Author:
Category:

Hits of '67, or the Legend of Paul McCartney's Death

Conspiracy theories and "pills of surrealism" - stories from the crazy 1967...

Popular rock albums from 1967

Talking about the landmark albums and hits of the '60s, you can see that every year something special happened. But it seems that never before has rock music been associated with conspiracy theories, or more simply, conspiracy theories. This innovation belongs to '67. So, today we're talking about the highlights of the albums that became popular that year.

The most successful debut album in rock history

Just a year before, in England, a new band called the Jimi Hendrix Experience had been formed, and everyone associated with the band knew in advance of the coming success. The reason for this confidence was none other than Jimi Hendrix, an innovator and virtuoso whose guitar playing amazed everyone, including his star peers.

The band's first album was called "Are You Experienced" and immediately brought the band popularity, lifting them to high positions in the charts. So in Billboard magazine the album reached the fifth place.

The creative influence of Hendrix was felt in this album in every detail, even in the cover. The thing is that the British and American versions of the album were different from each other. The initiator of the changes was Jimi, who was not satisfied with the cover and the order of the songs on the record. The purely British restrained picture did not convey the way Jimi himself saw the music. So he decided to do things his own way. For a start, he hired a photographer, Carl Ferris, and gave him complete freedom of action. The guys in the band borrowed colorful jackets from Jimi's closet, and in addition, all three of them got afro hairstyles.American version of the cover

The American version of the coverNow the cover turned out bright and Jimi was satisfied, and we can visualize his vision of music...

The Pill Surrealism

Meanwhile, Jefferson Airpline is undergoing a change that will make the band as we all know it. For starters, their lead singer Grace Slick joins the company; it is her contralto that is to become the voice of the band. Also replacing drummer Skip Spence is jazz drummer Spence Dryden, who happens to be Charlie Chaplin's nephew. Finally, the band drifts slightly away from the folk rock they started with. Jefferson Airplain, like many bands at the time, gets swept up in a wave of psychedelic. And that's when their second album "Surrelistic Pillow" appears, which includes such incredible compositions as "Somebody to love" and "White Rabbit".

The album rose high, reaching No. 3 on the Billboard magazine chart and setting a new direction for the band, which would later become their primary style.

Moving on to No. 2 on the Billboard chart, we encounter The Rollibg Stones and their new album, Between the Buttons. This time the band briefly drifted into the genres of psychedelic and baroque-pop. Brian Jones, bored with the electric guitar, brought to the new album the sound of the most unusual and diverse instruments: organ, marimba, vibraphone. And these experiments pleased the fans.

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Orchestra

"Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" is the best album of all time, according to Rolling Stone, the 9th most sold album (over 30 million sales), and also one of the most scandalous albums by The Beatles.

It was a time of change for the Beatles. The band gave up concert performances, deciding to devote themselves entirely to the studio. The range of the band's musical genres was seriously expanded, and now the guys had time for experiments. And on top of everything else, they decided to change their image: they grew moustaches and beards, and Lennon put on glasses. In general, they created a fertile ground for rumors. Although I don't think any of them had any idea what scale these rumors would reach...

The abrupt changes could have prompted all sorts of thoughts, but of all the assumptions, one stood out: Paul McCartney is not really Paul McCartney, he is a double, and the real Paul died in a car accident. Surprisingly, this theory has found not only ardent supporters, but also "proof". Although, skepticism is skepticism, but theories are theories, because they can neither be confirmed, nor disproved. This theory is still alive and has made the band even more attractive to fans, adding some charm of legend and mystery.

So, with a double or not, the band recorded a very interesting and atmospheric album, which included very bright songs. For example, the song "When I'm Sixty Four", which Paul McCartney composed at the age of 16.

The main song of the album was "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," which introduces us to the fictional Sgt. Pepper's band. Moreover, many of the songs on this album are sung not by Paul or John, but by Ringo Starr, which makes us think that he is "Sgt. Pepper".

As it was already said, this album has become popular, pivotal, scandalous, one can choose such epithets for a long time. The compositions in it are unusual and varied, literally for every taste!

The 67th was filled with many other interesting albums and songs, but it would probably not fit everything in one article, so we will conclude it here and now.

"Mongol Shudan - domestic kings of anarcho-rock

Mongol Shuudan" band: history of creation, cast, best songs, interesting facts, influence Russian rock is a unique genre, which gave the domestic listener a huge collection of material, which can be the envy of...

A Real People's Idol: Joe Dassin and Russia

All about Joe Dassin: early years, hits and love for Russia Despite the fact that many artists often left Russia because they were not given...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...
Related Articles

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Автор:

Категория:

Хиты 67-ого, или легенда о смерти Пола Маккартни

Теории заговора и «пилюли сюрреализма» – истории из безумного 1967-ого...

