Author:
Category:

Refusing to return to the Union: the story of ballet dancer Rudolf Nureyev

The bravest Soviet dancer or a traitor to his country? Today in our article is the story of dancer Rudolf Nureyev and his "leap to freedom": how did his rebellion against the authorities turn out for him? Read more.

All about Rudolf Nureyev: career, fame, biography

The great art of dance has always looked graceful and incredible from the audience, but what about the artists who danced to the pain of their feet on stage? It was especially difficult for the workers balletThe first of them, who, though in high esteem in the highest circles of society and the authorities, still tried to break out of the "free.".

Today we will tell the story of a man who was able to escape from the clutches of the party into free France and became a traitor to the fatherland. Rudolf Nureyev.

Scandalous "Leap to Freedom"

A performance with Rudolf Nureyev
A performance with Rudolf Nureyev

The future prominent dancer was born in Ufa in the late 1930s. After graduating from school, he studied at a choreographic school in Leningrad, and later, spotted by prima donna Natalia Dudinskaya, began working in S.M. Kirov Opera and Ballet Theater.

Despite his resounding success and starring roles in the most famous productions, Nureyev was hard to cope with himself and how he was perceived in the theater. Because of his difficult character, even though he was a soloist, could not to accept prohibitions that absolutely prevented them from moving forward and developing. Then Rudolph decided to leave USSR.

Nureyev on Stage
Nureyev on Stage

The artist was ambitious and stubborn, so achieved what he wanted. Although his colleagues saw him as an upstart and prideful man, he strove to for more. Especially since his talent and hard work would be more than enough.

Of course, like everyone else who yearned for a breath of freedom, Nureyev had his doubts. If here, in his homeland, he had everything one could dream of, in another country he remained completely onewithout friends and support. However, stubbornness and the desire for more got the upper hand, and the artist decided to an important step.

By the early 1960s, Rudolf Nureyev was already a star and abroad. He went on a summer tour with his theater company as a substitute for one of the dancers. He managed to escape to a place where he was welcome and where he could be freebut there was still a little time left before his legendary "jump.

In Paris, Rudolph showed not the most decorous behavior for a Soviet artist: the KGB, who traveled all over Europe with the troupe, reported above about outings Nureyev outside the hotel. At the time, the state security officers only recommended Rudolph to observe the established rules, to which he heeded, putting his vigilance to sleep.

Rudolf Nureyev. 1960-е
Rudolf Nureyev. 1960-е

After a while, the troupe was to leave France for London, but Nureyev had to return to Moscow. On boarding the plane, Nureyev stopped briefly to say goodbye to his French girlfriend, who quietly told him to go up to the police and ask shelters. When Nureyev was forced onto the plane, he escaped the hands of his attendants and never returned to the USSR. The French news announced the event the next day, calling it "a leap into freedom.".

Traitor to the Motherland

Nureyev during a performance. 70-е
Nureyev during a performance. 70-е

A year later, it started. lawsuit over the escaped Nureyev. The authorities declared him a traitor to the fatherland, and this stigma remained on him for seven years. Even then the ballet dancer left for Britain, as he could not stay in France either.

Because of this incident with the scandalous "non-returnee," many people of the arts were forbidden to go on tour to Europe only because they might meet a traitor to the motherland. The Soviets threw around threats that accepting an artist on their soil might be seen as aggression in relation to the Union.

Careers in France

For many years, the artist worked in the Royal Ballet and was his star, along with an English dancer Margot Frontein. The Soviet dancer also staged many productions at the Vienna State Opera, where audiences exploded with long applause every time.

For six years, Nureyev was the director of of the Paris OperaHe promoted young and talented artists and staged successful performances. Among the stars of the Paris National Opera he promoted were Elisabeth Platel, Charles Gude and Lorna Hilaire.

Hide and Seek

Nureyev's persistent training
Nureyev's persistent training

For many months the man could not to live quietly abroad - the fear of being forcibly caught by the KGB only amplified. For some time, Nureyev was harassed by phone calls and harassed by unknown people; the dancer only gained peace of mind on stage with his partner Rosella Hightower.

Many things in his life were then unstable and scary: at first he could be on top of Mount Olympus and adorable brave artist from the USSR, and after a while the stage could be pelted with coins - as a sign of "venality." Nureyev. Despite all the frustrations and fears, he managed to get back on his feet and move go aheadwhich is what he has always wished for.

Terrible disease

Nureyev in the last years of his life
Nureyev in the last years of his life

In 1983, Rudolph was diagnosed with HIVThe rumors about the non-traditional orientation of the "non-returnee" were confirmed. However, there is another version of getting a terrible disease - an unsuccessful blood transfusion.

Even more terrifying for the dancer was loss of loved ones He was first with his mother, whom he saw before she died, Eric Brun, with whom Nureyev maintained a strong relationship for more than 15 years, and Margot Frontein.

Rudolf Nureyev as Conductor
Rudolf Nureyev as Conductor

With each passing day, the great Nureyev found it more and more difficult to go on stage; in the end, he became conductor. His last performances were Romeo and Juliet and The Nutcracker in 1992. He conducted them in Kazan before his death.

