Author:
Category:

The highlights of world music of the 20th century in 5 minutes - part two

Last week we talked about the King of Rock and Roll, Beatlemania, ABBA's Eurovision victory, and a few other things. What will we talk about today?

The music industry of the 20th century and the highlights of that period in five minutes - part two

Today we continue to remember highlights in the global music industry 20th centuries. And our goal is to get it done in five minutes! This may sound crazy, but not for us. Because we primarily focus our attention on the truly significant episodes that changed the course of history in one way or another and had a tremendous impact on it.

So last week we talked about the King of Rock and Roll, Beatlemania, ABBA's Eurovision victory, and a few other things. What will we talk about today? We suggest finding out together. For each decade we have tried to select the most striking event.

"The Day the Music Died" in the late '50s

Ritchie Valens, Buddy Holly and Big Bopper
Ritchie Valens, Buddy Holly and Big Bopper

No one said that the events we are going to talk about are necessarily positive. First of all, they are. colossal, и "the day the music died" in the late '50s definitely fits this criterion. The terrible plane crash that occurred February 3, 1959 in Iowa, near Clear Lake, took 3 promising early rock and roll stars from the world at once: Buddy Holly, Richie Valensa and Big Bopper. There is no doubt: this tragedy has changed the course of events, and it is likely that we have lost a great deal...

After assembling a new band, Holly went on tour. Valens and Bopper, aspiring musicians, were to play the opening act. Alas, tragedies Many events had preceded itThe reason Holly had to use a plane instead of continuing her tour by bus. What is remarkable is that other people were supposed to fly instead of Valens and Bopper. Ritchie, for example, won his ticket from Tommy Allsup... That's it - sometimes small little events that we don't even pay attention to can cost lives.

Woodstock gives future idols a chance in the late '60s

Jimi Hendrix, Woodstock, 1969
Jimi Hendrix, Woodstock, 1969

Woodstock - largest and most famous 60's music festival. He was going through August 15 to 18, 1969 on a farm in a town in rural Bethel, New York. Hundreds of thousands of people attended, though there were no conditions: the audience slept in tents in the middle of a muddy field, drank heavily (the musicians recalled), and most of the guests were hippiewhich added to the chaos. But today it all just adds to its atmosphere...

Dozens of performers and bands performed at the festival, many of whom subsequently achieved stunning fame. Among them were Santana, Janis Joplin, The Who, Jimi Hendrix and others. Today they are world stars. But back then they were just young musicians who sometimes didn't even have enough money for food. So it's safe to say that Woodstock 1969 gave many of its artists a ticket to Olympus.

"Clown fashion," or the emergence of glam rock in the early '70s

David Bowie
David Bowie

The period of the '70s is remembered for a number of reasons, at least because of the emergence of disco. But more importantly, it was the decade when disco was born, put down its roots, and then actively spread. glam rock! And speaking of its importance - here we are talking not so much about the sound, but rather about the appearance of the representatives of this direction. Clothed in bizarre jumpsuits with rhinestones - they went on stage on a high platform and with some crazy hair on their heads, and shocked and delighted the audience at the same time!

Slade's greatest hits!
Slade's greatest hits!

Subsequently, this fashion would resonate in almost everything from hard rock and ending with contemporary pop music.

The ancestors of glam were such legends as David Bowie, Slade, Marc Bolan, Kiss. And yes: it was their outrageous publicity that brought them so much attention and, accordingly, made them so popular. So who knows how much talent would have remained in the shadows if it were not for "clown fashion".

Queen steals the show in the '80s

Queen at Live Aid 1985
Queen at Live Aid 1985

The most striking event of the 1980s in world music was the charity festival Live Aidwhich passed in 1985 The event was held at two major venues, John F. Kennedy Stadium in Philadelphia and Wembley Stadium in London. The event was attended by hundreds of thousands of people, and television broadcasts were watched by about 1.9 billion people in more than 150 countries around the world! Needless to say, it was an instant ticket to Olympus for almost all the stars who performed at Live Aid?

The show is remembered for its colorful numbers, and even its reunions (albeit unfortunate, as in the case of the Led Zeppelin). However, one group completely stole it, and it Queen. Their number turned out to be the most breakthrough, spectacular, and rocking. Subsequently, Elton John, with his characteristic irony, said (in a kindly way):

"Damn it! They brazenly stole the whole show from us! It was their night..."

Pop King rocks out at Super Bowl XXVII in the '90s

One of the images of Michael Jackson at a concert in Luzhniki.
One of Michael Jackson's images

Early 90s Michael Jackson was already the consummate pop king with number one hit tracks and a multimillion-dollar circulation under his belt. He had already played "bad" - one of the three biggest tours of that era, as well as making iconic music videos that became hits on MTV. And so, he was invited to Super Bowl XXVII

His spectacular performance at the Super Bowl in 1993 was the highlight of the decade! It's worth adding that it was also a big career breakthrough. Jennifer Batten - his guitarist, who also traveled with him on tour.