Популярные рок альбомы 1967 года

Рассказывая о знаковых альбомах и хитах 60-ых, можно заметить, что каждый год случалось нечто особенное. Но кажется еще ни разу с рок-музыкой не было связано конспирологических теорий, или проще, теорий заговора. Это новшество принадлежит 67-ому. Итак, сегодня мы говорим о самых ярких альбомах, ставших популярными в том году.

Самый успешный дебютный альбом в истории рока

Всего за год до этого, в Англии, была сформирована новая группа под названием Jimi Hendrix Experience, и все, кто был связан с этой группе, заранее знали о грядущем успехе. Причиной такой уверенности был никто иной как Джими Хендрикс – новатор и виртуоз, чья игра на гитаре поражала всех, в том числе, и его звездных коллег по цеху.

Первый альбом группы назывался «Are You Experienced» и сразу принес группе популярность, подняв на высокие позиции в чартах. Так в журнале Billboard фльбом занял 5-е место.

Творческое влияние Хендрикса ощущалось в этом льбоме во всех деталях, даже в обложке. Дело в том, чт британская и американская версия альбома отличались друг от друга. Инициатором изменений выступил Джими, который не был удовлетворен обложкой и порядком песен на пластинке. Чисто по-британски сдержанная картинка не передавало то, как видел музыку сам Джими. И тогда он решил сделать все по своему. Для начала, нанял фотографа Карла Ферриса и дал ему полную свободу действий. Ребята из группы позаимствовали яркие пиджаки из гардероба Джими, и в добавок все трое сделали себе афро-прически.Американская версия обложки

Американская версия обложкиТеперь обложка получилось яркой и Джими был доволен, а мы можем наглядно представить себе его видение музыки…

Пилюля сюрреализма

Тем временем, Jefferson Airpline переживают перемены, которые сделают группу такой, какой мы все ее знаем. Для начала к компании присоединяется их солистка Грейс Слик, именно ее контральто должно стать голосом группы. Также на смену ударника Скипа Спенса приходит джаз-ударник Спенс Драйден, который приходится племянником Чарли Чаплином. И наконец, группу слегка относит в сторону от фолк-рока, с которого они начали. Jefferson Airplain как и многие группы в то время, подхватывает волна психоделики. И именно в этот момент появляется их второй альбом «Surrelistic Pillow», в который вошли такие невероятные композиции, как «Somebody to love» и «White Rabbit».

Альбом высоко поднялся, достигнув 3 места в чарте журнала Billboard и определил новое направление группы, которое позже станет их основным стилем.

Двигаясь дальше, к номеру 2 в чарте Billboard мы сталкиваемся с The Rollibg Stones и их новым альбомом «Between the Buttons». На сей раз группу ненадолго занесло в жанры психоделики и барокко-поп. Брайан Джонс, заскучавший за электрогитарой, привнес в новый альбом звучание самых необычных и разнообразных инструментов: орган, маримба, вибрафон. И эти эксперименты пришлись по душе фанатам.

Оркестр клуба одиноких сердец сержанта Пеппера

«Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band» – самый лучший альбом всех времен, по версии Rolling Stone, 9-е место среди самых продоваемых альбомов (более 30 миллионов продаж), да и к тому же один из самых скандальных альбомов группы The Beatles.

Для Beatles это было время перемен. Группа отказалась от концертных выступлений, решив полностью посвятить себя студии. Был серьезно расширен круг музыкальных жанров группы, теперь у ребят было время для экспериментов. И ко всему прочему, они решили сменить имидж: отрастили усы, бороды, Леннон надел очки. В общем, была создана благодатная почва для слухов. Хотя, вряд ли кто-то из них представлял, какого масштаба достигнут эти слухи…

Резкие перемены могли натолкнуть на самые разные мысли, но из всех предположений выделялась одна: Пол Маккартни – на самом деле не Пол Маккартни, это двойник, а настоящий Пол погиб в автокатастрофе. Удивительно, но у этой теории нашлись не только ярые сторонники, но и «доказательства». Хотя, скепсис скепсисом, а теории на то и теории, что их нельзя ни подтвердить, ни опровергнуть. Данная теория жива до сих пор и сделала группу еще привлекательнее для поклонников, добавив некоторый шарм легенды и тайны.

Итак, с двойником, или нет, но группа записала очень интересный и атмосферный альбом, в который вошли очень яркие песни. К примеру, композиция «When I’m Sixty Four», которую Пол Маккартни сочинил еще в 16-ти летнем возрасте.

Главная песня альбома стала «Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band», которая знакомит нас с выдуманным аркестром сержанта Пеппера. При чем в этом альбоме многие песни исполняет не Пол, и не Джон, а Ринго Старр, что наталкивает на мысль, что он и есть «сержант Пеппер».

Как уже было сказано, этот альбом стал популярным, поворотным, скандальным, можно долго подбирать подобные эпитеты. Композиции в нем необычные и разнообразные, буквально на любой вкус!

67-ой был наполнен многими другими интересными альбомами и песнями, но все в одной статье, пожалуй, не поместится, поэтому мы завершим ее здесь и сейчас.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

54 − = 44

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...