Author:

Category:

ABBA – Best songs and hits

All the band's biggest hits...

The most popular songs and hits of ABBA

After the composition "I Do, I Do, I Do" loudly announced itself to the whole world, the members of the Swedish band ABBA decided to continue their march to the top of world fame and created a new masterpiece with a catchy and memorable name "SOS". The authorship of the hit is the work of the talented hands of the same trinity - Benny Andersson, Bjorn Ulvaeus and band director Stig Anderson, who masterfully managed to come up with spectacular names for each single. Speaking about the depth of the text, we unequivocally note its absence. However, the team brilliantly managed to convey all the touchingness of the plot. Agneta did her best: the vocalist performed the composition so sensually and convincingly that there was no doubt that there can be no indifferent listeners. The track possessed all the signature "Abb" elements: complex arrangements, a catchy beautiful melody, contrasts and differences in sound, a certain intelligence of performance and harmonious choral singing. Considering that Agnetha and Frida possessed soprano and mezzo-soprano - ideally, it was oh so difficult for them to achieve the latter. Later, the girls ironically recalled how colleagues drove them to exhaustion by endlessly running takes during recording.

SOS

The fact that "SOS" will become a mega-hit was already felt at the beginning. However, the band decided to be careful and placed the composition on the second side of the single (the front track was "So Long", reminiscent of the sound of the famous "Waterloo"). But listeners can't be fooled. The audience immediately saw in the second side a true musical masterpiece and bestowed it with warm recognition. As a result, on the next single, it was “SOS” that became the lead track.

After the release of the single, it became clear to everyone: ABBA is not just a group with a one-day hit. This Swedish band proved to the whole world that its members are determined to conquer the global pop scene. So, the composition with a short but memorable name became the second creation of the guys, which hit the top ten British hits. "SOS" peaked at No. 6 on the UK Top Chart. It is curious that many famous musicians did not hide their admiration for this song. John Lennon has repeatedly admitted that "SOS" is one of his favorite musical tracks, and Pete Townsend of The Who called the composition a real "balm for the soul." Moreover, the main composer of the Sex Pistols, Glen Matlock, said that the single impressed him so much that he even took a guitar riff from it to create "Pretty Vacant".

Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)

ABBA Group
ABBA Group

ABBA has never been one of those bands that willingly give their creations to be torn apart by other performers. So, the first official permission to use the Abb sample, or to be precise, the bass line from The Name Of The Game, was awarded to the American hip-hop group Fugees, who later gave the world the track “Rumble in the Jungle”. Speaking of the big hit “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight) ”, it is worth noting that he experienced his second birth in 2005, and the culprit was ... Madonna.

The blond pop diva stubbornly sought permission from Benny and Bjorn for a long time to use the sticky loss of "Gimme", which eventually supplemented her single "Hung Up". Both sides agreed that the performer took upon herself the obligation to distribute the ABBA Gold collection at each of her performances. Madonna made the right choice. The Abbe sample became amazing in her song, and it has become a virus in the minds of millions of music lovers. But back to the original. Released in 1979, Gimme! Gimme! Gimma!" became a mega-popular international hit, which was played on every radio station. Without exaggeration, the track came from every corner, and everyone - even those who did not speak English - sang along and danced to the beat. As for the meaning of the composition, this is the prayer of a lonely woman who asks God to send her a luxurious handsome man ... The track instantly took off to the third line of the British hit parade and became the leader on the group's next collection.

happy new year

ABBA Group
ABBA Group

It all started on board the plane, in which the members of the legendary band flew to Barbados to relax and have fun. During the flight, Bjorn and Benny had a stunning idea: instead of another collection with cute sticky tracks, the musicians decided to write a whole concept musical! Its basis was a festive New Year's feast, at which all Swedes gather as a large and friendly family, share their thoughts about the coming decade, build plans, hopes and interpret opinions ... The guys decided to involve John Cleese, a member of the British comedy group "Monty Python", who was then in Barbados. However, Cleese was not particularly interested in the idea of a musical, and she, in general, was doomed. But from it there was only one composition. One - but what!