Part 1

"Narodnik" with dreadlocks: how a guy from a small town in Tula broke into television

Shaman - Success Story, Hate from Detractors, Best Songs The path of every screen star begins with a bright flash. The hero of today's article, a musician under the pseudonym ...

We'll "ruin" your favorite songs: about the most famous cover band

All about Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine The most beautiful and subtle art in the world is music. Not every person is given the...

The only song AC/DC's Brian Johnson will never perform

Why AC/DC Refuses to Perform "It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock 'n' Roll)" AC/DC is a legendary Australian rock band formed in...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Rock legends' Top 5 Chic "Late" Releases

Rock Stars' Best Late-Life Releases Not every rock star can keep the fire burning until the end of time. It's only natural that performers get older, and you wouldn't expect them to be...

Автор:
Категория:

Самые яркие моменты в мировой музыке 20 века за 5 минут – часть вторая

В прошлой части мы успели поговорить о короле рок-н-ролла, битломании, победе ABBA на Евровидении и кое-чём ещё. О чём же сегодня пойдёт речь?

Музыкальная индустрия 20 века и самые яркие моменты этого периода в пяти минутах – часть вторая

Сегодня мы продолжаем вспоминать самые яркие моменты в мировой музыкальной индустрии 20 века. Причём наша цель – уложиться в 5 минут! Это может звучать дико, но не для нас. Так как мы, прежде всего, фокусируем своё внимание на действительно самых значимых эпизодах, которые в той или иной мере изменили ход истории и оказали колоссальное влияние на неё.

Итак: в прошлой части мы успели поговорить о короле рок-н-ролла, битломании, победе ABBA на Евровидении и кое-чём ещё. О чём же сегодня пойдёт речь? Предлагаем узнать вместе. Для каждого десятилетия мы постарались отобрать самое яркое событие.

«День, когда умерла музыка» в конце 50-х

Ричи Валенс, Бадди Холли и Биг Боппер
Ричи Валенс, Бадди Холли и Биг Боппер

Никто не говорил, что события, о которых мы будем рассказывать, обязательно позитивные. Прежде всего – они колоссальные, и «день, когда умерла музыка» в конце 50-х, определённо подходит под этот критерий. Жуткая авиационная катастрофа, которая произошла 3 февраля 1959 года в Айове, близ Клир-Лейка, отобрала у мира сразу 3 многообещающие звезды раннего рок-н-ролла: Бадди Холли, Ричи Валенса и Бига Боппера. Безусловно: эта трагедия изменила ход событий, и, скорее всего, мы очень многое потеряли…

Собрав новый коллектив, Холли отправился в турне. Валенс и Боппер – начинающие музыканты – должны были выступать на разогреве. Увы, трагедии предшествовало множество событий, которые и вынудили Холли воспользоваться самолётом, вместо того, чтобы продолжить гастроли на автобусе. Примечательно то, что вместо Валенса и Боппера должны были лететь другие люди. Ричи, к примеру, выиграл свой билет у Томми Оллсапа… Вот так – порой незначительные маленькие события, которым мы даже не придаём значения, могут стоить жизни.

Вудсток даёт шанс будущим кумирам в конце 60-х

Джими Хендрикс, Вудсток, 1969 год
Джими Хендрикс, Вудсток, 1969 год

Вудсток – самый крупный и известный музыкальный фестиваль 60-х. Он проходил с 15 по 18 августа 1969 года на одной из ферм городка в сельской местности Бетел, штат Нью-Йорк. Его посетили сотни тысяч людей, хотя условий как-таковых не было: зрители спали в палатках посреди грязного поля, много пили (по воспоминаниям музыкантов), а ещё в основном среди гостей были хиппи, что добавляло хаоса. Но сегодня это всё лишь добавляет свою атмосферу…

На фестивале выступили десятки исполнителей и групп, многие из которых впоследствии добились ошеломительной славы. Среди них были Santana, Дженис Джоплин, The Who, Джими Хендрикс и другие. Это сегодня они – звёзды мировой величины. Но тогда это были просто молодые музыканты, которым порой не хватало даже на еду. Так что можно с уверенностью сказать, что Вудсток 1969 подарил многим из своих артистов билет к Олимпу.

«Клоунская мода», или появление глэм-рока в начале 70-х

Дэвид Боуи
Дэвид Боуи

Период 70-х запомнился по ряду причин, как минимум из-за появления диско. Но что ещё более важно – в это десятилетие зародился, пустил свои корни, а затем активно распространился глэм-рок! И говоря о его важности – здесь речь скорее идёт не столько о звучании, сколько о внешнем виде представителей данного направления. Облачённые в причудливые комбинезоны со стразами – они выходили на сцену на высоченной платформе и с какими-то безумными причёсками на голове, и вводили публику в шок и восторг одновременно!

Лучшие хиты Slade!
Лучшие хиты Slade!

Впоследствии эта мода найдёт свой отклик почти во всём – начиная с хард-рока и заканчивая современной поп-музыкой.

