Author:
Category:

Best Selling Albums of the 60s

The Most Significant Records of the 1960s...

Albums of the 60s: On the best-selling records of the decade…

The best-selling albums of the 60s in the UK - what are they? For many listeners, this era is associated with the "Summer of Love": flowering melodies, the heyday of rock music, the emergence of new names, performers who have reached the status of icons ... It was during this period that the world learned about the Beatles! So - there is nothing surprising in the fact that in today's selection there will be far from one album of this band ... The sixties were, are and will be one of the brightest and most romanticized periods in the history of music! We bring to your attention the top "best-selling records" of this decade ...

G.I. Blues (1961)

Gi Blues (1961)
Gi Blues (1961)

GI Blues is a record by the legendary king of rock and roll Elvis Presley, which is the soundtrack to the film of the same name. Speaking of the movie: the musician played the role of soldier Tuls McLean. He was accompanied by the charming Juliette Prause in the birth of the dancer Lily!

Juliette Prause and Elvis Presley
Juliette Prause and Elvis Presley

Taking the first line of the American Billboard, GI Blues became for Presley the start of his dazzling career in the 60s ... As the newspapers wrote:

“Presley’s enthusiasm makes music even out of a gust of wind ... And it’s hard to imagine how someone would listen to this music seriously if it were performed by another sound artist ...”

When the album first came out, no singles were released from it. And only closer to the middle of the 60s the track “Wooden Heart” saw the light! In addition, the famous "Blue Suede Shoes" was recorded on this album in a completely new version! This is the rarest example of how Elvis took to work on an already released song... The composition "Tonight's All Right For Love" was never released in America: the track appeared in the USA only in 1974, as part of the collection "Elvis: A Legendary Performer" .

West Side Story (1962)

West Side Story (1962)
West Side Story (1962)

The famous West Side Story album is also the soundtrack to the film of the same name. After the release, the album remained the leader of Billboard for 54 weeks! In the US, the record was a huge success: it went platinum three times! West Side Story won a Grammy in 1962. It is noteworthy that many critics and listeners like the early version of the album more: musically, it contains more powerful orchestration ...

With The Beatles (1963)

With The Beatles (1963)
With The Beatles (1963)

With The Beatles became the second studio album of the cult four from Liverpool! It was released exactly 8 months after the debut of Please Please Me. The album was produced by George Martin. It includes 7 songs by John Lennon and McCartney, as well as "Don't Bother Me", Harrison's first solo composition, and 6 covers of famous rock and roll and R&B hits. Not only the content, but also the packaging of the album deserves special attention! The cover photo, taken by fashion photographer Robert Freeman, started a trend: over the years, other bands have copied it for their albums...

Today With The Beatles is included in several prestigious ratings at once, such as Rolling Stone magazine's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time and Robert Dimery's 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. By the way: With The Beatles is not the only Beatles album on our list…

Beatles for Sale (1964)

Beatles For Sale (1964)
Beatles For Sale (1964)

The fourth studio work of the Beatles was also a huge success among listeners and critics! The record marked a departure from the characteristic upbeat tone. In general - this was due to the creative exhaustion of the group after a series of tours that made The Beatles a phenomenon in the music scene by the mid-60s ...

During the recording of the Beatles for Sale, the group ventured into bold experiments with sound! So, timpani, African hand drums and chocalho were involved. When listening to the album, one can feel the clear influence of country music and the work of Bob Dylan, whom the group met in August 1964.

The song "Eight Days a Week" was omitted from the US version of the album. However, in February 1965 it was released in the US as a single, and gave the Beatles their seventh number one in that country!

The Sound of Music (1965)

The Sound Of Music (1965)
The Sound Of Music (1965)

The Sound of Music is the official soundtrack to the famous film The Sound of Music! The record is one of the most successful of its kind! In general, it sold 20 million copies worldwide... The album was in the lead in the American Billboard, and held the position of the leader for a record 109 weeks! The Sound of Music also became a bestseller in the UK, booming in 1965, 1966 and 1968…

Three songs from the original Broadway production ("An Ordinary Couple", "How Can Love Survive?" and "No Way to Stop It") were replaced in the film with two new songs: "I Have Confidence" and "Something Good". For the original Broadway show, the music was composed by Richard Rodgers with lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II. The new songs have been written entirely by Rodgers since Oscar Hammerstein died in 1960.

