurodance duo 2 Unlimited. The band was at the height of its popularity until the second half of 90s years, spawning a host of hit songs such as "Let The Beat Control Your Body," "The Real Thing," "No Limit and others. The artist became famous not only for his vocals, but also for his original haircut and undeniable charisma... In music videos and at concerts Ray often showed his well-trained body in open shirts or without them at all... After the breakup of 2 Unlimited Slayngard founded his own label called X-Ray Records / Rayvano Productions, named after his son. He released several singles before 2 Unlimited reunited and returned to the scene! Today about this legendary duo. 90s everyone knows, but the biography of one of the participants is still shrouded in mystery... We suggest correcting this!

Early years

Ray Slayngard and Anita Dot
Ray Slayngard and Anita Dot

Ray Slayngard was born in 1971 year in Amsterdam. Remarkably, Ray was born at the same Wilhelmina Gasthuis Hospital, which is located in the southern part of the city, as Anita Dot - his future partner in the 2 Unlimited! Ray's father was a chef and his mother raised thoroughbred horses. At school Ray was a very bright boy, and at the age of 13 he and his friends formed their own breakdancing team! However... his studies were quickly overshadowed when he became seriously interested in rap... His idols included Dr. Dre, Ice Cube and Snoop Dogg (his biggest favorite on the rap scene...)

Before he met the right people, Ray worked as a cook at the airport Schiphol in The Netherlands. Since high school. Ray adored rap music, and dreamed of being a star as bright as Snoop Dogg! However, at the same moment he did not believe that it was possible to build a career on a child's hobby...

"I didn't think I could make a career out of it..."

2 Unlimited
2 Unlimited

At that time Ray was friends with Marvin D. - a member of a successful rap group. So, during one performance, he picked up a microphone, and...

"The teenagers literally went crazy, and I think that's where it all started..."

Ray soon contacted the producers Jean-Paul DeCoster and Phil Wilde. After they discovered Anita Dot on the Amsterdam club scene, a eurodance duo called 2 Unlimited!

Success with 2 Unlimited!

2 Unlimited
2 Unlimited

Founded in 1991 year, the project burst onto the music scene with its first hit single "Get Ready for This". The song quickly gained popularity, and not only among listeners, but also in the movies! Very soon the band became popular both in Europe and all over the world... Among their most popular hits are the tracks "No Limit, Maximum Overdrive, Tribal Dance, Workaholic, Twilight Zone and others.

Unfortunately - after 16 clips, 23-х singles and 4-х The band broke up in 1996... But not for good.

The journey alone

Ray Slayngard
Ray Slayngard

After the collapse 2 Unlimited Ray founded his own record label, X-Ray Records / Rayvano Productions. В 1997 year, he released several singles - "3x a Day," "When It's My Turn," and "Do You Think I'm Sexy?" - but none of them were ever commercially successful...

In the end 90s Ray teamed up with an old friend By Marvinwith whom he formed the group VIP Allstars. They had a small hit "Mamacita"and that's all there is to it.

In 2003. Slayngard joined forces with Herman Rarebell, former Scorpions drummer, with whose help he released the single "Eye of the Tiger". A little later he will go on a tour of South America...

Reunion...

2 Unlimited...
2 Unlimited...

In 2009, something happened that the loyal fans of 2 Unlimited had been waiting for so long... Ray Slayngard and Anita Dot finally reunited! For the first time in 13 years they performed at a concert "I love the 90s" in Hasselt, Belgium! Many other concerts and a new single together followed! "In Da Name of Love":

It is worth noting that at first the band performed under the name Ray & Anitaas the old name 2 Unlimited has been retained by the producer. Today, however, they are still the same familiar and beloved by many 2 Unlimited! Except that Anita left the lineup and was replaced by Kim Vergouwen

Personal life of the rapper

Ray Slayngard
Ray Slayngard

The artist's full name is. Raymond Lothar Slayngard. He was born June 28, 1971 year. His mother is Dutch and his father is from Suriname. Before becoming a star, Ray worked as a cook, just like his father, and also admired the work of rapper Snoop Dogg. Slayngard has a son named Ravanaughwhose mother is Hortense Gooding. Today the musician lives in Germany. It is known that Ray is going to make a film about dance culture 90sabout ups and downs, about rivalries...