The team has long wanted to write their New Year's hit, and finally the idea has acquired a real shape, or rather, a sound. The original version was humorously titled "Daddy Don't Get Drunk On Christmas Day", which literally means ("Daddy Don't Get Drunk On Christmas Day"). However, after careful thought, the guys decided not to exchange the enchanting melody for comedy and created a very lyrical, sometimes even gloomy creation, succinctly calling it "Happy New Year". The Christmas greeting, published in November 1980, immediately caused criticism and even public discontent. There were those who regarded the song as a commercially speculative move. Frida Lingstad even had to make excuses, saying that the track was composed at the end of winter and recorded in April - that is, long before the New Year holidays and the Super Trouper album itself. Surprisingly, in the territory of English-speaking countries and in native Sweden, the single “Happy New Year” was never released. However, it was still released in Japan and Portugal.

The number of covers recorded for the Christmas track is truly uncountable. Hits were covered by all and sundry. The soul version of the teen band A-Teens is especially popular. Later, ABBA recorded a new version of the song, leaving the lyrics the same, replacing only "89th year" with "99th".

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Related Articles

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

Автор:

Категория:

ABBA (Абба) – Лучшие песни и хиты

Все самые значимые хиты группы...

Самые популярные песни и хиты группы ABBA

После того, как композиция «I Do, I Do, I Do» громко заявила о себе на весь мир, участники шведского коллектива ABBA решили продолжить шествие к верхушке всемирной славы и сотворили новый шедевр с броским и запоминающимся названием «SOS». Авторство хита — дело талантливых рук всё той же троицы — Бенни Андерссона, Бьорна Ульвеуса и директора группы Стига Андерсона, которому мастерски удавалось придумывать эффектные названия для каждого сингла. Говоря о глубине текста — однозначно отметим её отсутствие. Однако коллективу блестяще удалось передать всю трогательность сюжета. Особенно постаралась Агнета: вокалистка настолько чувственно и убедительно исполнила композицию, что сомневаться не приходилось — равнодушных слушателей не может быть. Трек обладал всеми фирменными «аббовскими» элементами: сложные аранжировки, запоминающаяся красивая мелодия, контрасты и перепады звучания, некая интеллигентность исполнения и гармоничное хоровое пение. Учитывая, что Агнета и Фрида обладали сопрано и меццо-сопрано — в идеале добиться последнего им было ох как нелегко. Позже девушки с иронией вспоминали, как коллеги доводили их до изнеможения бесконечным прогоном дублей во время записи.

SOS

То, что «SOS» станет мегахитом, ощущалось уже вначале. Однако группа решила проявить осторожность и разместила композицию на вторую сторону сингла (лицевым стал трек «So Long», напоминающий по звучанию прославленную «Waterloo»). Но слушателей не обманешь. Публика сразу увидела во второй стороне подлинный музыкальный шедевр и одарила его горячим признанием. В итоге, на очередном сингле именно «SOS» стала ведущим треком.

После релиза сингла всем стало ясно: ABBA — это не просто группа с однодневным хитом. Этот шведский коллектив доказал целому свету, что его участники железно намерены покорить мировую поп-сцену. Так, композиция с кратким, но запоминающимся названием стала вторым творением ребят, которое попало в десятку лучших британских хитов. «SOS» стал No 6 в топ-чарте Соединённого Королевства. Любопытно, что многие известные музыканты не скрывали своего восхищения этой песней. Джон Леннон неоднократно признавался, что «SOS» является одним из его любимейших музыкальных треков, а Пит Таунсенд из The Who назвал композицию настоящим «бальзамом на душу». Более того, главный композитор Sex Pistols Глен Мэтлок рассказывал, что сингл настолько впечатлил его, что тот даже почерпнул из него гитарный рифф для создания «Pretty Vacant».

Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)

Группа ABBA
Группа ABBA

ABBA никогда не относилась к тем группам, которые охотно отдают свои творения на растерзание другим исполнителям. Так, первого официального разрешения на использование аббовского сэмпла, а если быть точным — басовой линии из «The Name Of The Game», удостоилась американская хип-хоп группа Fugees, подарившая впоследствии миру трек «Rumble in the Jungle». Говоря о громком хите «Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)», стоит отметить, что своё второе рождение он пережил в 2005 году, и виновницей тому стала… Мадонна.