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)

Sgt. Pepper 's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Beatles album)
Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Beatles album)

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band is probably one of the most iconic albums in the history of music... It featured innovation in songwriting, production and graphic design. In addition, with the release of "Sergeant Pepper" the Beatles bridged the cultural gap between popular music and high art ... Here, the interests of today's youth and the counterculture were reflected.

During the recording of the record, the band continued their bold experiments in the studio... Thus, a good part of the recordings are embellished with sound effects and manipulations with tape (bright examples are "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds", "Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!" and "A Day in the Life"). The no less legendary cover, which is decorated with various celebrities and historical figures, is the merit of the artists (artists Peter Blake and Jenn Haworth worked on it)!

In 2011, over 30 million copies of Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band!

Abbey Road (1969)

The Beatles - Abbey Road (1969)
The Beatles - Abbey Road (1969)

And today's selection is closed by one legendary creation of The Beatles - the famous Abbey Road record. It was released at the end of the decade. The most interesting thing is that it was Abbey Road that became the only album of the group, recorded exclusively with the help of a mixing console on solid state transistors. This largely explains the cleaner and brighter sound (compared to the Beatles' previous work).

It's no secret that during the recording of Abbey Road, there was excitement in the studio ... Each of The Beatles members was worried about their personal problems, because of which the situation was tense ... Actually, the final "The End" was the last track that the Beatles recorded together ... Without waiting the release of the record, John Lennon left the band. Well, the further story is known to everyone: with the advent of the new decade, the cult band disappeared ...

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Автор:
Категория:

Самые продаваемые альбомы 60-х

Наиболее значимые пластинки 1960-х годов...

Альбомы 60-х: О самых продаваемых пластинках десятилетия…

Самые продаваемые альбомы 60-х по Великобритании — какие они? У многих слушателей данная эпоха ассоциируется с «Летом любви»: цветущие мелодии, расцвет рок-музыки, появление новых имён, исполнителей, которые достигли статуса икон… Именно в этот период мир узнал о Битлах! Так что — нет ничего удивительного в том, что в сегодняшней подборке будет далеко не один альбом данного бэнда… Шестидесятые были, есть и будут одним из самых светлых и романтизированных периодов в истории музыки! Предлагаем вашему вниманию топ «самых продаваемых пластинок» данного десятилетия…

G.I. Blues (1961)

G.i. Blues (1961)
G.i. Blues (1961)

G.I. Blues — пластинка легендарного короля рок-н-ролла Элвиса Пресли, представляющая собой саундтрек к одноимённому фильму. К слову о кинокартине: музыкант сыграл роль солдата Тульса МакЛина. Компанию ему составила очаровательная Джульетт Прауз в роди танцовщицы Лили!

Джульетт Прауз и Элвис Пресли
Джульетт Прауз и Элвис Пресли

Заняв первую строчку американского Billboard, G.I. Blues стал для Пресли стартом его ослепительной карьеры 60-х… Как писали газеты:

«Энтузиазм Пресли делает даже из порыва ветра музыку… И сложно представить, как кто-то слушал бы эту музыку всерьёз, будь она исполнена другим художником звука…»

Когда альбом только вышел, с него не выпускалось синглов. И лишь ближе к середине 60-х свет увидел трек «Wooden Heart»! Помимо этого, знаменитая «Blue Suede Shoes» была записана на этом альбоме в совершенно новой версии! Это — редчайший пример того, как Элвис взялся за работу над уже выпущенной песней… Композиция «Tonight’s All Right For Love» так и не вышла в Америке: в США трек появился лишь в 1974 году, в рамках сборника «Elvis: A Legendary Performer».

West Side Story (1962)

West Side Story (1962)
West Side Story (1962)

Знаменитый альбом West Side Story также является саундтреком к одноимённой кинокартине. После выпуска альбом оставался лидером Billboard целых 54 недели! В США пластинка имела колоссальный успех: она трижды становилась платиновой! В 1962 году West Side Story был награждён премией Грэмми. Примечательно то, что многим критикам и слушателям больше по душе ранняя версия альбома: в музыкальном плане она содержит более мощную оркестровку…

With The Beatles (1963)

With The Beatles (1963)
With The Beatles (1963)