"A few years ago I wrote a book about dance culture in the Netherlands in the 1990s, and now I want to make a movie based on it! I'd like it to be released through Netflix..."

Conclusion

What's left to add here. Ray Slayngard an undeniably colorful character in the music and dance scene 90s! As far as the group is concerned 2 Unlimited was recognized as one of the most popular dance bands of the '90s! Overall, the duo sold about 20 million copies of their records around the world... Ray Slayngard and Anita Dot have conquered the hearts of millions of people, creating a new and unique sound in the genres of pop and techno and paving the way for other bands with a similar sound.

10kFollowers

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Related Articles

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Geezer Butler: surprising facts about the "unholy" Black Sabbath bassist

What You Didn't Know About Geezer Butler - Top Surprising Facts About the Black Sabbath Legend Geezer Butler is a Black Sabbath legend and the most "unholy"...

The Worst Hard Rock Albums by Fuzz Music Magazine

Why These Are The Worst Albums In Hard Rock History Commercialism isn't so bad, but only if it's "tasteful" and "in moderation. It's...

"The maestro of progressive metal" - meet John Petrucci

A little history of John Petrucci, one of the best guitarists of our time Progressive rock was a product of psychedelic rock. It was more of an instrumental and compositional approach to...

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

Remembering Randy California, one of the legendary guitarists of the last century Randy California is one of the most legendary guitarists and the greatest father-heroes in history. He was brilliant and...

Rory Gallagher and his wonderful acoustic style

Remembering one of the greatest guitarists Rory Gallagher Rory Gallagher passed away in 1995, and the world literally gasped and was sadly horrified: he was truly...

Автор:

Категория:

История Рэя Слейнгарда, исполнителя культового дуэта 2 Unlimited

Рэй Слейнгард бесспорно яркий персонаж музыкальной и танцевальной сцен 90-х!

Полная биография Рэя Слейнгарда из 2 Unlimited

Рэй Слейнгард — голландский рэп-исполнитель, приобрёвший популярность в качестве участника культового eurodance дуэта 2 Unlimited. Группа была на пике своей популярности до второй половины 90-х годов, породив массу хитовых песен, таких как «Let The Beat Control Your Body», «The Real Thing», «No Limit» и другие. Артист прославился не только своим вокалом, но и оригинальной причёской, а также бесспорной харизмой… В музыкальных клипах и на концертах Рэй часто демонстрировал своё хорошо натренированное тело в открытых рубашках или вовсе без них… После распада 2 Unlimited Слейнгард основал собственный лейбл под названием X-Ray Records / Rayvano Productions, названный в честь его сына. Он выпустил несколько синглов, прежде чем 2 Unlimited воссоединились и вновь вернулись на сцену! Сегодня об этом легендарном дуэте 90-х знают все, однако биография одного из участников всё так же покрыта мраком… Предлагаем это исправить!

Ранние годы

Рэй Слейнгард и Анита Дот
Рэй Слейнгард и Анита Дот

Рэй Слейнгард родился в 1971 году в Амстердаме. Примечательно, но Рэй появился на свет в той же больнице Wilhelmina Gasthuis, которая находится в южной части города, что и Анита Дот — его будущая партнёрша по 2 Unlimited! Отец Рэя был поваром, а мать занималась разведением чистокровных лошадей. В школе Рэй был очень способным мальчиком, а в 13 лет он вместе с друзьями сформировал собственную команду брэйкданса! Однако… учёба быстро отошла на второй план, стоило парнишке всерьёз заинтересоваться рэпом… В числе его кумиров были Dr. Dre, Ice Cube и Snoop Dogg (его самый большой любимец на рэп-сцене…)

Прежде чем повстречать на своём пути нужных людей, Рэй работал поваром в аэропорту Schiphol в Нидерландах. Со школьных лет Рэй обожал рэп, и мечтал стать звездой — такой же яркой, как Snoop Dogg! Однако, в тот же самый момент он не верил, что на детском увлечении можно всерьёз построить карьеру…

«Я не думал, что смогу сделать из этого карьеру…»

2 Unlimited
2 Unlimited

В то время Рэй дружил с Марвином Ди — участником успешной рэп-группы. Так, во время одного выступления он взял в руки микрофон, и…

«Подростки буквально сошли с ума, и я думаю, с этого всё началось…»

Вскоре Рэй связался с продюсерами Жан-Полем ДеКостером и Филом Уайльдом. После того, как они обнаружили на клубной сцене Амстердама Аниту Дот, на свет появился eurodance дуэт под названием 2 Unlimited!