In January 1993, the artist died from complications of the disease. Following the artist's wish, he was buried in a cemetery near Paris. His grave, despite the mournfulness of the place, is perhaps the brightest in the place - it is covered with a luxurious with a mosaic coverlet with oriental elements.

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...

The strongest albums in Russian rock in the 90s according to Fuzz Music magazine - Top 6

Top 6 Coolest Russian Rock Albums of the 90s by Fuzz Music In the 1990s, music was on the cusp of an era. Important political events in the history of...

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...
Related Articles

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Автор:
Категория:

Отказался вернуться в Союз: история артиста балета Рудольфа Нуреева

Самый смелый советский танцор или предатель своей страны? Сегодня в нашей статье история танцора Рудольфа Нуриева и его «прыжка в свободу»: чем для него обернулся бунт против власти? Читайте далее.

Все о Рудольфе Нурееве: карьера, известность, биография

Великое искусство танца всегда смотрелось грациозно и невероятно из зрительского зала, но что говорить об артистах, которые до боли в ногах танцевали на сцене? Особенно сложно было работникам балета, которые, хоть и были в почете у высших кругов общества и властей, все-таки пытались вырваться «на свободу».

Сегодня мы расскажем историю человека, который смог вырваться из тисков партии в свободную Францию и стал изменником родины – Рудольфа Нуреева.

Скандальный “Прыжок в свободу”

Спектакль с участием Рудольфа Нуреева
Спектакль с участием Рудольфа Нуреева

Будущий выдающийся танцор родился в Уфе в конце 30-х годов прошлого века. После окончания школы учился в Ленинграде в хореографическом училище, а позже, замеченный примой Наталией Дудинской, начал работать в Театре оперы и балета С.М. Кирова.

Несмотря на ошеломительный успех и главные роли в самых известных спектаклях, Нурееву было тяжело справляться с собой и тем, как его воспринимают в театре. Из-за своего непростого характера он, хоть и был солистом, не мог принять запреты, которые совершенно не дают двигаться дальше и развиваться. Тогда Рудольф решил покинуть СССР.

Нуреев на сцене
Нуреев на сцене

Артист был амбициозен и упрям, поэтому добивался того, чего хотел. Несмотря на то, что его коллеги видели в нем выскочку и гордеца, он стремился к большему. Тем более, что его таланта и усердной работы на это хватило бы с лихвой.

Конечно, как и все, кто жаждал глотка свободы, Нуреев сомневался. Если здесь, на родине, у него было все, о чем только можно было мечтать, то в другой стране он оставался совершенно один, без друзей и поддержки. Однако упрямство и желание большего взяли верх, и артист решился на важный шаг.

К началу 60-х годов Рудольф Нуреев уже был звездой и за рубежом. Он отправился в летнее турне с труппой своего театра в качестве замены одного из танцоров. Ему удалось вырваться туда, где ему были рады и где он мог быть свободным, но до его легендарного «прыжка» оставалось еще немного времени.

В Париже Рудольф показывал не самое приличное для советского артиста поведение: КГБ, который путешествовал по всей Европе с труппой, докладывал выше о вылазках Нуреева за пределы отеля. Тогда сотрудники госбезопасности только порекомендовали Рудольфу соблюдать установленные правила, к чему он прислушался, усыпив бдительность.

Рудольф Нуреев. 1960-е
Рудольф Нуреев. 1960-е

Через некоторое время труппа должна была вылететь из Франции в Лондон, но Нурееву следовало вернуться в Москву. При посадке в самолет Нуреев  ненадолго остановился, чтобы попрощаться со своей французской подругой, которая тихо сказал ему, чтобы он подошел к полицейским и попросил убежища. Когда Нуреева начали силой заталкивать в самолет, он вырвался из рук сопровождающих и так и не вернулся в СССР. Французские новости на следующий день объявили об этом событии, назвав его «прыжком в свободу».

Изменник Родины

Нуреев во время выступления. 70-е
Нуреев во время выступления. 70-е

Через год начался судебный процесс над сбежавшим Нуреевым. Власти признали его изменником родины, и такое клеймо на нем сохранялось после этого целых семь лет. Уже тогда балетный танцор уехал в Британию, так как во Франции он оставаться тоже не мог.

Из-за такого инцидента со скандальным «невозвращенцем» многим людям искусства было запрещено выезжать на гастроли в Европу только потому, что они могли встретить изменщика родины. СССР разбрасывалось угрозами о том, что принятие артиста на свою землю может быть расценено как агрессия по отношению к Союзу.

Карьера во Франции

Долгие годы артист работал в Королевском балете и был его звездой вместе с английской танцовщицей Марго Фронтейн. Также многие спектакли советский танцовщик ставил в Венской опере, где публика каждый раз взрывалась долгими овациями.