With The Beatles стал вторым студийным альбомом культовой четвёрки из Ливерпуля! Он был выпущен ровно через 8 месяцев после дебютного Please Please Me. Продюсированием пластинки занимался Джордж Мартин. Она включает 7 песен Джона Леннона и Маккартни, а также «Don’t Bother Me» — первую сольную композицию Харрисона, и 6 каверов на известные рок-н-ролл и R&B хиты. Особого внимания заслуживает не только содержание, но и упаковка альбома! Фото на обложке, сделанное модным фотографом Робертом Фриманом, положило начало тенденции: на протяжении многих лет другие группы копировали это для своих альбомов…

Сегодня With The Beatles входит сразу в несколько престижных рейтингов, таких как «500 величайших альбомов всех времён» журнала Rolling Stone и «1001 альбом, который вы должны услышать, прежде чем умереть» Роберта Димери. К слову: With The Beatles — не единственный альбом Битлов в нашем списке…

Beatles for Sale (1964)

Beatles For Sale (1964)
Beatles For Sale (1964)

Четвёртая студийная работа Битлз также пользовалась огромным успехом среди слушателей и критиков! Пластинка ознаменовала отход от характерного оптимистичного тона. В целом — это было обусловлено творческим истощением группы после серии туров, сделавших The Beatles феноменом музыкальной сцены к середине 60-х годов…

Во время записи Beatles for Sale группа отважилась на смелые эксперименты со звуком! Так, были задействованы литавры, африканские ручные барабаны и chocalho. При прослушивании альбома чувствуется явное влияние кантри-музыки и творчества Боба Дилана, с которым группа познакомилась в августе 1964 года.

Композиция «Eight Days a Week» была исключена из американской версии альбома. Однако в феврале 1965 года она вышла в США в качестве сингла, и принесла Битлз их седьмой номер один в этой стране!

The Sound of Music (1965)

The Sound Of Music (1965)
The Sound Of Music (1965)

The Sound of Music — официальный саундтрек к знаменитой киноленте «Звуки музыки»! Пластинка является одной из самых успешных в своём роде! В целом она разошлась 20-миллионным тиражом по всему миру… Альбом лидировал в американском Billboard, и удерживал позицию лидера на протяжении рекордных 109 недель! The Sound of Music также стал бестселлером в Великобритании: бум его продаж наблюдался в 1965, 1966 и 1968 годах…

Три песни из оригинальной бродвейской постановки («An Ordinary Couple», «How Can Love Survive?» и «No Way to Stop It») были заменены в фильме двумя новыми композициями: «I Have Confidence» и «Something Good». Для оригинального бродвейского шоу музыку написал Ричард Роджерс на слова Оскара Хаммерстайна II. Новые песни были написаны полностью Роджерсом, так как Оскар Хаммерстайн умер в 1960 году.

Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (альбом Битлз)
Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (альбом Битлз)

Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band — это, наверное, один из самых легендарных альбомов в истории музыки… В нём были представлены инновации в написании песен, производстве и графическом дизайне. Помимо этого, выпустив «Сержанта Пеппера» Битлз преодолели культурный разрыв между популярной музыкой и высоким искусством… Здесь были отражены интересы современной молодежи и контркультуры.

Во время записи пластинки группа продолжила свои смелые эксперименты в студии… Так, добрая часть записей украшена звуковыми эффектами и манипуляциями с магнитофонной лентой (яркие примеры — «Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds», «Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!» и «A Day in the Life»). Не менее легендарная обложка, которую украшают различные знаменитости и исторические личности, — заслуга художников (над ней работали художники Питер Блейк и Дженн Хаворт)!

На 2011 год было продано более 30 млн копий Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band!

Abbey Road (1969)

The Beatles – Abbey Road (1969)
The Beatles – Abbey Road (1969)

И закрывает сегодняшнюю подборку одно легендарное творение The Beatles, — знаменитая пластинка Abbey Road. Она была выпущена на закате десятилетия. Самое интересное то, что именно Abbey Road стал единственным альбомом группы, записанным исключительно при помощи микшерного пульта на твердотельных транзисторах. Это во многом объясняет более чистый и яркий звук (по сравнению с предыдущими работами Битлз).

Не секрет, что во время записи Abbey Road в студии царило волнение… Каждого из участников The Beatles волновали свои личные проблемы, из-за чего обстановка была накалена… Собственно, заключительный «The End» стал последним треком, который Битлы записали совместно… Не дождавшись выхода пластинки, группу покинул Джон Леннон. Ну а дальнейшая история известна всем: с наступлением нового десятилетия культового бэнда не стало…

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...