Успех с 2 Unlimited!

2 Unlimited
2 Unlimited

Основанный в 1991 году, проект ворвался на музыкальную сцену со своим первым хит-синглом «Get Ready for This». Песня быстро приобрела популярность, причём не только среди слушателей, но и в фильмах! Очень скоро группа стала востребованной как в Европе, так и во всём мире… Среди их наиболее популярных хитов — треки «No Limit», «Maximum Overdrive», «Tribal Dance», «Workaholic», «Twilight Zone» и другие.

К сожалению — после 16-ти клипов, 23-х синглов и 4-х альбомов группа распалась в 1996 году… Но не навсегда.

Путь в одиночку

Рэй Слейнгард
Рэй Слейнгард

После распада 2 Unlimited Рэй основал собственный звукозаписывающий лейбл X-Ray Records / Rayvano Productions. В 1997 году он выпустил несколько синглов — «3x a Day», «When It’s My Turn» и «Do You Think I’m Sexy?» — однако ни один из них так и не имел коммерческого успеха…

В конце 90-х Рэй объединился с давним другом Марвином, с которым сформировал группу VIP Allstars. У них был небольшой хит «Mamacita», и, на этом, собственно всё.

В 2003 году Слейнгард объединил усилия с Германом Раребеллом, бывшим барабанщиком Scorpions, при помощи которого выпустил сингл «Eye of the Tiger». Чуть позже он отправится в тур по Южной Америке…

Воссоединение…

2 Unlimited...
2 Unlimited…

В 2009 году произошло то, чего так долго ждали преданные поклонники 2 Unlimited… Группа в лице Рэя Слейнгарда и Аниты Дот наконец-то воссоединилась! Впервые за 13 лет они выступили на концерте «I love the 90s» в Хасселте, Бельгия! Затем последовали многие другие концерты и совместный новый сингл «In Da Name of Love»:

Стоит отметить, что первое время группа выступала под именем Ray & Anita, так как старое название 2 Unlimited осталось за продюсером. Однако сегодня — они всё те же привычные и любимые многими 2 Unlimited! Разве что Анита покинула состав, и на её место пришла Ким Вергувен

Личная жизнь рэпера

Рэй Слейнгард
Рэй Слейнгард

Полное имя артиста — Рэймонд Лотар Слейнгард. Он родился 28 июня 1971 года. Его мать голландка, а отец выходец из Суринама. Прежде чем стать звездой, Рэй работал поваром, как и его отец, а также восхищался творчеством рэпера Snoop Dogg. У Слейнгарда есть сын по имени Райвано, матерью которого является Хортенс Гудинг. Сегодня музыкант живёт в Германии. Известно, что Рэй собирается снять фильм о танцевальной культуре 90-х, о взлётах и падениях, о соперничествах…

«Несколько лет назад я писал книгу о танцевальной культуре в Нидерландах в 1990-х годах, и теперь я хочу снять по ней фильм! Хотелось бы, чтобы его выпустили через Netflix…»

Заключение

Что тут остаётся добавить — Рэй Слейнгард бесспорно яркий персонаж музыкальной и танцевальной сцен 90-х! Что касается группы, то 2 Unlimited была признана одной из самых популярных танцевальных групп 90-х! В целом, дуэт продал около 20 млн копий своих пластинок по всему миру… Рэй Слейнгард и Анита Дот покорили сердца многомиллионной публики, создав новое уникальное звучание в жанрах поп и техно и дав дорогу другим группам, сходных по звучанию.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

1 + 9 =

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...