Шесть лет Нуреев был директором парижской Оперы, продвигал молодых и талантливых артистов, ставил успешные спектакли. Среди продвигаемых им звезд Парижской Национальной оперы были Элизабет Платель, Шарль Жюд и Лорна Илер.

Игра в прятки

Упорные тренировки Нуреева
Упорные тренировки Нуреева

Долгие месяцы мужчина не мог спокойно обитать за границей – страх быть насильно пойманным КГБ только усиливался. Некоторое время Нуреева донимали звонки и преследовали неизвестные люди; спокойствие танцовщик получал только на сцене со своей партнершей Розеллой Хайтауэр.

Многое в его жизни тогда было нестабильно и страшно: сначала он мог быть на вершине Олимпа и обожаемым смелым артистом из СССР, а через некоторое время сцену могли закидать монетами – как знак «продажности» Нуреева. Несмотря на все огорчения и страхи, ему удалось встать на ноги и двигаться вперед, чего он всегда желал.

Страшная болезнь

Нуреев в последние годы жизни
Нуреев в последние годы жизни

В 1983 году у Рудольфа обнаружили ВИЧ, что подтвердило слухи о нетрадиционной ориентации «невозвращенца». Однако есть еще одна версия о получении страшной болезни – неудачное переливание крови.

Еще более ужасным стала для танцора потеря близких ему людей: сначала матери, которую он увидел уже перед ее смертью, Эрика Бруна, с которым Нуреев сохранял крепкие отношения более 15 лет, и Марго Фронтейн.

Рудольф Нуреев в роли дирижера
Рудольф Нуреев в роли дирижера

С каждым днем великому Нурееву было все труднее выходить на сцену; в конечном итоге он стал дирижером. Последними его спектаклями стали «Ромео и Джульетта» и «Щелкунчик» в 1992 году. Ими мужчина дирижировал в Казани перед своей смертью.

В январе 1993 года артист скончался от осложнений болезни. Следуя желанию артиста, его похоронили на кладбище близ Парижа. Его могила, несмотря на траурность этого места, пожалуй, самая яркая в этом месте – она накрыта роскошным мозаичным покрывалом с восточными элементами.

Они пели о том, что касалось каждого: «Комбинация» – самая актуальная поп-группа 90-х

Всё о группе «Комбинация»: история создания, концерты, современность На рубеже 80-х и 90-х годов многое меняется на отечественной сцене. На место строгих и трогательных песен...

Больше, чем товарищи по цеху: культовые группы, которые никогда не меняли состав

Рок-группы, никогда не менявшие состав участников – список, фото и имена, интересные факты История музыки знает огромное количество рок-групп. Эта форма музицирования в настоящее время...

Часть 2. «Жизнь на дороге»: чем занялся Брайан Джонсон в старости

Брайан Джонсон: карьера и её завершение, новые проекты  После завершения карьеры рок-музыканты либо уходят в отставку и больше уделяют времени себе, либо стараются заниматься новыми...
Похожие статьи

Та самая песня из «Телохранителя»: смысл оказался глубже

Всё о песне «I Will Always Love You»: история создания, исполнение, успех Часто случается так, что между артистами, исполнившими одну песню, но в разных стилях,...

Валерий Дидюля остался без музы

Муза Валерия Дидюли: как произошёл распад семьи музыканта Часто звёздные пары пытаются не придавать огласке разногласия внутри семьи. Но рано или поздно звёздам тоже необходима...

«What I’d Say» – шикарный рок-н-ролл от Хосе Фелисиано, который взбодрит любого

Музыкант Хосе Фелисиано – дискография великого гитариста, творчество, награды В настоящее время латиноамериканские музыканты выходят на новый уровень: они легко покоряют мировую сцену и приобретают...

Мадди Уотерс и Мик Джаггер отжигают на одной сцене – лучший коллаб в истории блюза

Блюзмены Мадди Уотерс и Мик Джаггер: биография, сотрудничество, совместное выступление Коллаборации между рок-музыкантами – явление не новое. The Beatles и Эрик Клэптон, Queen и Дэвид...

Джон Энтвистл: знакомство с Питом Таунсендом, формирование The Who и значимость, которая выходила за рамки «просто басиста»

Биография бас-гитариста рок-группы The Who Джона Энтсвила: карьера, дискография, наследие Именно над теми, кто играет на четырёхструнной гитаре и отвечает за ритм-секцию, больше всего шутят...

История одной сладкоголосой красавицы: Хоуп Сандовал

Всё о певице Хоуп Сандовал: юность, восхождение звезды и успех  Порой андеграудные артисты не хотят становиться известными, потому как большие лейблы, находящие их после некоторого...

The Residents – самая загадочная рок-группа в истории

Всё о группе The Residents: история появления, таинственность и стиль В музыкальной индустрии есть немало музыкантов, которые стали популярными благодаря своей оригинальности. Такие исполнители обычно...

Почему распались The Jimi Hendrix Experience

Всё о группе The Jimi Hendrix Experience: история создания, успех и распад коллектива На 60-е года прошлого века пришёлся расцвет рок-групп, которые в дальнейшем становились...

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...