Родоначальниками глэма стали такие легенды, как Дэвид Боуи, Slade, Марк Болан, Kiss. И да: именно благодаря тому, что они эпатировали публику, им удалось привлечь к себе так много внимания и, соответственно, обзавестись такой бешеной популярностью. Так что кто знает, как много талантов так и осталось бы в тени, если бы не «клоунская мода».

Queen крадут шоу в 80-х

Queen на Live Aid 1985
Queen на Live Aid 1985

Ярчайшим событием 80-х в мировой музыке стал благотворительный фестиваль Live Aid, который прошёл в 1985 году сразу на двух крупных площадках – на стадионе Джона Кеннеди в Филадельфии и на стадионе «Уэмбли» в Лондоне. Мероприятие посетили сотни тысяч человек, а телетрансляцию посмотрело порядка 1,9 миллиарда человек более чем в 150 странах мира! Стоит ли говорить, что это был моментальный билет к Олимпу почти для всех выступивших на Live Aid звёзд?

Шоу запомнилось яркими номерами, и даже воссоединениями (пусть и неудачными, как в случае с Led Zeppelin). Однако одна группа полностью украла его, и это Queen. Их номер оказался самым прорывным, фееричным и качающим. Впоследствии Элтон Джон со свойственной ему иронией заявил (по-доброму):

«Чёрт возьми! Они нагло украли у нас всех шоу! Это был их вечер…»

Поп-король зажигает на Супербоуле XXVII в 90-х

Один из образов Майкла Джексона на концерте в «Лужниках».
Один из образов Майкла Джексона

В начале 90-х Майкл Джексон уже был непревзойдённым поп-королём с хитовыми треками номер один и многомиллионным тиражом за плечами. Он уже успел отыграть «Bad» – один из трёх крупнейших туров той эпохи, а также снять культовые клипы, которые стали хитами на MTV. И вот, его пригласили на Супербоул XXVII

Его фееричное выступление на Супербоуле в 1993 году стало ярчайшим моментом десятилетия! Стоит добавить, что это также был большой прорыв в карьере Дженнифер Баттен – его гитаристки, которая также путешествовала с ним в турах.

Часть 1

Саймон Ле Бон – топ-6 фактов о вокалисте Duran Duran

Саймон Ле Бон – интересные факты о вокалисте Duran Duran Немногие группы оказали такое же влияние, как Duran Duran в 1980-х. Британские короли новой волны...

Кто она – женщина с обложки легендарного альбома Black Sabbath

Женщина с обложки альбома Black Sabbath – кто она: история и факты Выпуск в 1970 году дебютного альбома Black Sabbath навсегда изменил музыкальную индустрию. Этот...

Милая песня оказалась гангста-рэпом из Швеции: рассказываем про Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - популярность, песни, биография музыканта.  Что стоит за успехом мировых звезд - качественный продакшн, талант или нечто иное? Тогда как объяснить то, что...
Похожие статьи

Топ-15 величайших поп-певцов всех времён по мнению журнала «Fuzz Music»

Величайшие и лучшие поп-певцы за всю историю музыки История музыки богата и разнообразна в плане своих лиц. Она знает много громких имён, которые стояли как...

«Народник» с дредами: как парень из маленького тульского города ворвался на телевидение

Shaman – История успеха, хейт со стороны недоброжелателей, лучшие песни Путь каждой звезды экранов начинается с яркой вспышки. Герой нашей сегодняшней статьи, музыкант под псевдонимом...

Мы «испортим» ваши любимые песни: о самой известной кавер-группе

Все о группе Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine Самое прекрасное и тонкое в мире искусство - это музыка. Не каждому человеку дано...

Единственная песня, которую Брайан Джонсон из AC/DC не исполнит никогда

Почему AC/DC отказываются от исполнения «It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)» AC/DC – легендарная австралийская рок-группа, сформированная в...

«Paranoid»: культовая классика Black Sabbath, написанная за считанные минуты

Хит «Paranoid» группы Black Sabbath: история и факты Не секрет, что некоторые из самых легендарных произведений родились за считанные минуты. Вообще говорят, что краткость –...

Киркоров был «другом» Майкла Джексона: выдумки или все-таки правда

Дружба Майкла Джексона и Филиппа Киркорова Майкл Джексон - американский поп-король, внесший колоссальный вклад в историю музыки. Однако вокруг него всегда было сосредоточено множество мифов,...

«Авария, предательство и не только»: несокрушимый дух Дона Пауэлла, барабанщика Slade

Легенда Slade Дон Пауэлл и его история: факты и интервью Он разменял восьмой десяток, но по-прежнему остаётся несокрушимой легендой. Дон Пауэлл, легендарно известный барабанщик Slade,...

Топ-5 культовых рок-альбомов, запись которых обернулась кошмаром

Легендарные рок-альбомы, запись которых обернулась кошмаром На первый взгляд, быть рок-звездой кажется самой приятной работой в мире! Твоя задача состоит только в том, чтобы сочинять...

Идеальные песни, положившие начало хард-року

Треки, положившие начало хард-року – топ лучших После легендарно известного «Лета любви» рок-н-ролл всё увереннее и увереннее обрастал шипами. Казалось, «мягкая» эпоха The Beatles и...