Белокурая поп-дива долгое время упорно добивалась от Бенни и Бьорна разрешения на использование прилипчивого проигрыша «Gimme», который в конце концов дополнил-таки её сингл «Hung Up». Обе стороны сошлись на том, что исполнительница взяла на себя обязательство распространять на каждом своём выступлении сборник «ABBA Gold». Мадонна не прогадала с выбором. Аббовский сэмпл стал потрясающим в её песне, и это вирусом засело в умах миллионов меломанов. Но вернёмся к оригиналу. Выпущенная в 1979 году «Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!» стала мегапопулярным хитом международного уровня, который крутили на каждой радиостанции. Без преувеличения, трек доносился из каждого уголка, и все — даже те, кто не владел английским, — подпевали и пританцовывали в такт. Что касается смысла композиции, то это мольба одинокой женщины, которая просит бога послать ей роскошного мужчину-красавчика… Трек молниеносно взлетел на третью строчку британского хит-парада и стал ведущим на очередном сборнике группы.

Happy New Year

Группа ABBA
Группа ABBA

Всё началось на борту самолёта, в котором участники легендарной группы летели на Барбадос отдохнуть и весело провести время. Во время перелёта Бьорна и Бенни посетила сногсшибательная идея: вместо очередного сборника с милыми прилипчивыми треками, музыканты решили написать целый концептуальный мюзикл! Его основой стало праздничное новогоднее застолье, за которым все шведы собираются большой и дружной семьёй, делятся своими размышлениями насчёт наступающего десятилетия, выстраивают планы, надежды и растолковывают мнения… Ребята решили подключить к работе Джона Клиза — участника британской комик-группы «Монти Пайтон», который тогда как раз пребывал на Барбадосе. Однако Клиз не особо заинтересовался идеей мюзикла, и она, в общем-то, была обречена. Но от неё осталась одна-единственная композиция. Одна — но зато какая!

Коллектив давно хотел написать свой новогодний хит, и наконец-то замысел приобрёл реальные очертания, а вернее — звучание. Первоначальная версия носила юмористическое название «Daddy Don’t Get Drunk On Christmas Day», что дословно означает («Папа, не наклюкивайся на Рождество»). Однако, хорошенько подумав, ребята решили не разменивать чарующую мелодию на комичность и создали очень лиричное, местами даже мрачное творение, назвав его лаконично «Happy New Year». Вышедшее в свет в ноябре 1980-го рождественское приветствие сразу вызвало критику и даже общественное недовольство. Были те, кто расценил песню как коммерчески спекулятивный ход. Фриде Лингстад даже пришлось оправдываться, мол, трек был сочинён ещё под конец зимы и записан в апреле — то есть, задолго до новогодних праздников и самого альбома «Super Trouper». Удивительно, но на территории англоязычных стран и в родной Швеции синглом «Happy New Year» так и не вышел. Однако его всё-таки выпустили в Японии и Португалии.

Количество записанных на рождественский трек каверов действительно не сосчитать. Хиты перепевали все, кому не лень. Особенно популярна соул-версия подросткового коллектива A-Teens. В дальнейшем ABBA записали новую версию песни, оставив текст прежним, заменив лишь «89-й год» «99-м».

10kFollowers

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Похожие статьи

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...

Гизер Батлер: удивительные факты о «нечестивом» басисте Black Sabbath

Чего вы ещё не знали о Гизере Батлере – топ удивительных фактов о легенде Black Sabbath Гизер Батлер – легенда Black Sabbath и самый «нечестивый»...

Худшие альбомы в хард-роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Почему это худшие альбомы за всю историю хард-рока Коммерция – не так уж и плохо, но только если она «со вкусом» и «в меру». Это...

«Маэстро прогрессивного метала» – знакомьтесь, Джон Петруччи

Небольшой экскурс в историю Джона Петруччи, одного из лучших гитаристов современности Прогрессивный рок был продуктом психоделического рока. Это был скорее инструментальный и композиционный подход к...

Рэнди Калифорния: герой, восхищающий стойкостью духа и великолепной игрой на гитаре

Вспоминаем Рэнди Калифорнию, одного из легендарнейших гитаристов прошлого века Рэнди Калифорния – один из легендарнейших гитаристов и величайших отцов-героев в истории. Он был гениален и...

Рори Галлахер и его чудесный акустический стиль

Вспоминаем одного из величайших гитаристов Рори Галлахера Рори Галлахера не стало в 1995 году, и мир буквально ахнул и с грустью ужаснулся: это был действительно...